WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban Says "Dredd" Sequel May Happen

Posted: May 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban Says "Dredd" Sequel May HappenSubmit Comment
Karl Urban's "Dredd" reboot hit theaters in September and went on to gross only $32 million globally on a $50 million budget. Sequel plans were immediately cancelled and the studio began auctioning off props and costumes to recoup some of the costs.

But in a new interview with Urban, the actor revealed that a sequel is still being considered. "Interestingly enough, I did have breakfast with [writer] Alex Garland this morning. It's not off the agenda," he said. "Clearly everyone has woken up to the fact that an audience has found this movie and loves it. [A sequel is] entirely possible, and if people want to see another installment then they should be vocal about that, because, it can happen."

Garland previously spoke about his ideas for potential sequels, stating: "If they want to make sequels, I've got a story that goes from this one into the origins of Dredd and the city. Then the third one would have a strange, existential attack from the Dark Judges."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 8:29:17 PM

Not going to happen. Shouldn't have spent 50 million. Should have spent 25 instead if they wanted to have a chance at a sequel. Or much, much better marketing. But that's what you get when changing a light bulb on set requires a union spokesman.

Can't even imagine how cheap movies would be if they were entirely open to the free market and not controlled by self-interested union *ssholes.

Perhaps Mustard has some input on that matter.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 8:40:09 PM

Mink its a maybe maybe i hope
donangel01 writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 10:10:42 PM

serious work is needed for a sequel to save this. It needs to be an action packed plot that takes Dredd OUT OF ONE LOCATION!!!! In the original, Dredd was a cop was framed and then had to clear name. For that time, it was fun and action/suspense, again, in those days it was OK action. Flip to 2012, and in this movie, a remake, the entire plot was in one building. Truly the worst 3D film in my collection and by far the worst remake in the recent years.

I am all for sequels prequels and remakes. I am young so more into todays movies. But Dredd and Total Recall were the two worst remakes ever, ironically in the same year and ironically with Stallone/Arnold making comebacks that got criticized. Again, for those making a sequel to this, a lot of work needs to be done.
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 10:28:14 PM

^^Stop trolling.

Dredd is a hundred times better than Stallone's film. And that, ladies and gentleman, is a f*cking FACT.
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 10:29:56 PM

@Deat0ne: I disagree. Dredd didn't even make its budget back, much less twice.

And Lionsgate has plenty of properties to sequelize, so why throw cash into a proven black hole?
CoolHandAaron writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 10:57:39 PM

As much as I liked Dredd, I have to agree with minkowski. The movie gained a sort of cult following after the blu-ray/dvd release, but that was probably too little too late. They lost $18 million and sold props and costumes. Seems like the studio has cut its losses and moved on.
Taco writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 11:38:16 PM

Kickstarter it is then.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 12:20:26 AM

The first few scenes of Dredd showed how good a movie would be set in the city itself rather than just one building. I Liked the movie but a sequel would be much better.
mpiper821 writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 2:42:47 AM

I felt like Dredd was a good introduction to the character and how they wanted to portray the character, city and tone of the film. There is definitely room to go bigger and expand.
hunter207 writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 2:46:19 AM

I have never understood why studios discount DVD/Blueray sales, thats where most of the cash comes from anyway... Anyway, I think selfishly a Dredd sequel would be awesome, but financially speaking it would be a really horrible idea
mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 3:29:21 AM

Not sure how to follow up on this. 50 million for a movie with the production value and effects featured in Dredd seems, unfortunately, a relatively normal price these days.

The trade unions probably only have a somewhat negligible effect on the overall cost of production. Can't speak directly about features, but I know that in reality TV, when a show organizes, it's a general rule of thumb that overall production/post costs increase by about 10 percent in their respective departments. Are you gonna be dealing with graft, overbilling, and generally laziness of some self-entitle union dipsh*ts? Absolutely. Will it cost you a lot in the grand scheme of things? No, not really.

No. the real problem here is probably above the line. Karl Urban- probably didn't cost that much. The director.. probably just happy to have a job. Same with the writer. My guess is that there were too many producers skimming here, plus the licencing of the Dredd franchise cost them a pretty penny.

In a perfect world, it wouldn't have mattered. Dredd deserved a much better fate at the box office, I thought it was one of the best of its year. Simple, efficient, and fun, light years better than the Stallone farce. But the studio bean counters would let this go to sequel... umm.. let's say NEVER. It just doesn't add up.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 9:31:23 AM

The project just had too much going against it from the start to be successful. The character is not exactly a household name here in the States and what the general public did know wasn't exactly very positive. It was greatly overshadowed by its predecessor's poor quality so much that even people like myself who were actually casual fans of the comics became extremely skeptical about the prospect of a reboot. Add in an unknown cast and the general negative track record of modern remakes/reboots and you have a film that never really had a chance from the beginning. Too bad, it was easily one of the most entertaining films of the year and is one of the best reboots i've ever seen. It was also the best use of 3D in a film since Avatar.

IMO a sequel is risky but has a much better chance of success. Dredd separated itself from that titanic piece of sh*t Sly film. It's established a nice sized legion of fans on the net and with many critics. Best of all people actually really want a sequel this time around where as before nobody was clamoring for a reboot. With all the money that gets thrown away in Hwood already attempting a sequel really doesn't seem like much of a stretch these days.


Zeroguy writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 10:19:04 AM

I still have faith this can work. DNA films have come off of losing some money before (Sunshine for example). The demand for the sequel is large, mainly from the new movie fans and Judge Dredd fans.
Also, Garland is working on a new script which plans on making his directorial debut. Maybe when he's done that, he can prove to investors that he has the ability to fully control the reigns for the sequel, cutting out the controversy he had with the original director.

I'm mostly saying this cause I still have faith in a sequel and because I really want one.
Evil_Disco writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 1:44:18 PM

I would love to see a sequel to Dredd.
And one with the Dark Judges would be awesome!!
RapeVanDamn writes:
on May 18th, 2013 at 4:26:11 PM

Had I known what a fun action flick this was I would have seen it in the theater. If they somehow pull a sequel out of their asses, I will not make the same mistake twice.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved