WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scarlett Johansson is a Superhero in Luc Besson's "Lucy" Action Thriller

Posted: April 26th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scarlett Johansson is a Superhero in Luc BessonSubmit Comment
Luc Besson, who directed "The Fifth Element" and "The Professional," as well as produced "Taken" and "Transporter," has written a script for "Lucy" action thriller with plans of directing.

Now comes word that Scarlett Johansson is in final negotiations to star in the film, which centers on a woman forced to become a drug mule. But the drug instead goes into her system, giving her superpowers. She can absorb knowledge instantaneously, is able to move objects with her mind and can't feel pain and other discomforts.

"Lucy" is another film for Besson that focuses on strong female characters, like "La Femme Nikita," "Joan of Arc" and "Colombiana." It's also a continuation of action films for Johansson, who starred in "Iron Man 2," "The Avengers," and is now shooting "Captain America: The Winter Soldier."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:04:53 AM

is she gonna suck the cack?
Taco writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:05:54 AM

I think shes too short and frumpy to be the next Milla Jovovich.
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:49:29 AM

"But the drug instead goes into her system, giving her superpowers."

Through her vagina??? That's going to give so many wrong ideas to some tarts out there!
Avirex writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 8:26:20 AM

Aside from being no more attractive than any other Hollywood chick, she's also a sh*tty actress and looks awkward as hell during action scenes.

Pass. This is going to be worse than Colombiana. Its like a chick version of that sh*tty Chris Evans movie Push.
Ip_man writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 8:56:55 AM

@badno

lol,are you referring to this clip?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOhUJGE8f14
boogiel writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 9:08:55 AM

Scar-jo is hot but the movie plot stinks as sh*t.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 9:42:08 AM

If Besson is actually directing I may give this a shot.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 9:56:58 AM

Regardless if being smoking hot, the girl can act. Fond of her and will watch most of her work.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 9:56:59 AM

Regardless if being smoking hot, the girl can act. Fond of her and will watch most of her work.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 9:59:53 AM

Omg how annoying with double posting?!?!

Why does this happen Alex.

Things this site needs ASAP

Edit button.
Proper posting columns, I'd a double happens we can delete it.
Ignore button
Spell checker

Even to spruce it up add some emoticons!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 10:01:33 AM

I'll see it bc of ScarJo.

Bullit- that's like JB shoving a pill up his ass and gaining super gay rimming powers.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 10:10:20 AM

^^ not helping the current situation is it mr chad!
Cannon writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 11:04:04 AM


Sounds promising enough. If Besson can give it the darker edged sincerity of La Femme Nikita and Léon, or the imaginative playfulness of The Fifth Element, or both, it could really be something. But Zoe Saldana is hot, too, and that didn’t prevent Columbiana from being a total, cliché-ridden bore. I’ll hope for the best...and expect the worst.

Still, it'd be better yet that he brought back Portman for a Mathilda sequel.

BadChadB33 writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 11:10:56 AM

Enforcer- You wouldn't want super rimming powers? I figured you would. I know I would.
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 11:20:05 AM

Luc Besson's version of a superhero movie?

Meh. Besson doesn't need this...making up a new hero origin movie.

But, it'd be cool if someone made a Withcblade movie, though.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 11:27:35 AM

@cannon
@cannon

If Luc Besson actually directs this, it will probably be good because he is a good director. He just produces a lot of utter trash he does not direct like Lockout and Colombiana.
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 12:11:57 PM

@BadChad

:-)
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 12:44:04 PM

Luc Besson produces trash films like Michael Bay, and also like Bay, hasn't directed a decent film in a decade or more.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 12:50:07 PM

Kinda over it to be honest mr chad. Saying it lately for shock value!
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 12:52:58 PM

@mink

Pain&Gain is actually getting very positive reviews for being utterly hilarious and insane and telling a good story. I will probably see it on Sunday.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 1:09:51 PM

^^ hope it is on my flight
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 1:48:50 PM

Good overview of the real story:

http://blogs.miaminewtimes.com/riptide/2013/04/pain_gain_a_guide_to_the_movie.php
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 1:53:38 PM

Don't want to see Pain and Gain. Unlike Bay's other films, this one is based on actual events in which three people were brutally murdered. Wives, daughters, sisters brothers and husbands. But Bay, the crass, crude, offensive American d*ckhead that he is, turned vicious tragedy into a money-making exploitative ride of violence, because that's all that hack knows how to make.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 2:03:12 PM

Enforcer- why's that?
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 2:03:29 PM

I love how the idiots editing Wikipedia define an anti-hero as "a protagonist who has no heroic virtues or qualities (such as being morally good, idealistic, courageous, noble, and possessing fortitude", but then go on to list fictional characters such as Jack Bauer and John McClane, and many others such as Batman) as if neither of them have courage, idealism, fortitude or (modern) nobility.

What a f*cking crock!
Džeko writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 2:16:25 PM

Interesting concept...will try.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 2:44:10 PM

More important things than eating out some chicks ass! It's nice but just got more on my mind !!
ENFORCER writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 2:47:02 PM

I'm looking fwd to a month long holiday !! Flying to California.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 3:12:48 PM

Enoforcer- understandable.
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 3:21:01 PM

"But, it'd be cool if someone made a Withcblade movie, though"

A WitchBlade movie has been in development since 2009, but I doubt its ever going to see the light of day. I do remember there being a terrible tv show back in the early 2000s though.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 3:26:17 PM

@mink

Actually they tortured the guy into extortion that Tony Shalhoub plays and the real guy is still alive. They murdered a hungarian couple because the husband was rich from phone sex lines and sh*t got real ugly.

Michael Bay is a misogynist and an *sshole and a douche but he was enamored with this story when he first read it in 1999. He was astounded at the absolute ineptitude and incompetence of the Sun Gym Gang and how f*cked up the case was and the actual articles do read like a movie and he felt like it was screaming to become one because of that.

The real guys involved are stupid and brutal pieces of dogsh*t on a boot, no doubt about that. But many true stories are ugly and abhorrent and made into entertaining movies.

The only Bay movies I really like are Bad Boys I&II and The Rock. Transformers is ok but mostly a headache to sit through.

Since Pain&Gain is getting good reviews that illustrate how car-crash but can't look away entertaining it is while also expressing that all of this really happened, I am fine with seeing it.

One hilarious line in the movie is when Mark Wahlberg says "You know, all of my heroes are self-made! Like Rocky, Scarface, and everyone from The Godfather movies, so I can be self-made too!" then The Rock says, "All of those people are fictional."

If it is funny like that as far as dialogue i'll enjoy it too.
RaZoR writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 3:31:29 PM

My link... it's... it's INVISIBLE.

I am filled with shame.
pornfly writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 4:29:33 PM

DEAFTONE/MINK
posted something similar about Pain and Gain with the same feelings
Bays flippant attitude about the victims while promoting the film as an anti hero movie where crooks gets whats coming to them is very disrespectful to those that lost their lives to these dim bulbs.

I think the hungarian victims sister was some kind of psychic or mistic
Bet she feels dumb

What happened to Scarletts movie where shes an alien BTW?
Will this one do anal now that she feels no pain
SACdaddy writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 4:50:59 PM

Call me shallow but I'm in on whatever she's in. Girl is the bomb!

Off topic: Just saw Oblivion. Not sure how I feel about it yet. On one hand its another Frankensteiner pieced together with the dead parts of many of sci fi films we've already seen (as reported). On the other hand I don't know how but I got emotionally attached to it. When the big twist comes (and you see it coming from a mile away) I found myself hooked when I shouldn't have been. I guess even though its predictable I like where it went. It was kind of the only logical choice after you've seen it all from the genre. They consciously just chose to go a route that had already proven to work and then just added nice window dressing. And for reasons I'm not sure I understand yet, I was ok with that. It must be the Cruise factor. The guy made the film watchable when it shouldn't have been. He made up for its lack of originality and depth. This is not the best film by a long shot but Cruise still made me care about what was goin on which means a lot in my book. 6/10

minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 5:04:51 PM

@Deaftone: I read the article you posted, although I had also read the original 1999-2000 article a few years ago, and the thing that struck me was the brutality and callousness of the crimes. This was no mere suffocation, or vehicular homicide. The guys who committed these crimes were, are monstrous sadists who should have been put down a long time ago, not in the name of "justice", but to make sure they never see the streets again.

Anyway, I see your point, and after reading the plot synopsis for Bay's movie, seems he may have taken some liberties with the facts. Rounded the corners, removed some shards. Softened the entire thing.

Still, as Pornfly said, making these guys, after what they did, into anti-heroes, AND not full-scale villains, smacks of sickening exploitation and a grave injustice to the people maimed and murdered, even if the three victims weren't perhaps the most respectable of humans, which is irrelevant. They sure as f*ck didn't deserve tortured and killed, and the one survivor is physically ruined, perhaps mentally and emotionally as well.

Seems something has gone wrong with us as a people imo, when ordinary heroes are no longer interesting and appealing and we have to enjoy the brutal depredations of garden-variety psychopaths instead.

Basically what Pornfly said, but then he's no moral slouch like Bay.



@Razor: I've taken a few trips to tvtropes.com, but they possess such a large volume of content there's no way I could have read even half of it, so no, I've not seen that before, but I'm glad you posted it because it makes the vague sloppy drivel over at Wiki look like, well, vague sloppy drivel. Anyway, I can certainly see a place for Bauer and McClane in tvtropes anti-hero criteria.

And yeah, I've always been pretty clear on the general nature of the anti-villain. Basically, he or she is the not the villain, but not the idealized, traditional romance hero character you'd find among the works of John Campbell. Still, the word "anti-hero" is a poor word imo, because "anti" means opposite, and the opposite of the hero is the villain, whereas the anti-hero lies somewhere in the grey middle lands between the two extremes of the white hatted hero and the black hatted villain.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 6:51:45 PM

http://youtu.be/D0tIqqGMsYU.

Hey check this out
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 8:00:57 PM

you know I'm really starting to miss Gary, Trailer Trash and Ranger. :(
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 9:15:58 PM

Actually speaking of Besson, I actually wanted a THE PROFESSIONAL sequel with Natalie Portman, but I heard he cannabalized the script to make COLOMBIANA...

What a gyp..
minkowski writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 9:52:40 PM

^^That's not true.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 6:16:19 AM

Who is Gary?
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 28th, 2013 at 8:49:34 PM

At Mink: No?

http://www.geeksofdoom.com/2011/08/30/wait-what-colombiana-started-as-a-sequel-to-leon-the-professional

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved