WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Exorcist" Director Says All "The Exorcist" Sequels and Remakes are Unwatchable

Posted: April 16th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Exorcist" Director Says All "The Exorcist" Sequels and Remakes are UnwatchableSubmit Comment
The Huffington Post caught up with "The Exorcist" director William Friedkin to get his thoughts on the franchise, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary, and the many "The Exorcist" sequels and remakes.

"What tends to happen is all these sequels and rip-offs just diminish the value of the original. And that's happened to 'The Exorcist,'" he said. "There isn't one sequel to "The Exorcist" that's worth a bucket of warm spit. 'The Exorcist 2' is one of the worst films I've ever seen. It's terrible. I find it worse than terrible; I find it disgusting."

Many agree that "The Exorcist II" wasn't a good movie. But what about the third film? It was directed by William Peter Blatty, who wrote "The Exorcist" novel, and received far better reviews.

"I love Blatty, and I owe a great deal to Blatty. But to me all the sequels are unwatchable," said Friedkin. "I had nothing to do with them. If I had, I would be ashamed."

Source: Huffington Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
JonDrama writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 7:42:31 AM

I've always found the third film to be more effective/disturbing than the first
Ip_man writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 7:53:53 AM

they all suck,including the first.
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 8:12:58 AM

It's terrible. I find it worse than terrible; I find it disgusting."

I thought he was talking about when Linda Blair was f*cking Rick James
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 8:17:18 AM

That face shocked me at first.

The first movie was incredibly boring. Definitely doesn't deserve the "scariest movie ever" title it often gets. I will give it props on its impressive effects.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 8:37:49 AM

I can honestly say although it is a good movie, I watched it when I was about 13 and didn't find it at all scary, A good flick, But nowhere near as scary as I was led onto believe.

And what Remake? It's never been remade lol.. Only "ripped off" and even that's kinda bullsh*t, So what? The Exorcist Is such an amazing title that nobody can make a movie about Exorcisms without it being called a ripoff...
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 8:44:51 AM

There is no such thing as a 'scary movie' when youre a grown adult
Its all been done to death
But when this movie came out,there was nothing like it before.
Just like the witches from Disneys Snow White and Wizard of Oz scared the piss outta folks.
Even Gremlins was the named scariest movie of the year when it first came out.
Attendance for Aliens surged after a woman went into labor during one showing

But i guarantee you that if you show The Exorcist to a toddler, that kid will be walkin around with a crucifix in broad daylight like me after watchin Salem's Lot
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 8:46:26 AM

^edit
...like me after i saw Salem's Lot for the first time as a kid
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 8:50:44 AM

Lmao Gremlins.. Man I gotta watch that again, It's been too long..
GreenLensman writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 10:03:12 AM

The Exorcist" Director Says All "The Exorcist" Sequels and Remakes are Unwatchable

yea we know
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 10:08:40 AM

The first film was about as disturbing as The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 4.

It was a giant piece of sh*t.
Kurskij writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 11:27:16 AM

Looking forward for bluray release of "Sorcerer". Now that's a top movie.

Kurskij writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 11:31:43 AM

@tanman

I honestly admire your enthusiasm about all things cinema and not sure if it was asked before, but is there a movie you don't like? Save for Friedman/Seltzer flicks and other obvious bullsh*t?

Like you didn't like "Antichrist" because it was pretentious and pointless or you didn't like "Eyes Wide Shut" because it wasn't Kubrick enough or you didn't like "Bad Boys 2" because it was the beginning of Bays descent into action overload and 150 min. long action borefests?

Just throwing in some examples.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 1:34:10 PM

Hmm.. I didn't like Die hard 5, Because it was just a f*cking trashy film. You don't f*ck up a 5th movie in a huge franchise, you just don't.

I didn't like George a Romeos Diary of the dead and Survival of the dead. Those should forever be dismissed from his films, what the f*ck was he thinking when he made those. Hes a master in film, but those just sucked.

Just some examples
Kurskij writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 2:38:13 PM

Well, that's something, thx.

Yet to see Die Hard 5 I know that Moore is fairly competent with visuals, but he gets so overwhelmed with them he can't direct a story for sh*t.

Or, most likely, he's just Fox's courtier craftsman and no one gives a f*ck about his ideas beyond staging action (based on his Die Hard interviews - it's just that).

Btw I didn't mind... Was it Diary of the Dead? The one with Hopper and black alpha-zombie? I though it had some nice touches of visual direction (like implying that zombies still remember routine of their past lives solely through visuals). Otherwise - Cheesy as f*ck though.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 3:15:58 PM

No no That's Land of the Dead, Diary of the dead is a handheld camera experience. Honestly.. Hand f*cking held zombie story.

f*ck off lol
Kurskij writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 3:36:27 PM

^
Ah, I remember that one. Looked too cheap and uninspired, didn't give it a chance thus far.

The only doc-style movie I liked in recent memory was End of Watch. Flawed but raw and engaging. Another Solid movie from Ayer.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 3:56:53 PM

Yea man lol End of watch was sick, Curretly waiting for '42' to start lol
KillerCOck writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 5:27:26 PM

The third one is the best. The first is just a f*ckin misunderstood comedy, its hilarious.
pornfly writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 5:37:25 PM

YOUR MOTHER SEWS SOX IN HELL
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 6:57:58 PM

Wait a minute! That's not the line, silly goose!
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 7:20:33 PM

@Tanman

You gave A Good Day To Die Hard a positive review on your reviews page. I personally hated the movie because it could have been any other generic action turd.

End of Watch was a very solid film after the lame snoozefest that Harsh Times was.

Regarding The Exorcist, it is an impressive technical work because most of the exorcism scene was done in one take. All the things happening were mostly live and timed visual effects. Very impressive feat for the time.

Also The Exorcist III is a decent film. Friedkin is one to talk sh*t when his only really good movies are The French Connection, The Exorcist and To Live And Die In L.A.
minkowski writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 8:16:53 PM

The first one is tame American "horror" garbage. The rest didn't improve on the first. Nuff said.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 16th, 2013 at 10:24:24 PM

I gave it an 'ok' review out of spite because its apart of my favorite movie franchise. But in reality it had no comparison to the rest.. It would have been an alright stand alone action flick, But as a member of the Die hard films. It just f*cking sucked lol.. And I hate to say that..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved