WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Hopes "Guardians of the Galaxy" Doesn't Feel Like "Green Lantern"

Posted: April 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Hopes "Guardians of the Galaxy" DoesnSubmit Comment
While promoting "Iron Man 3," Marvel head Kevin Feige was asked if the studio is worried that "Guardians of the Galaxy" will end up being like "Green Lantern" due to the amount of CGI needed and the fact that both movies take place in space and deal with alien creatures.

"'Iron Man 3' has as much CG as any movie we've ever made, and I hope it doesn't feel like 'Green Lantern,'" he replied. "And it's all about the aesthetic you go for and already we have an art department as impressive as any art department I've ever seen in London on 'Guardians.' And it's designing things and believing that they're real when part of the team is made up of a raccoon and a tree."

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is an important film for Marvel, since it's very different from all their previous movies and sets up "The Avengers 2." It's success will open doors for other big Marvel characters to become part of the film franchise and give "The Avengers 2" a chance to become another massive hit.

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ENFORCER writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 7:32:41 AM

Erm!? If you feel that why do it in the first place? Using characters nobody really knows who the f*ck they are. OF COURSE it will be a flop.
Ip_man writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 7:47:07 AM

easy - get a bad ass villain.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 8:44:19 AM

Enforcer you pedophilic AIDS-ridden homosexual child molester, the only flops around here are your posts. Get a f*cking life, dude, before it's too late.

Stop jacking it to scat-snuff-beast-child porn and let the toddlers out of the cage in your bedroom.
Cannon writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 9:18:17 AM


I'll be seeing this before I waste my time with Episode VII, I can tell you that much.

Besides, it wasn't the CG that killed Green Lantern. It was the generic story, ineffectual lead actor and the goofy premise of Lantern's powers that just don't translate well to the big screen.

BadChadB33 writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 9:19:08 AM

It'll suck nowhere near that level.
boogiel writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 9:24:02 AM

Marvel Hopes "Guardians of the Galaxy" Doesn't Feel Like "Green Lantern"


That means cartoon graphics on a fake ass cgi planet wearing cgi suits should be avoided.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 10:30:25 AM

Well since The Green Lantern Corps and The Guardians of the Universe from DC comics predates the creation of Guardians of the Galaxy and since GOTG is clearly influenced by the former, this will end up feeling like the Green Lantern film. The comparisons will be unavoidable.

GOTG will probably be the first major bomb in the MCU.
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 10:53:39 AM

Meh. Good, bad. Either way...meh.
supaflywill writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 12:07:59 PM

Bomb
CelluloidMan writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 12:17:27 PM

I hope GUARDIANS will connect with the audience, but Marvel is really taking a gamble since many do not know who they are and has no significant fan base to guarantee its success....not like the other characters. It'll have to be by peaking interest with the trailer, but then ensure a good Sci-Fi story (about weird characters) & word of mouth will be enough to make (some) profits which I really don't see happening.

For my personal tastes, I'd really like if Marvel had covered the Inhumans instead...I mean, who wouldn't want to see Black Bolt!!
Verde writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 2:31:44 PM

Release a couple of trailers and we will know if this will be as bad as GL. Still this movie looks promising, never read a comic of GotG, but the story seems pretty interesting, reminds me a little of the space genre in anime.
The Sage writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 2:31:52 PM

So long as this movie is directed by James Gunn I can pretty much guarantee that it won't be like Green Lantern. The guy made Tromeo and Juliet for f*ck's sake!
coldplayesence writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 3:19:21 PM

Marvel's too cheap for an all-out CGI orgy film.
Janus writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 5:03:06 PM

Green Lantern didn't fail due to CGI, it failed due to its script.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 5:14:18 PM

Green Lantern failed because it was a piece of sh*t, the villain was a diarrhea cloud for f*ck's sake! An actual giant piece of sh*t!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 5:19:21 PM

Everything everyone here is saying is very true. It really will come down to how they handle the visual and aesthetic aspects of the story. Still. let's look at Marvel's track record so far. Iron Man is basically pure gold, up there for me with the original Superman & Spider-Man 2, the Incredible Hulk which was good but lacked a more interesting premise besides the massive damage the Hulk can do to Harlem (That is hasn't done to itself that is), Thor which was actually good fantasy fun and Branaugh was perfect for it because it was meant to be somewhat Shakespearean in its themes, and Captain America which captured an old school style of heroism in the spirit of Indiana Jones. And while we are talking about spirit of these films let's realize that these films have an older feeling to them. Shakespeare, adventure, sword and shield, and just massive explosions. Again that is all Hulk could be considering it was grounded to stuff that could happen on Earth. Still it did a better job to introduce the psychological aspect that Ruffalo would later perfect.

Basically what I am getting to with all this is since Marvel is handling it's own work they will probably approach it like an old fashion space opera. Sort of a mix between Star Wars and Blade Runner. That being the strongest possibility in my opinion is what will make it great. In a way I think fans of Marvel films in general will try for it because, while they have come to admire the initial four characters, they want bigger and epic. GOTG can give them that. They have a great cast. I have rooted for Pratt for years to become a big star. Such a normal and cool guy who can be tough but show that he questions himself as he showed in "Moneyball" so good for him. Say what you want about "Avatar" but Saldana is a spectacular actress with a quite a range of roles she has taken. You have Michael Rooker who is old school badass which he showed in "The Walking Dead" is still there. Dave Batista may be just a wrestler but we said that about Dwayne Johnson and he made Fast & Furious good again. Plus his pure physicality is appropriate for the role. We could also go back in time to Hulk Hogan who showed he could make a movie work even in very out there storylines. Also Lee Pace is used to dressing up for Halloween in "The Hobbit" so he will do well in a film of crazy outfits and CGI character. Bottom line this film has a great chance of succeeding and it deserves a chance. Plus producer Kevin Fiege has done a great job so far keeping all these films on the right track.

And because Thanos was introduced in "The Avengers", assuming he is still the villian for this film, in a way the audience won't just be thrown into a new world. We have been introduced to aliens in "The Avengers" and magic in "Thor" so anything could be put in here and be accepted for the most part with a little room for soemthing unexpected to wow the audience in a good way.
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 6:54:19 PM

Beginning to think whoever wrote this, didn't even read the quote they got it from.

The quote (as typed up above) says "'Iron Man 3' has as much CG as any movie we've ever made, and I hope it doesn't feel like 'Green Lantern,'"

THEY DIDN'T SAY THEY WERE WORRIED ABOUT GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY FEELING LIKE GREEN LANTERN.

They said they hoped IRON MAN THREE wouldn't feel like Green Lantern. If anything, they were incredibly confident that GotG would look and feel oodles better than Green Lantern.

Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 7:37:38 PM

@sleuth1989

Amen
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 7:39:10 PM

@BlackDynamite

Feige is saying Iron Man 3 has a sh*tload of cgi fx and didn't end up looking like GL and he hopes due to what he has seen from the art dept on GOTG, he feels the same way.

We'll have to see. I agree with sleuth's comment.
Man in Black writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 12:35:12 AM

Well if you completely phone it in ... also you would have to beat yourself in the face with a brick for 3 hours to get to that level then and only then yes it could suck as bad as GL .
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:31:34 PM

Looks like
sh*t
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:32:20 PM

Complete and utter sh*t
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:33:10 PM

sh*t sh*t sh*t
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 26th, 2013 at 7:34:00 PM

sh*t sh*t sh*t sh*t sh*t sh*t SHIIIIIIITTTTTTT

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved