WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Lipton Says He Was a Pimp in Paris Managing Lots of Prostitutes

Posted: May 30th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Lipton Says He Was a Pimp in Paris Managing Lots of ProstitutesSubmit Comment
"Inside the Actors Studio," which is seen in 94 million homes an in 125 foreign countries, celebrated its 250th episode. The host of the show, James Lipton, sat down with Parade magazine to talk about the milestone as well as his own past, which included being a pimp.

Lipton explained that he grew up very poor and had to work from the age of 13, because his father abandoned the family. He graduated from high school in 1944 and attempted everything from acting to becoming a lawyer. But in the 1950s, he briefly became a pimp in Paris.

"It was only a few years after the war. Men couldn't get jobs and women couldn't get work at all. It was perfectly respectable for them to go into [prostitution]," he explained. "Young women desperately needed money for various reasons. [Prostitution] was completely regulated. Every week they had to be inspected medically. The great bordellos were flourishing in those days."

Lipton said that he got involved with prostitution when he became friends with a prostitute. "We became great friends. When I ran out of money, I said, 'I have to go home.' She said, 'No, you don't. I'll arrange for you [to be my pimp].'"

He went on to run an entire bordello. "I did roaring business, and I was able to live for a year. It was a great year of my life."

Source: Parade


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 7:34:49 AM

Who the f*ck cares? I don't even know who this guy is nor do I really care. Not even movie news, so why do you post this trash? Because you're obsessed with ad revenue?
Kurskij writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 8:07:54 AM

In my eyes, he's always a PIMP.

"The great bordellos were flourishing in those days."

Listen to that magnificent motherf*cker! He has it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 8:10:33 AM

Medium pimping at best.

Weird that he's on here I saw him back in Arrested Development last night.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 8:29:14 AM

Wtf Alex??? Post movie news dammit.
mrstretch writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 8:46:42 AM

I heard about this 4 years ago. Way to stay up to date WP
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 9:30:32 AM

"Please Recommend WP on Facebook"

Post *movie news* and I just might recommend you to my favorite whore. Maybe. Probably not.
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 9:41:14 AM

The only thing I know about this former pimp is when he had Robin Williams on his show and Robin made fun of him for being a fan of airplanes flying upside down! I'm not kidding:


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owGMZ6yJ57o
Stapes writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 10:11:17 AM

This is extremely old news.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 10:31:19 AM

James Lipton... hate his f*cking guts.

He is a major brown-noser, but looks like he looooves the smell of celebrity sh*t on his nose.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 10:33:52 AM

So, the attention whore handled whores then?
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 12:15:21 PM

I get it. He grew up poor, had a rough life, so he became a pimp, whored out desperate women, and now he's on television and the internet sharing the news because a) he desperately needs the attention and b) he thinks it's all just an amusing anecdote to his amazing life.

Are we sure this guy isn't Shayhiri?
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 1:08:26 PM

@mink-While I do agree this is a pointless article(as this became public during his 200th episode of inside the actors studio),I do like his interviews.You should watch his Dave Chappelle one.There's some good sh!t here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=84NjYRTHpfU
SACdaddy writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 1:12:36 PM

I can see it. Dude is pretty classy and elegant but I could see him turning on a bitch in a heartbeat if she came up short. It's that evil smile!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 1:15:19 PM

Can you imagine how that interview would have gone if Dave knew he used to be a pimp?
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 1:23:31 PM

@sac-Lol,The 200th episode was James himself being interviewed by his favorite guest....DAVE CHAPPELLE.He found out then.Here's a link

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJNAIuOT1II
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 2:22:41 PM

Speaking of Dave Chappelle, saw this and was laughing hard!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrBnCW-faLU
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 2:33:15 PM

And a classic Chappelle for the road....LOL XD

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-I7JJChM6IQ
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 5:36:57 PM

Meh. I like Gator more.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved