WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams to Turn Stephen King's "11/22/63" Time-Travel Novel Into TV Series

Posted: April 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams to Turn Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Two year ago, it was reported that Jonathan Demme (Philadelphia, The Silence of the Lambs) was planning to direct a big screen adaptation of Stephen King's "11/22/63" novel. The plan was to begin shooting in the fall of 2012, but obviously that never happened.

Now comes word that the film has been scrapped and that JJ Abrams, along with Warner Bros TV, are in talks to turn the novel into a TV series. While many believe it would work better as a mini-series, the time-travel aspect may take the TV series outside of the novel's storyline.

The book follows Jake Epping, a 35-year-old high school English teacher from Maine who finds out that a storeroom at his friend's diner is a portal to 1958. Epping uses it to travel back in time to try to prevent President John F. Kennedy's assassination.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 4:43:45 AM

A sh*tty doorstop Stephen King book turned into a sh*tty, low-budget tv series, and yet they can't bother to turn IT and The Stand into theatrical films, sh*t people would want to see.

(insert obligatory but appropriate lens flare comment)
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 5:05:01 AM

I imagine there'll be a lot of suspense but JFK will still be assassinated at the end no matter how many times they'll be travelling back in the past, so what's the bloody point in all of that?
i124q writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 5:11:21 AM

Just make The Dark Tower into a series and be done with it.
pornfly writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 5:14:43 AM

Meanwhile his friend has been using his storeroom to travel back in time to rape hot chicks
Whitta writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 5:35:41 AM

For f*ck sake... Just make IT already.

Ip_man writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 7:32:51 AM

cancelled after first season like 'Alcatraz'
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 8:16:55 AM

I saw this the first time when it was a Quantum Leap episode.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 8:54:57 AM

Still waiting on The Dark Tower movies.
Bunny X writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 9:21:14 AM

@Mink EXACTLY

IT could be so great done today. Although I would still want Tim Curry as Pennywise.
His performance and the scene in Poltergeist are equally the reasons of my unshakeable fear of clowns.
The Stand? That could have been so much better than what they put on the small screen. I felt like I was ripped off.
Stapes writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 10:57:05 AM

IMHO, the problem with King adaptations arrives when they are TOO faithful to the source material. Which is why so many of Mick Garris' work is so meh.
Stapes writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 10:58:00 AM

That said, I hated the Running man.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 11:09:13 AM

I'm on like Page 80 on this book, I could never get around to finishing it lol But I will in time. Just read the 118 page short story 'a good marriage' the other day By Stephen King :P

I'll always give his stuff a chance. So obviously I'll watch this lol and come on guys... It's all about Cats Eye (Sarasm)
coldplayesence writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 11:39:27 AM

I wonder when JJ Abrams will give Josh Holloway a real chance to shine, I had high hopes for him in IM5 and 5 min in he's dead.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 12:59:11 PM

Ghost Protocol was the 4th Mission:Impossible movie.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 1:12:23 PM

dark tower was a fun read what happened to ron howard making it circling the drain im guessing?
coldplayesence writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 3:09:56 PM

Whoops, my bad. I will not bitch about the edit button because it's useless to iliterates like myself.
Tyrkae writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 6:59:18 PM

I think he wants a crack at a smaller lesser known King book and then maybe try to go bigger like The Stand, IT ,or The Dark Tower
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 10:34:26 PM

@Minkowski: I'm relatively young. But I just saw IT on DvD at Target. Haven't they already made it into a film?
seveltoto writes:
on October 24th, 2017 at 8:21:08 AM

aleale writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 8:25:26 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 12:39:58 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 15th, 2017 at 12:42:20 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved