WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

M. Night Shyamalan Working on "Unbreakable" Sequel

Posted: May 31st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
M. Night Shyamalan Working on "Unbreakable" SequelSubmit Comment
At one point, M Night Shyamalan movies were a huge event. His name was usually written in bigger letters on the poster than the actual title of the film. But things have changed. After movies like "Lady in the Water," "The Happening" and "The Last Airbender," fans no longer expect anything good to come from Shyamalan.

Now that his "After Earth" movie has hit theaters and is already being trashed by critics (12% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes), Shyamalan believes it's time to head back to what worked by making a sequel to "Unbreakable."

"It's getting closer. I want it to happen," he told Collider. "Slowly I'm getting a story in my head that I feel like is able to tell what I’m feeling right now."

"Unbreakable" Was released in 2000 and starred Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson, who previously said that he would love to return for a sequel. The film went on to gross $248 million on a budget of $75 million.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:24:03 AM

That's way too late. Nobody wants more M.Night movies.
Taco writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:25:56 AM

75 mil for Unbreakable? Where did it all go to?
Taco writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:30:45 AM

Seriously somebody tell me where the $75 mil went to in making unbreakable. That film was a character study drama with little production value and no fx. And this was back in 2000. $75 mil was a lot more back then.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:37:27 AM

^Actor pay. Willis and The Black Whore of Hollywood probably took 30 million.

And M. Night should start working on his suicide after yet another box-office bomb. I mean who the f*ck does this guy think he is? Lana Wachowski?
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:39:30 AM

I knew this was happening, but this should have been done before the last airbender, not after. I mean, what on EARTH is this guy thinking? The signs should have been obvious several movies ago. 6 movies after Unbreakable and he finally has some sense. Oh Shyamalan, you DEVIL!
Taco writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:50:08 AM

M. Night your streak of making lousy films is the only thing thats..(○_○)

(○_○) `■-■`

(■_■) "Unbreakable"
pornfly writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:51:52 AM

This f*cker should have had all this worked out by now.
Ya know
JUST IN CASE BREAK GLASS:
Unbreakable2

Besides didnt he say when Devil was released that he planned on doin U2(haha) already?

This guy doesnt know whether hes comin or goin
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:57:37 AM

Lol,This video just came out yesterday about his worst movies.Its pretty good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YIsVNVQeec

I'm voting for the Last Airbender.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 7:58:38 AM

@taco-Lol
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 8:00:11 AM

"I knew this was happening, but this should have been done before the last airbender, not after. I mean, what on EARTH is this guy thinking?"

Money. M. Night can't fund Unbreakable 2 on his own. He needs studio backing, which means he has to deliver something the studio wants. Now given the fact M. Night has bombed repeatedly, one has to wonder what studio is going to give him a dime. Sounds like M Night is grasping at straws here.

Anyway, it'll never get made. Mark my words.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 8:02:21 AM

I thought it would only be a matter of time before M Night started going back to his old films to start squeezing the last possible money he can out of idiot people before his reputation gets so low that no studios let him do anything.

The guy's infected with a severe case of uwebollovitus.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 8:31:56 AM

M Night your done!!!
Stapes writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:11:48 AM

I always hated shamalamadingdong films. Signs was his least sh*tty one. And anyone who didn't guess the ending of the sixth sense from the trailer alone is either retarded or never watched and episode of the twilight zone. I'm sure if he ever makes a sequel to Unwatchable it will be about a heros unwarranted rise to success only to fall and struggle to rise to mediocrity.
Rambo writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:19:00 AM

good idea imo - shaymalan has talent for thrillers not other genres.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:24:58 AM

13% on RT




Too bad, too, that the CGI creatures in the film look as fake as the monkeys in Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.


Though a scant 100 minutes long, After Earth feels longer and slower than your average PBS pledge drive.



"After Earth" is a Smith-family vanity project, a home movie foisted on an unsuspecting and gullible public. Maybe next time Will and Jaden want to connect, they should just build a treehouse.


Is "After Earth" the worst movie ever made?


One big fat fiasco.



A passably entertaining adventure best suited to 10-year-old boys.


After Earth merits comparison with 2000's Battlefield Earth, John Travolta's godawful film tribute to the sci-fi novel by Scientology founder L. Ron Hubbard. Yes, it's that bad.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:26:11 AM

Jada Pinkett Smith was a producer on After Earth.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:27:36 AM

A sequel to Unbreakable?! Even After Earth got crushed with reviews?!

Good luck with--

Aww, who am I kidding?! Dropping Unbreakable's sequel name will cause every studio hack to fight over this to spend obscene amounts and it will still bomb...

(Sighs) f*ck Hollywood.
minkowski writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:29:24 AM

Some of "After Earth" is intriguing, if you ignore the premise and the story and the direction and much of Jaden Smith's performance. Other than that...


M. Night Shyamalan is branching out, coming up with new ways to make bad movies. His plan must be to exhaust all possibilities, so as to eventually come full circle and make a good one by accident.



"After Earth" is a work of hubris magnified by multiple miscalculations, the kind of film that would cause Ed Wood to excuse himself and skulk to the exit.

The level to which 'After Earth' is a catastrophe is amazing.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 9:45:15 AM

Quite possibly the only positive review of this piece of sh*t. But Drew Mcweeny has long been accused of being given goodies and sh*t to write a positive review:

http://m.hitfix.com/motion-captured/review-will-and-jaden-smith-explore-father-son-dynamics-against-a-science-fiction-adventure-backdrop-in-after-earth
cress writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:07:57 AM

I thought UNBREAKABLE was a good movie until the ending. It had one of the worst film endings ever. It ended like an episode of some sh*tty 70s crime series. But I liked the movie overall.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:17:29 AM

http://m.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2013/05/the-awful-i-after-earth-i/276417/
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:43:58 AM

Jaden Smith shows as much emotions as a prison's gate!

Nuff said.
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:52:11 AM

The thing about m. Night - even though he makes sh*tty movies, only one of them lost money so far - Lady in the water. And even that'll turn a profit in a decade or so.

But know he needs another 6th sense to come back.

If AE was released after signs it would've gotten 60%.

Self-importance that brings no palatable results is Smth. Critics hate.

So they f*ck his Indian ass. Properly.
Kurskij writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:56:10 AM

Sad really, if he wasn't so deep up his own ass (now surrounded by d*cks - something for the ladies and shezow lovaz) - he showed promise.

6th sense feels like a gimmick now, but it's a brilliantly directed movie.

Now Ang Lee is the oriental fetish of Hwood and Night is stuck as a gun for hire for Smith vanity projects.
Armando Loomis writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 12:22:44 PM

I'll watch anything by M.Night. I don't care what people say,he makes good films (Never saw THE LAST AIRBENDER) But I dug THE VILLGAE and LADY IN THE WATER, unlike most people.But I think He's a great filmmaker who just needs to head back to his roots.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 1:42:13 PM

I actually seriously believe he had a genius assistant director do all the work for Sixth Sense. His failures were way too bad to be directed by the same person. The nerd he copied the homework from in Sixth Sense obviously won't let him copy anymore cuz the quality from Sixth Sense to the Last Airbender was vast.

And studios should forbid that idiot from putting himself in his movies. He obviously can't handle it.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 1:45:15 PM

I know you're all going to hate me for this.. but please.. i f*cking LOVED the first film. i think it's his best work as well some of the best work from Willis and Jacksons.

If they made it as good as the first, with both actors returning, set it 10 years later And don't change the feeling of the movie to fit the way movies are made now. make it exactly like the first just 10 years later.

man I'd love to see that.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 2:23:05 PM

@Tanman

I like The Sixth Sense and Unbreakable a lot, both are very good movies. siGns was okay but the first half of borderline goofball humor detracts from the second half becoming more dramatic so it's an uneven film.

I don't like any of his other movies, he just got worse with each one after siGns.
Rambo writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 2:28:45 PM

After Earth

-when your movie gets a lower rating then 'the hangover part 3' you know you are in trouble.

-Jada ruined will smith,or more accurate will became pusssy whipped and stopped making good movies.

-Jaden Smith is a bad actor.period.I don't blame him since he's just a kid and does whatever jada orders him to do.good karma,though for the little f*cker to have such parents.

-I believe Shaymalan is a talented director but only if he sticks to simple thrillers.I predict he'll make a comeback eventually with 1 or 2 good movies.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 2:48:44 PM

Deaft

Yea Sixth sense, Unbreakable, signs were his only really good movies, I didn't mind Devil though lol
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 2:59:06 PM

Does AE take place inPA?
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 3:06:15 PM

@Tan

M. Night was only a producer on Devil, he didn't direct it or write the script but he is credited with the story.
sedibus writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 3:20:14 PM

I recently saw Unbreakable, decent and entertaining movie, nothing left to say.

Great technicians. Plot wise-every filmmaker in Hollywood todays without technicality is f*cked.

You better take a look at Tarantino´s My Best friend Birthday, I´ve seen flicks made with less that look much better.

No sequel, please. Yes, I beg for it.
ProfMovies writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 3:24:41 PM

Maybe its just me, but...I never liked UNBREAKABLE. I thought it was a total misfire from scene one.
I know I suffered through one viewing of it, and wished I hadn't!
GreenLensman writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 3:57:16 PM

I don't think shamalam has done any sequels yet...this is so out of the blue, I never even considered sequels to his movies...god, please make this right, somehow.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 4:10:00 PM

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unbreakable_(film)#Cancelled_sequel
GreenLensman writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 4:13:13 PM

ewwww....it's either bruce willis or nothing at all, choose now and accept your fate.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 4:19:36 PM

One positive thing about a sequel is that Willis and Jackson don't really look much older since the first film. M. Night should just do a trilogy and shoot 2&3 back to back and maybe get some credibility back if they can be good.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 6:07:47 PM

Here is a little advice from the Zombieland Netflix series, recast Willis and Jackson.

Sorry but that's the only way to be sure this guy never returns.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 6:31:34 PM

@coldplay

I sure hope that is sarcasm. Also the Zombieland pilot was on amazon, not netflix and it was a sh*t mockery of the film.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 10:08:32 PM

@deaftOne: Amazon, that's right. This whole thing of Nextflix and Amazon launching their TV series has got me confused.

And yeah, it was sarcasm, the last part should be the indicator hehe
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 31st, 2013 at 11:59:14 PM

Deaft

oh i wasn't aware of that lol
mads mikkelsen writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 1:51:46 AM

this is thought provoking

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.534667593235742.1073741827.265663630136141&type=3&uploaded=1
mads mikkelsen writes:
on June 1st, 2013 at 1:58:07 AM



''The Wayne Enterprises logo is on a satellite that Zod destroys''

http://collider.com/man-of-steel-easter-eggs-wayne-enterprises/


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved