WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr Didn't Appear in Many Tony Stark Scenes in "Iron Man 3"

Posted: May 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr DidnSubmit Comment
Last year, Robert Downey Jr injured his ankle while on set of "Iron Man 3." The actor was forced to take six weeks off to recover, which would have completely destroyed Marvel's timetable to get the movie into theaters by May 3rd.

Instead of putting the production on hold, a decision was made to bring on the special effects team in order to continue filming. The plan was to create Downey digitally and insert him into key sequences.

"We were able to reconstruct [Downey] as Tony Stark on set, with the help of a body double and the facial captures we collected afterwards," explained visual effects supervisor Chris Townsend, who said that the entire beach scene at the end was constructed this way.

The process is similar to how Chris Evans was turned into a skinny Steve Rogers in the beginning of "Captain America."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
YoungChris writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 7:33:13 AM

Cool ...
pornfly writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 7:44:43 AM

The time to injure his ankle should have been during The Avengers filming

That had to have been by far his easiest payday
boogiel writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 7:52:52 AM

Oooohh.....Biggest con in movie history.
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 8:28:38 AM

"That had to have been by far his easiest payday"

Yep, I thought the same thing and I suspect the lucky bastard did it on purpose.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 8:29:43 AM

Isn't that cool.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 8:30:06 AM

^ sarcasm
JonDrama writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 8:32:13 AM

I'd really love to be RDJ. Earn millions for doing f*ck all -_-
Cannon writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 9:31:15 AM


The last time I sprained my ankle nobody digitally inserted my face onto anything. I'm not living up to my fullest potential here.

*Cannon runs out the front door*
SACdaddy writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 9:39:27 AM

Beach scene at the end? Must have fallen asleep by that point of the film. That movie gets lamer every time I think about it.
i124q writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 10:55:03 AM

Robert Downey Jr Didn't Appear in Many Tony Stark Scenes in "Iron Man 3"

Neither did Gwyneth's breasts....
i124q writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 10:55:35 AM

Robert Downey Jr Didn't Appear in Many Tony Stark Scenes in "Iron Man 3"

Neither did Gwyneth's breasts....
LearJet writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 12:38:35 PM

That's one of those tidbits I would have rather not know.
Verde writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 2:26:06 PM

Worst movie of the year, even GI joe 2 and Die Hard 5 where better, and those 2 where very awful. Hell Iron Man 2 was better.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 2:35:30 PM

^lol I seriously hope you are trolling. A Good Day To Die Hard was worse than sh*t, one of the poorest excuses for an action movie I have ever seen. G.I. Joe:Retaliation was ridiculous as well. IM3 was definitely better than the plotless IM2 but it wasn't better than IM1.

It's definitely not going to be the worst movie of the year either you f*cking retard. That title will go to sh*t like Only God Forgives and Nymphomaniac and Oblivion.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 3:07:29 PM

Downey had an actor's dream job...getting paid obscene amounts of money on a blockbuster for barely showing up...very few can pull it off.

Isn't that right, Mr. Tommy Lee "MIB 3" Jones?
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 4:17:16 PM

Eventually real actors will only show up to provide body and face scans. They won't have to act at all. For some of them, that could be considered an improvement.
Rambo writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 6:14:38 PM

great - so now we're getting super hero news to movies that we've already seen.
Stapes writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 7:33:01 PM

What, mink said. Anyone seen S1m0ne?
Stapes writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 7:36:03 PM

Video games tech has grown faster in the past decade than any other. Actors will eventually become obsolete, especially when we create AI.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 7:58:43 PM

What stapes said.

Hell, in the future, no one will have a job.

I recently read an article concerning a San Francisco company which now will soon sell machines capable of producing fast food...food, thus putting Mexicans and teenagers out of jobs everywhere, simply because one machine costs the equivalent of four human's annual pay.

Brave new future indeed.
Stapes writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 8:39:49 PM

@minkowski. Smart nano machines creating whatever we can imagine. It's a closer reality than most think. That is of course if you buy the law of exponential returns... which I personally believe is very likely.
minkowski writes:
on May 23rd, 2013 at 9:36:35 PM

@Stapes: Eventually but right now 3D printing is all the rage. Seems we will have to go through that comparative crude phase before developing nano-assemblers. Was reading recently where they're working on 3D printing organs, food, even ammunition.

I imagine at some point, a settler mission to to the moon or Mars will include a mass 3D printer segment. Basically a machine that will "eat" Martian/lunar soil and sediment and "excrete" either entire structures or the pre-fab parts needed to construct them.
ProfMovies writes:
on May 24th, 2013 at 10:20:05 AM

This brings to mind what I read long ago about someday we'd have the technology to do a sequel to something like "Gone With the Wind" with the ORIGINAL CAST! Imagine the possibilities! New Bogart movies! New Marilyn Monroe movies! It's a brave new world.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved