WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Man of Steel" is Already Profitable, Thanks to $160 Million in Product Placements

Posted: June 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Man of Steel" is Already Profitable, Thanks to $160 Million in Product PlacementsSubmit Comment
"Man of Steel" has a budget of about $225 million. And while Warner Bros will likely have no trouble getting that money back from ticket sales, it turns out that it has already recouped almost 3/4 of it.

According to AdvertisingAge, "Man of Steel" was able to accumulate over 100 global promotional partners, which resulted in $160 million in product placement. There are companies like Warby Parker, which is offering Clark Kent-inspired glasses; Gillette, which created a video about how Superman shaves; and Chrysler, which placed two cars in the movie. Other companies include Sears, Army National Guard, Kellogg, Nokia, and Carl's Jr.

"Man of Steel" now holds the record for the most partners, beating "The Lorax," which was released last year and have 70 partners. And with the DVD/Blu-ray release on the way, Warner Bros can still get more partners.

Between product placement and tax credits, "Man of Steel" is already profitable. But there's still an opportunity to make $1 billion from ticket sales, and countless more billions from toys, merchandise and video games.

Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: AdAge


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 9:16:55 PM

Alex get off of Man of Steel's d*ck already.
cress writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 9:18:11 PM

I'm wearing my Superman Underoos right now. Not from this film, but the ones I wore as a child. It's a tight fit, but the ladies seem to love how it makes my junk look massive. I have no feeling below the waist, though.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 9:21:47 PM

I'm wearing Batman undies.

Wanna sword fight?
Gates writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 9:23:07 PM

"Man of Steel" does sound like a good slogan for Viagra.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 9:28:49 PM

Aww guess we aren't getting a sequel then.

:-(
cress writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 9:51:05 PM

@Tanman. You can keep your sword to yourself. It wouldn't be a fair fight anyway-my Excalibur sword against your tiny pocket-knife.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 10:06:10 PM

lol^

Also if there are any fans of either band here, Alice In Chains and Queens of the Stone Age have both released new albums and I had no idea!

The Devil Put The Dinosaurs Here and Like Clockwork, respectively.
BillyBunter writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 10:10:51 PM

I wonder if Vivid Entertainment Group claimed the rights to the super dildo.

@Tanman The whole sword fight comment was pretty gay dude. Not judging but as an NBA player said this week, "no homo"!
coldplayesence writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 10:43:38 PM

Disney heard the thing about Toy's sales and is now launching a full blown crusade to get DC characters. And then make a movie a about the DC and Marvel toys come to life. And then sell the toys from that movie.
cress writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 10:54:26 PM

One of the best product placements (and the most glaring, if-you-miss-it-you-are-blind) ever is in the original SUPERMAN, when Martha Kent places a box of Cheerios on the table. It might as well have had a goddamn spotlight shining on it.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 10:57:41 PM

The gay comment was a joke... I thought it was obvious. I guess only respected members of the worst previews community get to make gay jokes and get away with them. My sincere Appoligizes.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 10:58:48 PM

LOL You've hurt my Soft Canadian Ego!
I demand Appoligies! Or I'll throw a snowball!
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 11:06:34 PM

Apologies^
BillyBunter writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 11:20:54 PM

I am just f*cking with you Tan :), you are a good dude. We all know Telur with his constant spoilers is the sword fighting inbred of WP.
YoungChris writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 12:31:17 AM

Good for them ...
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 12:34:11 AM

Deaft-

My phone doesn't correct spelling on WP lol

Billy-
I know mate aha :)
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 1:03:17 AM

@mink

Don't be to quick to base opinons off face values just because my avatar is Patrick Bateman it doesnt mean Im a depraved lunatic who loves taboo tripe. It was the performance which enamoured me with the character not his ideals and as it is a satire of the vaccuous materialistic 80's I dont know why people take it so seriously. I detest eli roth and movies like his that are violent for gore's sake.

I enjoy a wide array of literature and all the facets of human nature which fills its pages. You may not like Pynchon which is fine but I dont think its nearly as crass and debauched as you make out. I think if you read something like Gravitys rainbow even you would enjoy some parts its so diverse.

And my picture is Bill Murray from The Life Aquatic which is an aquired taste as I understand alot of people dislike it.

Would you be so kind as to indicate any books you highly recommend

Tanman32123 writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 2:00:14 AM

Anything by Stephen King Mate!
BillyBunter writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 2:14:18 AM

I just finished reading Damned by Chuck Palahniuk, that book was a marvel of disturbing material.
GreenLensman writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 3:33:46 AM

like how many billions...I like money
Rambo writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 4:16:59 AM

I'll hold my horses till reviews are out.
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 6th, 2013 at 5:56:51 AM

Breaking news!

Game of Thrones episode was based on real events

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2336669/Game-Thrones-creator-Shockingly-gory-Red-Wedding-episode-based-actual-history.html

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved