WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Great Gatsby" Director Says He's an Idiot for Rejecting "Harry Potter" Offer

Posted: May 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Great Gatsby" Director Says HeSubmit Comment
While promoting "The Great Gatsby," director Baz Luhrmann was asked about the time Warner Bros approached him to direct the first "Harry Potter" installment. Luhrmann turned down the offer due to lack of knowledge about the books, but now seems to regret the decision.

"The first ['Harry Potter' film] came along and they [called] me," he said. "And while I love the [movies] and the books now, then I thought, 'What's that?' And said, 'Well that sounds interesting, but I'm thinking of doing 'Moulin Rouge.'"

Luhrmann added: "So I'm an obvious idiot, because I should have taken 'Harry Potter.'"

"Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" was released in 2001 and went on to gross $975 million on a budget of $125 million. Seven installments followed, with the last film grossing $1.3 billion at the worldwide box office. "Moulin Rouge" grossed only $179 million on a budget of $50 million, but was nominated for a Best Picture Oscar.

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 7:44:06 AM

Yet both were still very flamboyant and enjoyed by people who like riding brooms.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 9:47:18 AM

Nah. He's just an idiot. Period.
DriveMemento writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 11:12:30 AM

i dont understand why people hate on Baz Luhrmann so much, he is a unique and good director. I love when i watch a movie and i can tell just by watching it whosse directing the film. Baz luhrman has his own style and he does it well. I loved his modern take on Romeo + Juliet. Moulin Rouge was just on a whole nother lever and as for Great Gatsby, it was just like the book and he did a great job. People hating on the great gatsby must have forgotten the book was a love/drama or didn't read the book at all.
DriveMemento writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 11:13:59 AM

level*
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 11:29:35 AM

"I love when i watch a movie and i can tell just by watching it whosse directing the film"

Thus by your logic, you must be the world's biggest and only Uwe Boll fan...
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 12:31:07 PM

A film by Lever Whosse
Kurskij writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 12:53:02 PM

In da ader interview he stated that while he knows he would've made a lot of money, he doesn't regret turning it down.

Plus, unlike Ron Howard, he doesn't exactly look like he needs more money. With all those Chanel ads.
benedict khan writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 1:01:11 PM

LISTEN TO THIS

http://www.amazon.fr/gp/recsradio/radio/B00CJIBC1W/ref=pd_krex_dp_a
DriveMemento writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 2:25:16 PM

Owe Boll is one of the worst directors ever. Minkowski are you mentally challenged?? or do you just have turrets? the stuff you write half the time is pointless. Always an argument with you. you never add anything good to the posts so why post at all. when you die the world will be a better place.

DriveMemento writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 2:27:13 PM

and Deaft0ne really? ur gonna call sum1 out on that on speelin on the internet
DriveMemento writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 2:29:21 PM

yes im spellin un correctly just to annoy the f*ck outa u
DriveMemento writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 2:30:08 PM

its a post and thread for a movie site, talk about movies instead of hating on other people you chumps!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 3:02:26 PM

Mink has turrets! Two 50mm gatlings, mounted on both shoulders.

I liked Romeo + Juliet, but Luhrmann became completely unhinged once a bit of success afforded him a longer leash from the studios. Moulin Rouge is overproduced crap, Australia is a colossal failure on all levels... Gatsby, meh.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 3:40:15 PM

"Owe Boll is one of the worst directors ever."

And that was the point of my little reply to you, wunderkind.



"Minkowski are you mentally challenged?"

A little.




"or do you just have turrets?"

Not anymore. I sold my Abrams tanks just last week.



"the stuff you write half the time is pointless."

Sure, but I was aiming for a hundred percent pointless.



"Always an argument with you."


And? Are you going to start crying too?



"you never add anything good to the posts so why post at all."

Probably because I choose to. Imagine that. I exercise my choice to post what I want, when I want, how I want and where I want.

Man, other people's freedom must really terrify you, huh?




"when you die the world will be a better place."

And you die your mother's ass will stop stinking of your d*ck.



Anyway. One little reply to an illiterate, lazy virtual idiot named unimaginatively after two over-rated films, and I have to deal with the kid's crybaby temper-tantrum.


minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 3:59:09 PM

I'm changing my name, by the way. It's now ThenotebookInception.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 4:08:06 PM

TheHumanCentipedeBambi
VDODSON writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 4:12:34 PM

Mink, he's a successful director, you're a c*nt who seems to not even like movies. You're the idiot, mate.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 4:24:09 PM

Micheal Bay's far more successful, so that must mean Bay's a genius according to your thinking.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 4:25:02 PM

Nah. My new name is TransformersGIJOE. Because I'm just that creative.
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 4:59:01 PM

"talk about movies instead of hating on other people you chumps!"

Hush, jive turkey!
pornfly writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 6:02:42 PM

I dont see why he didnt take the job
reguardless

He took one of the great american novels and cast a bunch of foreigners.

It wouldve been a dream come true to be with his own kind

Deaft0ne writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 6:43:05 PM

Who is 'Owe Boll'? Lever Whosse's brother?
minkowski writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 7:02:01 PM

No. His lover.

Ha! I slay me.
telur writes:
on May 19th, 2013 at 11:51:46 PM

Jason Statham kill Han in the ending of Fast Furious 6 (took a scene from Fast Furious 3)

and Gina is a Luke Evans team, he betrayal Dwayne Johnson

you're f*cking genius Justin Lin

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=28426#ixzz2TnkT1e7B
benedict khan writes:
on May 20th, 2013 at 6:02:59 PM

STRICTLY BALLROOM --overrated sh**

ROMEO AND JULIET --too OTT

MOULIN ROUGE --unwatchable

THE GREAT GATSBY --i loved it

here is a link
to watch the redford version

http://www.movie2k.to/Der-grosse-Gatsby-online-film-2976324.html

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved