WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Sopranos" Tops List of 101 Best Scripted TV Shows of All Time

Posted: June 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Sopranos" Tops List of 101 Best Scripted TV Shows of All TimeSubmit Comment
The Writers Guild of America (WGA) has decided to put together a list of 101 best scripted television shows of all time. Members of the WGA took part in an online survey in order to rank the many shows and HBO's "The Sopranos" came out on top, earning the title of WGA best scripted TV series in history.

"Seinfeld" took second place, topping the list of the best sitcoms, beating "M*A*S*H" (5th), "Cheers" (8th), and "Friends" (24th). "The Twilight Zone" landed in third place. The show has been around since the 50's and is still on the air today. It's been rebooted twice and Bryan Singer is currently in the works on a fourth version.

Check out the full list below and let us know if you believe something is missing or is not properly placed.

1. The Sopranos
2. Seinfeld
3. The Twilight Zone
4. All in the Family
5. M*A*S*H
6. The Mary Tyler Moore Show
7. Mad Men
8. Cheers
9. The Wire
10. The West Wing
11. The Simpsons
12. I Love Lucy
13. Breaking Bad
14. The Dick Van Dyke Show
15. Hill Street Blues
16. Arrested Development
17. The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
18. Six Feet Under
19. Taxi
20. The Larry Sanders Show
21. 30 Rock
22. Friday Night Lights
23. Frasier
24. Friends
25. Saturday Night Live
26. The X-Files
27. Lost
28. ER
29. The Cosby Show
30. Curb Your Enthusiasm
31. The Honeymooners
32. Deadwood
33. Star Trek
34. Modern Family
35. Twin Peaks
36. NYPD Blue
37. The Carol Burnett Show
38. Battlestar Galactica (2005)
39. Sex and The City
40. Game of Thrones
41. The Bob Newhart Show
41. Your Show of Shows
43. Downton Abbey
43. Law and Order
43. Thirtysomething
46. Homicide: Life on the Street
46. St. Elsewhere
48. Homeland
49. Buffy the Vampire Slayer
50. The Colbert Report
50. The Good Wife
50. The Office (UK)
53. Northern Exposure
54. The Wonder Years
55. L.A. Law
56. Sesame Street
57. Columbo
58. Fawlty Towers
58. The Rockford Files
60. Freaks and Geeks
60. Moonlighting
62. Roots
63. Everybody Loves Raymond
63. South Park
65. Playhouse 90
66. Dexter
66. The Office (US)
68. My So-Called Life
69. Golden Girls
70. The Andy Griffith Show
71. 24
71. Roseanne
71. The Shield
74. House
74. Murphy Brown
76. Barney Miller
76. I, Claudius
78. The Odd Couple
79. Alfred Hitchcock Presents
79. Monty Python's Flying Circus
79. Star Trek: The Next Generation
79. Upstairs, Downstairs
83. Get Smart
84. The Defenders
84. Gunsmoke
86. Justified
86. Sgt. Bilko/The Phil Silvers Show
88. Band of Brothers
89. Rowan and Martin's Laugh-In
90. The Prisoner
91. Absolutely Fabulous
92. The Muppet Show
93. Boardwalk Empire
94. Will and Grace
95. Family Ties
96. Lonesome Dove
97. Soap
98. The Fugitive
99. Late Night with David Letterman
99. Louie
101. Oz

Source: WGA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 11:04:10 PM

57. Columbo
58. Fawlty Towers
58. The Rockford Files
60. Freaks
60. Geeks
60. Moonlighting
62. Roots

..k
jthm-1 writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 11:18:41 PM

Thirtysomething at 43? Really? Ahead of Buffy, Homicide, and Monty Python? It should be at 3,999, just after Alf & Cop Rock. Just because you're closer to 60 now, does not mean you get to douche it up for everyone else. Just for that, I'll be holding a RED WEDDING! Invitations are in the mail.
Champ1432 writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 11:30:45 PM

Yeah, I've said it before, and I'll say it again. Seinfeld...... way overrated. So they're basically saying Seinfeld is the best comedy ever. Yikes. I weep for a world that hasn't seen better comedy than Seinfeld.

Most of the other choices are ok, I guess. Of course, I would put Star Trek and Star Trek: TNG higher. Big shock, I know. Justified should be higher as well, IMO.

A bit surprised by the number of more recent shows on the list. I would have thought they would have skewed older.

But yeah, bottom line, Seinfeld should be much lower.
numnut writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 11:37:56 PM

Is a fair list but would have Battlestar Galactica, 24 and GoT higher and Lost much lower. Only just discovered The Wire and that deserves to be in top 10
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 11:41:54 PM

This is stupid. IMDb already has a list and it's based on hundreds of thousands of votes, not some "survey".
Stapes writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 12:14:24 AM

So if I stop reading yahoo news updates daily, I'm guaranteed to get about 50% of what's "important" in movie news about 72 hours later than everyone else in the world... that's IF, IFFFF, it isn't an already commonly KNOWN fact (Pacino auditioning for Solo) Yeah, f*ck you, Alex.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 12:17:56 AM

I've seen ever episode of:

1. Sopranos
13. Breaking Bad
26. The X-Files
27. LOST
28. ER
66. Dexter

And I've seen most of

2. Seinfeld
11. The Simpsons
23. Frasier
24. Friend
63. South Park

I watch a lot of TV shows. Hell i got bored this last two weeks and Rewatched Season 7 of Dexter and Season 5 of Breaking Bad. Not to mention I started and completed The Sopranos this year.

Amazing show!
telur writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 12:26:17 AM

no MacGyver?
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 12:29:53 AM

Tanman needs a girlfriend. Or boyfriend.
rancid meatloaf writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 12:31:53 AM

Sopranos is obviously good but idk about number one. Oz is a great show, sad it was only listed at 100
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 12:43:41 AM

No non-American shows. Bullsh*t list.


Best action television show: 24.

Best sitcom: Married with Children.

Best sci-fi: Star Trek The Next Generation.

Best animated: The Simpsons.

Best murder thriller/mystery: Sherlock/Dexter

Best show period: The X-Files.





And f*ck MASH and Friends. MASH has like the worst theme song ever, and Friends is just STUPID.
boogiel writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 12:58:28 AM

No disrespect to the sopranos, but I think that honor should have went to ALL IN THE FAMILY.
shiteater writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 1:00:49 AM

Alex is disappointed that Ninja Turtles didn't make the list.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 1:12:14 AM

I totally agree with The Sopranos being #1, Cheers, and MASH respectively...the rest is meh..

Seinfeld #2?! GTFOH!! I get the feeling they only put Seinfeld as #2 just because everyone would bitch if it'd be #1.

Me not bring a writer, I really have a hard time agreeing with some of these and what would be the reason for it...

Like all lame ass lists, I don't give a f*ck about the what, most importantly to me is the why...
Rambo writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 1:19:13 AM

My list:

1.Lost(first 5 seasons)
2.Twin Peaks
3.Star trek the next generation
4.24
5.The Prisoner
6.Married with children
7.Babylon 5
8.Late night with Conan O'Brien
9.Sherlock
10.Seinfeld
The Sage writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 3:24:45 AM

They thought "Freaks & Geeks" was two different shows?
KillerCOck writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 3:51:07 AM

I can't believe Oz is at the bottom! That's Bullsh*t!
Rambo writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:00:44 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4psKYpfnYs
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:11:10 AM

Can't argue with The Sopranos but Seinfield? What the actual f*ck? Does anyone with half a brain even like that show. Arrested Development is a much smarter, better written comedy. The people who voted for this were obviously retards. The Wire should be a close second f*cking amazing show. Mad Men is boring that should be lower. Futurama is better than the Simpsons as a whole. Sex and The City shouldn't be topping any list other than best performance by a horse. Twin Peaks should be in the top ten.
ollos1986 writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:15:04 AM

im with mink!! this list is stupid, of course we all have our own fav's but there are some things on this list that everyone would agree should not be there!!.

my top 5 would be

1:stargate(all of them)
2:game of thrones
3:hannibal
4:family guy (better then simpsons)
5:the walking dead

ollos1986 writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:17:33 AM

I forgot 24.
Seinfeld is sh*t, ive never been able to watch a full ep. sidcoms should not be on that list they are just cheap easy poor written jokes
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:20:48 AM

Reading through yesterdays comments, this Art guy seems to have an unhealthy obsession with peoples weight lol...

Art writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 6:06:22 PM
Hey, how much you think those two guys weigh put together?


Art writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 6:16:39 PM
Well I'm retiring next year so I'm not going to be still working out there when I'm this guy's age. He doesn't look like he weighs much


Art writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 6:05:29 PM
Wow I wonder how much that guy weighs with the iron suit and all


Art writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 6:04:15 PM
So that guy in that suit, how much does that guy weigh?


Art writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 6:55:01 PM
Subjective? I don't know about all that, I'm just wondering what this guy in the suit weighs
ollos1986 writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:21:30 AM

if sitcoms were meant to be there, I would only choose big bang theory
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:39:30 AM

Seinfeld?! Oh f*ck Off!!

FAWLTY TOWERS
The Twilight Zone
Game Of Thrones
house
The Sopranos
Mad Men
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:43:39 AM

@Cinema

Regarding that Art guy, Lol but weird though.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 4:50:01 AM

f*ck ME! I just noticed that Game of Thrones was below Sex and The City. Definitely women voters on this one.

ollos1986- Big Bang Theory is average at best. Too hit and miss for a list like this...
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 5:10:56 AM

What, no Zombieland?
j-man writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 5:21:19 AM

No fringe? f*ck off
Rambo writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 5:27:22 AM

no full house?
i124q writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 5:37:02 AM

Boardwalk Empire should be higher up the list.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 5:52:25 AM

What, no Cosby Mysteries?
ItPutsTheLotionOnTheSkin writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 5:56:05 AM

How isnt Nip/Tuck not on this list? Also Curb should be top 20 and Oz top 50. This list is bs.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 5:58:04 AM

Automan, Manimal, and Space Precinct are missing too.
ItPutsTheLotionOnTheSkin writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:08:14 AM

So I just realized there is no That 70's Show either...how in the hell...
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:14:32 AM

And no Homeboys from Outer Space? No Supertrain?
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:15:27 AM

Now Cop Rock, there's a winner.
i124q writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:25:35 AM

No Southland on the list either for shame.
Damon242 writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:27:06 AM

Hmm...not sure if this is a fair list.

For instance, there are serialized and procedural series on here, as well as half-hour and hour, drama and comedy, etc.

You wouldn't compare a novel to a children's short story.
Rambo writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:28:58 AM

Game of Thrones: Red Wedding Reactions Compilation:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78juOpTM3tE
Damon242 writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:37:48 AM

@Mink

There are non-American series present on this list.

- Upstairs, Downstairs
- Monty Python
- I, Claudius

Those above are just three examples.

However, the survey is obviously related to what has broadcast on American television.

Like the case of the "world series", they just prefer to leave out the specifics

minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:42:17 AM

Yeah and the Office UK version too.

Still...no Sherlock? WTF? 9.2 on IMDB.
minkowski writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:44:06 AM

Man has sex with pitbull

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/local/breaking/chi-man-charged-with-having-sex-with-pit-bull-at-city-pound-20130601,0,3836644.story
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 7:12:27 AM

@Rambo

That's what I kept hearing last night: OMG! OMG!
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 7:15:55 AM

Having sex with a pitbull???

More surprisingly, I'm stunned the dog didn't bite his d*ck off!

"His bail was set at $80,000." Lol.
Bunny X writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 11:33:37 AM

The fact that this list does not have Archer completely invalidates it.
CookingHamUSA writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 12:29:46 PM

I would have put Breaking Bad higher up on the list.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 3:14:26 PM

Mink.

Girlfriend? Yes. Boyfriend? I'm Not JB.

"Best show period: The X-Files"
You bet your sweet ass it is lol
mrstretch writes:
on June 4th, 2013 at 6:05:37 PM

No Looney Toons???!!!! WTF

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved