WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Review for "Oldboy" Remake Arrives Online

Posted: April 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Review for "Oldboy" Remake Arrives OnlineSubmit Comment
Even though the upcoming "Oldboy" remake, directed by big-time *sshole Spike Lee, won't hit theaters until October 11th, test screenings of an unfinished version have already started. And now, JoBlo's trusted source has provided some of the details of the new films, including how it differs from the original.

MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD:

Josh Brolin's Performance: You feel for him, you root for him, but that does not make him a good guy. That way, when he gets abducted and imprisoned, you say to yourself, '[he] deserves it.' This version follows Joe (Brolin) a little more closely during his captivity (which is for twenty years, rather than the original's fifteen). Brolin is at his best here as your heart breaks for him and you want desperately for his mental torture and anguish to be over.

Changes: There are only minor changes, with stuff like the prison sequence being longer and some tweaks to the ending. Itís not shot-for-shot by any means. You should definitely expect things to be different and to cringe all over again.

Violence: This is going to be rated R. Much like the original, acts two and three are very sadistic and "wrong." The violence hasn't been downplayed even a little bit as it's just as sick and twisted as the original. If I had to summarize the violence in three words, they would bloody, gratuitous and hammer.

Hallway Fight: While they are basically the same across both versions, they do have some similarities. Rather than a fight down a long hallway, Joe (Brolin) is tasked with fighting guys down hallways across three floors. Some people in the screening found issue with this, but personally, I loved it. It was ridiculous and over the top in all the best ways.

The Ending: The ending is even more incestuous than the original. The "big twist?" Still in there as is. However, the villain's character... let's just say the best thing about incest is that it's the game the whole family can play! The last few minutes differ greatly from the Korean film in a way that I feel fits this version very well. It almost makes more sense than the original's ending.

The person concluded by saying that the version of the film he saw was slightly over two hours and didn't have a title. He ended up giving it an 8/10.

Source: JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 9:05:48 AM

Even though spike lee is a total piece of sh*t it sounds like he used the original film as a template and maybe didn't f*ck it up. I will at least download this illegally.
pornfly writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 9:20:35 AM

I liked his doc*mentary on the making of Michael Jacksons Bad cd

Wondering how hardcore the sex scene will be in this version
KillerCOck writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 9:43:31 AM

Long live Spike Lee.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 9:53:54 AM

I had a problem with Josh Brolin playing this role, but if you imagine him as Tommy lee Jones after 20 years, every thing fits together like balls on the forehead of Amanda Bynes.

Sounds like this movie has been very Americanized which will probably make the main character a little more of a bad ass. That's not always the case, but surviving through 3 floors of people is pretty bad ass. Compared to the original.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 10:06:50 AM

I'll hold judgement till I see it.

"Incest, its a game the whole family can play."

My new pick up line for family reunions.
Ip_man writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 10:22:01 AM

Josh Brolin is one of the best actors in Hollywood today so I won't trash this movie till i see it - even thought it's directed by boring spike lee.
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 3:13:40 PM

oh look another black movie guy.he don't sound canadian but could be TRIGGAX:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jI603hvHtp8

and for this movie I forgot it even came out.Check out the Longest Nite instead.
pornfly writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 4:29:58 PM

Not till october,bud^
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 6:25:25 PM

What's Bando talking about? A black guy into reviewing movies? That's a bad thing?! Maybe he should be out jacking cars and selling dope, huh? Dear god.

Anyway, like I care. Not watching anything Spike Lee made. Not one dime of my money is going towards an *sshole who deliberately tries to exact mob violence on people. I'll never pay to watch anything he makes, ever, and if anyone had a flip of principle, like people USED to have, they'd do the same.



Real movie news:

Repo Man director making new sci-fi comedy via Kickstarter:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/alexcoxfilms/alex-cox-directs-bill-the-galactic-hero
bandolero999 writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 6:48:26 PM

and dont forget pimping young white girs.and making rap albums
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 10:48:10 PM

I want whatever drugs he's taking.
"Slightly over 2 hours and didn't have a title"
Who's your dealer, man?! Tim Burton?
Rocksteddy writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 12:19:15 AM

@bando - I review films and pimp young girls straight after.
My new album, Lil Hood 'Steddy presents Hood-ass Nigga Rap from the Ghetto, will be out on 4.30
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 12:51:20 AM

His face is Square, It needs to be altered !
bandolero999 writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:13:21 AM

nice
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 3:23:47 AM

and every day is a good day to die you f*cker, die motherf*cker, BYE BYE!
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 4:34:31 AM

Don't you love weekends? no McQueer. You see his net cafe is obviously closed on Weekends :) marvellous time
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 4:52:27 AM

I won't say anything bad about Bullitt. Too many people here revere him.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 4:59:12 AM

^^ Yes I know suckling to them for the essence of life!

But more fool them for supporting this creature of attention.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:03:09 AM

They have some strange loyalty to the guy. Dunno why. Guess if I could explain their attraction for Bullitt I could explain why North Koreans worship the guy directly responsible for their own starvation.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:13:03 AM

Ahh yes, It is clearly a thing for fat c*nts who don't get real sex!
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:16:13 AM

His Entourage might need a good firm punch in the jaw. I believe people who respond to McQueer are blinded by his leach like attitude of sucking on to them and acting the poor innocent troll. They see me as the bad guy, simply because they are f*cking sheep!
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:27:39 AM

Didn't use to be that way. Comments used to be more distributed. Balanced. Now...everyone is looking for a center. Now...everyone wants a ringleader. WorstPreviews has come to look more like some banana republic cult of personality than a movie website.

And Herr Bullitt doesn't even know sh*t about movies. On any other site the members would ignore him, but not here. Here...acting like a deluded carnival barker gets you attention, and people like him want nothing else.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:29:43 AM

Possibly a chubby gay thing. Unsure, but it is NOT WANTED by real movie fans!
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:35:02 AM

42 makes 27 million. Scary Movie 5 bombs *hard*:

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/first-box-office-42-overperforming-scary-movie-5-223051684.html

So I was a little wrong. lol. 42 made some money, more than I thought but so far not nearly a strong enough initial showing to make what other people thought it would make, plus the predominate audience is, was well over 25, just as I and other people predicted.

minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:36:33 AM

Bullitt's a f*cking psycho. A liar. A sociopath. A lunatic who thinks he's Steve McQueen. It's all either a really terrible act, or "Michael" is a dangerous individual in need of immediate psychotherapy.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 6:34:14 AM

I have not seen much of Ranger lately, Odd from such a passionate user to an occasional post. Possibly some of your theories could be true Mink!!!
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 7:18:47 AM

minkowski writes:

on April 14th, 2013 at 5:36:33 AM

Bullitt's a f*cking psycho. A liar. A sociopath. A lunatic who thinks he's Steve McQueen. It's all either a really terrible act, or "Michael" is a dangerous individual in need of immediate psychotherapy."

Funny, that's exactly what I think about you and the best example is your sudden change of mood from one day to another.

And yet guess who's talking about me? You & your bitch! Get a life Mink. But wait: many people have told you that umpteenth times over the last 4 years and here you are living your only life on WP. You've got nothing else better to do than to bitch about me and others.

And FYI, I do know about movies it's just that I don't feel the necessity to write an essay on every single thread multiple times like you do.

Also, I have the courtesy and the decency not to mention you or insult you for no apparent reason like you do. At times, when you're on your proper meds we could have a normal conversation but encouraging JB to troll is an insult to your intelligence, quite unworthy on your behalf.

Now, if you don't mind let's keep this on a good level, shall we? IF not You're the one who's asking to maintain this useless feud. It's up to you really.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:34:51 PM

^^ All we want is for you to f*ck off and die! Is That TOO much to ask McQueer?
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:48:52 PM

I find it very amusing people such as Bullitt bitch about me being here all the time, saying I have no life, but they never said the same for Ranger when he was here 24 f*cking hours a day telling one stupid joke after another.

Just like when Ranger made several jokes about raping children. People, Bullitt among them, laughed, but when I said it, there was an uproar. Or when I made a Holocaust joke, much to my chagrin, several members had nasty replies, but none were given to Ranger.

People and their lack of principles make me absolutely sick. f*ck them and what they "think".
ENFORCER writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 3:05:42 PM

This is Bullit is a boring version of Ranger, he lacks dignity, compassion or loyalty. He is sucking to you now as he knows he can't win with you, yet he degrades me the c*nt.

f*ck you Bullit this Feud ends when YOU leave.
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 3:40:55 PM

"Just like when Ranger made several jokes about raping children. People, Bullitt among them, laughed,"

You're referring to Plasticman's daughter and No I did NOT laugh about it but this is what you do best is to twist every imaginable context.

I'm the one who's being polite and all you can do is to be deviant again.

You're the one who keeps bitching about me, Not me and I find it very bizarre that you and your little bitch has developed such an obsession with me.

Read this carefully: I will Never leave this site just because I don't want to give you that satisfaction. I'd never thought you'd be that thick!

Now I'm done with you! Keep barking like a mad dog as I just don't give a sh*t. You can take my word for it.

And go f*ck yourself you crazy boring fat bastard!
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 3:51:03 PM

Don't trust him, Enforcer. He's a snake. If everything went back to the way it was, he would go back to doing what he did previously. And if he ever surrounded himself with the Gang of Ten again, he'd be more than certain to exact a heavy revenge.

"I don't feel the necessity to write an essay on every single thread multiple times like you do."

A deliberately false and exaggerated portrayal. Bullitt. I don't post an "essay" multiple times on every thread. And you don't post an "essay" on any thread. You don't post anything but Twitter-like drivel.

I just wish you would admit it. I wish you would just admit that you only came here to be part of the Gang of Ten. To be part of the Breakfast Club. To hear people say Bullitt the way they said Ranger.

So I'll say it again: this is a MOVIE WEBSITE. It's not a country club for gay male cheerleaders demanding attention like little lost girls with massive daddy issues. PRETEND you're a man for once in your life, if you can.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 4:01:20 PM

"No I did NOT laugh about it"

Yes, yes you did Bullitt. You DID laugh. In fact we had a very contrite discussion over why you thought what Ranger said was acceptable and why what I said was not. And if I have to, I'll dig up the f*cking post just to show you you're a liar yet again. Not that I really care. Not that it's about this or that, but I'll be goddamned if I put up with your kowtow groveling and selective principles.



"I will Never leave this site just because I don't want to give you that satisfaction."

I don't want you to leave Bullitt. That's Enforcer's attitude. He wants you to leave, not me. I want you to STAY. :D


"Not me and I find it very bizarre that you and your little bitch has developed such an obsession with me."

I don't have an obsession with you, nutjob. I just never liked you and never will. Now Enforcer, he's hated you for a while, for whatever reason, and that's something him and I have in common.
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 4:16:06 PM

All right Mink, let's take this rationally and most of all in an Honest manner.

"He's a snake."

False! I'm a very honest man since I always say what I think good or bad I'll say it to anyone.

"he'd be more than certain to exact a heavy revenge."

I never took a revenge on anyone except for that ignorant JB, what a creepy he is.


" I don't post an "essay" multiple times on every thread. And you don't post an "essay" on any thread. You don't post anything but Twitter-like drivel."

True but you do write very, very long posts most of the time.
I wish I could have the time to express everything I know about some thread and subjects but my work and my daily life doesn't offer me that chance. Like most people here, I make my comments short. Call them Twitter-like if you want but most of us are.

"I wish you would just admit that you only came here to be part of the Gang of Ten. To be part of the Breakfast Club. To hear people say Bullitt the way they said Ranger."

The BEST proof is that the Gang you mention are mostly gone! I'm the only one who remained here. And please stop making this ridiculous association with me and Ranger! Do you see me talking about him or referring to him? Quite obviously No! So I can't admit something that doesn't exist.

You clearly don't pay attention: I Never comment on every thread. I'm only saying something that it's relevant to me or something that I know about the bloody thread/subject/question/ideas. That's it, nothing else.

And why the f*ck would I want some attention? What for? On movie site? Please, I have everything next to me. Evan at work for that matter.

M. Bullitt writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 4:23:07 PM

Another sign of your bright intelligence: hating someone on the internet that you don't even know Personally!

And you hate me for what again?
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:17:31 PM

I don't hate you Bullitt. Pity, yes. But hate? No.


"False! I'm a very honest man since I always say what I think good or bad I'll say it to anyone."

lol! No, no, we know that's not true. You're a suck-up. You suck up to the members of the Gang of Ten, to Ranger and others, but honesty? Never. You even lie about yourself repeatedly just to amplify your illusion of self-worth among a bunch of people you don't know, but then say I'm the one worried about what goes on here.

You see, all I want to do, all I ever wanted to do, is, was talk about movies. You and Ranger and the rest wanted to tell stupid jokes and talk about your selves, and you did so, for years!


"I never took a revenge on anyone except for that ignorant JB, what a creepy he is."

Sure you did. You never forgot the thrashing I gave you for your hypocritical religious views or that nonsense over Kennedy's assassination, and you never let it escape any of your subsequent posts.


"Like most people here, I make my comments short. Call them Twitter-like if you want but most of us are."

lol! Again. Please,. It takes me ten seconds to toss out a paragraph. You don't have ten seconds? Sure you do. But you don't WANT to, and then sell off your stupidity, venality and mindlessness as if it's equivalent to the virtue of you having a life, as if to say, look, I'm too BUSY to post a meaningful comment.

And yet, you never applied that sh*t to yourself when you were here every day all day, or to Ranger and Trailer and Pornfly, right? But I guess that's your "honesty" in action, right?


"The BEST proof is that the Gang you mention are mostly gone!"

I know. I too heard Kurskij's sorrowful lament.
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:41:49 PM

Mink

You seem to have more issues with Ranger than with me.

Kennedy assassination? Really? So you're like W. Bush, if we or I'm not on the same side as you than you consider it as against you. FYI, everybody is entitled to their opinions.

"your hypocritical religious views"

You obviously still hold a grudge on me as I have no idea what you're talking about. I only mentioned it a YEAR ago. Never since.

It's already too late for me as I've got to get up early so I make it short but whatever Mink, you have all the right reasons that makes you the real hero of WP. I'll give you that and I don't care either. I wish I could type as fast as you but arguing with you is absolutely pointless because at the end your trade mark is to have the last word and I'll give you that too, you win and I give up.


Be happy and stop bitching about me.

ps: why do you hate me again?
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 6:12:29 PM

I don't hate you, Bullitt. I don't hate anyone. I just want you to either contribute to the movie discussion or leave it alone.



"you have all the right reasons that makes you the real hero of WP"

lol. Good one. Trying to goad Enforcer into the conversation? Or are you Enforcer?

Christ. Enough. I'm done with this conversation.
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 8:03:57 PM

Men In Black 3, in all of its faults, made me like Josh Brolin, even like him enough to download Gangster Squad.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 15th, 2013 at 1:23:27 AM

"lol. Good one. Trying to goad Enforcer into the conversation? Or are you Enforcer?"

Mink I would rather have Aids than be that c*nt.

ENFORCER writes:
on April 22nd, 2013 at 6:32:17 PM

BULLIT IS GAY

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved