WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hires "Iron Man 3" Writer, Christopher McQuarrie in Talks to Direct

Posted: May 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mission: Impossible 5" Hires "Iron Man 3" Writer, Christopher McQuarrie in Talks to DirectSubmit Comment
Earlier this month, it was revealed that Paramount Pictures was moving forward with "Mission: Impossible 5" and that Tom Cruise signed on to reprise his Ethan Hunt role.

Now comes word that the studio just hired "Iron Man 3" co-writer Drew Pearce to write the script for the fifth "Mission: Impossible" installment. Christopher McQuarrie (Jack Reacher) is in talks to direct.

"Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" hit theaters in 2011 and went on to gross almost $700 million worldwide, which is much higher than all other installments in the franchise. It also has an impressive 93% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 6:25:46 AM

I actually have nothing negative to say about this news, except perhaps Jack Reacher could have been way, way better, but that was the writer's fault, not McQuarrie, and the fact Cruise looked ridiculous fighting people twice his size and half his age.
Ip_man writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 6:40:22 AM

Cruise looked ridiculous fighting people twice his size and half his age.

Cruise always looks ridiculous in figthing scenes - not only that he's small but he's slow as f*ck.
pornfly writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 7:30:10 AM

IronMan 2 writer hired to write new menu for Cheesecake Factory

After he's done autographing Jennifer Anistons publicity photos from Leprechaun
boogiel writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 8:06:31 AM

Let me guess, just as it is with IM3's mandarin, it will revealed later that ethan hunt is not really ethan hunt but a scientologist wacko.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 8:37:10 AM

Too bad it'll be like Die Hard 5. The 4 th MI was awesome, this, not so much.
Cannon writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 9:17:14 AM


Jack Reacher is superior over all four Mission: Impossible films, because it actually has a brain and some themes that drive the story ...oh, and a story.

Mission: Impossible movies are just a series of showy set pieces (the first one is still the best) and the character Ethan Hunt is totally bland and forgeable. At least Reacher has a genuine anti-authoritarian attitude and is more convincing concerning Cruise's age.

Cannon writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 9:18:55 AM


^^forgeable = forgettable


Deaft0ne writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 10:09:56 AM

Grow a brian, moran!^
Dirt writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 10:25:22 AM

I actually liked the third Mission Impossible best. Phillip Seymour Hoffman was a cool choice for a villain. I thought the villain in four was pretty weak.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 10:41:58 AM

Not really sure what sh*t Cannon is smoking, but the thought the Jack Reacher film somehow "had a brain" makes me truly laugh out loud. In fact, if I hadn't read the book, I wouldn't be able to tell you at all what the f*ck happened.

I do know Cruise as Reacher was laughable, especially the one scene in the street where he's opposed by five men. Hilarious. He looks like a child with progeria.

And never in the film does Reacher display any of the cold calculating skills he possesses in the books. He just arrives at a conclusion, slams it home and everyone says "thanks" and moves on.

The finale is weak too. He commits cold-blooded murder. Why? No one knows, but in the books, Reacher's a psychopath, and I guess that's what passes for heroic in these troubled times. No law, no justice, just some homeless giant killing unarmed, broen bad guys because he feels like it.

But the worst part is you don't remember the movie. It's absolutely lackluster. The ending is flat and anti-climactic, the characters are devoid of any life and the action is sparse and generic.

Not a terrible movie, but f*ck, at least with Mission Impossible you get enough action to make you glad you spent the ten bucks. After Jack Reacher I needed a hot shower just to wash away the shame, and it was a Pirate Bay download.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 10:43:32 AM

broken.
Dirt writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 10:50:32 AM

@Mink

Have you read them all? Can you recommend any? I'd imagine it'd probably be best to begin with the first..
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 10:54:13 AM

@mink

Jack Reacher was very average and the best scene was the totally out of place Three Stooges-esque bathroom/house fight because it was hilarious, and I liked seeing Robert Duvall in it.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 11:14:37 AM

Deaft0ne: I've read them all. All seventeen of them. You should start with Killing Floor. If you don't like it, you won't like the rest. And be prepared: if you decide to read them all, they decline in quality as you go.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 11:17:45 AM

That was @Dirt. My bad.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 11:19:04 AM

@Deaft0ne: my favorite scene was...was...dunno. A totally wasted opportunity, imo, because the book was damned good.
Cannon writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 1:07:19 PM


@mink

We must have seen different films.

1. Numerous scenes depict Reacher working through problems, accounting for different variables and replaying the opening scenario over in his head. He doesn’t have every answer right away, but certain situations he quickly assesses, the method for which should not be explicated, as is done in the novels, when cinema can show these skills at face value. It makes it more exciting and immediate that way.

2. I’m confused. You say you like the book but then criticize the protagonist in the film for committing cold blooded murder like he does in the book. Why does he do it? I think the circ*mstances make it quite clear. And I never thought that he’s supposed to heroic in the goodie conventional sense.

3. I remember -- the characters and the story -- a hell of a lot more than any of the characters from the Mission: Impossible films, which is my main point/comparison here. Who was Jonathan Rhys Meyers? Who was Maggie Q? Who was Jeremy Renner or Paula Patton or the bad guy from Ghost Protocol? And I stand by it that Cruise as a wayward, thinking-man Reacher is more memorable a character than Cruise simply as a grinning, extreme-sports-white-guy Ethan Hunt. By that last film he was practically no character at all, other than Cruise himself going through the motions.

4. As for the action, sparse? Yes. Generic? No. If I can buy Cruise dangling off skyscrapers then I can buy Cruise beating up some dudes in the street, height differences included. I thought the fight scenes in Jack Reacher were clear and economical, not under/over-choreographed or flash-edited. I thought the car chase was one of the best ever committed to the medium for the way it was technically handled, blowing Drive out of the water while, at the same time, never spilling over into Fast & Furious absurdity. I liked how the end quarry shootout was methodically paced instead of just being yet another assault on the senses.
Cannon writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 1:08:56 PM


@Deaft0ne

I bow before your superior argument.




...Which is sarcasm for: the exact opposite.


minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 1:12:53 PM

Did you read the book, Cannon?
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 1:16:36 PM

"If I can buy Cruise dangling off skyscrapers then I can buy Cruise beating up some dudes in the street, height differences included."

Except in the book, Reacher is easily six foot five and weighs a two hundred and fifty pounds and has, according to Lee Child, fists like basketballs.

Cruise is NONE of that. Hell, I'm bigger than Cruise, in fact. Maybe they should have hired me?

And you mention jumping off a skyscraper, but little flying squirrels dive from redwoods, none of which takes muscle mass, size or height, so it's far more believable, physically speaking, for Cruise to let gravity pull him to earth than the little midget beating up two or three men twice his size. It's f*cking laughable, as I said.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 1:19:03 PM

" I thought the car chase was one of the best ever committed to the medium for the way it was technically handled, blowing Drive out of the water while, at the same time, never spilling over into Fast & Furious absurdity."

I think you just liked the camera angles employed in that one scene that featured gleaming chrome and glass and mercury-vapor lamps, because to be honest, I otherwise saw nothing worth mentioning, unless a little man hunched under the steering wheel of a muscle car is somehow innovative these days after decades of action car racing.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 1:20:59 PM

"I liked how the end quarry shootout was methodically paced instead of just being yet another assault on the senses."

If you say so. I saw a short, cliched climax where no one was even scraped much less wounded besides the bad guys, a lot of sh*tty shooters on the villain side, bad guys who couldn't find their d*ck with both hands, and lots of ducking behind rocks and dump trucks, but if you say it was a very seminal action scene, then I guess you're right...
Cannon writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 1:40:39 PM


Never read the books, no, but I understand the physical stature of the character was vastly altered for the adaptation. I also think some practicality needs to be considered: there are no 6’5 barrel chested Olympians currently working in the industry with enough charisma to lead a film. Even Lee Childs himself admitted that the casting of such was fairly unrealistic, and that Cruise was simply a different physical take on the character that worked just as well in its own right.

I liked the car chase because it was staged, shot and edited with precision, and because (hidden stunt man or not) we actually see the actors-as-characters driving the cars. It was old-fashioned meat'n'potatoes, but smartly done. But we’re drifting further and further into subjective waters here, so...that whole agree to disagree thing.



I still think you’d bone Zoe Saldana if you had the chance, though.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 1:46:34 PM

@Cannon

It's cool if you enjoyed Jack Reacher. I just felt like it was nothing I haven't seen before and I never read any of the books but I guessed all the twists a mile away.

Also Werner Herzog was a very silly and cartoonish villain that came off like he was from some Mel Brooks movie.
sedibus writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 2:00:45 PM

Mission Disposable. A couple of days ago saw Oblivion, man it made me remember Smith´s I am Legend, a film that begun great and ended up ending flat out like a half baked cake without the sweet flavor.
So this Kosinsky flick, bad flick, I mean, any f*cking yerk can make a beautiful honey-looking movie, but man what a lame story, kind of like interesting, sort of but then not.

As for M:I series and that Lee Child based movie, well, I don´t have anything to say, except the first 3 M:I flicks, then I didn´t care for the Casper Protocol, by the way, so, thank you.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 2:11:14 PM

Ghost Protocol was better than MI:3 which was just a ripoff of True Lies. 2 was a terrible James Bond wannabe movie. The 1st one and GP are the best ones so far.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 3:29:29 PM

"Also Werner Herzog was a very silly and cartoonish villain that came off like he was from some Mel Brooks movie."

This is very true, and the movie(s) that come(s) to mind is Space Pirates or Time Bandits.

Laughable. Which is why some books shouldn't be made into movies. Just doesn't work.
minkowski writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 3:31:41 PM

"I still think you’d bone Zoe Saldana if you had the chance, though."

lol. You're be surprised what or who I wouldn't do. I deliberately went six years without sex, so I think I could avoid her of all people.
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 4:00:32 PM

I completely agree with Cannon's post because that's how I perceived it. Yes T. Cruise doesn't fit with the required height but overall the movie was quite good and very well edited as I spent a good time watching it. And I'm the last one to support the Scientologist freak. Besides I know for a fact that Cruise is hell of a good driver and handling that undrivable muscle car was well done.

---

" I deliberately went six years without sex, so I think I could avoid her of all people."


I really don't know how physically and mentally you managed to do that but honestly you're one man of a kind. I mean you must have one hell of a strong willpower Mink to live without it fro so long.

Wow, I'm sincerely baffled. No sarcasm or irony here.
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 4:01:30 PM

*one hell of*
Ip_man writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 4:15:29 PM

I liked 'Jack Reacher' - nothing memorable but it was a straight forward old school action drama without cgi bullsh*t.much better then 'Iron man 3' for example.
Dirt writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 5:20:21 PM

Cheers mate!
Kurskij writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 5:58:00 PM

Jack Reacher was alright. It wasn't exactly great, but it was a solid old-school action.

Mai Courtney was surprisingly good, Herzog looked right in the setting, Cruise was good as not a hulk, but pit bull kind of guy - had some weak moments, but overall was solid.

@minks no sex comment.

Must've had th biggest balls ever. Literally.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 6:09:47 PM

@mink
Honestly Cruise only seems truly interested when he does Mission Impossible. He loves pushing his character to the limit physically. I mean his stunts in those movies are incredible and "Ghost Protocol" topped it all when he actually climbed the tallest building ever. Granted he was on wires but, one wrong move, and he goes bye bye.
Turn Up The Volume writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 7:11:58 PM

I very much enjoy Third Mission Impossible because of Philip Seymour Hoffman. He is excellent villain, very very menacing, shows you fat characters can be scary when they are ruthless and get upper hand. I don't care for Jeremy Renner in the movies though, he is a stiff.
Turn Up The Volume writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 8:21:15 PM

sleuth1989

I think that Tom Cruise gave his all for Jack Reacher too even though he was not right for the role really. Like in car chase scene, he did all his own driving, look on IMDB trivia:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0790724/trivia?ref_=tt_trv_trv
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 9:12:28 PM

@Turn Up The Volume
You are right he did. I enjoyed Jack Reacher don't get me wrong. It just feels Mission Impossible is where his strengths are utilized in action and pushing the envelope. No one can deny he does that.
Turn Up The Volume writes:
on May 15th, 2013 at 9:23:14 PM

Yes I agree with you sleuth1989. Cruise gave Jack Reacher best effort but Cruise was out of his element because of not physical right, too short. But he fits Mission Impossible like the glove, and actually his star power and charisma made those movies block busters. I am not sure any one else could of made the films work as well as he did.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on May 16th, 2013 at 2:57:33 AM

Ray Stevenson wld have been perfect as Jack Reacher. As for this. They should have stopped with G.P. waited a few yrs and reboot it.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved