WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jerry Bruckheimer Discusses "Top Gun 2" and "Lone Ranger 2"

Posted: June 10th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jerry Bruckheimer Discusses "Top Gun 2" and "Lone Ranger 2"Submit Comment
Before his death, director Tony Scott was working with Tom Cruise, producer Jerry Bruckheimer and writer Christopher McQuarrie on a "Top Gun" sequel. Paramount Pictures was excited about the project and everything was seemingly going smoothly. But when Scott took his own life, the studio immediately dropped the sequel due to concerns of looking insensitive.

But during a conference on Sunday, Bruckheimer told the audience that there's still interest in "Top Gun 2," as long as Cruise is will to return. "As long as [Cruise] keeps his enthusiasm," he said. "Hopefully we can get it made."

Bruckheimer also spoke about a potential sequel to "Lone Ranger," stating that he's going to be "scared to death" when the film is released, confirming that there are concerns that it may not be as big of a hit as the studio expects.

He added: "If the audience likes the movie... Hopefully 'The Lone Ranger' will continue as a sequel."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:31:16 AM

Gay. Do a f*cking Nation Treasure 3 already!
You're killing me man... What's on Page 47!?
boogiel writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:31:47 AM

Well that's troubling. Bruckheimer and co. have no confidence in their own movie. That movie is gonna bomb big time.
HerrGeneral writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:48:30 AM

Gonna end up like John Carter
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:55:37 AM

In other words, Jerry is saying The Lone Ranger is going to be a big old f*cking bomb, something all of us on here suspected. Oops. And in even more words, Top Gun 2 = Mission Impossible franchise opportunities, but with planes, if they can get a Justin Lin turnaround approach.
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 8:37:40 AM

Jerry's got his balls caught in the train tracks.

After Sorcerer's Apprentice and Prince of Persia bombing of Lone Ranger is the last thing he needs. He's probably the only old-school producer who kept and improved on his 90's might.

Maybe instead of Top Gun 2 you should make Bad Boys 3 then, huh?

Will Smith is a lot more negotiable now and people actually want to see it.
pornfly writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 8:53:11 AM

Maybe you wouldnt have to worry about The Lone Ranger

If you didnt cast Armie Hammer??????
Rambo writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 9:01:12 AM

what about bad boys 3?

BadChadB33 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 9:10:34 AM

Bad Boys 3 or retire!!!

Will Smith and Martin Lawrence need this movie now more than ever.
Cannon writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 9:21:27 AM


I would have paid to see Tony Scott's Top Gun sequel, but he's dead now -- pulled his very own 'Domino'.

minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 9:26:41 AM

Bad Boys 3 is probably not happening. Bay's BUSY. He has Transformers to milk and he may be down for another trilogy. It's good money and pretty much everything he loves. So if Jerry bankrolls Bad Boys 3 it'll be some other director and it'll likely be sh*t.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 11:07:12 AM

There will be no Lone Ranger 2. The first one will flop.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 11:13:01 AM

I don't wanna hear that mink, Don't jinx it!

-Covers ears- "LA LA LA LA I CAN'T HEAR YOUUU"
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 1:31:07 PM

@Kurskij
Actually Prince of Persia ended up being the biggest grossing video game adaptation film ever made. However, it's also based off the amount spent. I thought it was about $150 million which means, since it's total was $335 million, they earned double their money which means win. Or was the just domestic? I feel that has changed in the last few years because Tron: Legacy barely made $400 million total worldwide with a budget $200 million.

Really though let's be honest. Bruckheimer can give us some fun movies but he is an ass. I mean he apparently liked working with Bay, unless I am wrong about that please correct me. But this guy kick Mike Newell, the director of POP, out of the editing room and made his own over-action, over-comedic version. I would have loved to have seen what Newell would have done with this film since I think his Harry Potter was one of the best in my opinion.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 1:42:59 PM

@mink
Do you honestly think that Bad Boys 3 could be any worse than the previous two if they got another director? I mean, like most of Bay's films, they are a lot of fun but other than that what do you expect from it? LOL
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 1:49:38 PM

^^If the previous two were so awful, why would you or anyone else want to see a third?

But hey, if you think a Liebesman-directed Bad Boys 3 could be better than the first two, I hope they make it just for you guys.
Rambo writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 2:43:19 PM

Bad Boys 3 could work maybe with someone like Justin Lin but I'd prefer Bay.

Bad Boys 2 is a masterpiece in my book - 2.5 hours of non stop crazy action,jokes about homosexuals and slow motion with rotating angles.10/10.
Rambo writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 2:45:03 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUZ9qAOaN5Q

great scene.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 3:25:15 PM

@mink
I mean that it is really good fun and you think any other director could make a sh*tty Bad Boys 3 but, beyond being as Rambo puts it a masterpiece action film, it isn't Inception so assuming any director couldn't handle that simple task of making a big action movie there is no need to discriminate against another director taking over.

@Rambo
I actually agree on Lin, mostly because he wasn't just fluke with Fast Five as Fast & Furious 6 apparently was just as much fun. However, that may just because he is comfortable with that story and those characters. It be a real test to see him take over another director's action series.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 3:45:24 PM

I would pay double the money if it meant they made Bad Boys 3. And I'm sure Rambo would agree
Rambo writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 4:14:48 PM

triple :-)
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:13:18 PM

@sleuth

Doesn't matter if it's the biggest video game adaptation. Wild Wild West was the second biggest western at one point in time. Still was a huge flop bordering on disaster.

If I remember right, Prince of Persia cost $200 mil. - and that's the figure Disney and JB stood by. Add another $100 mil. for marketing the thing - they were hoping to start another Pirates-like franchise, just like they do now with Lone Ranger.
You said it grossed $335 mil., with a very disappointing performance in the US. No one got what they expected.

Tron was a sequel to a movie that only had a cult following to rely on. Video game was more famous than the movie actually. Official budget is $170-175 mil. Another $100 mil. for marketing. $400 mil. gross and decent toy sales. Plus it showed good grosses both in the US and overseas with solid WOM.

Different starting points, different expectations. Prince grossed MUCH less than Disney expected and needed it to gross. Tron grossed somewhat less than they hoped for, but merchandise and soundtrack sales brought in some sweet dough.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:34:21 PM

In other words, Production + - Domestic Gross = FAIL.

Or P + M - GD = Screwed
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:36:02 PM

Naturally enough the minus is out of place.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:39:04 PM

No, no, its not out of place; the word marketing is missing.

Why the f*ck trackpads are designed to select text and move/delete it unintentionally, I have no clue.
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:39:22 PM

"Really though let's be honest. Bruckheimer can give us some fun movies but he is an ass. I mean he apparently liked working with Bay, unless I am wrong about that please correct me. But this guy kick Mike Newell, the director of POP, out of the editing room and made his own over-action, over-comedic version. I would have loved to have seen what Newell would have done with this film since I think his Harry Potter was one of the best in my opinion."

Bruckheimer is a great producer. And a terrific jew. He landed a sweet gig at Disney and he hangs on to it. He even has some trademark shots - for example, "walk in rapid" - SWAT walking through the hall in BB3, Pirates walking on the ocean bed in first Pirates, Armageddon, Con Air etc. etc.

He knows very well what audience likes and I doubt that he would've kicked Newell out of the editing suite (a rumor anyway) if he didn't have a reason. Another rumor was that he fired him earlier and quietly did some reshoots with none other than Bay.

And Bay parted ways with Jerry because he wanted his own playground (Platinum Dunes) and Spielberg made a very generous offer with "Transformers" gig and prior to that - with The Island that Bay really wanted to make, but Bruckheimer didn't see the potential (and was right). They were at odds, but reconciled since. Jerry was pissed off at Spielberg.

As for "what Newell" could do - I barely remember any Harry Potters besides the first 3 (Cuaron is the man) and the very last one. Did Newell direct the one with dragons and mermaid or some sh*t? If so - I fell asleep during it.
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:54:15 PM

"P + M - GD = Screwed"

Mink, you probably know better than I do that in Jewliwood everything is relative.

One movie follows a standard rule of thumb that the studio gets ~55% of box-office. Other movies (some established blockbusters) have complex contracts when they get up to 90% of the gross during the first weekend, 60% during the second and so on (Lucas first came up with it for Phantom Menace).

If it's anything from Millenium films the don't give a flying penus about BO because they get most of the money back with pre-sales and and barely have anything to lose if the movie bombs during the actual theatrical run (but profit if it exceeds certain grosses).

For example, "Cloud Atlas" cost $100 mil.+some amount to market and grossed $130 mil. WW. Flop? Not really - WB only distributed the movie in the US and their marketing push was rather modest. They're OK. Overseas? Mostly the same. Why? Lots of the budget came from private investors (tax-haven loving ones etc., usual art-loving folks) - and if anyone got f*cked it's some them.

Etc. etc. So it's easier to presume that if the movie doesn't double its production budget WW - someone somewhere got f*cked.
Kurskij writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:58:30 PM

Also I begin to understand you "edit button rage".
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 10:20:14 PM

Your ^ ;)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 3:19:00 AM

@Kurskij
Dude you are way over thinking this. And I don't give a damn if Bruckheimer has a sweet job. The guy has never made a passable movie. It's one thing to say he knows how to attract, as I believe mink would put it, idiotic masses but artform he has none of. And Newell had several good movies on him. He would have done a great edit of the film. While I agree Cuaron was the better Harry Potter director, Newell had a much larger scope to handle than Cuaron's, which to me was the last more personal film before the books got largely more expansive in the series. So to hell with Bruckheimer. That guy wouldn't know sh*t. He tried to turn prince of persia into POTC and he failed. He should have butted out and let the director do his job. I remember an interview on this film how he would talk about how awesome it was to film in Morocco when they were promoting the film for home media. Dude is a narrow minded *sshole. So excuse me if I'm not impressed he can draw in masses of idiots when I want more from the films I watch and some lame ass producer takes over the creative aspect of the film that he has no real ability in!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved