WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise's "Oblivion" Takes First Place at Box Office with $38 Million

Posted: April 21st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom CruiseSubmit Comment
Tom Cruise's "Oblivion" sci-fi film took first place at the domestic box office this weekend by grossing $38 million, becoming the highest domestic debut for a Cruise movie, behind "War of the Worlds" and the "Mission: Impossible" franchise.

"Oblivion" has already been playing overseas for two weeks, bringing its worldwide total to $150 million. The movie may have an unimpressive RottenTomatoes rating of 59%, but since it cost $120 million to make, it's already considered profitable.

Meanwhile, Rob Zombie's "Lords of Salem" horror film opened in 354 theaters, grossing $622,000. Unfortunately that's only $1,757 per theater. The movie cost $1.5 million to make and has a lousy 42% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Oblivion" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
shiteater writes:
on April 21st, 2013 at 11:09:01 PM

I liked Oblivion, saw it today.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 21st, 2013 at 11:15:04 PM

Saw it friday. Surprisingly emotional film.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 21st, 2013 at 11:18:34 PM

Saw it yesterday, Meh. Reviews up if you want to read lol
ENFORCER writes:
on April 21st, 2013 at 11:34:54 PM

Are there Scientologists in the film!!! I have not seen it will probably see it on a plane flight in the next week.

Yes I am going on holidays for a month as of next Tuesday!! So I need a few of you to keep up the fight against Bullit / McQueen / McQueer / c*mBATH ....
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2013 at 11:55:49 PM

^^That's like the US military telling the Taliban they'll be gone by 2014.

As for the news, meh. I'm sure it's a fun but unremarkable flick. And good to see Cruise, at his age, can still lead the pack. What a f*cking Hollywood legend.
vincere01 writes:
on April 21st, 2013 at 11:57:59 PM

Saw oblivion. Thought it was one of the better action movies of the year so far. I would definitely recommend if you generally like cruises previous work.

@mink I know in the past you have said you liked krasinskis(spell?)style and direction in tron just not a strong supporting story. Well this has both. I was truly suprised by it actually. Some decent character development. Good smooth paced plot. No real bogdowns. Not a bad performence to be seen. You should def check it out. Highly recommend in theater or good hd pirate otherwise a lot of the great effects will be lost
vincere01 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 12:00:31 AM

Its a nice original idea that's fresh as well. Kind of like district 9 in that way.
minkowski writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 12:08:45 AM

@Vincere: I haven't seen it yet, tbh, I was merely going by the critical consensus that claims Oblivion heavily rips off from half a dozen films, like The Matrix for example. That's what has me put off, the stated lack of originality.

And yes, I did like Tron Legacy, but I was hoping for more from Kosinski, as I had assumed there was a storyteller in him somewhere. Seems he's just a more refined, clever Zack Snyder.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 12:41:16 AM

lol i am just laughing cuz enforcer has decided to call mcqueer c*mBATH forever!
minkowski writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 1:06:54 AM

c*mbath? f*cking sick-ass sh*t, my fellow WP'er.
vincere01 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 1:40:28 AM

@mink there is a single scene where the backdrop is similar to one scene from matrix. But its not in a direct way, and story wise they are very different. I'd compare it to 2 movies shooting scenes with a city background. Ya, they both look like cities, but does not make them the same city. Nor does it mean since one of the movies is a drama that the other must be as well
Ip_man writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 1:41:05 AM

Oblivion...half of the movie cruise travels here and there with him sperm like looking space ship while nothing important actually happens.not a bad movie,just too slow and shallow.
vincere01 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 1:43:11 AM

To explain further would ruin a piece of the story so I won't go more specific. I find some of the naysayer reviews on this particular movie to be more offbase than usual.

While I can't say there arnt any valid critisisms out there I'd say that comparing it to the matrix is very far out there accuracy wise.
vincere01 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 1:45:28 AM

I went in with similar thoughts as you mink. Didnt expect more than a simple distraction movie. It ended up being a suprise for me. Its at least worth a download curiosity lol
RaZoR writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 1:53:32 AM

@vincere and/or lp_man: I read that it takes a lot of ideas from "Moon"... your thoughts?

Also, I gotta ask: does the film have the now traditional scene in which Tom Cruise's character is running toward or away from something, pumping his arms with a determined look on his face?
Ip_man writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 2:56:34 AM

@razor

I rather not comment on 'Moon' cause then I'll spoil you the movie unless you want to be spoiled.

Cruise is trying to establish himself as a serious actor ever since the couch incident at 'Oprah' - not smiling a lot etc. while it worked much better in 'Jack Reacher' here it fails and not so much because of cruise but more because of the weak script.
Donyae 420 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 3:13:46 AM

Nice Matrix Remake,All Three Movie In one.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 3:16:35 AM

c*mBATH is a good eg of Bullit, you can imagine the dirty old c*nt sitting on one, scooping it out by the hand full.

Yes Mink, I am going to your beloved neck of the woods, Heading to USA mainly Californian coast. Should be a nice holiday
vincere01 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 3:31:00 AM

@lp man I can see why someone would draw comparisons with moon. But it would be like saying days of thunder and herbie are alike because they both have racing in it lol

@razor not understanding your qualms with the script. Its every bit as good as district 9 was and that is a universally well thought of movie. To each his own I guess, I just don't see that being the case.
vincere01 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 3:31:57 AM

Sorry 2nd comment from last post was meant for lp as well
vincere01 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 3:34:54 AM

@razor if someone is in an action movie...you would expect them to be "in action" in it wouldn't you? Other wise they wouldn't call it action. Kidding aside, yes he runs in it. Sometimes towards, sometimes away. He falls down, he climbs up, he slides. He flies. He shoots some hoops too. Talks to a fish briefly. But the action stuff one would go into it expecting I'd say
ENFORCER writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 7:18:02 AM

Just watched The Last Stand, was very good!
Fightclub1 writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 9:15:18 AM

I actually really liked oblivion
OneTime writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 1:21:16 AM

moon crossed with independence day
OneTime writes:
on April 24th, 2013 at 1:21:41 AM

predictable

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved