WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Offers Pirates to Pay $20 for Each Illegal Download or Face $150,000 Penalty

Posted: June 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Offers Pirates to Pay $20 for Each Illegal Download or Face $150,000 PenaltySubmit Comment
Back in February, Warner Bros began targeting people who they believe have illegally downloaded their content. Several internet service providers (ISP) decided to help locate these individuals, but now comes word that the studio has found a way to reach customers of ISPs that aren't participating in the program.

People have been receiving notices, telling them that they have been illegally downloading copyrighted content and that they may be liable for up to $150,000 per illegal download. The same notices also contain a link where people have the option of paying $20 per infringement that will make any legal case against them go away.

Warner Bros confirmed this, stating that $20 fee is a "concrete reminder that our content has value and as a discouragement of future unauthorized activity."

While Warner Bros has been successful at getting these notices to the people who've been illegally downloading content, the studio doesn't know the names or addresses of those people, which means that any legal action against them is unlikely.

But some people have already paid, which turned out to be a big mistake. One person wrote about this on Reddit, explaining that he paid $20 for an illegal download. But since he revealed his phone number on the form, he was immediately contacted and told to pay $40 for the other two files he downloaded.

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 9:37:05 AM

Said one pirate, "Aarrrgh...these landfarers can suck me salty d*ck!"
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 9:52:00 AM

Can't wait for Minks comments.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 10:09:14 AM

I don't know about everyone here,But I download movies because i hate the "Movie going experience",(which includes load ass people talking over films,sticky gross seats and sh*tty service all around)I don't just take them just because I can,In fact almost Every movie I own i've watched online first and it made me want to pay for the dvds.(and when I do I try to get the special edition.)And I tell people about your movies which makes them want to buy it too.And when you read the comments on torrent sites (for the most part) People say they intend to buy the dvd or bluray because they watched the rip of it.If you think i'm going to pay for spreading the word about your films you can f@ck off.

Just my opinion.
Stapes writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 11:05:22 AM

Have fun fighting the future, Warner Bros.
vincere01 writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 12:25:12 PM

Warners should realise that the vast majority of the "offenders" do not have anywhere near 150 grand in the bank. And that if they did decide to pursue a legal case the two most likely outcomes are
1. They spend more money fighting then they will ever recoup.
2. if they do win, most people will just immediately declare bankruptcy. Negating theyre efforts.
So have fun with that bruce wayne
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 1:25:57 PM

I think mink died or something.

I got one of these notices and I lined my Iguana cage with it.

THANKS WB!
Kurskij writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 1:58:24 PM

I wonder what's the legal basis for this?

It's one thing when you distribute illegally obtained content - like torrent seeders.

It's another thing when you take something that's laying there for free. Is it about making a copy of copyrighted material? But how the hell should I know it's copyrighted if, say there's no disclaimer?

What if someone uploads a movie on youtube or dailymotion etc. and I watch it online? Parts of it are still temporarily stored on my computer while I watch it. Do I get sued as well?


I understand that WB is a public company and they want to (and are obliged to) do everything to protect their investments and shareholder's interests, but it's unclear for me how they're going to enforce it WW.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 2:20:37 PM

Lol I wonder if anyone on this site has gotten a message yet. You guys download a lot of movies. I haven't done one in a couple years.
sedibus writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 3:40:20 PM

Instead of f*cking people off you should try to make better movies, not pretty looking or top notch CGI extravaganza only, but more character driven and with better stories.

Sometimes people canīt pay a ticket and is better to download them. Then There are some of them that if they see them for free and like a movie, then go and pay for them.

You f*cking idiots, pieces of sh*t, stupid maggots of brainless sh*t inside you, f*cking bollocks.
pornfly writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 4:19:37 PM

Wutta dingaling for ponying up that 20bucks

My whole floor was wired with cable for a whole year before the cable company got wise and told everyone to pay or quit

I just quit

Power to the people
Rage against the machine
Pip pip cheerio and all that good stuff
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 4:34:28 PM

Lights out, guerilla radio, turn that sh*t up!^
pornfly writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 7:35:02 PM

TAN
guess what
Ive never seen Knockoff
hardly even heard of it
Yea,the 90s are a blurr for me

And whatever you Canadians did to Hard Wired,from Val Kilmers hair piece to just the plain ariticialness of it all
Really left me underwhelmed
nuttie30xx writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 7:36:13 PM

im f*cked ive got like 12TB WORTH OF MOVIES
pornfly writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 7:44:11 PM

:-)DEAF
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 8th, 2013 at 10:07:06 PM

nuttie is back at the beginning, sinking spinning..
nuttie30xx writes:
on June 9th, 2013 at 2:54:46 AM

haha

WB can kiss my arse if they want money from me they can get in line with the bank and credit card companys this is why a love England so much if you dont pay theres f*ck all they can do about it as long as you dont reply to there letters theres no repo here haha
swoooop writes:
on June 9th, 2013 at 8:46:36 AM

So Hollywood is doubling down. They know illegal downloading actually helps them with the sale and promotion, there are several reports of that now. But they still want people who actually are helping them to pay up.

I think seeders should get payed by Hollywood. Seeders, go out and sue the bastard. Knowing the f*cked up legal system inn the US, I think it could work.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved