WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Iron Man 3" Earns Second Best Opening of All-Time

Posted: May 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Iron Man 3" Earns Second Best Opening of All-TimeSubmit Comment
"Iron Man 3" hit domestic theaters this weekend and ended up grossing a whopping $175 million, earning the second biggest opening of all time, behind Marvel's "The Avengers" ($207 million) and just ahead of the final "Harry Potter" installment ($169 million).

Internationally, "Iron Man 3" grossed $504.8 million, bringing the film's worldwide total to $680.1 million. At this pace, the movie has a great shot of breaking the $1 billion mark. It will likely, however, never catch up to "The Avengers," which ended up with a $1.5 billion worldwide total.

"Iron Man 3" has already surpassed the total global box office of "Iron Man" ($585 million), "Iron Man 3" ($624 million), "Thor" ($449 million), and "Captain America" ($369 million). It has a RottenTomatoes fresh rating of 79%.

On the specialty side, "The Iceman," starring Michael Shannon, Chris Evans, and James Franco, opening in four theaters in New York and Los Angeles. It grossed $93,149, for an impressive per-theater average of $23,289. "The Iceman" has a 67% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Iron Man 3" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:49:36 PM

Stupid bloody comic book sh*te...
markoz writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:57:30 PM

Iron Man 3 has surpassed Iron Man 3? Interesting
Champ1432 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:59:38 PM

Pretty crazy that it's already passed the totals for the first two in it's first weekend.

Actually haven't seen it yet, but looking forward to seeing it soon.
vincere01 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:02:21 PM

****minor spoilers ahead****



saw it last night. Underwhelming. It was still a good movie, definitely a step or two above IM2. However something just was not right about the movie for me on the whole.

The acting was just fine. In particular kingsley. Guy pearce while doing the role just fine as his normal state character and in the flashback sequences especially. I felt he was not as believeable in his extremis capacity. He came off too forced of an archetype to me. Too much been there, saw that to it. Not like ledger in TDK. More travolta in face off.

RDJ while still charasmatic and perfect for the part. In some scenes he seemed to be too comfortable to the point of almost phoning it in. Just seems to me like he has bored of the character and is ready to move on to me. Like he has reached his breaking point of there being nothing new to do or explore with the part. Which now after listening to his comments about his future with the character make me believe he might actually be seriously considering leaving the franchise.

shane blacks directing was good but not great. The action scenes played out well. Good to see more practical effects this time than all CGI. the problems were more in editing and story for me. For the most part the evil minons were bori ng and carried little weight. Just there to pun h people and get all hot out of shape(see what I did there?). Any actor could have played those parts and the results would be the same.

The pace of the movie meandered at times. It seemed to suffer from being a movie that wanted to be a fast paced action movie of a character study. It succeeded moreso in the action department. And the subplot with the kid was a nice touch however.

One of my major gripes however is not the issue that was well publicized leading up with all the chinese issues. I found that not to be too distracting. No the more aggregious issue I found was in the obvious last minute changing of a major tony stark character trait into a poorly done plot device.

this is also where disneys hand comes in. There was a small story a while back about disney putting the kibash on starks alcoholism. And it was obvious that it was to be featured in this movie. Due to disneys tinkering however they changed it to be "anxiety attacks only". Now I could understand that maybe it was what would have triggered his drinking in the story but it was obvious to me that it was supposed to feature the drinking in the movie.

at one point he is in a bar and you see him put a empty glass onto a table and start talking to a person at the table. This was right after an "anxiety attack" and he had another shortly after as well.

also during the attack on his house it plays out as if he had been drinking but they do not show it or speak of it either. Throughout the movie there a subtle things that harken to his drinking problem but are never acknowledged.

Because if those things I felt like some scenes and sequences did not have some of the prerequisite information to feel organic. In turn they came accross as hamstringed to me. Maybe this censorship is also part of the reason RDJ wants out.

I did enjoy the climax battle however. While not as grand as avengers it played much better. More practical effects as I alluded to earlier mixed with the usual CGI. Good pacing to it as well. Cheadle also came alive with his best sequence yet in a marvel movie(not saying much). It also gave paltrow something to do finally as well.

the cliche is the vilan really dead happened quite a few times in this movie as well. I wouldnt have minded so much if it was only once, but I counted at least 4 if not 5 times.

it also ends in a interesting situation as well. Enough has been wrapped up and changed with finality to it where this could be the end and id be happy with that end. But they do leave that one loose string to dangle just incase.

All in all id give it a 7 out of 10
Good
- strong performence by kingsley, funny.
-good action sequences
-alot of practical effects

bad
-pacing at times
-some uneven performences. Especially by pearce and the background players.
-obvious disney tinkering
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:04:17 PM

bdc sh*ts blood all the time!

Anyways, I saw Iron Man 3 this afternoon and while it was definitely better than Iron Man 2, it was not better than the first.

Also after seeing it I wonder if some people commenting on it really saw it or are pretending based on spoilers.

For one, the humor was not excessive at all. RDJ has a few one-liners but not like what someone else claimed by saying "after the 500th one-liner I was just annoyed."

The mashup of The Mandarin and the Extremis storyline did feel forced. Also it was never explained why extremis subjects could breathe fire.

Also @ mink, Aldrich Killian was able to no longer be disabled with a hunch and cane because he Extremis'd himself and they made it pretty clear that it heals injuries and disabilities.

Killian was disabled in 99 and healed in present day so not sure why that aspect seemed silly to you.

Overall I would give it a 7 out of 10. I liked seeing William Sadler and Miguel Ferrer and the nods to Lethal Weapon and the barrel of monkeys rescue was impressive and creative.

Stark's infiltration to Trevor's house was neat as well.
pornfly writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:10:49 PM

my list of 'Best Openings' is way better
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:16:34 PM

Oh and regarding the humor, in The Avengers it WAS distracting. RDJ was saying some one-liner every few minutes, some were funny but it was annoying after a while.

Iron Man 3 was certainly not doing anything like that.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 2:17:15 AM

It's not to be expected Iron Man 3 would ever beat a huge ensemble film, the first of it's kind in cinematic history.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 2:49:15 AM

@Deaft0ne: I never said I didn't catch how or why Killian physically rehabilitated himself. It was clear he used Extremis, which was developed by Maya, the chick he shot for no real good reason.

The issues I had was why he was so angry, so bent on world domination, and why he had such a huge hard-on for Tony Stark. Because Tony stood him up eleven, twelve years before? Wah!

Stupid villain development, even for a comic book. Should have given Killian far more dimensionality, more depth, but instead they simply made him some twisted angry weirdo, which is ODD because as a hunchback, he was actually pretty nice, so as his life got better, as he was no longer hideous and repulsive, you'd think he'd find some happiness, some contentment, but no, that only served to enrage him further, and for no apparent reason, either.

Then he uses The Mandarin, a retarded British dope-head actor, when he had a f*cking standing army of indestructible super-soldiers at his immediate disposal.

The entire villain side of Iron Man 3 is just downright stupid, worse than Iron Man 2, which is sad because the former is otherwise superior to the latter in every other way.

And if you think I didn't see the film, please test me. I can answer any random question posed.

Thanks.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:06:19 AM

@mink
I agree on some of your things. I actually look up the Extremis storyline and they definitely took the more interesting things out to tone it down. Disney needs to not do that anymore if Stark returns. The alcoholism thing needed to be covered. However, it's pretty obvious Downey will return. It's probably a lame story but my guess is Stark will be asked to return and rebuilds his armor. Simple as that. What I REALLY DESPISED, ***spoiler alert ahead here***, was that Black cleaned it up too pretty at the end. Seriously Stark loses his arc reactor!!! This isn't the "Dark Knight Trilogy"!!! The story doesn't just end! Now if Black was approaching it like James Bond where each story was separate fine but come on! You can't wrap it up so clean! Marvel was great because the characters went through complicated crap that didn't end.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:08:08 AM

In other words...they were continuously miserable like normal people! LOL
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:53:49 AM

What Markoz said!
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:55:59 AM

Markoz beat me to it lol
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 4:04:07 AM

I couldn't agree more Vincere01
Ip_man writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:18:09 AM

simple - this one had 3D , the first 2 didn't.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:55:27 AM

I really gotta stop skimming through the comments on some of these threads when a big movie like 'Iron man 3' is out. Especially when I haven't seen it yet.

Oh well! :)
Stuntastic writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 11:12:08 AM

I will say that the 3D was quite impressive, but the biggest disappointment had to be the villains. It reminded me so much of The Dark Knight Returns and how Bane was just a puppet of a far bigger conspiracy. I was expecting Sir Ben Kingsley to be some badass super villain, but he just ended up being *SPOILER ALERT* some wack ass homeless drunk being paid to portray a villain. He literally seemed to be playing himself just from the interviews I've seen him give during the promotion of the film. I'm hoping the Man of Steele will be much better in the villain department. From the looks of it, it seems that Michael Shannon will be a pretty good Zod to Cavill's Superman.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved