WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Iron Man 3" Crosses $1 Billion Mark at Worldwide Box Office

Posted: May 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Iron Man 3" Crosses $1 Billion Mark at Worldwide Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Marvel is proud to announce that "Iron Man 3" has now crossed the $1 billion mark at the worldwide box office, and in just 23 days of release. This is the second Marvel film the sixth Disney movie to reach the milestone.

Other Disney films to have accomplished this are "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest," "Alice in Wonderland," "Toy Story 3," "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" and "The Avengers."

"Iron Man 3" has become the fourth highest-grossing superhero movie of all time (behind "The Avengers," "The Dark Knight Rises" and "The Dark Knight") and sixteenth highest-grossing film of all time. It just needs another $84 million to become the biggest superhero movie.

Click here to read our "Iron Man 3" review.

Source: Disney


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 8:25:16 PM

All DC has is TDK and TDKR, and now Marvel's about to kick their ass in that department.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 8:41:39 PM

Sex on the throne.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 8:46:57 PM

Funny how the third passed the 1 billion mark, but the first part is considered by many to be the best...

So what have we learned kids? The build up & marketing make a bigass difference than being the first to set the trend.
defiant1 writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 8:52:18 PM

Question... Do you think IM3 would have passed $1 billion if it had come out before Avengers?
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 9:08:09 PM

^^Probably not, as Marvel's game plan has been all along to build momentum, which is one reason why Iron Man 1 didn't make nearly as much as Iron Man 3. Momentum. If they can keep it up, Avengers 2 will make more than the first.

Marvel's just getting up to speed. DC is still in the garage, with the exception of the boost they received when you-know-who croaked, and TDKR drove around on TDK's fumes, at least partly.

At some point though, they're bound to miscalculate, probably right before people get tired of comic book movies.
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 9:40:03 PM

Considering how weak Captain America and Thor look, I doubt they'll keep the momentum too high leading into Avengers.

I predict Thor won't hit 600 Mil.
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 9:42:44 PM

Posted this on the other Marvel thread:


http://www.flickeringmyth.com/2013/05/marvels-kevin-feige-talks-doctor.html

On Iron Man 4: "I believe there will be a fourth Iron Man film and a fifth and a sixth and a 10th and a 20th. I see no reason why Tony Stark canít be as evergreen as James Bond. Or Batman for that matter. Or Spider-Man. I think Iron Man is a character just like that."
benedict khan writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 9:44:10 PM

i wish he would do some serious roles again

zodiac
wonder boys
fur
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 9:51:00 PM

Feige is making a mistake. He thinks people come to see Iron Man and not RDJ, and I know in my case and in the case of some other people, that's just not the case. Feige is over-generalizing, making some poor comparisons.

Feige thinks Marvel's characters are the sole attraction, and not the actors which is why Marvel pays them peanuts, comparatively and why Marvel doesn't want to share the profits amicably and fairly.

They 're GREEDY, and it's going to be their undoing. I hope. Sounds like Disney has really rubbed of on them in a terrible way.
benedict khan writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 10:00:49 PM

@ mink

4 exciting movies
4 scripts

http://www.scribd.com/doc/138125614/Elysium-by-Neill-Blomkamp

http://www.scribd.com/doc/54948578/The-Wolf-of-Wall-Street

THE COUNSELOR
http://www.mediafire.com/view/?kfpmer4bsk7a37h

ONLY GOD FORGIVES
http://www.mediafire.com/view/?ni15n668i8a65hk
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 10:45:40 PM

"Marvel's just getting up to speed. DC is still in the garage, with the exception of the boost they received when you-know-who croaked, and TDKR drove around on TDK's fumes, at least partly."

You speak the truth Mink. It's like DC was sitting back waiting for the Marvel trend to end thinking it was just a phase. Then they realized they better get in on it before it ends. Even if Marvel's success flattens like a popped balloon, it will be after they rake in all the money.

Batman Begins-good. Mostly due to telling the story out of sequence.

TDK-all Heath

TDKR-Batman does not belong in daylight. Not at all.
Fightclub1 writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 1:20:02 AM

I see iron man for RDJ...not for iron man. I'd be kying if I said I didn't enjoy the films a great deal but it would feel so wrong without RDJ. He IS iron man and without him you have no iron man and you won't have my attention.
Ip_man writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 3:51:15 AM

bring on 'Iron man 4 - The search for Trevor'
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 6:47:20 AM

What Fightclub1 said
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 9:01:17 AM

I like to poop into balloons and then sell them for 2 pence
supaflywill writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 10:57:18 AM

still think this was th worst one out of the 3 ...still think man of steel will blow ironman out of the water tbh .....
elrei writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 11:55:36 AM

Don't know if i'm the only one but I go to comic book movies for the VILLAINS, and I was expecting a REALLY badass one with The Mandarin and they give us THAT? f*ck it. I hope that in Avengers 2 they kill Hawkeye or Black Widow in very gruesome and shocking way.
benedict khan writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 8:22:17 PM

@ Ip_man

bring on 'Iron man 4 - The search for Trevor'

ha ha ha

then IRON MAN 5
water board anyone who asks
why trevor wasn't put on trial like the nazi in nuremburg

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved