WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Says "Iron Man 4" Will Happen With or Without Robert Downey Jr

Posted: May 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Says "Iron Man 4" Will Happen With or Without Robert Downey JrSubmit Comment
Gwyneth Paltrow recently said that Marvel isn't planning "Iron Man 4," despite the fact that "Iron Man 3" is on its way to break the $1 billion mark at the box office. Part of the problem is that Robert Downey Jr's contract has ended and the actor has been hinting at leaving the franchise.

Downey admitted that he's open to negotiate a new contract, but since the actor cost Marvel $50 million on "The Avengers" and likely something similar on "Iron Man 3," it's possible that the studio may not want him back.

In a new interview with Entertainment Weekly, Marvel had Kevin Feige confirmed that the "Iron Man" franchise will continue, with or without Downey. "I believe there will be a fourth 'Iron Man' film and a fifth and a sixth and a 10th and a 20th," he said. "I see no reason why Tony Stark can't be as evergreen as James Bond. Or Batman, for that matter. Or Spider-man."

Since each Marvel movie heavily depends on the events in all the other movies, it's likely that "Iron Man" won't be rebooted if Downey doesn't return. Instead, Marvel will have to insert a different actor to play Tony Stark and then continue where Downey left off.

Source: EW, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 7:08:48 AM

No RDJ, no ticket.
Cannon writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 7:25:41 AM


He'll do at least one more, just to pass on the torch. It would be totally off-setting for audiences if the next Iron Man was all-the-sudden inexplicably Downeyless.

Ip_man writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 7:44:46 AM

"I believe there will be a fourth 'Iron Man' film and a fifth and a sixth and a 10th and a 20th,"

great,'Iron man 20' - tony vs.alzheimer
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 7:50:39 AM

My guess is with.....
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 7:57:43 AM

OR!

He signed on to do 3 Iron Man movies right? So that means his contract is now over.

So its possible that after the succes of the 3rd Iron Man movie RDJ has gotten more expensive

Maybe Marvel is to greedy to bring him back and will just go with another cheaper actor taking a huge risk that the movie will be sligtly less succesful but succesful enough because of the legacy that was created by the first 3 movies.
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 7:58:45 AM

Well i just read the entire article after posting my last comment and i feel kinda stupid now...
KillerSniper45 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:01:09 AM

@IP lol. Iron 20: Great Grand Pa Iron Man.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:05:57 AM

Marvel Says "Iron Man 4" Will Happen With or Without Robert Downey Jr


I guessed that after watching Iron Man 3
Kurskij writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:14:07 AM

They'll pay him at least once more, then - well, Downey Jr. wasn't exactly a Royalty when he signed on for the first Iron Man was he?

Show will go on. It's not like he's Jack Sparrow where Depp f*cking around is literally the only reason audiences keep coming back.
Bunny X writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:33:00 AM

They'll do it without him, crack a joke in the film about "there's something different about him" and keep it moving.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:40:06 AM

They'll recast RDJ and get Schumacher to direct.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:43:23 AM

And the contract negotiations are now in play...

He has to at least do AVENGERS 2...
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:51:58 AM

I can't see it, Not yet at least. There's literally only ONE franchise that did this option and had good success (Actor choosing wise) And that's James Bond. Nailed the Casting every time.

But I guess we'll see..
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 9:46:39 AM

I still say if RDJ doesn't come back, recast with Jeffrey Dean Morgan.

@mink

I wasn't saying you didn't see Iron Man 3, I meant a few other people that commented making wild exaggerations about it like saying the humor was 'constant and excessive' or there were '500 one liners' said by RDJ.

Hearing sh*t like that, I went in expecting Stark to be as obnoxious as he was in The Avengers. I was very relieved when he wasn't. Any quips he did make were more reactive to the situation or what other characters were saying and it wasn't over the top.

"By the way, I loved you in A Christmas Story." - that was a genuinely funny line.

Reharding Killian, I think he became a smug bastard because the Extremis technology made him god-like so it was just the common character trope of absolute power corrupts absolutely.

I think he hated Stark out of pure jealousy and felt he was arrogant and blew him off back in 99 when at the time Killian had good intentions. Tony's narrative coda at the end expresses this by not losing your soul or what is good within you.

Ultimately I think all of us take away something different from a film. I enjoyed it because i'm glad to see Shane Black doing a movie like this and it is mostly his film. If Marvel was really butting in you would have seen Nick Fury or Loki or some sh*t like that but you didn't.

Also this had a cohesive story unlike the script that Justin Theroux was WRITING WHILE IRON MAN 2 WAS SHOOTING. Jon Favreau maintains he was rushed into production on it and is partly why he didn't direct this 3rd one.

I think that's why it was so underwhelming and sloppy.

Also regarding The Mandarin, and this is speculation by others on some other boards. But the only person that says he is an actor is Trevor to Stark, Killian backs that up, but he was being called 'The Master' by others in that earlier scene.

I think by him acting like a buffoon could be manipulative misdirection and he isn't as dumb as he appeared when he was caught. James Badge Dale was in the bedroom very quickly so maybe Trevor had cameras in the bathroom and knew to put on his british retard act before coming out.

Remember that any villain that survives can always come back. Also if he was only an actor, why wouldn't he just wear a fake beard? Within the film they made it look like it was grown out. Or maybe it was fake and he is too lazy to take it off.

Also Killian did seem like he wanted Stark to go to that house and to lead him there. Trevor's act may have been planned.

Anyways just my thoughts.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 9:48:42 AM

regarding^
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 9:57:39 AM

I meant I think that's why Iron Man 2 was so underwhelming and sloppy.^
Rocksteddy writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 10:12:05 AM

Get Nathan Fillion. He was in a majority of Whedon's projects. I honestly think he could play the stark character very well, as well. Has that snarky tone, mixed with that kinda naive nerdy character tone.
Was that so hard, Marvel?
Fightclub1 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 10:28:00 AM

No RDJ....no $8. That's like a pirates movie without Depp
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 11:44:01 AM

lol I meant maybe Trevor had security monitors in the bathroom to show what was going on outside.
hellsingfan writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 12:25:40 PM

that actually is kinda smart i mean rdj can't put on the iron suit forever so bringing in someone else does make sense
Whitta writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 12:46:05 PM

Absolute d*ckheads.

RDJ made those movies.
Without him, they'd be just another run of the mil superhero movie like Superman Returns or Captain America.

Don't be gready and ruin a good thing 'Marvel.'
You still have him for Avengers 2 and 3. Let it rest and work on making your other Avenger sequels decent. Because all the originals sucked balls.
That writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 1:41:01 PM

Agree with Taco, it will be hard for me to even rent an Iron Man 4 without RDJ
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 1:48:53 PM

@rocksteddy

Casting Nathan Fillion as the next Iron Man is not such a bad idea.

Only problem i see there is that he's only 6 years younger then Robert Downey.

It would be better if they went with someone in their thirties, maybe early forties.

Maybe Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory!!......LOL
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 1:50:15 PM

But i honestly hope they will keep working with RDJ in the future.
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 1:51:59 PM

I meant someone in their twenties maybe early thirties*
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 2:20:34 PM

@Wallydee

Recasting with someone in their 20s or 30s makes no sense. Why would you think it does?
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 4:30:37 PM

Why wouldnt it? i mean why would Tony Stark appoint a successor almost the same age? THAT wouldnt make any sense right?

Isnt it possible for him to have some sort of protege who is like young and athletic or something, who he prepairs for taking over....

Dude i dont know maybe you're right.
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 4:42:33 PM

Just an example.

Men in black, Will smith's character ''takes over'' at the end of the first movie.
He was 29.

Joseph Gordon levitt, The dark knight rises ''takes over'' at the end, he was 32 if im not mistaking when that movie came out.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 4:55:58 PM

@Wallydee

The way you said it made it sound like an actor in their 20s or 30s should be cast as the Tony Stark character, not a younger successor.

The successor angle would be a bad idea imo. People like the Iron Man movies for RDJ, not necessarily the suit.
Champ1432 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 5:41:21 PM

I highly doubt he's done putting the suit on yet. Do I think in the future there will be an Iron Man movie made without him? Sure.

But we're not there yet. He might be expensive to Marvel, and they notoriously don't like to shell out the money, but I think he's worth it in this case. No matter who they would try to cast in his place, I think more people would have a problem with it than would like it. Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Nathan Fillion, anyone.

For now, Marvel needs him. Persoanlly, I would be a LOT less interested in seeing an Iron Man movie with no RDJ. That's just me, perhaps others disagree.
Ip_man writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 5:46:49 PM

RDJ or no RDJ can we please have a bad ass villain in the next one?

thank you.
Ip_man writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 5:48:18 PM

'The Great Gatsby' is at 43% at RT - hopefully this will be the end of Baz Luhrmann
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 5:50:06 PM

Im not saying its a good idea either, i was just responding to rocksteddy his comment about casting Nathan Fillion.

IF you are gonna cast someone else, cast a younger person.
Dont cast someone who is only six years younger then RDJ because if you're gonna do that might as well keep RDJ.

And i actually said ''the next iron man'' not the next Tony Stark.

RDJ IS TONY STARK.

''The successor angle would be a bad idea imo. People like the Iron Man movies for RDJ, not necessarily the suit.''

Not entirely true!
Iron Man barely had any screen time in the 2nd movie, but we did get A LOT of RDJ, still the movie is very disliked.

Iron Man also doesnt have a lot of screen time in the 3rd one, again we get A LOT of RDJ and personally i thought the 3rd one was very flawed.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 5:56:46 PM

@Champ1432

The main reason I suggest Jeffrey Dean Morgan as a recast Tony Stark is because he looks a lot like RDJ, even sounds like him a bit, and is a good actor.

He has also already played a comic book character in Watchmen as Edward Blake/The Comedian and was the best aspect of the film and he is eerily a dead ringer for the illustrated version in the comic.

Nathan Fillion looks absolutely nothing like either actor and would be a terrible choice. The comic version of Tony Stark has black hair and a mustache and has always looked sort of like Tom Selleck/Timothy Dalton to me in the 80s from what I remember. RDJ resembles the late 90s-present version of Stark.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:00:21 PM

@Wallydee

For Marvel/Disney to keep RDJ they at least need to pony up 100 million for him to do Avengers 2&3 and Iron Man 4.

Recasting someone in their 40s like him would be cheaper.
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:07:40 PM

@deaftone

Isnt 100 milion for 4 movies a little much? Not a retorical question! its an actual question im asking.

I thought that a-list actors got 20 million dollars a movie or something like that...?

Recasting RDJ would be cheapier altogether wouldnt it? it wouldnt matter what age the next actor would be.
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:20:40 PM

''Downey admitted that he's open to negotiate a new contract, but since the actor cost Marvel $50 million on "The Avengers" and likely something similar on "Iron Man 3," it's possible that the studio may not want him back.''

Apparently its not...
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:28:39 PM

@Wallydee

I think RDJ got 25 million for Iron Man 2 and 50 million for The Avengers 25 for production then 25 for backend profits and something similar for Iron Man 3.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:30:30 PM

lol Wallydee I was on the phone and got a call before I posted my comment.
WallyDee writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:39:46 PM

I hope RDJ will return for the next Iron Man and Avengers movie(s) i think almost everyone agree's on that.

What i also hope is that they deliver us a better movie than Iron Man 3 but thats just my personal opinion.

Im sure Marvel/Disney and RDJ will work out his paycheck.
Ireland914 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:59:16 PM

Well, time to reboot the series with another origin story!
KaloVisor writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 7:14:36 PM

We do not need 20 Iron Man films..they can't even do 3 right.. what happened to the days when people took risks and actually make original films?
Champ1432 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 7:22:20 PM

@Deaft0ne

I'm not denegrating your choice. JDM probably would do a pretty good job if given the chance. I'm just saying I think the majority of the public isn't going to be interested in anyone besides RDJ playing Tony Stark right now, regardless of how well it might turn out on screen. I don't think enough people would turn out to see it to find out.

But I could be wrong. You never know with people these days.....
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:38:05 PM

@ip_man: Early reviews for The Great Gatsby are pretty awful, and from that, I expect(ed) a total flop.
Ip_man writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 9:26:03 PM

Tom Cruise signs on for 'Mission Impossible 5'

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni52971793/?ref_=hm_nw_tp_t1
Donyae 420 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 9:39:55 PM

Where Is The NEW NEWS....WHAT IT DO ALEX.
BillyBunter writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 9:45:33 PM

Did we expect anything else now Disney own Marvel? If they can sign RDJ on to a Depp (pirates of the Caribbean) style pay deal he will carry on with these films. Unless he really does decide this role no longer interests him but we all know money talks, especially Disney f*ck you money. We can expect to see the same BS with star wars and any other future film franchises that do well, 6 films minimum will be the norm from now on.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 9:48:43 PM

Everyone has their price. The fun part is finding it.
Curbcooler writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 9:50:02 PM

The "reason why" Mr Feige is Becuase eunlikeall the other superhero actors who are mainly cast just Becuase they are in shape and goodlooking raj literally made Tony Stark and people will not recognize that character trait with multiple different actors as they have with "James Bond".
BillyBunter writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 10:03:07 PM

@Mink very true, in the old days i am sure you could take RDJ on a weekend away to Columbia and and have a deal bashed out over some, marching powder and whores. If his new addiction is the good old US dollar then we might just see the highest paid movie deal go down in history. It is going to be interesting to see what Disney does, as this could really set a new precedent for actors and studios with future contracts. Not only is the character the franchise but so is the actor.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 10:05:07 PM

"Downey admitted that he's open to negotiate a new contract, but since the actor cost Marvel $50 million on "The Avengers" and likely something similar on "Iron Man 3," it's possible that the studio may not want him back."

RDJ was broke before Iron Man, so he better ride this one till it dies.

On the other hand, anyone else think the guy who helped make Disney/Marvel several billion might be in line for a proportionate share of the profit?

He's worth it, *ssholes. Pay him in kind.
BillyBunter writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 10:16:42 PM

@mink them numbers are pretty impressive, i think you are right the back end deal is what he will want to negotiate.And i am sure the studios are more happy with paying out what is due once the film becomes profitable.

Depp made $280 million to $350 million some sources say in taking a slice of the profit from 4 of the pirates films. That's a nice pay day, i could see see RDJ trying to put together a similar deal.

But i agree the guy as more than brought in the goods for Disney/Marvel so pay the man for services rendered.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 10:17:10 PM

@Billybunter; with RDJ's Iron Man role key to a successful Avengers 2, you're probably more right than even you know.
BillyBunter writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 10:42:05 PM

@Mink For avengers 2 that's for sure, lets see what happens in the next few weeks.

In other news seeing as we are all chatting and Alex has posted nothing else that interesting. I got around to watching a show called Copper on Netsh*ts. It not bad, it follows a bunch of rouge cops protecting the 5 point districts of NYC. I think its set around the 1860s, so think gangs of New York but from the cops perspective. Its not bad at all, its not complex by any nature but its a good zone out hangover type of show to watch.

Also got around to catching up on Hannibal which is really good. I am not really in to crime dramas but some of cinematography is beautiful. And wow is it graphic for a tv network show, solid performances also i looking forward to seeing this series through.

And also big daddy cool don't give me a load of abuse for going off topic from this thread.

Plus where is Ranger these days?
BillyBunter writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 10:43:48 PM

As write that Alex posts more stuff, typical lol.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 11:03:53 PM

@BillyBunter, the Hannibal show is ok. Unfortunately it's on NBC when it should be on a cable channel. The subject matter that show requires is too much for the wimps that watch network television. They already pulled one episode. That's why I try to stick with cable shows. They can curse, be naked, and show as much blood and body parts as they want. As long as it's not porn...

...even though some actors have sex for real.
BillyBunter writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 11:41:22 PM

@phoenix, yep the cable route does seem to seem the way to go. But in terms of visually horrific scenes its pretty out there. The whole angel episode and mushroom one, i was shocked that a network show would commit to them images.Even Dexter is not half as graphic and that's showtime right? I find it amazing how showing something as natural as someone naked or having sex on American TV is such a taboo, yet people getting skinned alive is fine. It makes no sense at all to me in this day and age. Does America want to bread repressed sexual psychopaths?
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 7th, 2013 at 12:11:25 AM

@phoenixfire

I dl the censored ep and the removed parts were very sh*tty and underwritten. The plot was Molly Shannon had some kids kill their families and she wanted them to be her family.

They never explained any motivation for it and it was just a crappy episode. The character development scenes for Will, Jack, and Hannibal are worth seeing though. They are on Hulu+&YouTube under 'Ceuf'.
bennett31182 writes:
on May 8th, 2013 at 10:41:19 AM

Iron Man 3 = Cop Out. Jesus the Mandarin being a British actor. Come the f*ck on. The whole movie was flawed and I don't blame RDJ for not wanting to return. How many times can he actually try and save a movie now. Do the Avengers 2 and if that sucks I swear we riot. Make Disney pay for their childish ways. Make Marvel as dark as Warner Bros does with DC. Marvel characters are some of the most complex ever. Make them dark and HUMAN not this bullsh*t we keep paying $18 a ticket for.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved