WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith Plans to Give Up Blockbusters Due to "After Earth" Failure

Posted: June 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith Plans to Give Up Blockbusters Due to "After Earth" FailureSubmit Comment
If Will Smith signs on for a big-budget film, he expects it to open in first place at the box office. And now that his "After Earth" movie has failed to do so, the actor is now re-thinking his entire career.

"It's been an absolute necessity that the movie be a blockbuster, but I think I'm going to start moving out of that and finding more danger in my artistic choices," he explained, hinting that he'll be sticking to independent films for a little while.

Smith added that his biggest fear has been his "movie opening at No. 2." Luckily that didn't happen. "After Earth" opening at No. 3, behind both "Fast and Furious 6" and "Now You See Me."

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 7:42:12 AM

Bullsh*t.

Bet his next movies will be MIB 27 and Hanc*ck 2: Bangkok
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 8:08:58 AM

"...and finding more danger in my artistic choices,"

Bollocks!

So much for your Scientology training courses!
Rambo writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 8:13:55 AM

Blah blah blah...

movie tanked because of your ugly kid.

deal with it.
boogiel writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 8:21:46 AM

He's getting more and more like Tom Cruise everyday.
Stapes writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 8:38:40 AM

Really? Sounds to me like just another *sshole who started to believe his press. I never saw anything special about the Fresh Prince and the art form has never been nor ever will be elevated by his presence in it. So go on with your bad self and your existential crisis, you've been replaced by The Rock and there is no phoenix story in your future.
trucvylucky852 writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 9:01:02 AM

he blew it by working with a hack like m. night. and spoon feeding his kid to the public.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 9:14:26 AM

RIP Will! !
Fightclub1 writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 9:17:12 AM

Giving up after one failure? Not so classy fresh prince
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 9:38:59 AM

Your kid can't act for sh*t will don't get me wrong karate kid was some what ok but Jackie chan was in it. And having M Night shamash*t direct your film was no help either. I'd go on but I will leave the better more trained insult artist on here.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 10:08:44 AM

Like many others have said, moviegoers wanted to see Iron Man 3, Fast 6, and Hangover 3, after that the next highly-anticipated summer movie is Man of Steel. For Will Smith to think anything otherwise is stupid and After Earth was never going to be a hit and the 5/31 release date was just suicide.

Will and the studio knew when all the other summer movies were coming out and even though it's a piece of refried sh*t it would have made more money if it was an April, August, September, or January or February release.

Also, no one likes your f*cking kids.
DeVries writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 10:17:47 AM

About what, 10 years too late, Will ?
English_Bloke82 writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 10:35:04 AM

What a d*ck! He has dominated the box office for so many years with good films and now this one goes tits up he wants to have a cry about it? When I first heard about it, I didn't want to watch it because of the kid not Will. No offence to Jaden, but I would rather hear about him from his own merit, start off in a TV series and move up the ranks, not be spoon fed to audiences like trucvylucky852 said. Also 3rd place? It's not as if no one went to see it!! If he wants to do independent movies then fine, but don't mascaraed it as you are only doing these due to a failure of "Blockbuster" films, how will this make backers / producers / directors feel if they see Will is involved? This is only because he can't make it big anymore?
English_Bloke82 writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 10:36:27 AM

Also top three films all completely different types of films Will! You are top in a Sci-Fi sense!
James Blond writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 12:14:19 PM

first i saw Will Smith Plans to Give Up.... i tought immediately to his scientology membership.. and then i read: Up Blockbusters Due.... bla bla bla... uninteresant
GreenLensman writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 12:31:18 PM

I enjoyed After Earth. It was just very poorly directed, and written. Perhaps it is M. Night who should be giving up on blockbusters. The story was from Will Smith, but god knows he did not write the script. I found it to have zero plot, and kept asking myself "what is the point to this movie?". Without even thinking of Jaden Smith or Will Smith, the movie lacked a certain gravity that will pull you into a great movie.

I found nothing wrong with the acting, or the visuals for that matter, it was just the idea of the main character's mission, which was to save themselves, I thought to be a bit shallow and lacked a great deal of motivational substance that left me questioning why they found it unnecessary to expand upon such an emotional journey through an abandoned future Earth.

If there had been more to the plot, perhaps, like discovering something about the aliens that could drive them away from our planet so that they could restore it back to its natural ecology. Or finding out a meaning of why the aliens invaded in the first place. Just something, anything, to distract us from the flow of constant hollowness of reasoning behind the survival instincts of a whiny teenager.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 12:55:18 PM

After Battlefield Earth
pp2larj4u writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 1:57:19 PM

I agree with GreenLensman

The concept of going back to an uninhabitable Earth had so much potential and all we got was a sappy father son plot which could've been done in any other setting.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 2:19:31 PM

I hope he just retires but hes addicted to having his name on billboards so sadly he will never stop
Art writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 3:10:48 PM

His son looks like he doesn't weigh much.

And yeah, "After Battlefield Earth", there you go. Good idea there, chief. He can make it with that other Scientology guy, John Travolta. Now there's a guy who weighs a lot!
Morbius writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 3:12:15 PM

Bollocks! Give up reproducing and/or forcing your bastard children on us. Ain't no one who likes them. They can only just stand you, but the kids... Gotta go.

Sell them into scientology.
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 3:16:02 PM

Jaden Smith's face looks like he's about to be punched in the face.


@Art

I bet all your pizza have equally the same weight.
sedibus writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 3:19:10 PM

And you know, Ive seen a few teasers here and there on TV and the sequences (only action pieces) looks very promising.

Oh, sh*t, man, no story developed. Oh, well!
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 3:21:12 PM

In other news, Carey Mulligan will play the young Hillary Clinton in biopic Rodham!

All of a sudden her performance in Shame was so much better! Stupid girl.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 3:54:14 PM

Smith is crying about his so called failure, but f*ck the movie...it was his ego and selfish pride that got hurt.

I could tell he had a chip on his shoulder the way he kept questioning Tarantino's writing and about how HE wanted to end it and who he should kill...He felt he had that much power. Django wasn't MIB3, bro!! He wanted to carry the movie by himself...he'd probably also screw Waltz from his Oscar. If he didn't want to do it, then decline it...you're an actor, so act. That behavior only comes from an *sshole.

Plus making himself HAVE to be in a #1 blockbuster is just setting himself to fail. Nobody lives at the top too long. He should just keep his mouth shut, stop shoving his family down our throats, and be more open minded to roles that stretch his acting muscles, not his paycheck.
Rambo writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 3:55:37 PM

'Stoker' - 4/10 slow and boring movie about nothing.
Rambo writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 6:40:43 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAeiI6KTS_c
Rambo writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 6:42:30 PM

new 'Man of steel' trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwYatpwrs8s
zxz writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 7:03:22 PM

He should give up acting and rapping. His son should get a real job, like washing bicycles.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 7:24:04 PM

Straight up, Will Smith, look above me. See all those users? A bunch of morons.

You still got it. Let the haters hate, yo. Who cares what those losers say when you know they'll just rush to see your next movie anyway?

And DAMN, do I wanna give that Boogiel bitch an enema! LOOK AT THEM TITTAYS!!!!!!!!!
Champ1432 writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 7:50:51 PM

How about just giving up foisting your talentless son on us for a while? And you should probably stay away from M. Night as well, he seems to be done.
Stapes writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 8:37:24 PM

While it's uncertain at this point in human history as to whether we prefer freedom or security more, one thing is a fact: people hate nepotism.
Man in Black writes:
on June 7th, 2013 at 1:35:47 AM

B-O-O H-O-O Did coming in 3rd hurt the ego ? The sun will still rise in the east tomorrow Will . Take this as a sign from your fans . Instead of " If at first you don't succeed , try - try again " Will lives by " The first time you don't succeed , give up " .
nuttie30xx writes:
on June 7th, 2013 at 2:47:02 AM

like he will turn down bad boys 3 granted it wont cost 200 million + probably 120million mark 30 mil of the will be his pay the big lugged mofo
jikae writes:
on June 7th, 2013 at 3:25:05 AM

Umm. Will? It's called: M. Night. Shymalan. There is a reason why he doesn't get projects anymore. Give the public more credit, they're not stupid. Just because it doesn't say "by M. Night Shymalan..." doesn't mean they won't look at the credits.

Do yourself a favor, talk Martin Lawrence into doing Bad Boys 3, Michael Bay would probably like the break from Transformers again and do MIB4 and stop the dramatic stuff. Then, you'll be at the top of the box office again and all will be well. Unless all those dianetics classes got your brainwashed, then your just out of luck. Sorry.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on June 7th, 2013 at 4:02:32 AM

The problem is not the blockbusters but the constant need to push his kids in the movies with him. It was cute the first time but now it's really gotten pretty f*cking annoying.
Yourhighness writes:
on June 7th, 2013 at 5:10:13 AM

"That M Night Shyamalan movie is going to be a blockbuster". Said no one ever
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 7th, 2013 at 6:52:45 PM

it's easy to understand here, m. night shymalan was a late 90s early 2000s figure, that generation has grown since then, and since then signs was still the last thing he made that turned out better than, last airbender, lady in the water, are those the only ones he did after signs?...must be a sign in itself, as for will smith, the audience that grew up with you is 10-20 years older these days...the fans that had soooooo much negativity towards your son was a sign that he should not be in your 'bigger' films...i mean look how men in black 3 did?...no son, no nightmare...it was different in 'pursuit of happiness' because nobody knew who the hell he was nor was he in remake yet....i guess i care too much for art that i'd end up one of those artists/actors that die and have a huge legacy left behind yet unfinished

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved