WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zach Braff Launches KickStarter Project, Raises Over $1 Million in a Day

Posted: April 24th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zach Braff Launches KickStarter Project, Raises Over $1 Million in a DaySubmit Comment
Zach Braff decided in the footsteps of "Veronica Mars" and has listed his new movie, called "Wish I Was Here," on KickStarter. He's hoping to raise $2 million in order to make the movie and has already reached over $1 million in one day.

Braff will star in the movie, as well as direct it. This will be the first film he's directed since "Garden State," back in 2004. The reason why he listed the project on KickStarter is to not only raise money, but also maintain a creative control.

"Wish I Was Here" is written by Braff and his brother, and revolves around Aidan Bloom (Braff), a struggling actor, father and husband, who at 35 is still trying to find his identity; a purpose for his life.

If you would like to contribute to the project, click here.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 9:47:23 PM

Really enjoyed garden state. This is what kickstarter should be for with movies. Dint ever want to see the studios begging for cash though.
cress writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 9:57:46 PM

GARDEN STATE is a personal fave. Love that movie and the soundtrack.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 10:05:20 PM

I remember when Garden State came out I saw a flash ad that said 'Zach Barff', I lol'd. Garden State is a good movie though.
cress writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 10:14:07 PM

The only criticism that I have of GARDEN STATE is Braff's performance in the last 15 minutes of the film. It is really bad, "girly man" acting along with some cheesy, overly sentimental bullsh*t dialogue. But I still love that flick.
BillyBunter writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 10:20:02 PM

Yeah the garden state soundtrack is great, i liked the movie but i did not love it.
LearJet writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 10:46:35 PM

Good on him!
Fightclub1 writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 11:02:07 PM

I loved garden state and the soundtrack was killer. It was actually done by braff too I think
minkowski writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 11:05:57 PM

1 million won't even begin to push this sh*t into theaters, so discount DVD here it comes, and I wonder if these Kickstarter idiots factor distribution into their crowdsourcing schemes.
buttabean writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 11:37:22 PM

Mink, His goal is 2 million and he's got producers and he's contributing his own money as well. It sounds like it's more of a cushion to pay for the visual fx for the fantasy portions of the movie.

It sounds like he's pushing for the independent portion rather than main stream. Similar to "The Fall" I suppose.

mustardayonnaise writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 12:05:30 AM

Garden state is okay. All this kickstarter nonsense is getting annoying.
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 12:47:26 AM

"Mink, His goal is 2 million and he's got producers and he's contributing his own money as well. It sounds like it's more of a cushion to pay for the visual fx for the fantasy portions of the movie."

Okay fair enough, Buttabean, you know more about this film than I do, apparently, but in my defense, not that I need one, I wasn't really talking about just this movie, but the growing trend of using Kickstarter to finance niche sh*t like Veronica Mars.

Seems overblown and foolish, because even they somehow get enough to pay actors and shoot the footage, they'll have to spend twice that just to get their film out to a few theaters, plus adverts, much less export it to ~3K venues as is customary for films looking to make back their budget.

Granted, if the film costs 4 mil total, than they don't need that many theaters, and they can advert on the 'net, but why waste their time and crowd theater space when they can make back the budget, plus more, going to VOD, Netflix or DVD?

The finance just makes no damned sense to me.
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 12:47:53 AM

*sigh*

If.
buttabean writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 2:11:11 AM

Mink, I totally agree with you on the whole "Fans give me money so i can be cool and show it at a select few theaters then do vod. I'm a star give me give me give me". If a studio owns a IP like veronica Mars, they sure as hell should be coughing up the money to make it.

There's so many what ifs involved in making a movie. What happens if they screw up veronica mars and end up abandoning the movie? Who's fault is it then? Studio or the person that started the kickstarter campaign? And guess what? all that kickstarter money vanished into thin air. "Sorry suckers! muhaha". Granted that can happen with any kickstarter campaign but when you're donating your money and all you get is to shake a millionaires hand, watch his movie, and a crappy t-shirt, Where's the passion behind the person that's running the campaign? No underdog, no real dream, just funding their current job... I have a hard time accepting that.

Their dreams have already come true. That's the way I at least see it. These big actors and IPs already achieved those goals in life. The only way I can see the point in this is if you like the story, passionate about it, and just want to see it made. Zack seems to be motivated by those three things and receiving money as a end product is more of a bonus but then again he wants majority stack so that makes you think...

So i'll end this with a "Whatever" since that's how I really care about all this.

P.S. this site has really gone down hill with all the rumor mongering. So f*cking annoying to see. I guess that's what I get for going to a website named worst previews haha
minkowski writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 2:19:06 AM

@Buttabean: I have nothing to add to what you said, in part because I feel like sh*t, but mostly because you said it all and said it well. No d*cksucking there, just thanks and total agreement, which is pretty rare for me...
buttabean writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 11:26:47 AM

Thanks Mink. Feel better!
zxz writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 5:14:04 PM

I liked Garden State. Just a very good little movie. Kickstarter is the way to do it these days. Crowd funding, creative control, and getting things done away from the big studio system.
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 25th, 2013 at 7:00:14 PM

I saw "Scrubs Revival" nowhere in this article. Not donating sh*t
The Sage writes:
on April 27th, 2013 at 4:32:11 AM

The strategy with Kickstarter funding is to get the ball rolling on a film. If a guy like Braff can raise a million or two just on public interest in the project then it will be easy for him to raise the rest from the usual crop of film investors. It's no different than putting the down payment on a house. Once the bank is satisfied that you are knee deep in debt they hand you enough money to be completely f*cked.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved