WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's "Cujo" Remake to Begin Filming This Year

Posted: April 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Back in 1983, Sunn Classic Pictures produced and distributed the original "Cujo" film, which is based on a novel by Stephen King. And now, the company has announced that it's planning to remake the movie and begin filming sometime this year.

"Sunn plans to produce the remake of 'Cujo' this year, representing the 30th Anniversary since Sunn produced and distributed the original 'Cujo,'" said the company. "The 1983 version was highly successful at the worldwide box-office and, compared with today's inflation and higher ticket prices, the box-office would be well over $225 million even without ancillary sales (DVD, cable, free television, pay-per-view, etc.)."

"Cujo" is the story of a large, playful dog that is transformed into a hideous killing machine after being infected by rabies.

Sunn also released a sales video that's meant to attract investors and potential distributors. Check it out below.

Video:


Source: DreadCentral


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 8:58:36 AM

Danny Trejo as Cujo.

*I love sh*ttin on Trejo. He really does have an all-purpose ugly, beastly face.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 9:01:35 AM

@cress

lol yeah they should just put some sh*tty 1930s era cowardly lion makeup on Trejo and shoot this with a cell phone and call it a day.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 9:02:45 AM

On that note I think I will watch MACHETE
pornfly writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 9:25:36 AM

*BORING*
with the advancements in science since the early 90s , a remake of Mans Best Friend would be more lucrative and make more sense.
This is Just another drink from the Stephen King well
boogiel writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 9:29:07 AM

So, I assume the dog's breed would be...pommeranian or chihuahua?
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 10:12:07 AM

Still waiting for the big budget IT remake.
Ip_man writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 10:22:46 AM

Langoliers remake or f*ck off.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 10:32:08 AM

CGI Cujo. Great.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 11:36:08 AM

Would prefer remakes movie quality of The Stand or It.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 11:49:11 AM

If they haven't started shooting yet it won't be coming in 2013.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 12:05:25 PM

Ipman, YES! I swear I'm one of very few people who have Watched and loved the Langoliers lol

Although I couldn't see this working out.. Like its an alright story, and they did an alright job for the big screen, But something just makes me think this won't be profitable..
coldplayesence writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 1:51:24 PM

The Langoliers has a great premise, in the right cheese-less hands it could be great.
pornfly writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 4:32:38 PM

Ipman, YES! I swear I'm one of very few people who have Watched and loved the ______________
Ip_man writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 4:32:49 PM

@tanman

it can work and even much better then the original which suffered from poor special effects and some weak acting though Dean Stockwell stole every scene he was in,David Morse was great as well.
with today's advance in CGI use it shouldn't cost a lot of money to remake it - just a good casting (please find some better child then that horrible actress from the original)and a good director.
The original was epic.I love that kind of mystery stories - that's why I loved 'Lost' at least till the last crappy season.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 6:29:02 PM

Cool. Maybe they'll remake Pet Semetary next, because I can never get enough of crass remakes of old, average Stephen King movies.

I mean, just think: otherwise we wouhorrible ld have to suffer a great remake of IT, or The Stand, or a film adaptation of From a Buick 8. And who might they bring in to direct? That hack Frank Darabont? NOOOOO! I want Tobe Hooper doing all MY King remakes!

f*ck you, Hollywood. f*ck you straight to hell.
minkowski writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 6:32:48 PM

*sigh* f*cking c*cksucking trackpad.

Otherwise we would have to suffer...horrible hack.

I f*cking despise laptops and tablet computers.
Champ1432 writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 7:04:32 PM

All the Stephen King stories they could remake, and they choose this one? Definitely wouldn't be my first choice. Are that many people going to be interested in a story about an angry dog?

Then again, what am I saying? It's not like all the other King movies won't be remade as well within the next decade, some maybe twice. Thank you, Hollywood.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 10:32:42 PM

Yea man, It was a neat flick.. Ever seen Rose Red or Storm of the century? Lol Those are some alright lower budget ones..
Zeroguy writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 11:01:16 PM

@mink

I love most King films. They're awful but I enjoy the b-movie feel (I like Salem's Lot and Dreamcatcher).
So I'm game for King remakes. EXCEPT Carrie. The de Palma one is great. This upcoming one looks awful (considering Chloe doesn't look like an outcast - Sissy WAS an outcast).
Avirex writes:
on April 13th, 2013 at 11:48:35 PM

GREAT. Now they'll use a pitbull to further fuel the irrational stance people have against them.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 12:32:49 AM

@zeroguy: yeah I hear ya, but unless they remake all the sh*tty Stephen King movies into GOOD flicks, they just need to leave it all alone and go make some good adaptations of the films I mentioned. IT is at the top of my list.

And leave The Running Man alone, f*ckers!
cress writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 12:46:05 AM

@Mink. Way off-topic, but you should check out the first two episodes for HANNIBAL. It mainly focuses on the Will Graham character. I thought it was going to be a hackneyed, run-of-the-mill schlock, but I found it to be quite good.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 12:49:28 AM

"Now they'll use a pitbull to further fuel the irrational stance people have against them"



I'm sure anyone's hatred of Pittbull is well justified, Avirex.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 12:56:29 AM

Guys I've seen EVERY Stephen King film Adaption (Expet for Doloras Claiborne) and Honestly, The Shinning is the best. There's no doubt at all, It's not even a discussion lol
cress writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:02:46 AM

I agree with Tanman. THE SHINING is my favorite King adaptation, even though it, to my understanding, veered away from King significantly.

DREAMCATCHER has to be one of the worst films ever.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:08:12 AM

@Cress: haven't seen Hannibal. Heard it was just a remake of Red Dragon. I'll tell you though, they hired the right guy for Lecter; Mikkelsen has the look. Should have gone with with someone else for the lead though because I don't see that lightweight Dancy carrying the series. Petersen could have done it, in another life.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:09:06 AM

Tanman is smoking the sh*t.

Shawshank is the best King adaptation, hands down.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:13:56 AM

"DREAMCATCHER has to be one of the worst films ever."

The book is no prize, either.

Needful Things needs a proper cinematic adaptation, because Leland Gaunt is pure malevolence.
cress writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:16:12 AM

The Will Graham character and Dancy's portrayal are what have me hooked. As long as you're not a slave to MANHUNTER or William Peterson's take on Graham, this should work for you. The interplay between Mikkelson and Dancy is interesting; the production design and direction are very good as well. It's the most interesting show I've seen in quite some time.
cress writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:18:17 AM

Forgot about SHAWSHANK. THE SHINING is the best King horror adaptation imo. But SHAWSHANK takes the best film prize.
cress writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:21:57 AM

Anyone think INSOMNIA has film potential? I always pictured Robert Duvall in the title role, but that was 20 years ago. He couldn't do it now.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:27:14 AM

I thought Micheal Mann movie Insomnia was based on the Stephen King film...that was years ago. Know better now, but it still trips me up.

As for the book, f*ck no. One of his worst books.

Adapt From a Buick 8, bitches!

And Hearts of Atlantis was decent, but entirely forgettable. Anthony Hopkins was totally wasted in that film.
cress writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:32:12 AM

I always liked the aspect of the title character being able to perceive other dimensions and beings. A straight adaptation wouldn't work. A lot of the mythology/Dark Tower jargon would need to be left out in order to make it work as a film. But if they kept the skeleton of it--man with insomnia begins to see into other dimensions and those that are up to no good--it could work.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:46:41 AM

Yeah, it could work, Cress. Like 1408.

Ha!
Avirex writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:52:01 AM

"I'm sure anyone's hatred of Pittbull is well justified, Avirex."

Well done.
cress writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:57:20 AM

@Mink. Touche.
RaZoR writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:04:27 AM

Minkowski, you had suggested James Wan as a possible director for IT, but he'd be just about perfect for "From a Buick 8". He'd surely be able to do a good job with it while completing it for less than $20 million (sh*t, according to Wikipedia, Insidious had a budget of only $1.5 million). And then, follow the Evil Dead remake model: release it in March or April just before the summer blockbusters roll in, promote the hell out of it while emphasizing Stephen King's name being attached to it (just like Sam Raimi's name was promoted for Evil Dead), and it has a real chance of being a hit. Hell, Wan himself has become a pretty decent name brand in his own right; that would also help with the box office take.
RaZoR writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:07:14 AM

IIRC, there's nothing in "From a Buick 8" that should drive the budget over $20 million.
RaZoR writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:10:52 AM

f*ck, who are we kidding? They'll just remake Christine.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:16:20 AM

And I'll f*cking kill them, too!
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:20:25 AM

@Razor: From a Buick 8 has been in development hell for years now. They don't WANT to make it. It's not "economically viable" and teenagers don't want to see it. No gory murders, not really unless you count Curtis Wilcox's roadside death, no Eli Roth decapitations, no sex (big mistake!) and most of the cast would be played by adults. Oh noes!
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:22:12 AM

@Avirex: who doesn't hate that ugly little taco-eating f*cker? Seriously? He's the Latino Kanye West.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:29:37 AM

"IIRC, there's nothing in "From a Buick 8" that should drive the budget over $20 million."

Look man, in all honesty, maybe 200k for the CG. Use some practical effects. George Lucas simulated an entire universe using Styrofoam and crayons, I think they could do an alien, a big fish, a thumb-bat and some clips of a primeval world without hitting Dark of the Moon
s budget. Hire some hungry actors. On set location in Pennsylvania. Get a tax credit. Boom. Might not be the best movie ever made, but it would be faithful to material and wouldn't cost sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:30:40 AM

the
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 4:58:21 AM

@cress

Insomnia has to be a miniseries of at least 6 hours to give justice. The last time he is on the bench is 2 hours easily.
minkowski writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 5:34:16 AM

42 makes 27 million. Scary Movie 5 bombs *hard*:

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/first-box-office-42-overperforming-scary-movie-5-223051684.html

So I was a little wrong. lol. 42 made some money, more than I thought but so far not nearly a strong enough initial showing to make what other people thought it would make, plus the predominate audience is, was well over 25, just as I and other people predicted.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 1:55:24 PM

Exactly cress! Lol And mink Shawshank is an easy second for me lol

Christine sucked, The mist was awesome, Cats eye was dumb, Didn't care for Salems lot, Liked dream catcher, Pet Cemetary was good but the sequel sucked, Sometimes they come back was just f*cking dumb, IT was great, That one with Johnny Depp was alright lol

So many f*cking adaptions!
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 2:37:15 PM

I'd like for Someone to make a film adaption of 'The Talisman' already, That story sounds amazing. And the next Stephen king FILM is 'a good marriage' which is near complete last time I checked, I've got the story and will read before the films out, It's only like 80 pages lol

And the next TV series is going to Under The Doom which is set to have its premier In what? A month? Lol Can't wait.
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 14th, 2013 at 8:05:09 PM

Bet yall 20 cents in the remake Cujo turns into a gamma dog from Hulk.
seveltoto writes:
on October 25th, 2017 at 2:26:47 AM

aleale writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 11:30:07 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 2:55:33 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 15th, 2017 at 2:51:19 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved