WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kurt Russell Says "Escape From New York" Should NOT Be Remade

Posted: May 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kurt Russell Says "Escape From New York" Should NOT Be RemadeSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that Tom Hardy and Jason Statham are in talks to star in the upcoming "Escape From New York" remake as Snake Plissken, the role that Kurt Russell played in the original film.

Now, during the CapeTown Film Festival, Russell attended a screening of "Escape From New York" and then answered questions about the remake. He said that films should only be remade if the original had flaws, adding that since the "Escape From New York" remake is moving forward, it shows that nothing is sacred in the industry.

When asked who he thinks should play the role of Plissken, Russell replied that it's frustrating to see nothing but foreign actors being considered. "There's one thing I can tell you about Snake – he's an American," he stated.

Source: Collider

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:48:22 PM

He just doesn't want it remade because he would rather see them do another sequel starring his sorry old has-been arse so his career can be resurrected and he can make some money.

Hey Kurt... it's OVER.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:53:22 PM

stfu bdc you repugnant troll. Where does Kurt Russell say he wants to play Snake Plissken again? Nowhere? Okay f*ck off, thanks.
Champ1432 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:57:54 PM

lol Russell is the man
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:58:37 PM

I didn't f*cking say that Russell SAID ANYTHING, you f*cking American moron. I'm saying what I think he wants. Learn to f*cking read, you insufferable idiot.
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:59:57 PM

That last message of mine was directed to the bloody fool who named himself after some has-been American nu-metal band.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:09:13 PM

My handle is not from nor has anything to do with the band you twat. Also, who are you to presume what Kurt Russell wants? I'm sure that because you are british that you can't grasp why it is absurd for a brit to play Snake Plissken.

The character is American and that is what Kurt Russell is saying.

You are just a f*cking idiot bdc. Really.
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:18:44 PM

DeafTone: No, you're just too narrow-minded to see beyond the surface of his statement, to understand that behind his statement of supposed concern that the new film "gets it right" is his bitterness and frustration with his stalled film career and the fact that Hollywood would rather reboot the franchise than drag his old arse back out of the cobwebs for a sequel.

But I can't help your ignorance, you pathetic wanker. Sorry! *LoL*
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:26:39 PM

BDC Stop being a d*ck insinuating actors motives

Maybe he just doesnt want a shoddy cash grabbing remake to eradicate the memory of the cheesey 80's classic. Theres no need to remake it they already did that to the thing and look how well that turned out, Big trouble in little china is next.

Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:28:06 PM


If you want to imagine inside your tiny head that Kurt Russell wants to do another sequel as Snake Plissken that's fine, but you are absolutely delusional.
boogiel writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:53:39 PM

Go get'em snake.
Rocksteddy writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 12:09:46 AM

"He's an AMERICAN."
TommyJarvis84 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 12:47:05 AM

Big Daddy Cool,
Having worked with Russell recently, I can assure you that starring in another one is the furthest thing on his mind. He is happy building up his winery business these days.
Kurskij writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 1:38:40 AM

"He said that films should only be remade if the original had flaws"

So he doesn't mind if Escape from LA gets a remake?
Kurskij writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 1:43:01 AM

Kurt Russel is the only Klapperschlange.

minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 2:36:10 AM

Not sure what Russell is smoking, but theatrical plays are remade all the time, e.g., the plays of Shakespeare have been made and remade and remade again a million times.

Think of Baz Lurmann's Romeo and Juliet, a film based on one of The Bard's plays of the same name.

Think of the thousand films inspired by Romeo and Juliet as well.

Now why the hell can't a f*cking film be remade? Is it really any different? Perhaps a new audience wishes to see a new rendition. How is that any different from, say, the thirtieth iteration of Cats? Different media, yes, but similar intent.

Russell needs to grow the f*ck up and realize a) movies, especially his movies, aren't special b) all of his films have flaws, and c) he can't do sh*t about it so why open his mouth?
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:45:14 AM

Russell sounds like a grumpy old man....he could've just been classy about it...that train wreck is still gonna get made anyways. Just wish'em well & keep on truckin'...

This coming from a Russell fan...I thought he f*ckin' rocked it in BREAKDOWN.

He really should go back to work because if he ever changes his mind, it's really gonna be a bitch to hype up his career to drum up GOOD roles...he has no recent work to show...like Ahnuld.

But if he's happy where's he's at...good for him.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:54:29 AM

Finally someone with a brain
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 4:17:16 AM

"...it shows that nothing is sacred in the industry."

Sacred? Where everyone lies for a living, stabs everyone in the back for a living, double-cross everyone for a living, etc. so you've guessed that Hollywood is like Wall Street so I wouldn't use that adjective if I worked in that kind of business.

The original was nice but it certainly had its flaws but Kurt is right, I don't thing a Brit should reprise his role. These two doesn't fit as Plissken IMO.
Cannon writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 4:46:00 AM

First of all, Kurt Russell isn’t bitching or whining about anything. It’s the difference between COMplaining and Explaining: he was asked a question, he gave an honest answer. What, should he lie about his personal opinion just to be universally accepted? f*ck that.

Secondly, the difference between movies and plays is that no one performance of Romeo & Juliette or Cats is ever the original, exclusive version of that play that is recorded as is and re-experienced by audiences over the years. A better, alternate analogy would be literature: what if someone came along and rewrote, say, Tolkien’s The Hobbit or King’s The Stand? I’m not talking about adapting the story to another medium, but simply rewriting it as a new book. People would understandably say "That‘s stupid." -- "What is the f*cking point?"

Now this isn’t a perfect analogy. I agree that movies can be remade, and so does Russell, as he says himself. But I think he’s simply speaking relatively on the matter. The main charm of Escape From New York is not in its premise, but its execution. What people really remember from that movie is the atmospheric look and style distinctive to the era it was made and the collectively expressed attitudes of Carpenter as the director and Russell as the star (along with his costars, to a lesser extent). Those are the elements that have since made the film a genre classic.

he problem with so man remakes is that, in essence, they’re not really remakes at all, but desperate attempts to recapture a kind of nostalgic movie experience. Honestly, why else would a studio bother remaking this movie? They’re not interested in the premise or themes of the story; they just want to cash in on the nostalgia market by riding the coattails of classic movies, in the process, by recycling them. It really IS stupid.
Ip_man writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:23:12 AM

who cares?
sherv writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:33:44 AM

Escape from New York is one of my favorite films, hope they don't fuk up the remake (if it ever happens)
KillerSniper45 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:44:44 AM

I am not taking any sides here but seriously guys, just because Kurt Russell said that Escape From New York does not we should go busting the guys chops. What are we here perfect? Yeah, Escape From New York had flaws as a movie, but at least it was an original one. Do we need to say sh*t to Kurt? I find it funny that people here are so negative. Why the f*ck do we need to berate Kurt?
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:27:48 AM

Anyways, they already made it. It was called LOCKDOWN with Pearce.
Stapes writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:40:16 AM

Sorry, love kurt and carpenter, but the escape movies should be remade. Agree on an american snake though.
Zeroguy writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 1:18:31 PM

For real mink? You know better.
Shakespeare's work predates some cheesey fun 80s flick by 350+ years.
Also, it's The Bard. The guy wrote works that inspire everything we see on tv or in movies. Whether they're literal period pieces, modern day retelling a or just a simple love story or revenge plot, almost everything we see can be traced to him.

As for Escape from New York. It doesn't need a remake. Carpenter's Halloween and the Fog got remakes and they were awful. Even the the Thing got a sh*tty prequel. Leave the film be.
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:50:46 PM

Is he implying that Escape from New York didn't have flaws? Because I'll stop him right there with that f*cking surfing scene, and his damn eyepatch.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:05:00 PM

"If the original had flaws". Well prey tell, Kurt, what flaws did the original classic Poseidon Adventure have?!
SoftimusPrime writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:07:53 PM

@Black Dynamite

The surfing scene was in Escape From L.A. and no-one's defending _that_ film.
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 11:42:46 PM

So DoofTone, you believe that just because YOU dislike me, everyone else on this site must dislike me as well? You automatically assume that you have that much of an influence on the others here, do you? Your screaming arrogance (which is, granted, a typical trait of Americans such as yourself) again shows through.

However, if you're correct and it IS true that none of the other members of this site like me... well, seeing at how I have yet to encounter someone on WorstPreviews who ISN'T a total f*cking idiot, why should a give a sh*t what a bunch of bloody MORONS think of me? And anyway, what is this, a f*cking high school popularity contest? Grow up, you f*cking child. *LoL*

side_effects writes:
on May 7th, 2013 at 9:10:10 AM

I thought he was dead.
JamesInReelLife writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 6:40:06 AM

Okay. Normally I'm content to read and agree or disagree with existing comments on posts like these...However, as a HUGE fan of both Kurt Russell and Escape From New York I felt obliged to add my two pence...

I've read various articles and posts on the prospect of a remake. Both Carpenter and Russell make HUGELY valid points on the subject. Bottom line, Plissken's character must be properly understood and 'portrayed' accordingly.

Russell is entirely right, Plissken IS American. A foreign actor playing an American will not cut it. A HUGE facet of the original film is it's All American anti-hero, Snake Plissken. Attempting to deliver this via a foreign actor just displays ignorance on the part of the casting crew / production company. In fact, moving forward without properly considering elements such as this just display greed and ignorance on the part of the production company...Sadly, crude production considerations like this are becoming something of a modern 'tradition'.

Personally, I am interested in the prospect of a remake... Mainly, because I'd like to see further into the world Carpenter created all those years ago. However, therein lies the irony. CARPENTER created it! His is a 'night world' that's weird and wonderful. Somewhat satire, somewhat comic book...and although the world of Escape From New York is dark and somewhat gothic a superficial 'Nolan' style treatment is highly unlikely to hit target. There's more than meets the eye here and relatively speaking only a handful of people really 'get it'.

There's a reason the original is considered the epitome of 'cult'.

A common facet of 'cult' movies is that they're somehow able to speak to their audience in a way others films can't...

Often 'cult' cinema is 'infected' with the love and enthusiasm of the artists behind the work...In turn, this transfers to their audience, capturing their imagination and inspiring a shared passion for the project...

This is something that cannot be faked, no matter who's placed at the helm or who's cast in the lead.

In my opinion, Joel Silver needs to hire a team that have as much passion for the original as Carpenter displayed first time round! Either that, or pen a third installment, Rusell could return ala Jeff Bridges in True Grit! Food for thought.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved