WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Says Major Battle with Thanos Won't Happen in "The Avengers 2," Hints at Other Villains

Posted: April 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon Says Major Battle with Thanos WonSubmit Comment
Last year, Marvel head Kevin Feige spoke about the introduction of Thanos in "The Avengers" post-credits scene, stating that fans shouldn't expect for the character to be just another villain.

"There's a purpose to us putting him in the end of that movie. We do have plans for him," he explained. "I wouldn't say we ever feel the need to rush anything. I see us doing what's right for each individual movie, while folding in elements that will not only build up to the culmination of Phase Two, but even Phase Three."

Joss Whedon has now commented on Thanos as well, hinting that the character will show up in "The Avengers 2," but the final battle with the villain will likely be saved for "The Avengers 3."

"[Thanos] is so powerful. He is not someone you can just trot out and then punch him," he explained. "Like [Thanos] did in the comics, you want him threading through the universe and to save the big finale for the big finale. He is definitely a big part of what I've got going on."

Whedon continued: "The thing about The Avengers is that they are very powerful but not very stable. So, there will definitely be some people who will shake them up in the next installment."

Source: Desde Hollywood

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 7:01:03 PM

That's actually a pretty...smart way to do it. Besides, if the Avengers defeat Thanos in 2, who the f*ck will they fight in 3? Unicron? God? Build it up and then blow it up big for phase three.
rancid meatloaf writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 7:18:24 PM

Well what villain would there be?
pornfly writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 7:28:19 PM

Eat your heart out Nolan
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 7:32:31 PM

Oooooh, burn!
Champ1432 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 7:33:11 PM

Yeah, actually a pretty smart move, I think. So far, all we've seen of Thanos is a couple of seconds in the after (during) credits scene.

So instead of rushing the battle into the next Avengers, when it's already a foregone conclusion they're making a third, build it up, let it simmer and go all out in #3. That gives you the opportunity to show Thanos pulling the strings behind the scenes in the next Avengers and some of the other Marvel movies before the big show down. It will make it seem like a bigger deal when it does happen. Smart choice.

Besides, as Mink said, if they took down Thanos in the next movie, who would there be left to fight? Even if they came up with another worthy villain, they wouldn't have much time to build it up into #3.

Once again, Marvel proves why they are where they are and DC is where they are, much to my chagrin. Don't get me wrong, I love the Avengers, but God do I wish DC could turn Justice League into something like what Marvel has made.
Goober3000 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 7:46:39 PM

I think what the most popular people on this site think :) hyuk hyuk hey ranger I'll let you handle this one :P (Sarcasm all around butt heads)
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 8:02:10 PM

You got your ass saved by this smart-ass plan, Marvel. Now I'm going to see The Avengers 2.
WhiteJagon writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 8:10:53 PM

Aww. I was hoping for the World War Hulk storyline for The Avengers 3.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 8:16:42 PM

That's why most threquels fail. They only think one step ahead. Whedon has always been a thinker. I love he is finally getting the recognition he deserves as a director. Screw the Oscars. Everyone knows the best film of 2012 was "The Avengers". Great action, surprising character development, and also a surprisingly clever story even with the predictable big battle finish. Whedon is all about the art and making movies. So many directors are all about making some statement that they forget to make the movie enjoyable. Hence why Spielberg kicks ass or Nolan or Del Toro. They have a message but they make it fun for people too. Yes...I thought "Lincoln" was awesome. I realize some thought otherwise but there it is. Oh FYI, David O. Russell...stop ripping off good films with your generic bullsh*t.

Fighter - Rocky. If it wasn't for the good performances I would have fallen asleep during this film but compared to others this is his best.

Silver Lining Playbook - As Good as it Gets

American Bullsh*t - American Gangster except he takes one part of the movie and stretches it out over probably 2 boring hours but it will be called an instant classic anyway. Note he has to use all old actors because no one wants to work with his ass. Probably the same with Lawrence. "Best actress" and Russell is the only one who wants to work with her for TWO more films. I think that says it all that those who get over promoted are just trying to get smart people to like them and fail.

Other directors who need to shut the hell up:
Michael Bay - Brain-dead action. Fun to watch and ten by the end you hate yourself a little on the inside for watching such garbage.

Jon Chu - He did a biography on Justin Bieber. Need I say more?

Francis Lawrence - Not for his directing as much as the fact he seriously messed up on approving the designs for the vampires in "I Am Legend" which otherwise was a good movie in my opinion. Also do another Constantine man!!! We're waiting!

Thank you for your time. Go back to your lives and good movies.

cress writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 8:35:42 PM

@Sleuth. I love Spielberg, but I thought LINCOLN was a snooze. I had problems with the script by Tony Kushner. It was one long-winded speech after another. When a really important exchange of dialogue happens, I've already began tuning it out due to that fact. Even Sally Field and Day-Lewis can't have an intimate moment without it being a disingenuous hot air exchange. This would've worked in a play, but on-screen it was like a slow form of torture. It never moved me emotionally either. And Spielberg has been accused of being a master manipulator of pulling on viewers heartstrings over the years. But not with this film. Tommy Lee Jones does his best Tommy Lee Jones impression, and I'm glad he didn't win an Oscar for his portrayal. For me, it was easily the most forgettable Spielberg film ever
rusty writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 8:59:38 PM

damm wasent expecting that no world war hulk but this could be better
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 9:06:19 PM


Lincoln was a bottle of benadryl on film. Joaquin Phoenix deserved best actor for The Master, not DDL.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 9:38:20 PM

I understand that was a big problem to me. See I likes t though. You know how it is cress. Some people will see something in a movie and others won't. I just really enjoyed the pathos and wordplay of the film. I thought Tommy Lee Jones was inspiring. And DDL...just kind of rewrote the book on bringing a dead character to life on this one. I don't know. I just liked it. Is it Spielberg's finest film? Not at all. But it was a great film to me. So there you go. By the way to all I recommend "Oblivion". Surprisingly effective science fiction film. Kronsiski gets no love from critics but since they are all bitter *ssholes forget them. Go see it. Not going to lie here...Morgan Freeman's opening scene is epic as hell. LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 9:40:17 PM

Sorry about the terrible grammar in the first two sentences of my previous post. I am better than that dammit! LOL
Uncensaurous writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 10:02:07 PM

good idea, hope it's something badass. I heard something about Red Skull too
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 10:25:40 PM

I wouldn't be surprised if Red Skull comes back at the end of Captain America 2, and compiles his own "Masters of Evil" to take over eiher Earth, or Asgard.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 10:43:06 PM

Hear, hear Sleuth. Good insight....

You actually reminded me of how CONSTANTINE was going to take on prevenying the Apocalypse....one of the few sequels I think they should've made.

Close to the source material? No, but Lawrence pulls it off...shots of hell, symbols on his body as weapons, and angels/ demons angle was cool.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 10:43:43 PM

Also, on topic, what Champ said...
boogiel writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 11:04:54 PM

If avengers 2 flop (that's a big if) then whedon can say goodbye to thanos.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 11:11:24 PM

Agreed. I have the whole first set for Constantine that I am going to start reading and definitely off from source material. It kills me. Lawrence will direct the next three "Hunger Games" movies but he won't do that. It's beyond me. Seriously Keanu Reeves may not be the greatest actor but I would watch a movie with him over Josh "in the closet" Hutcherson and Liam "wish I were my older brother" Hemsworth. Granted both these guys are coming into their own as actors slowly but surely. Still, by giving all these movies so much damn credit these actors won't transcend stupid, flat roles that are bordering on stereotypes. Anyway I want a Constantine film bad. As a film the atmosphere and visuals were spectacular. Reeves was good as the film version although obviously doesn't fit the original character. As an adaptation it was amazing though.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 11:12:41 PM

Also...I want that damn dragon fire shotgun! Seriously one of the coolest weapons ever!
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 11:51:05 PM

"If avengers 2 flop (that's a big if) then whedon can say goodbye to thanos."

All Marvel has to do is maintain the momentum and interest, neither of which looks anything other than inevitable.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 12:34:45 AM


Check this out
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 12:40:23 AM

I was looking forward to world war hulk but infinity war works just as well
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 12:50:24 AM

I'm not surprised a cliffhanger to end the second to hype the kids outta the third movie.
telur writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 1:13:01 AM

the only avengers member can punch thanos is HULK
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 2:05:26 AM

@Drilledbyc*cks: I f*cked the other thread with a judicious use of minimal HTML. Heh.

What I said was this: I'm aware you were not addressing me. That much was plainly obvious. In fact, I was trying out HMTL quote tags, so I need something to quote. I chose your borderline unintelligible comment for my experiment.

As for autism, lol. Why is it people such as yourself would rather repeat moronic, nonsensical memes you "learned" in Youtube rather than think for yourself, huh? You damned well know you could never provide an educated, accurate definition of "autism" if your wretched life depended on it.

Anyway, toughen up, bud, because you, and all the other little girls on here, are far, far too sensitive, and one wonders how you've made it this far in life.
minkowski writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 2:07:14 AM

P.S On, not in. Also: I apologize for the other posters who insulted your sh*tty little animated kiddie movie.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 2:41:03 AM

good plan.
Bunny X writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 11:33:29 AM

Not that it has been, but it's definitely not even a race between DC and Marvel.
Hate em or love em, but Marvel has their plan well thought out and have been fortunate from the response of Ironman and RDJ.
IMO I think RDJ/IM was the turning point in Marvel's success. Just how Ironman pulls The Avengers together in comics and is the main cog, I think RDJ/IM films are the lynchpin that has bouyed Marvel's success.
All the Marvel films after IM have a similar feel and touch as though they're shot from the same camera.
And like I've said in other threads, this is just going to boost all the other properties for Marvel. Gaurdians of The Galaxy will see some success as will other lower teired films like Antman, or Black Panther.
And the world will salivate for Avengers 2 and will double pack the theaters for Avengers 3.
All the while, DC's current status in comparison to Marvel is simply laughable.
Granted, DC is taking their first step with The Man of Steel, (I still love the analogy someone used saying DC is a baby learning to walk whereas Marvel is Usain Bolt crossing the finish line)
And I hope DC finds their legs and delivers a respectable string of movies worthy of the most iconic comic characters of all time.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 2:39:51 PM

tell us what else wont happen
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 2:50:27 PM


I enjoyed the first 30 mins of Oblivion but then I felt it got really tired and predictable and just ripped off a host of other movies like moon for instance. Tom cruise gets more hate then he deserves he wasnt too bad but he was doing the old tom cruise show again I think his contract must have that he sprints really fast and shows off how fit he still is. With this budget and the visuals it could have been a real memorable movie if it just had a decent story but of course Kronsiski thought it was good because it was based on his own graphic novel so he wasnt detatched enough to see it was a horrible twist. Also I love m83 who did the ost and they had a chance to make an original sci fi soundtrack in the vein of Erir serra but instead it was churned out formulaic bore that just sounded like a mixture of hans zimmers latest works and daft punk's tron legacy. Overall disapointed from what was a thrilling and intriguing first 30 minutes.
velocityknown writes:
on April 30th, 2013 at 3:25:30 PM

I wonder how many members of the Guardians team Whedon will kill off.
bastardgoblinwolf writes:
on May 1st, 2013 at 11:19:09 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved