WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smiths' "After Earth" Bombs in Theaters

Posted: June 3rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will SmithsSubmit Comment
Will Smith's "After Earth" sci-fi adventure, which was directed by M Night Shyamalan, was released in theaters this weekend and became one of the most disappointing grosses for a Will Smith movie. In fact, many believe that "After Earth" marks the end of Smith's box office domination.

"After Earth" earned only $27 million, placing it in third place, behind "Fast and Furious 6" and "Now You See Me." Sony was expecting to get between $35 and $40 million, especially since the movie cost $130 million to make. And it doesn't help that the film has a lousy 12% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"Now You See Me," the magic heist movie that stars Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo and Woody Harrelson, was expected to open to $20 million, but went on to gross $28 million. That was good enough for second place, despite the fact that the movie was actually released in 500 less theaters than "After Earth."

"Now You See Me" cost only $75 million to make, which means that it's on its way to becoming profitable. It has a 43% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, "The Hangover Part III" dropped a whopping 62% from last week, landing in sixth place with $15.9 million. The domestic total is now at a disappointing $88.1 million. The comedy is performing much better overseas, grossing $110 million, for a worldwide total of $198 million, almost double its budget.

Click here to read our "After Earth" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hunter207 writes:
on June 2nd, 2013 at 10:36:34 PM

you don't say???
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2013 at 10:43:49 PM

Good. Now maybe studios will finally learn a lesson and stop giving M. Night more f*cking money. I mean how bombs does it take to fail in Hollywood? Five? Ten? Fifty?
rancid meatloaf writes:
on June 2nd, 2013 at 10:45:56 PM

Well two sh*t movies in a row, what do you expect? Stop trying to make your talentless kid a star
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 2nd, 2013 at 10:57:19 PM

JUST left the theater. Writing Review now.
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2013 at 11:14:09 PM

many. I always think faster than I type.
shiteater writes:
on June 2nd, 2013 at 11:36:37 PM

I went and saw it. It wasn't good, but it was watchable. It kept my attention and wasn't too long which helped make it bearable.

Maybe just because I like sci-fi. I'll take a poorly-reviewed sci-fi movie with a simple story over a poorly-reviewed artsy movie any day.
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 2nd, 2013 at 11:46:44 PM

I don't see how 26 million makes a movie bomb.It didn't make the predicted figures but I do not see that as a movie that bombed at all
minkowski writes:
on June 2nd, 2013 at 11:57:18 PM

"Maybe just because I like sci-fi. I'll take a poorly-reviewed sci-fi movie with a simple story over a poorly-reviewed artsy movie any day."

Then you're not a connoisseur of science fiction because for the true fan of science fiction, bad sci-fi is blasphemy. And After Earth, from all indications including your own, is BAD science fiction, if you can call it that at all.


"I don't see how 26 million makes a movie bomb.It didn't make the predicted figures but I do not see that as a movie that bombed at all"

Because it cost 130 million to make and didn't even meet the studios quite modest goals.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:14:22 AM

Witwicky-potter is a sh*teater..and

Anyways f*ck this movie
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:17:00 AM

witwicky-potter and drivememento and markedfordeathlayercake need to all be buddies.

Also killbillamericanpsycho.

And supermanragingbull.
shiteater writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:17:57 AM

"Then you're not a connoisseur of science fiction because for the true fan of science fiction, bad sci-fi is blasphemy. And After Earth, from all indications including your own, is BAD science fiction, if you can call it that at all."

You're right, I'm not a connoisseur of science fiction based on your definition. I have an appreciation for sh*tty 50's b-movie sci-fi, which is BAD science fiction.
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:26:52 AM

"I have an appreciation for sh*tty 50's b-movie sci-fi, which is BAD science fiction.;

Well, there you go. You love sh*tty science fiction. Most people don't. But you should be right at home with After Earth, another M. Night abomination.
sedibus writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:30:56 AM

@Mink:

What Sci-Fi authors are you reading? Or those that you consider are great sci-fi writers, doesnīt matter if you donīt name your favourites, though.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:35:46 AM

ahh deaftroll is trolling their other users cause they liked after earth.Go back to your cage trolly.
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:41:31 AM

@Sedibus: I don't read science fiction. I don't read fiction at all. I read science and math. But I used to read Clarke, Brin, Baxter, Asimov, all the usual suspects.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:54:23 AM

throw more soggy insult noodles at me bandoloser, i'm shakin!
KillerCOck writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 1:03:23 AM

His Son just ruins the whole movie. I hate that kid, he's always awfully annoying.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 1:35:46 AM

Little will isn't ready for the big acting roles. he's still a young Actor with little knowledge in the acting game. give it some time lol he needs more training.
Cannon writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 3:39:34 AM

Saw both this and Now You See Me on Friday. After Earth is never flat-out terrible, just really bland and mopey, and not particularly inventive or imaginative.

Now You See Me, on the other hand, though dumb as a bag of really dumb hammers, is also energized with a fast paced narrative and a charismatic cast. The twist-ending is f*cking preposterous but I still fun with the whole thing overall, much more so than Will Smith's aforementioned vanity project.

Dreamcast writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 4:08:32 AM

M. Night Shyamalan + Jaden Smith + barely-disguised Scientology subtext = massive failure.

Why is that surprising?
minkowski writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 4:23:32 AM

Ex-Scientologist reviews After Earth

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/a-scientologist-reviews-earth-guest-561310
Gates writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 5:05:30 AM

I'm not sure how anyone could be surprised. I mean, the trailer had the names; M. Night Shama lama Ding Dong, and Jaden Smith attached to it.

Rambo writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 6:36:31 AM

'In fact, many believe that "After Earth" marks the end of Smith's box office domination'

give me a break - one flop and his career is over? just last year he made Men in Black 3 and it made lots of money.
Are you telling me that if he makes 'Hanc*ck 2' or 'Independence day 2' it won't make sh*t load of money? of course it will,he just needs to focus more on his career and less on his lame ass son Jade.

Kurskij writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 8:37:04 AM

"In fact, many believe that "After Earth" marks the end of Smith's box office domination"

Give me a break, it's a surprise that with it made this much considering reviews and the fact that he's barely in it, playing against type.

He pushed his little minion and paid for it - though I'm sure that WW it'll break even and then some.

He made 3flops in a row in 99-01, including Wild Wild West. Then, when he made MIB 2 to surge back and it disappointed - that still didn't end his "dominance".

Smith has plenty of franchises to fall back on, lets just hope he won't push his kids at the expense of his own stock.

Hwood loves "fall from grace" stories - they had a field day when Dark Shadows 'bombed', "Jack Reacher" was somehow a disappointment. Yet when Depp made Pirates 2-3 or Downey came back from nowhere to become one of the biggest stars in the world - same magazines, editors and writers suck em dry, praising "last true movie stars".

They say whatever gets them clicks and sells mags.

Kurskij writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 10:10:19 AM

@rambo

Excusez moi for unknowing plagiarism.
beepboop writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 10:55:28 AM

It still made too much money for a CGI mess with Jaden Smith.
sdpepper writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:08:53 PM

Saw it yesterday and I would give it 2 1/2 out of 5.

Was hoping for more action from a Will Smith movie and since almost all of the action does not include him, I was disappointed.

Overall I did enjoy the story for what it was, but if you are gonna make a movie starring Will Smith, let him be in more action scenes....

Luckily I was able to see it during a matinee so it only cost me $4.....
sdpepper writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:08:57 PM

Saw it yesterday and I would give it 2 1/2 out of 5.

Was hoping for more action from a Will Smith movie and since almost all of the action does not include him, I was disappointed.

Overall I did enjoy the story for what it was, but if you are gonna make a movie starring Will Smith, let him be in more action scenes....

Luckily I was able to see it during a matinee so it only cost me $4.....
sdpepper writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 12:10:27 PM

Saw it yesterday and I would give it 2 1/2 out of 5.

Was hoping for more action from a Will Smith movie and since almost all of the action does not include him, I was disappointed.

Overall I did enjoy the story for what it was, but if you are gonna make a movie starring Will Smith, let him be in more action scenes....

Luckily I was able to see it during a matinee so it only cost me $4.....
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 3rd, 2013 at 1:43:10 PM

Could be Mink,but I still don't think that amounts to it bombing at the box office.I figure the international market will help Smith out because he still has a box office appeal there.Yet to see it though. Deaftone.we share different opinions.You calling me that won't make me change my view on the matter.sorry

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved