WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Purge" Dominates Box Office with $36 Million Opening

Posted: June 9th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Purge" Dominates Box Office with $36 Million OpeningSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures' home-invasion thriller "The Purge," starring Ethan Hawke, shocked everyone by grossing a whopping $36 million and taking first place at the domestic box office. The film, which cost only $3 million to make, has the best opening out of any Hawke movie. It has a 41% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The other wide release of the weekend was "The Internship" comedy, re-teaming Vince Vaughn with Owen Wilson. The new movie grossed a disappointing $18.1 million, which only good enough for fourth place. "The Internship" opened in 800 more theaters than "The Purge" and has a 33% fresh rating. It cost $58 million to make.

Will Smith's "After Earth" continues to struggle. The sci-fi movie dropped to seventh place in its second weekend with only $11.2 million. That brought its worldwide total to $95 million, still short of the movie's $130 million budget, which doesn't even include the marketing costs.

Meanwhile, Joss Whedon's "Much Ado About Nothing" was released in five theaters in New York, Los Angeles and San Francisco. It grossed $183,400 for an impressive per-screen average of $36,680. It has a 78% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "The Purge" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 9th, 2013 at 10:00:55 PM

Smill With is leaving blockbusters behind to do Bad Boys 3: The Revenge of the Sith
pornfly writes:
on June 9th, 2013 at 10:21:53 PM

Is Ethan Hawke still getting the 'Explorers' payrate??

XD
WTF!!
XD
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on June 9th, 2013 at 11:20:30 PM

P to the U to the R-G-E
I wouldn't watch this sh*t for all of Ireland's whiskey.

minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 12:07:57 AM

After Earth, M. Night's swan song.

Adios, sh*thead.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 12:12:16 AM




When you cast your eyes upon the skylines
Of this once proud nation
Can you sense the fear and the hatred
Growing in the hearts of its population

And our youth, oh youth, are being seduced
by the greedy hands of politics and half truths

The beaten generation, the beaten generation
Reared on a diet of prejudice and mis-information
The beaten generation, the beaten generation
Open your eyes, open your imagination

We're being sedated by the gasoline fumes
and hypnotised by the satellites
Into believing what is good and what is right

You may be worshipping the temples of mammon
Or lost in the prisons of religion
But can you still walk back to happiness
When you've nowhere left to run?

Andif they send in the special police
To deliver us from liberty and keep us from peace

Then won't the words sit ill upon their tongues
when they tell us justice is being done
and that freedom lives in the barrels of a warm gun
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 12:54:23 AM

My song to M Night

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sxh-1JyWQPQ

Here on the stage, the time has come
with the strings of 'be my angel', of rockin' 2/4
Time may keep alive
That old swan song
That we've been playing forever,
'til the time may be right to say 'good-bye'...
My voice is aching,
I'm tongue-tied,
And the sounds we are making are so-o-o old...

Goodnight song, played so wrong,
Blame the crowd, they screamed so loud so long.

It's an honest day;
Take the best of me and then the rest let go...
In every situation where there's tireless rage,
Step outside the cage
And let the real fool show.
I should have stayed 'round to break the ice,
I thought about it once or twice
But nothing ever changes
Unless there's some pain...

And our
Goodnight song, played so wrong,
Blame the crowd, they screamed so loud so long,
Goodnight song, played so wrong,
Blame the crowd, they screamed so loud so-o-o long...
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 1:17:15 AM

Why the f*ck did The Internship cost 60mil? Where'd it all go? To Wilson and Vaughn? Who the f*ck decided to pay those unfunny f*cks that much? And for what? Wilson hasn't been "hot" in a decade. Vaughn was never more than lukewarm.

A movie like The Internship should NOT have cost 60 million! Just stupid!

On the other hand, a cubicle gem like Office Space cost 13.6 mil (in 2012 inflated dollars).
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 1:27:57 AM

@mink

I felt like The Beat(en) Generation by the The represents The Purge more or less.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 1:34:51 AM

All I understood of your post, Deaft0ne, was something about the Beat Generation.

What a bunch of 1960's, semi-literate San Fran fag poets have to do with The Purge, you got me.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 1:35:05 AM

The purge will make a crap load of money but i'm pretty confident that it'll suck. I have better hopes for the internship, both of which will make enough money to be profitable.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 1:51:27 AM

It's just me in a weird mood mink. But I think you'd like the The.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 2:00:17 AM

Indeed.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 4:56:36 AM

Typical that such a stupid idea will get so many stupid people watching it. I hate people sometimes.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:04:14 AM

What is this "sometimes" of which you speak?
Rambo writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:12:17 AM

M.night will not get anymore big budget for his movies - which is a good thing,actually,that means he'll have to resort to making small budget thrillers - the thing that made him famous in the first place.

Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:17:51 AM

"They don't think it be like it is, but it do." - Oscar Gamble

http://tinyurl.com/ae5zkae
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:22:28 AM

Studio insiders are saying, from what I read, M Night will be restricted to ~10 mil and under.

And Enforcer was banned, by the way.
Rambo writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:24:51 AM

reading user reviews around the web MOS - seems like most say it's good(full of action) but not great.
pornfly writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:34:59 AM

Enforcer was banned...

I dont trust anyones opinion on anything that doesnt like Naked Gun or slapstick
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:35:40 AM

They finally banned Enforcer? sh*t I thought they only banned people who are normally on topic and contribute to the conversations. Normally trolls are left in their caves on this site he must have really pissed Alex off...
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:38:25 AM

So you don't trust me when I say he was banned, or you don't trust Enforcer? I'm confused. And I do like slapstick. Hell, I f*cking love The Three Stooges, but The Naked Gun, and all of Leslie Nielsen's films, is just silly, not funny.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:40:00 AM

"Normally trolls are left in their caves on this site he must have really pissed Alex off..."

I'm in the cave for the shadows, Cinema...but I do believe he got banned for posting pornographic images. That's what the little birdie told me anyway.
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:41:08 AM

"And Enforcer was banned, by the way."

You don't say!

And like Cinema said, it took Alex a bloody long time to act accordingly!

Having said that we all know the troll will be back eventually.
pornfly writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 5:43:06 AM

Enforcer claimed to not like those movies

Never trust a man that carries his loose change in a sandwich baggie either
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 6:00:22 AM

"Enforcer was banned..."

About damn time lol f*ck that un-knowledgeable c*nt. And really mink? i woulda figured you for a guy to like The Naked Gun series. What about Airplane ?
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 6:09:21 AM

They're okay, Tanman, the whole Nielsen gag film series, but they're not uproariously funny like some think. I can watch them, chuckle perhaps, and I certainly don't dislike Nielsen's comedic work like Enforcer, but I don't slap my knee in raucous laughter either.



I sure do say "I" a lot.
Rambo writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 6:17:01 AM

M.night's new lifestyle:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Grwv_qa7boY
Rambo writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 6:20:24 AM

The Naked gun trilogy was funny but I enjoyed more the short lived 'police squad' 6 episodes tv series - a shame it got cancelled so early.
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 6:41:40 AM

Stupid cow!


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2338480/Mad-Mens-Elisabeth-Moss-praises-Scientology-making-better.html
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 6:53:13 AM

It can't have been gay porn then otherwise Enforcer would have been offered a job writing the articles...
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 6:58:03 AM

No, it was an image of a naked woman jiggling her tits. Had it been Hugh Jackman shirtless or Michael Keaton in sh*t-stained speedos Alex wouldn't have cared. Hell, he probably would have used it for an article.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:00:17 AM

@Mink

Haven't seen them in awhile, Leslie Nelsen was such a great comedic actor. I was Truely saddened by his death. You could tell he was a really nice guy.

And since we're all on this thread now, Did any of you guys here about how John Malkcovich saved a guys life in Toronto the other day lol

Also: Any of you guys love in Chicago? I'm heading down to the Windy City now to watch The Blue Jays face the Chicago White Sox until Wednesday, Might even hit up a casino. Haven't been in your 'Merica for awhile.

Gotta get me some Locos Tacos from Taco Bell! That sh*t ain't in Canada yet lol f*cking Delicious
GreenLensman writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:02:18 AM

Dark Skies had a 3.5mil budget, and grossed about 17mil...Just had to bring that up again. Only God Forgives has a 4.8mil budget; I'm not expecting that movie to bank a huge profit, but I respect a good movie that is well made on a low budget.
GreenLensman writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:09:44 AM

Sinister, with Ethan Hawke, 3mil budget, grossed 48mil.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:10:53 AM

Like I keep saying, sh*t like the WGA and the SGA, essentially UNIONS, keep movies in the red with their ridiculous demands this actor has to actor for this mount of money.

If Hollywood was a hell of a lot more free market instead of one big elitist commune of nuts, they could hire talented nobodies for peanuts.

And before any of you say "people don't want to see nobodies!", trust me, if Hollywood started making more nobody-helmed good films instead of celeb-led turds like After Earth and The Internship, audiences would eventually come around.


I say this in response to what GL said about Dark Skies.
GreenLensman writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:16:29 AM

K-PAX cost 48mil, and made only 600K...
Leaves of Grass cost 9mil, made only 68K.
Great movies that no one appreciated, well, some of my favorites anyways.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:17:04 AM


Here we go. It's not WP unless I'm correcting my posts after the fact like I'm back in 1993.


"actor for this mount of money."

This actor for this amount of money.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:22:51 AM

I kinda wanna watch Hawkes new film "Before Midnight" that's coming out.. It's apparently the last in the "Before" Trilogy that's been going on since 'Before sunrise' in 1994 which was followed by 'Before Sunset' in 2004.

They're just some romance movies but it seems interesting, Might look into it.
GreenLensman writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:25:06 AM

Anything by Linklater is worth a watch, but I've only seen a handful of his movies.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:28:06 AM

Yea I'm gonna look into them, And I said those Backwards. 'Sunset' was first and 'Sunrise' was second lol
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:28:24 AM

I've never been to Chicago, Tanman, but I do know the city gets hot (not hot as Atlanta) and the crime is BAD. Just be careful. Don't hang out in the bad areas, don't walk around downtown at night, and be aware of your surroundings.



"Haven't been in your 'Merica for awhile."

Luck you.
minkowski writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:29:26 AM

y.

Anyone seen What the Bleep Do We Know?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 10th, 2013 at 7:35:26 AM

Thanks, Will do mink, Been there twice. It's a nice city lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved