WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg Explains How He Won Millions of Dollars in a Bet with George Lucas

Posted: May 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg Explains How He Won Millions of Dollars in a Bet with George LucasSubmit Comment
Ever since "Star Wars" was released, fans wanted to know every single thing about the franchise. In a recent interview, Steven Spielberg told a bizarre story about his agreement with George Lucas, something most fans have probably never heard of.

Spielberg explained: "George came back from 'Star Wars' a nervous wreck. He didn't feel 'Star Wars' came up to the vision he initially had. He felt he had just made this little kids movie. He came to Mobile, Alabama where I was shooting 'Close Encounters [of the Third Kind]' on this humongous set, and hung out with me for a couple of days."

"[Lucas] said, 'Oh my God, your movie is going to be so much more successful than 'Star Wars.' This is gonna be the biggest hit of all time.' He said, 'You want to trade some points? I'll give you 2.5% of 'Star Wars' if you give me 2.5% of 'Close Encounters.'' I said, 'Sure, I'll gamble with that, great.'"

"'Close Encounters' made so much money and rescued Columbia [Pictures] from bankruptcy. It was the most money I ever made, but it was a meager success story. 'Star Wars' was a phenomenon and I was the happy beneficiary of a couple of points from that movie which I am still seeing money on today.
"

According to sources, Spielberg earned about $46.7 million since the agreement.

Source: CelebrityNetWorth, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Dirt writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 9:31:57 PM

46.7 mill for nothing.. Some c*nts are born lottery winners.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 9:32:25 PM

I actually remember reading about this. Yeah Spielberg was pretty smart. Both his film and Lucas ended up being classics. Lucas has low self-esteem it would seem. Would explain why he kept messing with "Star Wars".
Cannon writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 9:47:50 PM


I wish I had friends that I could make $46 million dollar deals with.

CelluloidMan writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 10:38:17 PM

"Who gives a sci-fi f*ck?!" said the have-nots.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 10:45:04 PM

Actually speaking about Lucas, I'm ptetty curious about what he's gonna do with the Indiana Jones franchise ever since he sold STAR WARS....

Will he sell it? Will he attempt to redeem himself & make a closer? Or is he leaving that franchise untouched until he dies?

(In Sienfeld voice) "What. Is. Tha-deeeaaalll!!"
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 11:51:30 PM

Her name sounds like a female body part.

Mulva?
pornfly writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 11:56:55 PM

Good show,ol'boy
Mmmyes,quite a good show indeed

f*ckoff
How bout some points off the dump Im taking
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 1:57:08 AM

Lucky Bastard...
pornfly writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 2:36:12 AM

Our first clue that Lucas has piss poor judgement
Cannon writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 2:59:43 AM


@CelluloidMan

Lucas didn't just sell Star Wars, he sold Lucasfilm, of which Indiana Jones was part. It belongs to Disney now, alongside Star Wars, though there still might be some joint distribution with Paramount.

Personally, I don't think anyone who can sell something for $4 billion pescos needs to "redeem" themselves.

Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 5:43:56 AM

the jew strikes back
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 6:32:23 AM

"He felt he had just made this little kids movie."


Interesting. Even Lucas realized he had just made sh*t for men who would never grow up.
Ip_man writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 7:09:18 AM

and they made recently another bet:

Lucas : 'hey steve,let's bet on 2.5% that if we make the crappiest indiana jones movie ever - it will still make sh*t load of money..'

Steve : ' you're on ! '
minkowski writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 7:15:09 AM

God what I wouldn't give to go back to when that photo was taken.

My wanting to get back to the early 80s is like Soran trying to get back into the Nexus or Pauly Shore trying to get back into his mother's womb.
vincere01 writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 11:49:54 AM

@mink thats the 2nd star trek reference in the past few days. Sure you arnt excited for into darkness?
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 12:07:30 AM

@vincere01: Mink has dropped at least one star trek reference a week in the year or so i've been following this site. Star Trek: Into Irrelevance has nothing to do with it
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 17th, 2013 at 2:04:26 AM

At Cannon:

Good points all around, sir.

Cheers.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved