WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch Confirmed for "The Avengers 2"

Posted: May 2nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch Confirmed for "The Avengers 2"Submit Comment
About a week ago, Joss Whedon revealed that he finished the first draft of "The Avengers 2," adding that the film will include brother/sister characters from the comic books. Many immediately assumed he was talking about Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch, since they are the only brother/sister duo from "The Avengers" comics.

Entertainment Weekly has now confirmed the news through its sources. But when the magazine asked Marvel head Kevin Feige to comment on the characters, he replied: "I'm not confirmed or denying. The draft could change six months from now."

Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch were first mutant villains under the control of Magneto, but are later recruited to join The Avengers under Captain America. "The Avengers 2" is set to hit theaters on May 1st, 2015.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 6:46:30 AM

Im not confirmed or denying

Why so damn diplomatic?
Just say "yes,but this is a first draft not a final draft and even then things may change"

Its a f*ckin comic book film
Youre not freeing the slaves
Ip_man writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 6:56:29 AM

2 years to go - can you feel the excitement ?

cause i can't...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:02:51 AM

2 years to go and we're already hearing constant updates on WP. It's gonna bea long 24 months.
Janus writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:24:15 AM

Legally possible. FOX and DISNEY/MARVEL share the movie rights for Quicksilver and The Scarlet Witch.
rusty writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:25:24 AM

hahaha leave it as is quicks and skarlet are great characters
DriveMemento writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:30:28 AM

I'm not real big into the comic books but is'nt quicksilver, Magneto's kid?
boogiel writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 8:06:23 AM

Ok, that gonna add confusion to the fans since Marvel doesn't own Magneto. Fox does.
This would mean the two would need an entirely different backstory. Hmm, I smell lawsuits.
Bunny X writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 8:14:03 AM

@DriveMemento, they're both Magneto's children

I like the addition. They're part of the Avengers story and deserve to be in it. Especially setting up for part 3 and the big battle with Thanos, they're gonna need all the help they can get.

I really don't mind at all the inclusion of multiple heros in these movies. A lot of folks are trashing the idea saying it's not enough screen time and will ruin the films.
I disagree. I think all these actors understand the pecking order in these films and will play their position. Scarlet Witch isn't getting more screen time than Ironman and the actress playing that will understand it.
Same with Days of Future Past. So what they're bringing a lot of folks into this. It will work.
BadChadB33 writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 8:49:03 AM

Fascinating.
sleepingshane writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 9:11:59 AM

VISION, ANTMAN ,AND MRS MARVEL SHOULD BE IN FIRST PECKING ORDER THAN THESE TWO DUDES.
sleepingshane writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 9:13:00 AM

I FORGOT WASP.
Cannon writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 9:26:58 AM

f*ck.

Once more DC is beaten at its own game. Everyone knows that Quicksilver is the dipsh*t poor-man's version of The Flash (e.g. Green Arrow > Hawkeye / Aqua Man > Sub-Mariner) but it's Marvel who will be the first to put a super speed hero up on the big screen, thus earning them the novelty point. If-and-when DC ever makes a Flash or Justice League movie, their version will inevitably play 2nd fiddle.

When I think "fastest man alive" I think The Flash -- that classic red with the lightening bolt -- not some stupid, whiny, mutant bitch kid of Magneto. All that sh*t is too much of a goddamn soap opera.

f*cking DC. Jesus. Get your sh*t together already.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:15:14 AM

soooooo magnetos children.. does this mean that the x men are going to be involved in avengers sometime or does someone else own the rights to those charachters. I remember watching the spiderman cartoons as a kid and theres eps were wolverine cpt america and spiderman fight together
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:45:21 AM

Quick & Scarlet Witch....sure.

Someone has to replace the cry-baby "this-is-not-the-Hawkeye-I-signed-up-for" Renner.

That f*cker doesn't deserve to come back, ungrateful jackass.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:52:35 AM

No Alex they are magnetos children an infiltrates the avengers to prevent them from keeping an eye on magneto get your sh*t straight fag
coldplayesence writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 2:16:23 PM

@cannon: hahaha seriously? There is a character named Sub-Mariner? LOL Jesus. I wonder why nobody has tried to go with Extraman or FlyingRatman.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 3:53:09 PM

Namor The Sub-Mariner was created in 1939, 2 years before Aqua Man in 1941.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Namor_the_Sub-Mariner
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 3:56:57 PM

@coldplay

Aqua Man is a much less original name anyways, not sure what your logic is on saying Namor is worse, which came first anyways.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:05:12 PM

Because it sounds ridiculous! I'm not bashing the characters I'm saying that it sounds incredibly uninspired. Don't get me wrong I am no Aquaman fan, I think he's lame as well.
Deaft0ne writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:08:35 PM

lol well almost every superhero/villain name is obtuse and unoriginal as hell. Batman, Superman, Spider-Man, The Joker, etc. It's only once you know the characters and backstory that it becomes interesting/cool.
Champ1432 writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:21:50 PM

@Cannon

I agree, I wish DC would get their heads out of their asses. They have completely dropped the ball in regards to the comic book movie era. They have the top two most recognizable heroes in Superman and Batman, two heroes who have way more name value in general than anyone Marvel can throw out there except perhaps Spiderman and look at what they've done to them. Superman has had one movie in that time period and while I think the movie overall wasn't terrible, the story was and it was received so poorly, they're starting the character over. Batman has had a very successful and for the most part crtically acclaimed trilogy, but not a trilogy that will fit well into a greater universe. Justice League, which I long for, is still so up in the air it might as well be in low orbit.

Marvel has not only elevated some of its bigger players like Iron Man and Captain America, but managed to make a successful movie with Thor, a Norse god character of all things, and put together a pretty great (IMO) Avengers movie with sequels coming for both. They're doing so well despite not even having the rights to some of their biggest guns like the X-Men and Spiderman.

And you're right in your comparisons, regardless of which ones came first, the Flash, Aquaman and Green Arrow are much bigger names than Quicksilver, Sub-mariner and Hawkeye. It's just astounding how much DC has gotted killed by Marvel so far. We won't even get into Green Lantern.

One can only hope that Man of Steel is awesome, and they find a way to somehow put together a good Justice League that might lead to some individual movies or perhaps even a second JL. It just seems so unlikely though. But here's hoping I guess.

As for this news, it's fine. I don't think it will hurt the movie to have these two in it, I doubt they will have huge parts. Could add some intrigue seeing what they're going to do with the characters.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:40:46 PM

@deaf0ne, agreed. Interestingly my favorite comicbook characters's names aren't so transparent, I love The Comedian and Dr. Manhattan.
@champ: I am sincerely hopping that this new Superman flick turns good.
Champ1432 writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 4:57:57 PM

@coldplay

Yeah I'm with you. It seems like any chance DC has of gaining any footing or having any kind of successful franchises going forward rests on this movie.

At least the preliminary stuff looks pretty good, so fingers crossed.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:38:39 PM

Not going to lie. I was hoping for them to cover the "Civil War" series. Perhaps that is best for down the line once more characters are established so it feels like a whole world of characters. With the way Iron Man and Captain America fought in the first "The Avengers" I feel they are leaning in that direction.
CelluloidMan writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 7:48:59 PM

To any wrestling fans, the villain's JLA version was The Legion of Doom which was used by Hawk & Animal, the tag team known as The Road Warriors, for their group (also known as LOD)...yup, they got their hardcore name from the cartoon show. Sh*t you not...

Although the Road Warriors' name itself came from M. Gibson's movies...probably.
minkowski writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 8:10:23 PM

Yes, Legion of Doom cultural references are...legion.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Legion_of_Doom_%28DC_Comics%29#Cultural%20references
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:03:18 PM

Lol. So MArvel head said its neither confirmed nor denied, but your article title says its confirmed.

FALSE NEWSREPORTING MUCH?
BlackDynamite writes:
on May 2nd, 2013 at 11:05:14 PM

@Cannon: My memory may be fuzzy, but if I recall, during the DC vs. Marvel crossover event, it ws written that when Quicksilver crossed into the DC unvierse, he could tap into the speed force, and he was faster than flash.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on May 4th, 2013 at 3:18:39 PM

I just want to know what roles will these two new Marvel characters play in the upcoming The Avengers 2 movie? What does Quicksilver do? I mean what is his powers? Don't tell he is just all silver and quick or he sells silver. As for the Scarlett witch, what are her powers? Is it all black magic or what?

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved