WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder Says Marvel Heroes are Fun, But DC Heroes are Important

Posted: May 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder Says Marvel Heroes are Fun, But DC Heroes are ImportantSubmit Comment
In a new interview, "Man of Steel" director Zack Snyder was asked about how he plans to bring something new to the superhero genre which is already dominated by such Marvel films as "Iron Man," "Thor" and "The Avengers."

"It's Superman. The Superman shield is the second most recognizable symbol on planet Earth other than the Christian cross," said Snyder. "That should be the question you're asking Iron Man and Thor. How is it that you feel you can be making a superhero movie in a world where Superman and Batman exist?"

The director went on to say that DC characters are more iconic than Marvel heroes. "They truly are purer archetypes. They're literally Biblical," he explained. "If you get the DC characters right, they can be important, they can be about us. It's not just a romp [as with Marvel]."

Question: Do you prefer Marvel or DC superheroes?

Source: SFX


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Wallace writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 5:48:09 AM

This is idiotic.
Ip_man writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 5:49:24 AM

Do you prefer Marvel or DC superheroes?

I prefer f*cking a hot chick and not be a nerd,Alex.
cress writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:01:29 AM

Do you prefer Marvel or DC superheroes?

Coke or Pepsi?
McDonalds or Burger King?
KY Jelly or Astro-Glide?
Gel tabs or paper blotter?
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:08:44 AM

Neither. I hate them all. They're f*cking stupid. They should stay on Saturday morning cartoons and in bastard kid's closets where they belong.

And Snyder comparing Superman to Jesus Christ and DC to the Bible, well could he please get a little more f*cking tacky and idiotic?

Sounds like Kanye West telling the world of his supposed importance.

What a f*cking idiot you are, Snyder. Just shut the f*ck up already.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:11:13 AM

And I'm pretty sure Thor probably predates Superman, to be honest. Perhaps even predates Christ in some form.

After all, does Superman have a day of the week named after him like Thor (Thursday)?

No, motherf*cker, he does not.

Snyder just sounds desperate
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:12:41 AM

-probably.

"They're literally Biblical,"

Either I've read the wrong Bible, or Snyder doesn't understand the definition of the word "literally".
cress writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:24:04 AM

"The Superman shield is the second most recognizable symbol on planet Earth other than the Christian cross..."

What the f*ck is this cross thingy he speaks of? Not a clue...
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:29:27 AM

Cress has been reduced to low-grade trolling.

How droll.
cress writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:31:21 AM

Oh Mink, and I was going to ask you to prom....
cress writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:35:43 AM

@Mink. Did you see my comment in the Kitty Pryde thread?
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:37:52 AM

Sorry Cress, I'm not gay, but I was, I'd like to think I could do better than you.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:38:01 AM

Sorry Cress, I'm not gay, but if I was, I'd like to think I could do better than you.
The Sage writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:39:03 AM

Jesus, Cress. He can'tr answer when you are constantly tea-bagging his balls.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:40:36 AM

I stole that line from Married with Children, by the way.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:42:33 AM

@The Sage: you seem to be very wise to the myriad methods of homosexual foreplay. Is there something you'd like to share with the world? It's okay. We don't care about the stained Luke Evans poster under your bunk bed mattress.
cress writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:46:11 AM

Teabagging...his balls? I've never fathomed this was a thing in the teabagging world. How did you arrive at this? Teabagging, in my world, is best utilized upon a ladies chin.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:54:41 AM

Oh my god, that poor Miss Piggy doll...
cress writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 7:01:43 AM

For your information, I stole a department store mannequin. Miss Piggy, as if...
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 7:42:41 AM

f*ck off Snyder. Got stick the Superman symbol up your like daddy used to stick his dong up Vindys bum.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 9:05:56 AM

Remember this is the f*cker that acted like Watchmen was the second coming and said Sucker Punch would be awesome. With Snyder's snide attitude and derision against Marvel, all he is showing is how jealous he is of their success.

I don't recall reading about Green Lanterns in the bible.

Or Lex Luthor.
pornfly writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 9:30:44 AM

"If you get the DC characters right, they can be important, they can be about us

Somebody tell this guy that people that are into comic books/movies/cartoons do NOT want stories about themselves because 'they' suck and they wanna see stories about people that dont suck

So answer the f*ckin question:
How do you plan on bringing something new to a genre that is dominated by Marvel?
shinwillow writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 9:46:17 AM

But you won't get it right, Snyder. Your Superman screams whiny bitch, so I don't expect much out of him, never mind importance. And after that steaming pile, Sucker Punch, you better hope Superman does even half as well as that "romp", you *sshole.
TheFirstRule writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:19:44 AM

He didn't compare dc to jc. Read the words you see. He says its the second most identifiable symbol.
God all you people with your hatered toward this site and Alex has just made you all bitter.
"I prefer a hot babe." Why you on a website, logged in and always commenting on said nerdy things?

Oh, DC all the way, bar Nolans universe. That sucked balls!
hellsingfan writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:25:16 AM

@mink if you want to get technical then yes thor does pre-date superman but in terms of comics it's the other way around
DriveMemento writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:31:39 AM

Zack Snyder is the best visual director out there. With a good script and story, his movies always turn out amazing. I dont understand where all this hate is coming from lol no other director makes movies "visually" like zack Snyder does. He has his own unique style style. I'm not really a superman fan, i always thought the movies were real cheesy but this is going to be a superman we have never seen before. Zack Snyders visual directing and the Mind of Nolan. Sounds like a classic in the making.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 12:05:23 PM

His comments are stupid and shouldnt he atleast wait for the movie to be a hit before he jumps up on his soapbox
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 12:17:27 PM

@thefirstrule

The director went on to say that DC characters are more iconic than Marvel heroes. "They truly are purer archetypes. They're literally Biblical," he explained. "If you get the DC characters right, they can be important, they can be about us. It's not just a romp [as with Marvel]."

Lack of reading comprehension much, f*ckface?

Also, Zack Snyder made a weak version of Watchmen with Jeffrey Dean Morgan's performance as Edward Blake/The Comedian being the only real standout and the Dr. Manhattan origin/mars sequence was captivating.

Aside from that, the rest was lame. Not depicting the origin of Rorschach in the movie has to be one of the dumbest f*cking decisions ever.

In the GN, Rorschach becomes who he is because a woman was murdered that was going to pick up her dress and he wears part of it as his mask because of the ink blot pattern. It's a very compelling origin for the protagonist of the f*cking story and it's not even in the movie!

Sucker Punch was utter trash. The Owl movie was ok. 300 is overrated as sh*t and his Dawn of the Dead remake is entirely forgettable.

This brings me back to my main point. Snyder does not have the best track record. I just as much as anyone would like to see a good Superman movie. But if it is all style and no substance then it won't be.

But hey, half you f*ckers don't care as long as it looks cool.
UltimateActorTenor writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 12:26:37 PM

I can't choose. Both universes are awesome, and are iconic. Saying Superman is more iconic is probably true, but there are iconic Marvel characters, such as Captain America, as well.
Rocksteddy writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 12:39:08 PM

THIS is why we're losing adult films and it must be stopped.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 12:42:50 PM

So where does SuckerPunch fall motherf*cker? The god damn Koran?
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 1:34:05 PM

Neither of them are real.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 1:46:20 PM

@mink
Wait wasn't this a debate back in 2006 with "Superman Returns" how Superman's story follows the Jesus Christ story told in the Bible? Only son of an almighty force sent down to Earth to live among mortals and lead them. I swear I remember that. In fact in "Superman Returns" they actually have Spacey stab him in the side, similar to the crucifixion story. I don't know. I just seem to recall there being a doc*mentary on the movie that covered that aspect.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 2:13:06 PM

I like snyders films except for sucker punch awas an absolute mess
Rocksteddy writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 2:45:17 PM

Watchmen was average along with 300. Sucker Punch was a failure.
swoooop writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 3:20:40 PM

mink wrote
"And Snyder comparing Superman to Jesus Christ and DC to the Bible, well could he please get a little more f*cking tacky and idiotic?"

Yeah, its balsamic to compare a great figure like Superman with another fictional character like Jesus.
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 3:42:02 PM

I really hope Zack snyder's "literally Biblical" view of Superman doesn't translate through Man of Steel. We all remember the last time someone tried to fill a superman movie with Biblical references *HINT* SUPERMAN RETURNS *HINT*.

@Sleuth: You're remembering correctly, Luthor does stab Superman in the side with a Kryptonite shard.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 3:49:01 PM

@swoooop

Blasphemous Vinegar is the WORST!
Ip_man writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 4:44:27 PM

halfway through 'Parker' - quite boring so far,If only every statham movie was like 'transporter 2'...
LearJet writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 5:47:15 PM

DC IS more iconic - butt Marvel is more fun.
Champ1432 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:00:56 PM

Snyder might be right about a few things. A lot of the DC characters are a little more archetypal than their Marvel counterparts. And as I said in a different thread, Superman is more recognizable than anyone Marvel can throw out there. I think that's still true even today with the way Marvel has dominated in the movie area.

I'm not sure about the Biblical references and such, that may be assigning a little too much importance to something like comic books.

And the bottom line is, Marvel has wiped the floor with DC so far where the movies are concerned. So despite the advantage DC should have with its initally higher profile and better recognition value, it's Marvel that has been doing (mostly) all the right things when it comes to translating their characters to the big screen. Perhaps Snyder and DC should take notice.

Don't get me wrong, I'm hoping for Man of Steel to be awesome, because I do prefer DC, and I'm hoping they can finally get to where they should be.

Also, while you obviously need strong character development in any good movie, I don't think you want it to be all about that. These are comic book heroes when all is said and done, and being a bit of a romp is what it's all about. Sure it wouldn't hurt to be able to see a little of ourselves in these heroes, but turning a comic book movie into a strictly character piece is how you end up with stuff like Hulk.
Ip_man writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:41:28 PM

so how would a marvel movie directed by Nolan would look like?
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:46:31 PM

Who the f*ck cares? It's comic books.

This is into what modern Western adulthood has devolved: sitting around on the internet arguing over who is more "iconic", Superman or Iron Man, which gives the inanity of arguing over how many angels can fit on the head of a pin a real run for its money.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:49:46 PM

"so how would a marvel movie directed by Nolan would look like?"

A lot of shadows, a lot of grit, desaturated scenes, crying, death, more crying, moping, sulking, long-winded death scenes, some more crying, idiotic attempts at looking intelligent, main quasi-heroic character reduced to barking cameo, sour expressions, grim denouement, goofy vehicles, poor camerawork, sloppy, bloated script, more moping and sulking...
Ip_man writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:51:14 PM

and don't forget - Michael Caine
markoz writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:56:36 PM

DC
Ip_man writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:58:46 PM

so 'Iron Man 3' has the 2nd biggest opening in u.s with 175 mil..

that early may release date seems to be working every year for Marvel.
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 6:59:20 PM

@Champ: sure, Batman and Superman are more iconic. They debuted many years before Marvel came into existence. Batman dates to 1939, and you have to figure that both seminal creations factored heavily into the very early post-war escapism, so they have a very entrenched presence in America's pop-cultural psyche, no doubt, but the way things are going, Marvel's aiming for a worldwide dissemination, so whereas DC might still have a shaky hand on the sub-conscious of America, Marvel's tackling the entire globe's zeitgeist.
Stapes writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 7:04:23 PM

@mink, did you follow marvels civil war arc?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 7:23:23 PM

@BlackDynamite
Yeah that scene. Say what you want about the movie but that was an incredibly intense scene between Spacey and Routh.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 7:47:11 PM

Has anyone watched The Details?
minkowski writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 7:47:58 PM

@Stapes: no, not really. Too much backstory, and I'm weak on Marvel's 60 year mythology. But I do have the collection on a hard drive somewhere.
Stapes writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 9:07:20 PM

@mink, well the hilariously ironic thing about it is that Millar put so much effort into making the pro registration argument only to see the vast majority of western minded readers identify with Captain America's rebellion. Something the European Millar certainly never intended.
Champ1432 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 9:25:10 PM

@Mink

No doubt. The way Marvel went heavily into China with Iron Man 3 is proof of what you're saying. And you're correct as well about the way Marvel is catching up, perhaps already has.

If DC doesn't do something soon, they will fall far behind, despite the head start they had built-in with characters like Superman and Batman. You could say they're already far behind, of course, and it might be tough to argue against that. But I think they can gain back a lot of their losses if Man of Steel kicks ass.
vincere01 writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 11:14:45 PM

While I tend to agree, for the most part with his general message here. He does come ofs as a douche bag here. Nolan needs to tighten his leash on snyder or find a electric collar
Digital Desperado writes:
on May 6th, 2013 at 2:43:27 PM

I like Snyderīs work, but here heīs just blowing smoke out of his ass. Marvelīs SH introduced a new level of characterization that DC historically lacked: Never before Spiderman or X-Men superheroes faced day to day problems, like never having money or a girlfriend, while Superman is a goody two shoes majestic ubermensch. Iīm sorry, Zack, but today itīs undeniable that Marvel rules and DC plays second fiddle, both in comics (thnks to the excellent NOW! relaunch that buried the mediocre New 52 titles in just a few weeks), and in movies (where Avengers toppled Batman).
Nightwing83 writes:
on May 9th, 2013 at 1:16:02 PM

Once again, Mink embarrasses himself: yes, Thor predates Superman. As in the Norse deity. But the Thor who appears in the Marvel comics and the movies played by Chris Hemmsworth, is a different matter.

In fact, there was even an issue where he DID meet the "original" Thor, y'know: red hair, beard, nothing like the Jack Kirby version (in fact, when Kirby went to DC, he created a new, lesser-known version of Thor) so once again, Mink makes an ass out of himself.

Oh. And without Superman, all the other Marvel superheroes wouldn't exist. Especially Spider-Man: he's essentially just a deconstructionist version of Supes.

Sorry.

Truth.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved