WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Bay Says "Pacific Rim" is NOT a "Transformers" Rip-Off

Posted: April 20th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Bay Says "Pacific Rim" is NOT a "Transformers" Rip-OffSubmit Comment
During CinemaCon, Michael Bay said that he is tired of seeing movies rip-off his "Transformers" franchise. The director previously complained that "Terminator Salvation" was using his giant robots. And while it wasn't clear which movie he was referring to this time, many assumed it had to be Guillermo Del Toro's "Pacific Rim."

As a result, Del Toro fired back: "We are far, far far away from that in a very willing fashion. For good or bad, this is my movie. This is my universe and my creation, and I do not create through comparison. The fights don't occur in well-lit, super cool, car commercial-looking environments. They occur in the middle of a raging sea storm or in a savage snow storm. They happen in a universe that is incredibly saturated."

And now, Bay has updated his website, stating that the entire thing was a misunderstanding and he made sure to clear it up with Del Toro.

"Today, Hollywood Reporter stated that I was in a feud with Guillermo del Toro and his 'Pacific Rim.' Absolutely to the contrary. I was talking about another movie, at another studio that will remain nameless, while I spoke at CinemaCon in Vegas this Monday," Bay wrote. "I love how reporters put false words in people's mouths without doing their proper research. Well cause of that sloppy reporting, I thought Guillermo was mad at me, and he thought I was mad at him. We both exchanged calls today and realized nobody was mad at anybody except we were both mad at that reporter."

If Bay wasn't talking about "Pacific Rim," what movie was he talking about then?

Source: Michael Bay


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 9:46:13 PM

Bay just wants Del Toro to wash his car.
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 9:47:12 PM

He was obviously talking about The Godfather.
Kurskij writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 9:50:29 PM

What's a 'reult'?
Kurskij writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 9:52:13 PM

Spellcheck, no bueno?

No bueno mucho?

Ни разу не заебца?
Kurskij writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 9:55:21 PM

"If Bay wasn't talking about "Pacific Rim," what movie was he talking about then?"

YO MOMMA!
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 10:12:02 PM

Where else can you find soulless, glossy robots? The Fast and Furious films, of course.

And Del Toro sounds like an arrogant, pretentious c*nty little kid.

Shut the f*ck, obese hairball.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 10:24:49 PM

mink u ok
rusty writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 10:32:26 PM

pacific rim is gunna be a great film if not then well its not in my opinion i hope it does well and have better fight scenes than transformers and not to much of that lovey dovey crap oh yea and i heard oblivion did well and every body was thinking negative on that movie
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 10:35:21 PM

@Deaft0ne: I'm peachy keen, nigga!
boogiel writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 10:56:37 PM

Bay must be in his own world to think someone is copying him.
Man in Black writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 11:10:26 PM

Transmorphers then ?
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 11:16:56 PM

Robotocalypse? I can't think of any other movie coming out soon with a ridiculous amount fo giant robots.
NeilMcCauley writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 11:27:02 PM

Real steel?
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 11:34:11 PM

I'm just waiting on michael bay to complain that Pain and gain is a rip off of Bad boys.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 19th, 2013 at 11:46:58 PM

f*ck off Bay!!
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 12:27:17 AM

Breaking: Schindler's List is now officially a ripoff of Inglorious Basterds.
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 12:29:00 AM

Watership Down is a ripoff of Battleship.
Average_Guy writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 12:38:34 AM

Yes, it's true Memo and I made up. We talked, we buried the hatchet, and I told him the story of how I made Megan Fox wash my toilet in edible panties to get the TMNT gig. He's a total bro. We're meeting at Golden Coral tomorrow!
Donyae 420 writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 12:53:03 AM

@Mink...LMFAO!!!
vincere01 writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 1:05:49 AM

Isn't it obvious what movies bay was talking about ripping off transformers? Well it was transformers 2 and 3!

They quoted bay himself saying " I don't know who the f*ck they got to dress up like me, talk like me, and be an idiot like me. But that was NOT me. And he ripped me off. Sooooooo peeved at that guy, you have NO IDEA!". end quote
vincere01 writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 1:08:07 AM

After leaving the room briefly, then returning all confused bay went off again. " was that f*cker just here!, goddamn it his farts even smeel like mine! That sick f*ck"
TMD writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 1:37:40 AM

Real Steel?
j-man writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 2:13:07 AM

Isnt Voltron in production?
pornfly writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 2:29:26 AM

Didnt MINKOWSKI already expain twice to my knowledge that Bay has a hard-on for James Cameron?
FBO writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 2:31:02 AM

This just in, Pain and Gain is a rip off of Bad Boys!!!
Ip_man writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 2:45:15 AM

It's a RIM OFF
rocketman writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 5:30:59 AM

Battleship or the ending of the Avengers?
ENFORCER writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 7:06:24 AM

This is very petty crap. All movies that are action orientated have similar things, who gives a sh*t.
UweBoll writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 7:11:45 AM

Definitely 'Real Steel'
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 10:05:54 AM

"This just in, Pain and Gain is a rip off of Bad Boys!!!"

Nice one, haven't heard that one before. Oh wait, yes I have, from me.

minkowski writes:
on April 20th, 2013 at 3:46:36 PM

^^You can't patent the truth, BlackDynamite, even if you discovered it.

Sorry, bud.
Dre-EL writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 3:43:04 PM

Transmorfers

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved