WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Henry Cavill Says Meeting Russell Crowe 15 Years Ago Changed His Life

Posted: June 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Henry Cavill Says Meeting Russell Crowe 15 Years Ago Changed His LifeSubmit Comment
While promoting "Man of Steel," Henry Cavill and Russell Crowe spoke about their first meeting, which took place about fifteen years ago, when Cavill was only 15 years old. That meeting gave the actor enough motivation to ultimately get him to this point.

"When I was in boarding school, [Russell] filmed a scene from his movie 'Proof of Life,'" said Cavill. "[I was an extra in] the background. And at one stage, [all the extras] were standing there in a big semi-circle, between set-ups, just staring at [Russell]. And I thought, 'We look really weird. Why are we staring at this man?' I want to be an actor, so why don't I got up and talk to him, ask him for some advice. I said, 'Hi, my name is Henry. I'm thinking of becoming an actor, do you have any advice, tips, what's it like?' And he said, 'it's good, pay is good, but sometimes they don't treat you so good.'"

He continued: "Two days later, he sends me a rugby jersey, band CD, candy and a picture of him from 'Gladiator' saying, 'Dear Henry, a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.' And that has sat in my bedroom for years, during all the times I went to LA for months at a time, not getting a job, [coming] back to London, [working] in a bar until I got enough money to fly back again and [not] get a job. And every time, I would look at that [picture] and [know] to keep going. It's not a short journey, it's a journey of a thousand miles."

In a separate interview, Crowe explained that he sent Cavill the package because "he asked me such direct, heart-felt questions, that I remembered him." In addition to the "Gladiator" picture, he also included a letter encouraging him to not give up.

When the two actors finally met again on the set of "Man of Steel," Crowe was shocked to find out that Cavill was that boy he spoke to many years ago. Cavill was glad to point out that "Man of Steel" is "the most pivotal point in my career, and you're playing my dad."

Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: AccessHollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 6:54:06 AM

First paragraph:
While promoting "Man of Steel," Henry Cavill and Russell Crowe spoke about their first meeting, which took place fourteen years ago...

Title:
Henry Cavill Says Meeting Russell Crowe 15 Years Ago...

At least match the years ;)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 6:54:37 AM

You changed it already! Haha.
tolgaboy writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 7:10:01 AM

Great
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 7:14:06 AM

Heartwarming story. I think I need a towel to dry my eyes.



Tomorrow's mind-blowing article: Superman Suit Wouldn't Let Cavill Piss.

http://www.eonline.com/news/426320/henry-cavill-says-man-of-steel-superman-suit-was-hard-to-pee-in-there-was-no-zipper
Cannon writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 7:21:17 AM

So he's had a picture of Russell Crowe next to his bed for the past 15 years?
minkowski writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 7:29:35 AM

That's nothing. Alex has pictures of a shirtless Jackman and a pants-less Keaton next to his bed.
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 7:32:13 AM

Lol!
Rambo writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 7:44:24 AM

makin' movie makin' songs and fightin' around the world.


TUGGER!!!
boogiel writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 8:14:11 AM

Heartwarming story. I think I need a towel to dry my eyes.

@mink

I guess someday they will make a movie about this if MOS is turn out to be a huge success.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 8:33:02 AM

Henry also had nudes of Russell by his bed to remember the day when Russell touched him err his life.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 8:37:14 AM

"And that HE* sat in my bedroom for years.."

Corrected.
Morbius writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 9:18:22 AM

More like 5000 miles... 1000 miles from London would barely get you past Spain.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 10:00:12 AM

Wow, I bet that they both weighed a lot less back then than they do now.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 11:10:08 AM

That's a cool story...but correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't Proof of Life also the movie Crowe f*cked Meg Ryan that caused a divorce from Dennis Quaid?!

As I recall, that marriage was already in shambles from allegations of Quaid being unfaithful first, but anyways....fuuucking Croooowe...literary and figuratively. LOL.
velocityknown writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 11:23:24 AM

Cavill continued, "And then he threw a phone at my head and called me a c*nt."
LearJet writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 1:51:52 PM

That's cool :)
OneTime writes:
on June 5th, 2013 at 11:19:30 PM

haha wow
seveltoto writes:
on October 22nd, 2017 at 8:34:26 PM

aleale writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 11:00:41 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 12:59:56 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved