WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Viggo Mortensen Turned Down Offer to Return for "The Hobbit"

Posted: May 30th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Viggo Mortensen Turned Down Offer to Return for "The Hobbit"Submit Comment
Back when "The Hobbit" was coming together, there were plenty of "Lord of the Rings" actors who wanted to reprise their roles in the new trilogy. Many of the "Lord of the Rings" characters weren't part of the prequel stories, but Peter Jackson still found a way to include them, like Galadriel (Cate Blanchett) and Frodo (Elijah Wood).

Many fans complained that Viggo Mortensen wasn't asked to return as Aragorn. But according to the actor, the studio offered him the chance to reprise his role and it was his decision to reject the offer.

"Before they started shooting, back in 2008, one of the producers did ask if I would be interested," he explained. "I said, 'You do know, don't you, that Aragorn isn't in 'The Hobbit'? That there is a 60-year gap between the books?'"

Mortensen went on to say that he's grateful that he was part of "Lord of the Rings" and even credits the franchise for boosting his career. But he just didn't feel comfortable with returning for a role that would have been reworked to make it fit into the prequels.

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 29th, 2013 at 9:07:49 PM

k
Cannon writes:
on May 29th, 2013 at 9:27:09 PM

And he's right, of course. I'm sure they would have offered him a nice paycheck, too, but Viggo seems to be one of those guys who has more respect for the source material.

Good for him.
minkowski writes:
on May 29th, 2013 at 10:07:41 PM

Stupid. He's quibbling over whether his character appeared in a set of stories, books he probably doesn't even read, at the expense of more money, more recognition and the fan's clamor, just so he can reminisce over his peak days shooting Daylight with Stallone.

Someone should introduce him to Judd's character in Michael Mann's Heat. Risk versus reward, baby!
Avirex writes:
on May 29th, 2013 at 10:29:45 PM

He should reprise his role as Lalin in a Carlito's Way prequel.

"Look what I got to f*cking go around with, f*cking diapers! I sh*t my pants everyday! I can't walk, I can't hump... you know?"
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 29th, 2013 at 11:14:03 PM

The Indian Runner is on TV right now.
LearJet writes:
on May 29th, 2013 at 11:44:35 PM

Damn right. Good for him.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 12:06:25 AM

@avirex I forgot about that role priceless
velocityknown writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 12:36:35 AM

He's mostly right, but the 60 year gap argument isn't great seeing as that would've only made Aragorn like 30.
pornfly writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 2:33:54 AM

I knew he had some kind of integrity when he told that snobby skank Madonna to kick rocks
After she selected him to take a few laps around her vagina
minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 2:44:03 AM

^^^What? Are you talking about the Papa Don't Preach music video? That wasn't Eric Roberts, it was Alex McArthur from Desert Hearts.
Cannon writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 2:58:09 AM


@mink:

I disagree, but I also gotta give you props for the Heat quote.

minkowski writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 3:04:58 AM

@Pornfly: never mind. Thought we were still on the Eric Roberts thread for some reason; Roberts is often mistaken for the guy who did Madonna's Papa Don't Preach video.

@Cannon: thanks, but really who the f*ck could forget Judd in those tight pants, because she's got a GREAT ass!
pornfly writes:
on May 30th, 2013 at 3:28:33 AM

Its cool essay

I knew you would figure it out one of these days:-)
zaydi writes:
on April 26th, 2017 at 5:18:00 PM

I prefer merely excellent resources - you will see these people in: His Secret Obsession
zaydi writes:
on April 28th, 2017 at 8:07:38 AM

On this page you can read my interests, write something special. I love you text
johar writes:
on May 8th, 2017 at 12:36:44 PM

I think he should have accpeted the offer. My friends from best dissertation writing service also think that and they also think that he was very good in the Lord of the Rings trilogy so it only makes sense.
zaydi writes:
on May 8th, 2017 at 5:13:27 PM

On this subject internet page, you'll see my best information, be sure to look over this level of detail. Moving Companies San Jose
johar writes:
on May 15th, 2017 at 9:37:39 AM

I think that his decision is very good. Lord of the rings was very good and I was selling cheap drone for Hobbits. I think that this gut deserves more respect and needs to be among the best stars.
johar writes:
on June 11th, 2017 at 4:40:29 PM

This movie was okay i guess, i mean i wasnt a huge fan of the lord of rings so i wasnt really convinced with movie i guess, i read good reviews on it from https://assignmenthelpaustralia.pw/ but i dont know if i still would watch it!
Brain_Dean writes:
on June 24th, 2017 at 6:00:26 AM

I see your blogs its so amazing and helpfull for us .you share a great idea.Please upload more post in different topics like Write For Us top 10 horror movies of all time etc.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved