WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pain and Gain" - What Did You Think?

Posted: April 27th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pain and Gain" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
After directing three "Transformers" movies, Michael Bay announced that he wants to make a small-budget film called "Pain and Gain," which is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes "Pain and Gain" has a disappointing 48% fresh rating, with many critics agreeing that this is the best film Michael Bay has ever done. Unfortunately, there are plenty of other critics who feel that "Pain and Gain" lacks great story-telling.

The new movie cost only $20 million to make, which is a tiny budget compared to Bay's usual $200 million budgets. The good news is that it's on track to make back the full $20 million during its opening weekend.

Click here to read our "Pain and Gain" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 8:48:46 AM

It's a Coen Brother rip off...but has some very entertaining violent set pieces...

It's a mess of a movie from a narrative stand point...

Multiple point of views...flashbacks...red herrings...but The Rock is fantastic, demonstrating by far the most range...and Walhberg's performance starts off really strong and then just deeper and deeper into stupidity...

Fightclub1 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 8:50:26 AM

I loved it, if you have a dark sense of humor then you'll find this hilarious. The Rock steals the show and actually proves he can act.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 11:20:01 AM

Jesus f*cking Christ!! Look at the creepy c*nts who sit back watching us comment!!

https://www.facebook.com/peter.griffin.946517
pornfly writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 11:52:03 AM

Rather watch the 48Hours 'Muscle Mayhem' episode tonight
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 12:09:56 PM

lol pornfly if it's about these clowns it's a good primer before I see the movie tomorrow.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 12:09:56 PM

lol pornfly if it's about these clowns it's a good primer before I see the movie tomorrow.
Ip_man writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 12:41:17 PM

saw 'Iron Man 3' - meh... i give it 6/10 , the trailers were misleading and despite the fact that the movie has some hilarious moments it's overall quite cartoonish with overuse of cgi and a lack of a proper menacing villain.
The first Iron Man remains the best marvel movie in my book.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 12:46:11 PM

Pain and Gain sounds like a sh*tty movie. Even though it doesn't have explosions like most of Bay's movies, even though it's a smaller, cheaper film, it still has less than 50% on RT, which says despite all of Bay's camerawork, despite The Rock, despite Wahlberg, the movie still sucked to greater than half the critics.

Several critics have said exactly what I said. Here's one:

"[Casts] the fictional approximations of the real-life victims as somehow deserving their fate in an effort to create sympathy for its three bumbling anti-heroes. In other words it's an insult to true stories."

And another:

"And you can't help but feel that he kind of admires these murderous morons' sloping-brow sense of joie de vivre."


One more, my favorite:

"The film is so inept and hateful that asking what it thinks about anything seems like dividing by zero."





I'll see it, eventually, but making likeable anti-heroes out of murderers is getting very tiresome, and does a grave disrespect to the dead.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 12:48:20 PM

"The first Iron Man remains the best marvel movie in my book."

Strange how that works out. Iron Man is the best of that series as is Batman Begins of Nolan's Trilogy of Errors.

There's just something simpler to origin stories. A clean palette, an open vista. No baggage, no expectations, no need to trump a previous film.
Ip_man writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 1:25:18 PM

'There's just something simpler to origin stories. A clean palette, an open vista. No baggage, no expectations, no need to trump a previous film.'

Good point there,i feel the same way about 'Blade' - the first was the best.

minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 1:48:31 PM

Blade is a masterpiece of film compared to the third. The second....couldn't tell you a goddamned thing about it, other than Whistler was somehow brought back to life. How, I have no idea. Probably they thought there would be no second film, so they killed Kristofferson's role to give Blade emotional momentum, and then, when told they could make a second, though oh sh*t, we need the old white guy back! By the third, no one gave a f*ck, they were just seeing $$$$$$$$$$ and said we need a young hot white woman and a young hot white man to get whitey in the seat because a) white people have the money, and b) white people won't go see a movie led by a black guy.

I suspect there was a sea change in producers between Blade 1 and 3...
Ip_man writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 1:54:41 PM

yep,that kris kristoferson resurrection was silly but overall blade 2 wasn't a bad movie - just an average action flick with way too many characters.the third was a total misfire.
it's a shame that Stephen Norrignton who did a great job with the first one retired from directing movies.he showed great potential and style in the first Blade.stephen dorph as well was a great villain.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 2:02:56 PM

Well, Norrington didn't retire, per se. From what I can tell, his work on League of Superboring *ssholes made him decide to give up his career (p*ssy), but then he went on to other projects.

Unfortunately, none of those projects became a reality, so although he hasn't officially retired, for all intents and purposes, he's off the radar. He didn't even get The Lost Patrol made, which was set to debut three years ago.
Ip_man writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 2:08:37 PM

interesting.guess no studio is willing to take the chance with him after the LXG flop
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 2:11:29 PM

And yet Lana Wachowski can make anything and everything that spurts from her Made-in-China vagina.
Ip_man writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 2:29:44 PM

i feel triggax will pop up soon...
Avirex writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 2:31:14 PM

Stephen Norrington was developing the Crow remake for a few years actually. Somewhat recently until the studio started f*cking around and the production became a revolving door of directors, writers and actors. Still revolving as we speak.

When Norrington was on board the script being used was by Nick Cave. It had potential when you combine that with the approach Norrington used for Blade.
triggax writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 2:40:08 PM

"i feel triggax will pop up soon..."

Why?

Ugh dammit.

To tell you how much I enjoyed LXG, mostly due to the fact that Sean Connery spent the second half all but ass f*cking the winchester rifle that kid gave him.

Seriously, watch it again and just pay attention to how much he loves that gun, as much as he loves beating his wife. Excellent.

Have not watched Pain and Gain yet, though the actual story is quite awful and very brutal, I'm surprised they made it into a buddy comedy directed by Bay? Pretty awesome. Putzman seemed to like it though so maybe I'll have a gander, mother f*cker steers me wrong every single time. Good writer, smart critic, terrible f*cking taste in film.

See you guys next year.

triggax~~
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 2:45:24 PM

Awful, horrid, smegma wridden....
ENFORCER writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 3:12:44 PM

Great points there mink and ip

Iron Man was a kick ass awesome film. Batman begins was so different for a batman movie it was easily best of Nolan's creations.

Trying to think of movies where the sequel was better than the first, main one that comes to mind is superman 2. Still to this day one of my fav superhero movies.

I personally preferred euro vacation over vacation. Rocky got better each time, apart from 5 and balboa.

But can't think of many more.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 4:25:22 PM

"Good writer, smart critic, terrible f*cking taste in film."

You should see what he can do with a cat!
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 4:43:51 PM

"Good writer, smart critic, terrible f*cking taste in film."

You should see what he can do with a cat!
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 4:44:49 PM

THIS WEBSITE f*ckING RULES!
Ip_man writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 4:46:59 PM

rules in crashing...damn,i think that was a new record...
Ip_man writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:02:31 PM

looks a lot like your avatar
blumpkin4 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:03:27 PM

Minky doesnt even know what pain and gain means the poor bastard. Mind you im sure he knows all about pain that lonely son of a gun spending all his time in his moms basement. If he put a little effort into his life he would have already risen from the stinkhole that is worstpreviews.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:10:16 PM

No pain, no gain, huh Blumpkin?
blumpkin4 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:10:26 PM

i bet you have a nice stash of that stuff you perv.
blumpkin4 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:15:25 PM

and like i said, i dont think you know what it means. I think the hollywood version is a little bit different.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:16:09 PM

Blumpkin,

All I did was put "Blumpkin + sucking d*ck" into Google, and there you were.

Anyway, I'm just f*cking with you the way you f*ck with me, so don't start crying because we have enough of that around here already.

Cheers!
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:18:03 PM

"I dont think you know what it means. I think the hollywood version is a little bit different."

You mean the sh*t the original author used way back in 1999? No pain, no gain? Like "no guts no glory"? Same thing. No sacrifice no reward. Again, same thing.

Yeah, pretty sure I know what it means.

Try again, kid.
blumpkin4 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:19:30 PM

i know youre messing around minky
blumpkin4 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:21:57 PM

What I meant to say was youve never experienced it. Suckin d*ck to get a screenplay is not what no pain, no gain meant when whoever you are referring too helmed the saying.
WallyDee writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:31:18 PM

I'm gonna quote myself by again saying

''The discussions all you guys have on here are more entertaining to read then the ''MOVIE'' news thats posted here....''

Blade 1&2 are both in i would say my top 50 favorite movies.
I would say that The Avengers currently is the best Marvel movie out there.
Its gonna be hard for Marvel to top that one.

Deaft0ne writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:33:33 PM

@blumpkin

You stupid jock BUCKLE-f*ck TAPOUT AXE moron, it's whoever COINED the term, not helmed. Helm is to direct or give orders or instruction.
triggax writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:47:55 PM

Mink. If you still have an account tomorrow it would be surprising.

I love that if youre not logged in, it censors curse words when you scroll through the comments. Sucking d*ck, however, can not be censored.

Youre mental man.

Now find a picture of Ranger for all to see.
Ip_man writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:54:56 PM

I don't think Mink gives a sh*t.it's easy as f*ck to create another user,and I'm pretty sure mink has a few other user names already.
blumpkin4 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 5:58:51 PM

I'll tap you out deaftone you candyass roodypoo jabroni.
blumpkin4 writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 6:02:11 PM

lp_man you are right, getting banned is actually a pretty prestigious status around here. I am very respected in this community as you can see it is my 4th blumpkin account.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 8:17:38 PM

The 48 Hours about this is on @ 10PM EST.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 8:23:59 PM

on CBS^
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 9:56:45 PM

@Triggax: Meh. If Alex wants to "ban" me, he can go right ahead. I have like thirty f*cking "spare" accounts anyway. I can thirty more. But perhaps I shouldn't posted that sh*t. It's making me ill during dinner.

"Youre mental man."

If you're just NOW getting to that fact, you're not nearly as smart as I thought :D
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 9:57:01 PM

MAKE.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 9:57:25 PM

HAVE.

sigh
ONLY GOD FORGIVES writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 10:59:28 PM



wanna see some pain ? ?

http://www.flicksandbits.com/2013/04/27/3-extended-clips-from-nicolas-winding-refns-only-god-forgives-starring-ryan-gosling-kristin-scott-thomas-yayaying/45805/comment-page-1/#comment-417688
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 11:02:14 PM

Well the 48 Hours special was interesting, mostly just a current version of the original articles. I will post my thoughts on the movie after I see it tomorrow.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 11:23:48 PM

There... Are... Four... Lights!
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 12:06:21 AM

@Mink the pic was uncalled for you perv...

Some people just want to enjoy movie news...

Are you 12 or 13? Because I hope your parents block you from this sight eventually...
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 12:08:22 AM

My review:

This movie was f*cking amazing. So well done, Everything was great. The acting, the story, the writing and Exspecially the cast. They took a very interesting 'True' Story and made it into a film. This rarely turns out good, you hear 'True Story' and the film ends up BEIN nothing like what happened and poorly made.

This on the other hand was very accurate and very well done, Loved this movie lol Easily 9/10
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 12:17:03 AM

LOL look at all these guys getting butt hurt like they've never watched gay porn, Come on guys, you gotta come out of the closet eventually!
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 12:29:01 AM

If Ranger had posted that pic, there's be at least fifty people "rotflmao" in this thread.

What a bunch of intolerant bigots.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 12:36:25 AM

And whatever happened to Ranger lol Haven't seen him in at least a month :P
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 12:52:48 AM

@3GayBabies

It's spelled SITE, idiot.
minkowski writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 1:24:35 AM

lol
Erotic Defecation writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 2:18:42 AM

I refuse to see a film that wants me to LAUGH at its depiction of real-life torture and murders. but hey, you people who are so eager and excited to see it or have already watched it and given it an enthusiastic two thumbs up, don't let my first sentence make you feel guilty. see, this film will surely be a big hit at the box office, so you folks are in the MAJORITY. and in the land of sick f*cks, the sick f*cks are sane, or something like that. so you're good!
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 5:37:20 AM

Well duh the 48Hours special was a a retelling of the article
you were expecting Bruce Willis to be a ghost at the end??

I found 48Hours ernest in the fact that they owned up about CBS and Pain And Gain parent companies being one in the same

So yeah that was some cross promotion for your ass

Seeing the ripple effect these crimes had on the people involved added to the drama
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 8:51:51 AM

@pornfly

I was thinking that maybe they would do a prison interview with one of those idiots. The dumbballs guy especially since he is a bizarre man-child. Or the model gf of Lugo.

WHY DID YOU SPOIL THE 6TH SENSE MAYBE SOME PEOPLE HERE HAVEN'T SEEN IT
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 11:37:26 AM

Anyone who hasn't seen the Sixth sense should be put into Guantanamo bay for a weekend of pain and torture, Then immediately released on the condition that they go home and watch it.
pornfly writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 8:42:10 PM

Those dim bulbs would never do an interview as long as they got appeals in the works

Im waiting for an H.H.Holmes movie
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 29th, 2013 at 1:16:54 AM

I'd honestly watch that lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved