WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Josh Brolin as Thanos in "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 31st, 2014
"Con Air" Director Wants to Set Sequel in Space
Jul 31st, 2014
New Photos From Disney's "Into the Woods" Musical, with Chris Pine as Prince Charming
Jul 31st, 2014
Jamie Foxx to Play Mike Tyson in Biopic
Jul 31st, 2014
Alex Kurtzman to Direct "The Mummy" Reboot
Jul 31st, 2014
Poster For Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Western
Jul 31st, 2014
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Iron Man 3" Earns Second Best Opening of All-Time

Posted: May 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Iron Man 3" Earns Second Best Opening of All-TimeSubmit Comment
"Iron Man 3" hit domestic theaters this weekend and ended up grossing a whopping $175 million, earning the second biggest opening of all time, behind Marvel's "The Avengers" ($207 million) and just ahead of the final "Harry Potter" installment ($169 million).

Internationally, "Iron Man 3" grossed $504.8 million, bringing the film's worldwide total to $680.1 million. At this pace, the movie has a great shot of breaking the $1 billion mark. It will likely, however, never catch up to "The Avengers," which ended up with a $1.5 billion worldwide total.

"Iron Man 3" has already surpassed the total global box office of "Iron Man" ($585 million), "Iron Man 3" ($624 million), "Thor" ($449 million), and "Captain America" ($369 million). It has a RottenTomatoes fresh rating of 79%.

On the specialty side, "The Iceman," starring Michael Shannon, Chris Evans, and James Franco, opening in four theaters in New York and Los Angeles. It grossed $93,149, for an impressive per-theater average of $23,289. "The Iceman" has a 67% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Iron Man 3" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Big Daddy Cool writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:49:36 PM

Stupid bloody comic book sh*te...
markoz writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:57:30 PM

Iron Man 3 has surpassed Iron Man 3? Interesting
Champ1432 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 10:59:38 PM

Pretty crazy that it's already passed the totals for the first two in it's first weekend.

Actually haven't seen it yet, but looking forward to seeing it soon.
vincere01 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:02:21 PM

****minor spoilers ahead****



saw it last night. Underwhelming. It was still a good movie, definitely a step or two above IM2. However something just was not right about the movie for me on the whole.

The acting was just fine. In particular kingsley. Guy pearce while doing the role just fine as his normal state character and in the flashback sequences especially. I felt he was not as believeable in his extremis capacity. He came off too forced of an archetype to me. Too much been there, saw that to it. Not like ledger in TDK. More travolta in face off.

RDJ while still charasmatic and perfect for the part. In some scenes he seemed to be too comfortable to the point of almost phoning it in. Just seems to me like he has bored of the character and is ready to move on to me. Like he has reached his breaking point of there being nothing new to do or explore with the part. Which now after listening to his comments about his future with the character make me believe he might actually be seriously considering leaving the franchise.

shane blacks directing was good but not great. The action scenes played out well. Good to see more practical effects this time than all CGI. the problems were more in editing and story for me. For the most part the evil minons were bori ng and carried little weight. Just there to pun h people and get all hot out of shape(see what I did there?). Any actor could have played those parts and the results would be the same.

The pace of the movie meandered at times. It seemed to suffer from being a movie that wanted to be a fast paced action movie of a character study. It succeeded moreso in the action department. And the subplot with the kid was a nice touch however.

One of my major gripes however is not the issue that was well publicized leading up with all the chinese issues. I found that not to be too distracting. No the more aggregious issue I found was in the obvious last minute changing of a major tony stark character trait into a poorly done plot device.

this is also where disneys hand comes in. There was a small story a while back about disney putting the kibash on starks alcoholism. And it was obvious that it was to be featured in this movie. Due to disneys tinkering however they changed it to be "anxiety attacks only". Now I could understand that maybe it was what would have triggered his drinking in the story but it was obvious to me that it was supposed to feature the drinking in the movie.

at one point he is in a bar and you see him put a empty glass onto a table and start talking to a person at the table. This was right after an "anxiety attack" and he had another shortly after as well.

also during the attack on his house it plays out as if he had been drinking but they do not show it or speak of it either. Throughout the movie there a subtle things that harken to his drinking problem but are never acknowledged.

Because if those things I felt like some scenes and sequences did not have some of the prerequisite information to feel organic. In turn they came accross as hamstringed to me. Maybe this censorship is also part of the reason RDJ wants out.

I did enjoy the climax battle however. While not as grand as avengers it played much better. More practical effects as I alluded to earlier mixed with the usual CGI. Good pacing to it as well. Cheadle also came alive with his best sequence yet in a marvel movie(not saying much). It also gave paltrow something to do finally as well.

the cliche is the vilan really dead happened quite a few times in this movie as well. I wouldnt have minded so much if it was only once, but I counted at least 4 if not 5 times.

it also ends in a interesting situation as well. Enough has been wrapped up and changed with finality to it where this could be the end and id be happy with that end. But they do leave that one loose string to dangle just incase.

All in all id give it a 7 out of 10
Good
- strong performence by kingsley, funny.
-good action sequences
-alot of practical effects

bad
-pacing at times
-some uneven performences. Especially by pearce and the background players.
-obvious disney tinkering
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:04:17 PM

bdc sh*ts blood all the time!

Anyways, I saw Iron Man 3 this afternoon and while it was definitely better than Iron Man 2, it was not better than the first.

Also after seeing it I wonder if some people commenting on it really saw it or are pretending based on spoilers.

For one, the humor was not excessive at all. RDJ has a few one-liners but not like what someone else claimed by saying "after the 500th one-liner I was just annoyed."

The mashup of The Mandarin and the Extremis storyline did feel forced. Also it was never explained why extremis subjects could breathe fire.

Also @ mink, Aldrich Killian was able to no longer be disabled with a hunch and cane because he Extremis'd himself and they made it pretty clear that it heals injuries and disabilities.

Killian was disabled in 99 and healed in present day so not sure why that aspect seemed silly to you.

Overall I would give it a 7 out of 10. I liked seeing William Sadler and Miguel Ferrer and the nods to Lethal Weapon and the barrel of monkeys rescue was impressive and creative.

Stark's infiltration to Trevor's house was neat as well.
pornfly writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:10:49 PM

my list of 'Best Openings' is way better
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:16:34 PM

Oh and regarding the humor, in The Avengers it WAS distracting. RDJ was saying some one-liner every few minutes, some were funny but it was annoying after a while.

Iron Man 3 was certainly not doing anything like that.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 2:17:15 AM

It's not to be expected Iron Man 3 would ever beat a huge ensemble film, the first of it's kind in cinematic history.
minkowski writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 2:49:15 AM

@Deaft0ne: I never said I didn't catch how or why Killian physically rehabilitated himself. It was clear he used Extremis, which was developed by Maya, the chick he shot for no real good reason.

The issues I had was why he was so angry, so bent on world domination, and why he had such a huge hard-on for Tony Stark. Because Tony stood him up eleven, twelve years before? Wah!

Stupid villain development, even for a comic book. Should have given Killian far more dimensionality, more depth, but instead they simply made him some twisted angry weirdo, which is ODD because as a hunchback, he was actually pretty nice, so as his life got better, as he was no longer hideous and repulsive, you'd think he'd find some happiness, some contentment, but no, that only served to enrage him further, and for no apparent reason, either.

Then he uses The Mandarin, a retarded British dope-head actor, when he had a f*cking standing army of indestructible super-soldiers at his immediate disposal.

The entire villain side of Iron Man 3 is just downright stupid, worse than Iron Man 2, which is sad because the former is otherwise superior to the latter in every other way.

And if you think I didn't see the film, please test me. I can answer any random question posed.

Thanks.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:06:19 AM

@mink
I agree on some of your things. I actually look up the Extremis storyline and they definitely took the more interesting things out to tone it down. Disney needs to not do that anymore if Stark returns. The alcoholism thing needed to be covered. However, it's pretty obvious Downey will return. It's probably a lame story but my guess is Stark will be asked to return and rebuilds his armor. Simple as that. What I REALLY DESPISED, ***spoiler alert ahead here***, was that Black cleaned it up too pretty at the end. Seriously Stark loses his arc reactor!!! This isn't the "Dark Knight Trilogy"!!! The story doesn't just end! Now if Black was approaching it like James Bond where each story was separate fine but come on! You can't wrap it up so clean! Marvel was great because the characters went through complicated crap that didn't end.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:08:08 AM

In other words...they were continuously miserable like normal people! LOL
M. Bullitt writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:53:49 AM

What Markoz said!
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 3:55:59 AM

Markoz beat me to it lol
witwicky-potter writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 4:04:07 AM

I couldn't agree more Vincere01
Ip_man writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 6:18:09 AM

simple - this one had 3D , the first 2 didn't.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 8:55:27 AM

I really gotta stop skimming through the comments on some of these threads when a big movie like 'Iron man 3' is out. Especially when I haven't seen it yet.

Oh well! :)
Stuntastic writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 11:12:08 AM

I will say that the 3D was quite impressive, but the biggest disappointment had to be the villains. It reminded me so much of The Dark Knight Returns and how Bane was just a puppet of a far bigger conspiracy. I was expecting Sir Ben Kingsley to be some badass super villain, but he just ended up being *SPOILER ALERT* some wack ass homeless drunk being paid to portray a villain. He literally seemed to be playing himself just from the interviews I've seen him give during the promotion of the film. I'm hoping the Man of Steele will be much better in the villain department. From the looks of it, it seems that Michael Shannon will be a pretty good Zod to Cavill's Superman.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved