WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Should Final "Breaking Bad" Episodes Be Shown in Theaters?

Posted: May 31st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Should Final "Breaking Bad" Episodes Be Shown in Theaters?Submit Comment
One of the most popular series on television is "Breaking Bad," which will begin airing the final eight episodes on August 11th, with the final episode set to air on September 29th. That episode will no doubt be incredibly high-rated, which is why director Steven Soderbergh (Traffic, Ocean's Eleven) believes it should be shown in theaters.

"I thought it would be really cool to have the final two episodes of the show as a movie that aired the Friday after the [second to last] episode," he explained. "You'd [market] that during the season 'See the season finale in theaters!' and just run it for a week. I feel like you'd [make a lot of money]. It's never been done before."

There are plenty of TV series that considered doing that, but produces were so grateful that people watched their shows that they couldn't imagine charging them money to see the final episode.

Soderbergh believe it's not only about the money, that it can actually be a great experience for fans. "It [would be in cinemas for] one week, then you can download it," he proposed. "But for the fans to have a communal viewing experience that week, that would be super-cool."

Question: Do you believe that showing the final "Breaking Bad" episodes in theaters is cheating the audience or a great idea?

Source: Empire, The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 61 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:20:02 AM

Only for shows that are worthy. And Breaking Bad is. I would see it in theatres.
Taco writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:22:05 AM

Could end up being a slippery slope. If this happens, other shows will no doubt try to follow and a backlash from fans who just want to see the show at home.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:32:30 AM

No. Theaters are for movies. If BB has made it this far on television, the finales need no change of venue. Sounds like a cash grab if you ask me, forcing people to pay extra to see the last episodes. Besides, plenty of as good if not better shows gave the finale for free or at no additional charge, and let's face it: BB doesn't have the following to justify bumping movies out of theaters.

Put this sh*t on television and stop being so damned greedy.
pH0u57 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:33:39 AM

Wait a sec.. Soderbergh did the final BB episode??! Holy sh*t, that's awesome!
pornfly writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:46:25 AM

I like the peace and quiet of being at home

Horror and comedies suck with other knuckleheads reacting over dialogue

Bad horror movies loud blockbusters are cool with an audience

But theyre gonna do whatever they wanna do and
remake what ever they wanna remake anyway,so who gives a sh*t?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:48:17 AM

f*ck that I'm not streaming a dodgy cinema copy.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 8:18:50 AM

I'd like to see the first episode of The Michael J. Fox show in a theater, even if a lot of people can't sit still.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 8:29:24 AM

Never seen it.
Fibonacci writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 8:57:07 AM

Show it in theaters but only charge five bucks. If it's about a communal viewing then you shouldn't have to pay movie price for a TV show that you already get for free. Well technically not for free because we all pay for cable.
Rambo writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:12:09 AM

tried to watch the first episode - not my cup of tea.
if fans want it in cinemas - sure,why not. I prefer to spend money only on big budget movies or ones i know or feel from the trailers that are big screen worthy like 'Mulholland Drive' back at 2001
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:12:58 AM

^^The finale is and should be included in the cable/channel base rate. It's like paying for a motel room but having to shell out extra for the morning shower. Bullsh*t. If they want to do something "communal", offer the f*cking finale for a few bucks in 1080p so people can bring some friends over, but they won't do that because then one guy will buy one copy and share it with all his or her friends. Instead, these greedy parasites want each and every single person to pay theatrical rates.


Assuming they actually go ahead with this insidious idea, anyone who buys a ticket is a moron among morons.
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:40:35 AM

This is the most pathetic excuse to make some extra money! No matter how much I enjoy some TV shows, it would never cross my mind to pay for it in theater!

Greedy wankers!
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:04:01 AM

I like the idea of the communal viewing experience. Hell, I thought about looking for BREAKING BAD viewing parties for this upcoming seasons. Might be a good way to pick up chicks...or score some meth. (J/K)

But no, I don't think it should be shown in theatres. Maybe if you did two-episode-blocks at a time, it would be worth the time and money. Still, I can't wait till the final season premieres. I'm using the brilliant HANNIBAL and the recently discovered DEXTER to tide me over till then.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:06:07 AM

I wonder how many people here know, or care, why this website crashes like it does. I do. It's because the MySQL server on Alex's host (PAIR Networks) isn't responding to data requests, and that's because Alex pays a measly ten bucks a month for this place, which gives him a minimal of options, one of which is only one MySQL database, so that during heavy network loads, this stupid website's frontend simply can't communicate with the SQL backend.

In other words, Alex pays the least possible and gets the least possible performance, an embarrassment compounded by tall tales of hackers breaking into WorstPreviews to steal his content.

What a f*cking laugh.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:08:32 AM

"I'm using the brilliant HANNIBAL and the recently discovered DEXTER to tide me over till then."


Crass, crude, violent American trash. Give me Sherlock or give me death.
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:12:36 AM

I thought you were a DEXTER fan, Mink, or is that another Minkowski?
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:38:49 AM

Eh, mink digs Sherlock. Where have I been all this time? Boss show, ain't it?

Also what @mink @bullit @cress etc said on topic.

It's a rocky road. BB has a solid fan base, but it's not a family film - hence hard R. Tv production values?

People got it for free for years, why pay now? Hence downloads.
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:41:59 AM

Kurskij, read the news first, post later...

Would've said I if I cared.
One week run might cut it though. They don't loose anything if it fails, if it wins - like with Lion King they can extend it and make moar money.

Also, Soderberg, someone was screaming from the roofs about retirement/hiatus? Is it over already? Or
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:43:44 AM

"I thought you were a DEXTER fan, Mink, or is that another Minkowski?"


No, Cress, I do like Dexter, or did, but the class, style and intelligence of Sherlock makes Dexter look like a 1970's South American snuff film.
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:49:16 AM

Thanks to Mink, now I know why this site crashes as often as Asian drivers!

Therefore I can't imagine the tremendous cost for an edit button.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:49:42 AM

"One week run might cut it though. They don't loose anything if it fails, if it wins - like with Lion King they can extend it and make moar money."

It's still milking, and when someone cams the damned thing and ruins the ending for everyone by posting spoilers a month in advance, the producers won't care because they'll have the same amount of revenue. Only the fans who didn't see it in theaters will lose out because of morons deluging the internet with unavoidable spoilers.

It's a bad damned idea. More money for them, of course, but a potential spoilage of the broadcast finale.
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:55:48 AM

Our illustrious reviewer gave 3/10 for Now You See Me.

LOL!

I'll still watch it though.
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 12:01:56 PM

"It's a bad damned idea. More money for them, of course, but a potential spoilage of the broadcast finale"

The correct word is money. That way, if all the pieces fall into the right place - they'll make much more and THEN make a sh*tload more on re-runs.

@bullitt

Illustrious? Rainbow is offended, gay leprechauns are rioting.

His "better half" didn't like it. Or he's in a "Godard mode". That's not Twilight (the movie, not the cat) right?
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 12:07:07 PM

Btw, Alex, is any of your "write for WP" offers still stand.

Sure it's an asylum run by McMurphys, but maybe we can have a worthy discussion very once in a while?

Mink? Trig?

Btw, this one ain't bad, gotta give it to you.
GreenLensman writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 12:16:51 PM

I only watch and DaVinci's Demons... Sometimes Shameless (the american one) and Dexter. I would never see a cable Tv show in theaters... Well, it depends... If the episodes were not as restricted as a cable Tv show was, then maybe it might be theater worthy.
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 12:16:56 PM

@Mink. I just recently started with DEXTER. While I like it, it is nowhere near as good as BREAKING BAD or HANNIBAL. The writing for every episode of each is superb. As for DEXTER, Michael C. Hall is excellent, and he keeps me tuning in. A lot of the side subplots(who's Deb f*cking this season, etc.) are poorly written sometimes. I'm currently on Season 5
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 12:38:10 PM

"they'll make much more and THEN make a sh*tload more on re-runs."

They're going to make a sh*tload on syndication anyway, so the best case scenario here they can hope with this stunt is sh*tload + 1. It's like adding one to a billion and then comparing that number to a billion to see which one is bigger. Virtually the same.

So syndication value isn't going to fluctuate up wildly if they do this, methinks, because Breaking Bad already has a rabid fan base.

On the other hand, if good quality cams come afloating out of The Bay, broadcast viewings might go down, and any syndication deals might consider finale viewership ratings.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 12:44:09 PM

@Cress: Dexter starts toilet diving right after season 2. Season five and six, usually the stronger peak seasons for many a shows, are especially weak for Dexter, and the only reason anyone is still watching is because they just have to know how it all end. That's it. That's all that's bringing people back, really, because even the fad infatuation with Hall and Carpenter has long since passed.

Now Sherlock, on the other hand...well, I just can't wait to step back into that wonderful world.
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 12:44:18 PM

^soubt that the quality will be any better than robbing it from tv. It won't make much difference in syndication, me thinks.

The way they're doing it now and with a rabid fan base, as you've mentioned -they either loose nothing or make more, Win,

Btw, seen this

http://www.indiewire.com/article/so-how-exactly-is-cloud-computing-changing-the-vfx-industry
Bunny X writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 1:22:46 PM

If people are sheep-ish enough to mindlessly pay for a TV finale in the theater then they deserve to have their money taken. Do it
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 1:33:30 PM

Dumbest discussion ever!!!
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 1:47:30 PM

@Mink. Jimmy Smits was unintentionally funny in Season 3. I thought Season 4 was much better; I liked Lithgow and was glad Dex's wife was offed. I'm seven episodes into Season 5, and I'm not hating it, unlike most reviewers/fans.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 1:48:57 PM

i would watch in theaters. not gonna lie. but if they do it should be LIMITED to theaters. They should give the viewer the option of either watching on TV or watching in Theaters. Same day. Same Time.
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 2:15:45 PM

What would we do without Tan?

He's this ray of light amongst the... skies of darkness. And racism. And homophobia. And militarism.

I'm out. HERE'S TAN! Cheers.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 2:45:32 PM

Thanks buddy! Lol Enjoy your Friday and remember, Dont drink and drive, Arrive Alive! :) lmao
BJsforeveryone writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 3:06:38 PM

Hell to the yearh !!!!
That show is awesome...surely gonna miss it !!
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 6:46:21 PM

I'd say that was cool, if they were offering to show it for half the price of a normal movie ticket, with few commercials before the picture.

Otherwise, I'll just have my "communal experience" through a viewing party at my house.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:07:07 PM

@blackdynamite

I will dl these final eps as per always and enjoy them. The Ballad of Walter White has been quite the journey!
OneTime writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:13:20 PM

no
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:48:07 PM

@Kurskik: interesting article. The cloud. A massive heap of hidden computers immediately networked, ready to hand your offloaded computations ans storage needs. Basically a growing multi-purpose massive bank of computers ready for anything.

What I think I like about the cloud in this context is the possibility for home users. Set up a vastly complex animation and then send it into "the cloud" to be rendered at cost. Could really change the way films are made and break Hollywood's near stranglehold on filmmaking, if only workstation computers don't go extinct, what with f*cking tablets and smart phones taking over.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:52:09 PM

j.
Tyrkae writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:40:47 PM

I think it could be good IF the week after it comes out in the theatres play it on TV that way people who want to see it will pay to money and see it day of which could be a different experience I would toss 10$ to them to for the finale IF they spend more money on the finale
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:58:05 PM

Cress

Season 5 was excellent, Season 6 is alright, But season 7, man that's a good season. Can't wait for this final season man. Dexter is amazing.
LearJet writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 12:06:24 AM

It's a cool idea - I would totally pay to see Season 3 of Sherlock in a theater.
cress writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 12:41:26 AM

@Tanman and Mink. Ok, I just finished Season 5( I just sat through the last four hours of it) and I liked it quite a bit. I don't understand why it gets dumped on. I thought there were a lot of strong episodes. I enjoyed Julia Stiles and her storyline, and her fling with Dex. It was a nice change of pace from the serial killer of the week of previous seasons. I also liked Jonny Lee Miller. Hell, even Peter Weller was a hoot(I hated him in the new Star Trek). Some plot points were swept under the rug to abruptly, some made me roll my eyes at the stupidity of them(Dex wrecks his car in the finale), but overall this was a good season. I liked it a lot better than Season 3, that's for sure.
Jarmiez writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 12:52:24 AM

your god damn right i would see this master piece climax in theaters as i climax in theaters. mannnn breaking bad you cant bet that sh*t with an african whipping stick ( would you rather refrence)
Jarmiez writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 12:53:56 AM

agreed minkowski agreed a cash grab from hell but you cant say hey no breaking bad for me lol f*ck that man gotta see it. we can all just download it buttt idc ill watch it

Phunky Dubbs writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 1:00:40 AM

@Cress. Season 6 of DEXTER is the weakest season by far. Consider yourself warned, dawg.
cress writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 1:04:05 AM

@Phunky. lol. That's what I've been hearing. I'll be getting into that one this weekend.
mads mikkelsen writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 1:50:25 AM

should final "hannibal" episodes be shown in theaters ?

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.534667593235742.1073741827.265663630136141&type=3&uploaded=1

mads mikkelsen writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 1:59:09 AM



''The Wayne Enterprises logo is on a satellite that Zod destroys''

http://collider.com/man-of-steel-easter-eggs-wayne-enterprises/

CelluloidMan writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 2:02:36 AM

FYI: Collider reports Jackie Chan, Wesley Snipes, & Nic Cage are officially on board for Expendables 3.

"Milla Jovovich wants to get on the action"...why? f*ck knows...
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 3:21:01 AM

Wonder if the dude running the show is ever going to update the news.
Rambo writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 3:54:59 AM

the dude who runs the show?

you mean alex's boy toy?
minkowski writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 4:07:15 AM

No, the really pissed off hamster.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 4:18:09 AM

Cress

Yea man, season 7 is one of my favorites. You're gonna love it. Other then season 7 I really like the one with the Trinity Killer.. Pretty sure that's the 5th? Lol Re-Watched Season 7 last week. Love it lol

Also: After reading this thread I got bored and decided to Re-Watch season 5 of Breaking Bad. Three episodes in now lol
Rambo writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 4:31:35 AM

updates:

-Blade Runner sequel moving forward with 'green lanter' writer

-After earth to under perform this weekend with 20-25 mil opening

-Philip seymour hoffman out of treatment for snorting heroin

-Dustin Putamn and Alex are having this morning
Rambo writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 4:32:19 AM

a hamster for breakfast
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 4:50:43 AM

Fellas, I only watched the clip on the Heath Ledger thread and Alex can't even make the simple difference between FRENCH and GERMAN!!

Bawahahahahahahaha!!! Shame on you man!
Raider writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 6:30:38 AM

@tanman. Any idea where I can watch the first half of season five of Breaking Bad?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 10:28:10 AM

I'm doing that now lol Go to TV Muse. It'll be a butch because usually only one or two of the links actually work. But there is always one. And it's always good quality.

Other then that man.. Just google "Watch Breaking Bad Season 5" and pray for some good links

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved