WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Someone Leaked "The Expendables 3" Online, Already Downloaded 200,000 Times
Jul 26th, 2014
Marvel's "Ant-Man" Loses Patrick Wilson and Two Other Actors
Jul 26th, 2014
"Argo" Writer in Talks for "Justice League"
Jul 25th, 2014
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Hemsworth and Scarlett Johansson May NOT Return for "The Avengers 2"

Posted: May 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Hemsworth and Scarlett Johansson May NOT Return for "The Avengers 2"Submit Comment
We just reported that Robert Downey Jr is in talks with Marvel to return for "The Avengers 2" and "The Avengers 3." But the actor isn't even discussing "Iron Man 4," and we may now know why.

Downey earned somewhere between $50 million and $80 million on "The Avengers," and has already earned over $35 million for his work on "Iron Man 3," but his "The Avengers" co-stars aren't making anything close to that. In fact, most of the actors are being paid around $200,000, far less than they would earn on any other movie.

Chris Evans and Chris Hemsworth received only a $500,000 pay increase for returning for the "Captain America" and "Thor" sequels. And unlike Downey, the actors will earn only $500,000 more if their movies break the $500 million mark at the box office.

Despite having a contract, Hemsworth considered backing out of "Thor 2," because he earned $5 million working on "Snow White and the Huntsman" and Marvel isn't offering anywhere near that, despite the fact that "Thor" and "The Avengers" are massive franchises. Scarlett Johansson is also fed up and isn't willing to take a pay-cut to return for "The Avengers 2."

Marvel is known for low salaries and replacing any actor who doesn't accept the company's way of doing business. In fact, the studio has already threatened to replace Hemsworth. But Marvel doesn't want to replace Downey at this point and it seems that the actor is using that leverage to fight for his co-stars by threatening not to return for "Iron Man 4" and possibly any other Marvel film unless they all get appropriate pay raises.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:04:04 AM

Who do they think they are? The cast of "Friends"?
cress writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:07:33 AM

Still nothing about the death of Ray Hsrryhausen. We get Amanda Bynes stories out the ass, but when it comes to the godfather of special effects--nothing.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:10:30 AM

Unbelievable. What a greedy pack of f*cking jackals. And as I'm loathe to say it, Hemsworth is every bit as much Thor as Downey is Iron Man. So why the f*ck is Marvel so damned willing to short-change their actors? Because they think it's the comic book character only people are coming to see?

Wrong!

Wise up, Marvel. You possess a powerful empire, but many a kingdom was lost for want of a nail, or so the clichè goes...
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:16:05 AM

yer another actor as thor wouldnt cut it at all
cress writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:25:34 AM

As noted in the pic above, Hemsworth doesn't seem as focused as his other co-stars anyways.
Taco writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:27:37 AM

They really could only drop Scarlet Jo Big boobies. Her character was nothing more than a Shield tour guide.
boogiel writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:30:22 AM

Marvel goes scrooge. Figures.Oh wait, didn't Disney have that character?
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:35:20 AM

And yet no news on Jeremy Renner getting the boot.

Interesting.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:36:10 AM

"Who do they think they are? The cast of "Friends"?"

No, Taco, they think they're the SuperFriends.
Taco writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:41:26 AM

@ Mink, Super friends they are indeed. Renner got booted?
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:51:15 AM

No, Taco, and that's the thing. He's arguably the most worthless character within The Avengers. Doesn't even have the sex appeal of ScarJo. Just some arrows. Which is odd. They want to replace the figurehead Downey, "the man who would be Thor" Chris Hemsworth, and the world's sexiest woman, but not Renner? He must work for Purina biscuits.
Avirex writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:09:32 AM

I heard Chris Evans was actually paid in Nike gift certificates and Axe body spray.
Avirex writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:12:58 AM

But seriously Renner and Scarlet are incredibly replaceable. Any pretty bitch with a nice ass can play Black Widow Stripper...and any short untalented flavor of the month actor can pretend to shoot arrows.
telur writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:21:09 AM

soon or later they will replace downey jr

because they want make james bond superhero
Taco writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:22:52 AM

There all just playing hard ball for $$$. But I think the actors are deserving more than the greedy marvel execs give them.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:24:12 AM

Wow Marvel you beat DC's ass in comic book movies, build a massive empire and you do this you bunch of greedy f*cks? f*ck off and die!!
Morbius writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:35:24 AM

Need to take a leaf out of Hugh Jackman's book.
Know what made you and love it, even if the pay is sh*t.
You've got a bank balance of X Million, you greedy f*ckers.
nawtnt writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:35:37 AM

BadChadB33, well said.

I think it is great that RDJ is fighting for his co stars.

All of them should be paid equally.

If Marvel keeps this up then the studio will be where DC is and DC will end up where Marvel is now.

That's my opinion.
pH0u57 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:45:38 AM

Nevertheless, GO DOWNEY JR.!
donangel01 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 9:20:45 AM

what gets me is that Robert Downey Jr is "fighting" for his co stars but not complaining about the 50 million he's getting!! LMAO!!! it's like, "my co stars should get more, don't take it out of my 50 mil, but they should get mo money" unbelievable, Marvel was fun while it lasted but this could change things a bit
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 9:53:11 AM

Getting different actors come in to play characters is one of the things that annoys me most about films and takes me out of the world they're creating. It's not like Marvel can't afford to give them a bit more money just do it! Fair play to RDJ for sticking up for them if they all leave Avengers 2 wouldn't even happen. They'd have to reboot the whole things and fans of the original wouldn't bother, it would become some sh*tty B movie.
Cannon writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 9:53:18 AM


I don't see why they shouldn't ask for more money. It's business. It's their job. It's what they do for a living. Both Hemsworth and ScarJo are putting in the time with Thor and Captain American sequels (this will already be ScarJo's thrid outing as Black Widow) and the franchise is proving lucrative.

So, why NOT ask for more money? It's not about greed; it's about asserting one's worth in the business -- not settling for unfair pay in proportion to the success of the films.

I'm not crying a river for these actors, but they are working people just like the rest of us. Why should they settle for less?

shiteater writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 10:18:46 AM

Maybe if RDJ really cares, he should take a pay cut for the others to all get their raises.
nawtnt writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 10:24:42 AM

Cinemaisdead and Cannon, agreed.

If Marvel recasts some members of the cast then it is finished for the studio.

Marvel has create a new universe for superheroes and now it is going to destroy by recasting maybe half of the cast.

Bring back the cast for The Avengers 2 or don't make it either.

That's my opinion.
bennett31182 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 10:36:42 AM

Give me a pack of gum and a metro card and I'll be your thor....or Black Widow I don't care. sh*t you know Nick Cage is always willing to work. He will do it for a Big Mac and maybe a shave.
Fightclub1 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 10:38:03 AM

RDJ is the man
velocityknown writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 11:47:14 AM

The only reason that RDJ gets paid that much is because he was the first one in the door and structured his contract to get a percentage of the profits. And the only reason that happened is because he was a pretty big liability and question mark due to his troubled past and they didn't want to pay him a full salary upfront when the movie might flop.

That being said, with the franchise as big as it is, they can't expect to keep paying Hemsworth or Evans as little as they are. Johansson on the other hand can definitely be written out.
velocityknown writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 11:53:42 AM

However, people will see the movie either way. They might not like it, but they'll see it midnight, opening week, and maybe even once after that.

Downey is really the only person they can't replace without a lot of uproar. And he apparently won't play ball with a company that treats his coworkers like sh*t. Anyone want to speculate on the all new Avengers 3 cast?
Nihilus writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 11:56:57 AM

@Cress, Good point I'm tired hearing about Amanda Bynes as well.
Ray Harryhausen was a true legend, it's sad no one here knew of him...
hellsingfan writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 12:27:14 PM

now i'm all for cast members defending each other but this is just a load of bull crap as if any f these actors will walk away from a sequel too the third highest grossing film of all time and as if marvel will let them go
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 12:43:07 PM

I saw this coming from a mile away

I first noticed it when Marvel wouldnt even pony up the dough for Thors' helmet from Elmer Fudd
vincere01 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 1:20:21 PM

This in the beginning of the end of all things marvel movie dominance. The corporate greed will be theyre undoing. Say what you want about nolan but if he was running the show for marvel he wouldnt allow this to happen.

he would fight for his actors and not break continuity and creative control for the corporate greed. George lucas once thought along the same lines as marvel here. After a new hope he refused a pay increase for fisher and hammil.

ford went to bat for his co stars and in the end got raises for everyone after a contentious holdout. He learned his lesson and never tried that again. He understood the need for continuity and keeping your talent happy.

I hope this marvel greed is not a fortelling of how the star wars franchise will be overseen by disney.
vincere01 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 1:20:23 PM

This in the beginning of the end of all things marvel movie dominance. The corporate greed will be theyre undoing. Say what you want about nolan but if he was running the show for marvel he wouldnt allow this to happen.

he would fight for his actors and not break continuity and creative control for the corporate greed. George lucas once thought along the same lines as marvel here. After a new hope he refused a pay increase for fisher and hammil.

ford went to bat for his co stars and in the end got raises for everyone after a contentious holdout. He learned his lesson and never tried that again. He understood the need for continuity and keeping your talent happy.

I hope this marvel greed is not a fortelling of how the star wars franchise will be overseen by disney.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 1:30:40 PM

50-80 million?! For RDJ?! F******CK!!

I still remember the big thing in the 90s was the ones that commanded the 20 mill paycheck that included J. Carrey, Tom Cruise, Julia Roberts among others...

Maybe he had a clause that let him collect on the *ahem* in the back end...
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 1:32:43 PM

Yup, I agree. Low balling hardworking actors makes them not want to come back...
pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 1:33:14 PM

I sure hope Aquaman and Green Arrow are payin attention
bandolero999 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 1:48:36 PM

i'm really tired of these superhero movies.plus Hemsworth is thor in every movie so he might as well get replaced.

ScarJo was the only female in the team.

and RDJ is a veteran actor so he knows what the f*ck he's doing.
velocityknown writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 1:50:36 PM

@Celluloid

RDJ wisely received a percentage deal in lieu of a base salary for Iron Man and later contracts. He definitely wasn't getting $50 million just to pay it. Marvel deeply regrets doing this, believe me and it's why they haven't done it since.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 3:37:42 PM

Marvel Phase 1- Massive success
Marvel Phase 2- Where everything falls apart.
Marvel Phase 3- Reboots galore and no Avengers 3.
Ip_man writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 5:21:04 PM

Hemsworth is expendable but i don't think they can allow scarlett's to be replaced - her sex appeal attracted men around the world to watch that mediocre movie and they will lose some viewers if she's replaced.
Rocksteddy writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 6:26:52 PM

I'm taking my business to another establishment, thank you very much
jikae writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 6:26:57 PM

Greed is going to be the end of Marvel Films. Other actors are seeing how they're treating these veteran actors and won't jump on for future films. Yeah, they'll get the few struggling actors who need a pick-me-up, but they won't sign on for sequels. Bad business all around.

Of course that's unless they signed these contracts BEFORE the Avengers really blew up. I remember reading that they signed on for 3 films at the current rate (and I think even 10 for Chris Evans). If that's the case, shut up and film the movie.

On an unrelated note, what's with the stupid video ad that plays on the top right?? Annoying as hell.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 6:33:15 PM

If RDJ really gives a sh*t he will agree to 10 million each for Iron Man 4&Avengers 2&3 and say give the same to Chris&Chris.
WallyDee writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 6:35:39 PM

Maybe its a stupid question but im gonna ask it anyway.

Isnt it possible that its all bullsh*t, just a strategy to get people talking about the Avengers sequel very early on?

Personally im not buying any of it.
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 6:48:32 PM

**what gets me is that Robert Downey Jr is "fighting" for his co stars but not complaining about the 50 million he's getting!! LMAO!!! it's like, "my co stars should get more, don't take it out of my 50 mil, but they should get mo money"**

DonAngel01: BRAVO to you for pointing this out, mate, but you shouldn't expect a typical greedy wealthy American like Downey to EVER be willing to part with ANY of his OWN money.

Furthermore, the only reason that Downey is helping them fight for increases in their pay is because he wants to eliminate any chance that the future Avengers films (of which he gets a cut of the box office revenue) gross any less than the BEST that they possibly can... and he knows that Marvel losing ANY of the main players like Hemsworth and that tart Johansen JUST MIGHT result in the future Avengers movies not grossing as much as they could have with ALL of the original primary cast members intact. So SURE he wants them to get the increase in pay that they want so that they stay on board... but even though on the surface he looks like he's being a stand-up guy by looking out for his mates, in actuality, he's only looking out for HIMSELF.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:15:18 PM

I think Downey and the rest just see it as their right to get a fair cut. No reason for Marvel to take in another billion, thanks in large part to the likability of Downey's Stark, but for Downey to get paid what he was paid for the first Iron Man film.

Again, it's basic economics. Supply and demand. There's only one Downey, and he has large demand as Iron Man/Tony Stark. He's worth whatever the market will bear.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:20:29 PM

"what gets me is that Robert Downey Jr is "fighting" for his co stars but not complaining about the 50 million he's getting!! LMAO!!! it's like, "my co stars should get more, don't take it out of my 50 mil"

Why would they take it out of his 50 million? He was already paid for Avengers, and none of the other folks, other than Cheadle, have any right to anything whatsoever from Iron Man 3. They didn't appear in that film.

As for Avengers 2, neither Downey nor anyone has been paid sh*t for that film yet, so how he could argue for them to not take anything from his pay, as negotiations are ongoing.

Were you there during Downey's contractual negotiations? No. So how do you know what he said? You don't, so perhaps you should shut the hell up.

pornfly writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 7:54:02 PM

RDJ used The Hulk for strong arm tactics but then Hulk got screwed.

Poor dumb green guy
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:09:57 PM

Superman's new vulnerability revealed:




We know Henry Cavill is playing Superman a whole new way in the highly anticipated "Man of Steel," but now he is elaborating on Superman's new limitations.

We've established his costume is different this time around, the way he flies has changed radically, and the bounds of his superpowers are portrayed differently, too.

But if you're expecting his foe General Zod (Michael Shannon) to whip out a stick of kryptonite, think again: Superman's ultimate weakness in "Man of Steel" is (wait for it) his own confusion and sense of isolation.

http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-talk/man-steel-loneliness-not-kryptonite-superman-weakness-193703697.html




In other words, Superman is a little girl with superpowers.
minkowski writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:13:15 PM

Here's what someone on the Yahoo comments for this article said (NOT me, btw)

"Apparently all superheroes must now be brooding, emotionally damaged and "flawed." It's the Nolanification of the genre."



So I'm not the only one clued into Nolan's bullsh*t, I guess.


Someone else said:



"so like will General Zod point and laugh to weaken him?"

lol!



And another:


"Stop....Messing.....With.....Good......Movies!!!! Give it another 35 years and Superman's weaknesses will include dairy and soy!"


Thanks Nolan, you f*cking c*cksucking *sshole.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 8:47:10 PM

^ truth. me personally I'm done with the whole super hero movie sh*t. I want some good old-fashioned movies back.
Slick writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 9:05:17 PM

Damn right RDJ!!
Nightwing83 writes:
on May 9th, 2013 at 12:39:39 PM

Looks like we got a Man of Steel basher here. Hmm, let's see.

"In other words, Superman is a little girl with superpowers. "

No, genius, in other words, Superman's acting the way most people would if they found out they're really an alien and some crazy general was out to get them. The "little girl with superpowers" was in Superman II and Superman Returns.

""Apparently all superheroes must now be brooding, emotionally damaged and "flawed." It's the Nolanification of the genre.""

Of course, the brooding, emotionally-damaged," Batman started in the comics and was established on screen in 1989 by Tim Burton, but you wouldn't know that.

Also, "flawed?" Hmm... last time I checked, everyone was flawed, but especially the Superman of Superman II and Superman Returns. Gettin' your girl pregnant and not knowing for five years is a lot more "flawed" than... um... working on a commercial fishing boat.

No, the "Nolanization" of superheroes, really just means writing three-dimensionally. That's a good thing.

""so like will General Zod point and laugh to weaken him?""

No, they're gonna fight each-other. That thing Bryan Singer was afraid to do.

These complaints are pathetic. Man of Steel is going to be awesome, but FAKE PURISTS can't accept it. Why? Oh, Superman's not just a guy who grins through the entire film. Not that he was before, but they have only the most vague memories of the film.
Nightwing83 writes:
on May 9th, 2013 at 12:44:10 PM

I'm sorry, that was off-topic. It's just that when people attack MoS, it really infuriates me, especially when they clearly don't understand the character.

Anyway, I think this is a non-issue. Agents and studios renegotiate all the time. It's just how the game is played. Granted, the salaries mentioned for some of these guys is really kinda low, but still, it's a game of chess.
jikae writes:
on May 10th, 2013 at 6:17:55 AM

Perhaps my comment got lost in the flood, but does a CONTRACT not mean anything anymore? You signed on for a specific amount of money, and until your contract runs up or both parties are willing to re-negotiate, get your ass to set and do your job. EASY AS THAT.

Besides, Robert Downey Jr got lucky because Iron Man was the first property under Marvel control so they were willing to give some leeway to get the proper actor. Now, they have the leverage so they can push their weight around. Any actor who doesn't like it, can just move along.
President Baltar writes:
on May 10th, 2013 at 11:58:46 AM

@Nightwing83
It's only human to have low expectations, following Superman Returns, which was, to be fair, a sub-par movie.
Like the rest of us, you haven't seen the film, so why are you telling the rest of us what to expect?
The film might still suck, despite your quest to defend a film you haven't even seen.
shefgatorlady writes:
on May 21st, 2013 at 9:58:28 AM

Ip-man, Hemsworth is not easily replaceable. Women flock to see him just as much as the men flock to see Scarlett. Lets face it, curvy female actors are a dime a dozen. How many good looking 6'3" actors are there that can pull off Thor? Hemsworth and Whedon are the only reason I watch Avengers.
Switch72nd writes:
on May 21st, 2013 at 10:28:29 AM

Lol at people saying Renner is a terrible actor and is replaceable. Renner is a great actor with 2 oscar nominations, which is just as many as RDJ and is more than the rest of the cast has.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved