WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Did Paramount Re-Shoot 40 Minutes of "World War Z" to Fix the Film?

Posted: May 1st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Did Paramount Re-Shoot 40 Minutes of "World War Z" to Fix the Film?Submit Comment
Ever since "World War Z" was first announced, the film has been plagued with problems. There were attempts by the studio to separate director Marc Forster (Quantum of Solace) from the film because not only did the budget balloon to over $200 million, but also because the plot no longer made any sense.

It got so bad that "Prometheus" writer Damon Lindelof was brought on to fix "World War Z" after it was finished. And now, Lindelof explained the two difficult options he provided Paramount to make the film ready for its June 21st release date.

"[Road One...] Is there material that can be written to make that stuff work better? To have it make sense? To have it have emotional stakes?," he told Vanity Fair magazine. "And Road Two, which I think is the long-shot road, is that everything changes after Brad leaves Israel."

Road Two meant reshooting 30 to 40 minutes of the movie and crafting a new ending. "I didn't think anyone was going to say, 'Let's throw it out and try something else,'" Lindelof continued. "So when I gave them those two roads and they sounded more interested in Road [Two], I was like, 'To be honest with you, good luck selling that to Paramount.'"

Click here to read more about "World War Z."

Source: Vanity Fair


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 9:31:57 PM

lol. f*cked up beyond all recognition. Kiss that successful screen adaptation goodbye.

P.S. Marc Forster is a f*cking idiot.
Cannon writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 9:33:53 PM

I don't really care what they did to fix the film or make it work, as long as it works. Nor am I expecting the Godfather of zombie movies; just some decent summer entertainment with fun spectacle and some good thrills.

I mean, Christ, it's just a f*cking zombie movie. If the plot functions, that's enough for me.



velocityknown writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 9:42:04 PM

@Cannon

Normally I'd agree with you, but the point with World War Z is that it was supposed to be a different take on the zombie film. It doesn't look like a good adaptation of the book, it looks like your standard zombie fare. And that isn't worth $200 million when you have movies like Shaun of the Dead and 28 Days later being made for $6 and $8 million dollars, respectively.

Just looks like a bloated, bad episode of The Walking Dead.

Oh wait, that's just a normal episode of The Walking Dead.
FBO writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 9:51:07 PM

I am not surprised, considering QoS will always be one of the worst Bond movies
Trivia Newton John writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 9:53:51 PM


Forster and Lindleof must have incriminating polaroids of Brad Grey. Paramount deserves the failure just for giving the director of Quantam of Solace more work. That hack should have faded into oblivion like Brandon Routh. I know hollywood is f*cked, but I am astonished that they hired the writer of Prometheus to re-write the script so it makes sense. Newsflash: Prometheus made no f*cking sense

cress writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:03:44 PM

Christ, if this sucks Lindelof is going to get dragged over the coals again. Just say no to re-writing anything, Damon. You're going to have a poisonous touch in the eyes of execs and fanboys if you keep steering these Titanic's into the iceberg.
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:07:13 PM

The funny thing is, I was actually looking forward to this.
Lol nope haha haha haha
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:07:28 PM

You act like the insane, non-linear bullsh*t of Lost and Prometheus wasn't his fault, Cress.
cress writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:14:45 PM

PROMETHEUS was his fault. And Ridley. And Spaights. I'm not defending him for that. And I liked LOST, until the series finale.
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:29:34 PM

Lindelhof is an incompetent writer, Cress, and imo the f*cker should be busing tables instead of writing big budget sci-fi actioners.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:31:07 PM

Well what little hopes I had for this just went thru the floor.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:32:27 PM

I am simply not seeing this in the theater. The trailers are not impressive at all. This is The Devil's Own for Bradley Pitt all over again.
cress writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:37:01 PM

I agree that Lindelof has failed miserably with his jump to the world of the big-screen. But there was a lot of great writing in LOST. I know it's not for everyone, but that's just my take.
mrstretch writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 10:59:37 PM

Wow really??? They brought in Lindelof to fix the script? I quit.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 11:04:28 PM

"It got so bad that 'Prometheus' writer Damon Lindelof was brought on to fix "World War Z" after it was finished."

Prometheus had more plot holes than swiss cheese. There is nothing more stupid than hiring this guy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 11:26:27 PM

@Velocity
The walking dead is superb, f*ck off lol

and why bash Lindelof? He did wonders with LOST. I'm still definitely going to watch this. As a big fan of the zombie genre i'm looking forward to seeing how they make $200 Million into zombies.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 11:33:21 PM

Files is desperate as f*ck
james236 writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 12:54:29 AM

FLOP
Kurskij writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 1:15:43 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Et1qBCnv3c
pornfly writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 3:52:29 AM

This is like:

Asking Edward Scissorhands to show you how to wipe your ass

Asking Putnam how to review a movie

Asking Justin Bieber how to shave

Asking Christina Hendricks how to stuff a bra

Asking PORNFLY how to look for work

Asking Lindsay Lohan for driving lessons

Asking Lindsay Lohan for oral hygeine tips

Asking Lindsay Lohan which feminine napkins to use

Asking Lindsay Lohan what douche to use

Asking Ahnold for elocution lessons

Asking the writer of Prometheus to fix your script
Cinemaisdead writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 5:41:48 AM

The trailers looks ridiculous, the books don't have the zombies running at super speed and being able to climb over each other, they're just standard zombies. I don't even know why they bothered naming it after the book. It follows one persons story where the book follows about 40 different stories from different countries, this would have worked better as a TV show, but like we need any more Zombie TV with Zombieland coming out as well.
Ip_man writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 5:46:35 AM

they can still save this project if they kill brad pitt in real life.
Ip_man writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 6:01:27 AM

the trailers look okay...I'll watch it.
minkowski writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 6:24:38 AM

Pornfly said elocution.

I just choked on my tongue.
pornfly writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 6:57:40 AM

cAreful here comes SECURITYFILES^
Stapes writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 8:22:02 AM

This will suck as hard as the book did.
Tanman32123 writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 9:19:59 AM

Porn- Or asking Tanman What's a good movie to watch! LOL
brigulon13 writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 10:24:23 AM

The book was boring. They should have made Brooks' Zombie Survival Guide into a t.v. show. As for this, all the Kid Rock/NASCAR/Walking Dead loving Redneck Morons will make this a hit. Just like they made Jesse Eisenberg famous.
Bunny X writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 10:27:00 AM

Terrible how the one shot at adapting a good movie out of good source material goes to crap.
pornfly writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 11:28:46 AM

LolTANlol
Trivia Newton John writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 4:57:26 PM

Security files rules
Anung_un_rama writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 8:28:36 PM

the book was good and different. this looks stupid and if they have trouble with plot in a zombie movie they may need a new day job.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved