WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Kate Beckinsale Confirmed for "Underworld 5," to Begin Shooting in October
May 15th, 2015
Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson to Return for "Shanghai Dawn"
May 15th, 2015
New Trailer for "Minions" Arrives Online
May 15th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch Confirmed for "The Avengers 2"

Posted: May 2nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch Confirmed for "The Avengers 2"Submit Comment
About a week ago, Joss Whedon revealed that he finished the first draft of "The Avengers 2," adding that the film will include brother/sister characters from the comic books. Many immediately assumed he was talking about Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch, since they are the only brother/sister duo from "The Avengers" comics.

Entertainment Weekly has now confirmed the news through its sources. But when the magazine asked Marvel head Kevin Feige to comment on the characters, he replied: "I'm not confirmed or denying. The draft could change six months from now."

Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch were first mutant villains under the control of Magneto, but are later recruited to join The Avengers under Captain America. "The Avengers 2" is set to hit theaters on May 1st, 2015.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 6:46:30 AM

Im not confirmed or denying

Why so damn diplomatic?
Just say "yes,but this is a first draft not a final draft and even then things may change"

Its a f*ckin comic book film
Youre not freeing the slaves
Ip_man writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 6:56:29 AM

2 years to go - can you feel the excitement ?

cause i can't...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:02:51 AM

2 years to go and we're already hearing constant updates on WP. It's gonna bea long 24 months.
Janus writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:24:15 AM

Legally possible. FOX and DISNEY/MARVEL share the movie rights for Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch.
rusty writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:25:24 AM

hahaha leave it as is quicks and skarlet are great characters
DriveMemento writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:30:28 AM

I'm not real big into the comic books but is'nt quicksilver, Magneto's kid?
boogiel writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 8:06:23 AM

Ok, that gonna add confusion to the fans since Marvel doesn't own Magneto. Fox does.
This would mean the two would need an entirely different backstory. Hmm, I smell lawsuits.
Bunny X writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 8:14:03 AM

@DriveMemento, they're both Magneto's children

I like the addition. They're part of the Avengers story and deserve to be in it. Especially setting up for part 3 and the big battle with Thanos, they're gonna need all the help they can get.

I really don't mind at all the inclusion of multiple heros in these movies. A lot of folks are trashing the idea saying it's not enough screen time and will ruin the films.
I disagree. I think all these actors understand the pecking order in these films and will play their position. Scarlet Witch isn't getting more screen time than Ironman and the actress playing that will understand it.
Same with Days of Future Past. So what they're bringing a lot of folks into this. It will work.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 8:49:03 AM

Fascinating.
sleepingshane writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 9:11:59 AM

VISION, ANTMAN ,AND MRS MARVEL SHOULD BE IN FIRST PECKING ORDER THAN THESE TWO DUDES.
sleepingshane writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 9:13:00 AM

I FORGOT WASP.
Cannon writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 9:26:58 AM

f*ck.

Once more DC is beaten at its own game. Everyone knows that Quicksilver is the dipsh*t poor-man's version of The Flash (e.g. Green Arrow > Hawkeye / Aqua Man > Sub-Mariner) but it's Marvel who will be the first to put a super speed hero up on the big screen, thus earning them the novelty point. If-and-when DC ever makes a Flash or Justice League movie, their version will inevitably play 2nd fiddle.

When I think "fastest man alive" I think The Flash -- that classic red with the lightening bolt -- not some stupid, whiny, mutant bitch kid of Magneto. All that sh*t is too much of a goddamn soap opera.

f*cking DC. Jesus. Get your sh*t together already.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:15:14 AM

soooooo magnetos children.. does this mean that the x men are going to be involved in avengers sometime or does someone else own the rights to those charachters. I remember watching the spiderman cartoons as a kid and theres eps were wolverine cpt america and spiderman fight together
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:45:21 AM

Quick & Scarlet Witch....sure.

Someone has to replace the cry-baby "this-is-not-the-Hawkeye-I-signed-up-for" Renner.

That f*cker doesn't deserve to come back, ungrateful jackass.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:52:35 AM

No Alex they are magnetos children an infiltrates the avengers to prevent them from keeping an eye on magneto get your sh*t straight fag
coldplayesence writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 2:16:23 PM

@cannon: hahaha seriously? There is a character named Sub-Mariner? LOL Jesus. I wonder why nobody has tried to go with Extraman or FlyingRatman.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 3:53:09 PM

Namor The Sub-Mariner was created in 1939, 2 years before Aqua Man in 1941.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Namor_the_Sub-Mariner
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 3:56:57 PM

@coldplay

Aqua Man is a much less original name anyways, not sure what your logic is on saying Namor is worse, which came first anyways.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:05:12 PM

Because it sounds ridiculous! I'm not bashing the characters I'm saying that it sounds incredibly uninspired. Don't get me wrong I am no Aquaman fan, I think he's lame as well.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:08:35 PM

lol well almost every superhero/villain name is obtuse and unoriginal as hell. Batman, Superman, Spider-Man, The Joker, etc. It's only once you know the characters and backstory that it becomes interesting/cool.
Champ1432 writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:21:50 PM

@Cannon

I agree, I wish DC would get their heads out of their asses. They have completely dropped the ball in regards to the comic book movie era. They have the top two most recognizable heroes in Superman and Batman, two heroes who have way more name value in general than anyone Marvel can throw out there except perhaps Spiderman and look at what they've done to them. Superman has had one movie in that time period and while I think the movie overall wasn't terrible, the story was and it was received so poorly, they're starting the character over. Batman has had a very successful and for the most part crtically acclaimed trilogy, but not a trilogy that will fit well into a greater universe. Justice League, which I long for, is still so up in the air it might as well be in low orbit.

Marvel has not only elevated some of its bigger players like Iron Man and Captain America, but managed to make a successful movie with Thor, a Norse god character of all things, and put together a pretty great (IMO) Avengers movie with sequels coming for both. They're doing so well despite not even having the rights to some of their biggest guns like the X-Men and Spiderman.

And you're right in your comparisons, regardless of which ones came first, the Flash, Aquaman and Green Arrow are much bigger names than Quicksilver, Sub-mariner and Hawkeye. It's just astounding how much DC has gotted killed by Marvel so far. We won't even get into Green Lantern.

One can only hope that Man of Steel is awesome, and they find a way to somehow put together a good Justice League that might lead to some individual movies or perhaps even a second JL. It just seems so unlikely though. But here's hoping I guess.

As for this news, it's fine. I don't think it will hurt the movie to have these two in it, I doubt they will have huge parts. Could add some intrigue seeing what they're going to do with the characters.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:40:46 PM

@deaf0ne, agreed. Interestingly my favorite comicbook characters's names aren't so transparent, I love The Comedian and Dr. Manhattan.
@champ: I am sincerely hopping that this new Superman flick turns good.
Champ1432 writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:57:57 PM

@coldplay

Yeah I'm with you. It seems like any chance DC has of gaining any footing or having any kind of successful franchises going forward rests on this movie.

At least the preliminary stuff looks pretty good, so fingers crossed.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:38:39 PM

Not going to lie. I was hoping for them to cover the "Civil War" series. Perhaps that is best for down the line once more characters are established so it feels like a whole world of characters. With the way Iron Man and Captain America fought in the first "The Avengers" I feel they are leaning in that direction.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:48:59 PM

To any wrestling fans, the villain's JLA version was The Legion of Doom which was used by Hawk & Animal, the tag team known as The Road Warriors, for their group (also known as LOD)...yup, they got their hardcore name from the cartoon show. Sh*t you not...

Although the Road Warriors' name itself came from M. Gibson's movies...probably.
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 8:10:23 PM

Yes, Legion of Doom cultural references are...legion.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Legion_of_Doom_%28DC_Comics%29#Cultural%20references
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:03:18 PM

Lol. So MArvel head said its neither confirmed nor denied, but your article title says its confirmed.

FALSE NEWSREPORTING MUCH?
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:05:14 PM

@Cannon: My memory may be fuzzy, but if I recall, during the DC vs. Marvel crossover event, it ws written that when Quicksilver crossed into the DC unvierse, he could tap into the speed force, and he was faster than flash.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 3:18:39 PM

I just want to know what roles will these two new Marvel characters play in the upcoming The Avengers 2 movie? What does Quicksilver do? I mean what is his powers? Don't tell he is just all silver and quick or he sells silver. As for the Scarlett witch, what are her powers? Is it all black magic or what?

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved