WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Do Trailers Spoil Movies?

Posted: May 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Do Trailers Spoil Movies?Submit Comment
Movie studios would love to keep the stories of their films a secret. But to promote those films, they have to release trailers that have to contain the most exciting parts. But unfortunately, the exciting parts can sometimes spoil the movie.

This is why YouGov Omnibus put together a survey, asking movie-goers if they feel that trailers spoil films. According to the study, almost half (49%) of Americans felt that trailer give away too many of the movie's best scenes and plot points. But 24% of people said that those trailers made them want to see the film more, while only 19% said that the trailer kept them from wanting to see the movie.

The biggest number that studios pay attention to is that 48% of movie-goers say that they see a movie based solely on the trailer. So even if a trailer spoils parts of the movie, it's the best selling tool studios have.

Some movies tried to avoid showing major sequences in their trailers, but the results have been mixed. The only thing that's clear is that most of the people want to see a good storyline (77%), while only 45% care about the cast, 22% care about the genre, 20% care about the director and 15% care which book or play the film is based on.

Question: Do you think trailers spoil movies?

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
blumpkin4 writes:
on May 3rd, 2013 at 11:31:17 PM

No you f*cking spoil movies you piece pf sh*t. Your site's name is worst previews. So the question is do you spoil movies. Yes, yes you do you tiny d*cked bastard!
telur writes:
on May 3rd, 2013 at 11:35:43 PM

i don't care

i still watched it
blumpkin4 writes:
on May 3rd, 2013 at 11:37:23 PM

Oh wait what movie did he spoil?
markoz writes:
on May 3rd, 2013 at 11:39:33 PM

No. Just look at Iron Man 3. Totally misleading. And you can't tell important plot points from trailers for upcoming movies like Man of Steel, Star Trek, Hangover 3, just to name a few. While others may spoil the movie it only means that the plot isn't too complex.
blumpkin4 writes:
on May 3rd, 2013 at 11:42:24 PM

Oh i thought we were talking about Joe Dirt 2
WallyDee writes:
on May 3rd, 2013 at 11:44:59 PM

What a coincidence i just posted a comment in the ''iron man 3 what did you think'' topic that i wont be watching anymore trailers from ''man of steel'' just so the movie stays more of a surprise to me.

I did the same thing with Iron Man 3 and i will say it again, when you're sitting in the theater and a blockbuster movie like Iron Man 3 is about to start and you almost havent seen anything of the movie, really gives a diffrent feel to it.

I would have to say yes, in most cases trailers spoil movies not only because they can show a lot of the action, they can also mislead you very much.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 12:12:48 AM

Depends how much is shown in the trailer.
Whitta writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 12:16:24 AM

Only for movies that rely on a twist and then ruin it in the trailer.

For films like 'Taken 2' you could throw just about any scene from that film in the trailer and give away nothing.
minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 12:47:56 AM

Maybe.
reach110 writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 2:24:02 AM

We all saw the new trailer for Carrie, right? I mean I know that story is pretty well-known but that trailer was literally a condensed version of the entire film. Iron Man 3 is an example of a trailer done well, I think, in that some powerful imagery was shown without dismantling the plot. Sure, some scenes and plot points can be discerned but overall it maintained its integrity.
TMD writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 2:28:07 AM

Trailers definitely spoil most movies out there. I think trailers should be intriguing, making us want to see the film and have questions answered, rather than showing all the best scenes.
Džeko writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 2:46:34 AM

Only if you watch them.
Evil_Disco writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 3:32:41 AM

Yes: (Most) trailers spoils the movies.
Yes: If the trailer is good it only makes me want to see the movie even more.
And yes: Trailers lies. Look at the teaser trailer for Prometheus, for example. It was awesome and it looked like it could even be a little terrifying (?). But nooo: instead it became the biggest disappointment of 2012.
Ergo: I hate trailers..
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 3:49:44 AM

Trailers are money related, they show more of the movie's gimmick/angle to attract joe-schmoe. That being said cutting trailers is a underrated art...trailer makers(for lack of a better word), the good ones, can accomplish both of inserting bits on the plot with a vague tagline with clips of action/ drama expected that piques your interest, its pretty important.

Example: I still remember I saw this movie, forgot the name (it sucked that bad) that when I saw the trailer, it had some pretty good, interesting scenes that made me wanna see the movie, but when I saw it ALL the good scenes WERE in the trailer & the rest was crap. After getting pissed for being conned into watching the piece of sh*t movie for like 5-8 minutes I stopped & smiled. I knew then the trailer maker really knew his f*ckin' job...he/she made a sh*t movie interesting on a 1.5-2 minute trailer.

Then there's others that have to promote movies that mis-market it...like when I saw this lady wanting to take her small daughter to see TED to see the cute Teddy Bear coming to life...LOL. I had to correct her it wasn't for kids even though it did have a cute bear in it...I left her with a puzzled expression.

As for too much on the reveal, I consider everyone in here excluded to that portion. Everyone here wants to get the latest movie news and doing so, you are going to run into ALOT of movie spoilers BECAUSE WE TALK ABOUT MOVIES...but I don't give a f*ck. The more I know, the more I'll wanna see it or avoid it. Its like someone describing porn, if it sounds interesting, you'll really wanna see it. I really hate wasting time on a movie I won't like or will walk out of.

BTW, on an unrelated topic & bringing it up 'cuz someone told me today I was weird in being able to do it, but is it me or can anybody else know the name of a movie by just seeing the actors & setting for 1-2 seconds on cable/TV? Some movies I've never seen, but know of it from movie news, actors, plots, premise I read on etc. I can actually flip the channels & say what movie it is as I flip...thing is I can only do that with movies, not TV shows. Anyone can do that here? Just wondering...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 3:55:26 AM

I assume that most of you wouldn't have stumbled onto this website if you didn't like or seek out movie trailers. And yes, they often spoil a film. But let's face it: most movies suck. So when a trailer spoils a film for me, the studio is generally doing me a favor by convincing me NOT to see it. So here's a big thank you to the hard-working marketing departments of all those studios out there crapping out trailer upon trailer, you're saving me some dough!
Damon242 writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 4:10:05 AM

Star Trek is quite funny because, despite the number of trailers, the same footage has been used over and over again.

Some trailers really do spoil films, but most don't. For every Mimic trailer, you have The Matrix.
Ip_man writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 4:13:13 AM

wasn't this discussion up last year?

minkowski writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 4:56:45 AM

"But let's face it: most movies suck."

All hail this man's sapience!
pornfly writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 5:07:40 AM

If you start readin into sh*t
You can spoil alot of things

*said the highest puertorican in the room*
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 6:13:29 AM

f*ck yes they do lol
Stapes writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 7:50:11 AM

No, but they do spoil ticket sales from intelligent viewers with discerning taste.
Avirex writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 8:32:50 AM

I honestly don't watch trailers anymore. At least not online. The only ones I see are the ones forced onto me in the movie theater before a film.

Alien had an awesome trailer. Terminator 2. Inception. Some more I can't recall right now.
knight bitch writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 9:37:56 AM

http://www.sinlung.com/2010/11/kat-dennings-nude-pics-leaked-online.html
kat dennings topless pics
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 10:56:36 AM

Back off stretch you're gonna spoil this goldurn comic movie for me if'n you keepa talkin' - stapes
Stapes writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 12:21:34 PM

Wtf are you babbling about this time, moron?
Stapes writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 12:23:59 PM

I know you're bound and determined to make yourself look like an idiot in every thread, deaftone, but do me a favor and not mention my name anymore.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 1:17:19 PM

@stapes

Who the f*ck is 'My Name'? Your Dad?
That writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 7:58:57 PM

Yes, depending on the way they are done. Oblivion's trailer, for instance, was a little too revealing in my opinion
PapaEugene writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 8:24:34 PM

Yes and no. There's the more subtle trailers where very little is shown or only bits and pieces of unrelated clips are shown. Or there's the movie trailers that summarize the entire movie from beginning, middle, to end. The latter is best described in the trailer for the movie Dead Man Down. Check out this trailer and you've practically seen the movie
PapaEugene writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 8:24:34 PM

Yes and no. There's the more subtle trailers where very little is shown or only bits and pieces of unrelated clips are shown. Or there's the movie trailers that summarize the entire movie from beginning, middle, to end. The latter is best described in the trailer for the movie Dead Man Down. Check out this trailer and you've practically seen the movie
mustardayonnaise writes:
on May 5th, 2013 at 3:31:20 AM

Oh, and I hate Michael Bay movies, but I LOVE his trailers. So much fun. LOL

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved