WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Iron Man 3" on Track for Massive Opening Weekend

Posted: April 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Iron Man 3" on Track for Massive Opening WeekendSubmit Comment
We're only three weeks before Marvel kicks-off the second phase of its cinematic universe with "Iron Man 3." Experts have been following tracking numbers very closely and have now released their predictions.

According to the reports, total awareness is over 90% among people that were surveyed. And 67% of them have strong interest in seeing the film. That's actually higher than even "The Avengers," which went on to open to $207 million during its first weekend.

"Iron Man 3" also has incredibly strong numbers with women and Hispanic movie-goers. Plus, the first trailer for the film received 35 million global views in just 24 hours, which is a good indication of interest.

So what do these experts believe "Iron Man 3" will gross during its opening weekend? They believe it will bring in over $125 million, which is around what "Iron Man 2" grossed ($128 million) back in 2010. The only difference is that "Iron Man 3" will likely have exceptionally strong numbers overseas, due to its massive international marketing campaign.

Click here to read more about "Iron Man 3."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 9:43:01 PM

This will definitely be the biggest movie of the summer, Man of Steel will probably be 2nd biggest, Star Trek coming in 3rd.
cress writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 10:02:51 PM

I don't know. IRON MAN 2 fell off fairly fast at the box office after poor word of mouth. If Shane Black can't deliver, it might not make $300 million at domestic b.o. My money is on STAR TREK, which should be the first TREK film to clear $300 million. If MAN OF STEEL delivers, and has legs, it might clear $300 mil.
cress writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 10:16:41 PM

IRON MAN 2 made $312 million domestically. This will clear more, but not much more imo. I'm still not sold on everything I've seen in trailers and press releases.
boogiel writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 10:58:42 PM

As much as I hated to admit it, this movie is gonna break a billion.

BadChadB33 writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 11:16:42 PM

Cress- im in the same boat as you. In just hope this summer isn't the letdown last summer was.
cress writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 11:38:32 PM

Yeah, BadChad, I'm just burnt out on Marvel supwerheroes in theatres every year. Especially since AVENGERS. I mean, f*ck, we just had a big Marvel comic-book orgy last year and now I'm supposed to get excited for another film. Already? These films have lost their "event" status for me, and that's due to the yearly releases. I liked the first IRON MAN and AVENGERS, but wish they would take a couple of years between releases.
Kurskij writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 11:48:40 PM

$125? Try $140+..

But it'll fall like a stone unless its really great. And yeah, Star Trek looks like a monster so far.

GreenLensman writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 12:25:25 AM

guys, actors age just like we do, EVERY YEAR!! imagine that....just think 20 years from now....TWENTY YEARS!!! how old will you be? 40? 50? 60? 70??????? jesus, these movies will be a BLESSING to you when you old as val kilmers career....just be happy you LIVE in this god damn day instead of 1240 where you are burned at the stake for mentioning revolution.
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 1:38:38 AM

I agree that IM3 will make more than IM2. Almost a no brainer considering IM3 will open in my markets. Plus its got the avengers aspect going for it as far as awareness.

However I believe Man of Steel will be the summer winner here. Strong preview buzz and response so far to trailers. Its being marketed extremely well. Plus its got the "new IT thing" vibe in the comic book movie realm going for it.

They will both have huge openings. Both will be well reviewed. If that ends up being the case however I will take the worldwide awareness and popularity of the ORIGINAL superhero over the relativly new IM in comparison to superman.

Besides, IM2 came no where near competing with TDK at the box office. If I remember correctly RDJ was quite a sorry sport about it too. Acted like a little baby when TDK came and blew away all the fanfare and buzz his movie made.

I mention all that because batman is very popular yes, and damn near as known, celebrated, debated, and popular as superman. But superman still trumps him worldwide(even though I myself still prefer batman). And if batman easily trounced IM than superman will do even better.

Granted TDK series was well reviewed and raved about, stayed in theaters FOREVER. As long as Man of Steel is good. And I mean GOOD. Reviewed as well as those batman films. Then it will hands down destroy at the box office this year. Hell superman returns sucked balls and it still made IM1 money.

In short, and closing. In terms of worldwide popularity and box office potential.

Superman> batman> Iron Man/Spiderman> than all others
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 1:39:23 AM

@more markets, not my
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 1:41:53 AM

*TDK beat IM NOT IM2. Actually trounced both but TDK and IM 1 were out in 2008
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 1:50:59 AM

As far as star trek goes though I'm excited for it. I beleive its going to be a good movie. Only problem box office wise is star trek has never caught on internationally. Its been overwhelmingly dependent on domestic returns. However paramount is heavily pushing it overseas this time in hopes of reversing that.

Too soon to tell if that will work yet though. So its still too risky of a bet. This one could make Up to 400 to 500 million worldwide, but no more unless there is an uncharacteristic appetite overseas.
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 2:45:57 AM

I'm pretty sure we all agree After Earth will be THE summer movie!

:/
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 2:49:53 AM

M. Night can't see a good film even if it was stuck to his face like the look of incompetent bitch is all over lohans face. His career died after signs. He no longer has relevance
Ip_man writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 2:55:12 AM

oblivion is down to 62% at RT...ouch.
Ip_man writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 2:57:34 AM

Regarding Iron man 3 - who cares how much money it will make?it's all anyhow goes to some fat producers who will spend 20 mil on buying some villa in arizona instead of giving it to the poor/sick.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 3:49:16 AM

@Mink I have done a little investigating Bullit, he really lives in Grand Rapids Michigan. So the lies continue to unravel!
Mudders writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 6:46:10 AM

3 weeks?

we get it here in new zealand in 12 days! result!
Bunny X writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 8:47:05 AM

Regardless of how bad IM2 may have hurt IM3's projected box office take, all that was erased and even enhanced with The Avengers.
IM3 is going to be massive. DC is so effing screwed going head to head against Marvel in the live action department. It's not even close. They will never even be in the same ball park as Marvel.
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 2:49:11 PM

@bunny. I have to disagree. The batman films have already matched the success of marvels films. If either had been in 3d as avengers was, they would have been flirting with avatar numbers. The math was already done and shown TDK sold more tickets than avengers so that's a moot point.

Point is the last 2 batman films each crossed a billion. Superman looks poised to as well. Where as marvels only film to do so is avengers, and only by help of 3d ticket prices to boot.

I believe IM3 will be a better film, as avengers was good but not great. But nothing besides avengers with 3d by marvel will cross a billion. And as far as quality marvel has yet to match the quality and storytelling of the dark knight films. I'd even go as far as saying Man of steel looks to be a more quality film than anything marvel has made yet, save for maybe IM3
Bunny X writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 4:43:57 PM

@vincere01 - valid points but when I mean DC vs. Marvel (live action film) is a complete mismatch, I mean overall product. You mention the Batman trilogy and it's take. Very impressive I will agree but name another DC film that is even in the same discussion content wise. And to make things worse, the one franchise that was both a critical and box office success, they're keeping it as a one off and distancing it from the rest of the DC cannon.
Granted, Marvel's individual film did not break the bank on sales but I don't see that as Marvel's brass ring. To me, they are looking to deliver a full spectrum of content with their films even if it means tailoring the storyline of some to pull the entire Marvel Universe together. With the cameos and crossovers, they are positioning their films to be an entire package where folks will clamor to go see an otherwise sub-important AntMan film just because of how it ties into the entire Marvel plan.
DC has already put out Green Lantern and it's not forseeable if he's even part of the Justice League film or not. So DC is in a pretty ugly situation. They can go with the GL they have and find a way to work him into the JL plan which will be a disater just on how bad that film was. But I don't think they will based on the look of Superman and the same direction they want to go with JL. This means possibly a new GL film if he's even in their plans as well as new films for the other members.This will put DC so far behind Marvel timing wise that we'll be on The Avengers 3 before the final first films for DC folks are out.
Now maybe that's DC's plan? To have their line running after Marvel begins to lose steam. The only problem with that is as Marvel loses momentum, so could the overall appetite for superhero movies lose momentum.
If so, DC will be left holding a multi Billion dollar bag with an uninterested market to deliver it to.
Bunny X writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 4:48:40 PM

Sorry, I needed to break it up some.
Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying DC should fold up their tent now and go home. They have a good shot at delivering some quality stuff.
I and hoping that Superman goes well.

Their best plan is deliver on this Superman movie but have that running theme of Superman coming to terms that although he is the most powerful being on earth (in a sense) he understands from battling Zod and his army alone, that he cannot do this on his own. And he seeks out the JL and basically becomes the Nick Fury recruitment machine for the Justice League.
Sure it's ripping the blueprint right from MArvel but I truly can't see it working any other way.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 6:33:36 PM

@bunny x&vincere01

Batman Begins "only" made 450 million worldwide because audiences were excited for a new Batman film after the dreadfully embarassing debscle of Batman&Robin.

Being a reboot more faithful to the tone of the comics benefited it exponentially and that goodwill dovetailed into TDK and TDKR being the billion+ juggernauts that they became.

I think Man of Steel is largely in the same boat as Batman Begins and people would like to see the origin story again even if this film seems to be a mashup of the original Superman 1&2.

The obvious nostalgia factor is there but seeing the birth of Superman presented with modern filmmaking technology and with it being shepherded by Nolan at the same time will put untold amounts of asses in the seats.

Superman Returns was poorly received because while Brandon Routh was almost a virtual clone of Christopher Reeve in the part and did a hell of a job emulating his mannerisms and sincerity very well, he was surrounded by a very mediocre story and movie in general.

Just my 2 cents.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 6:33:45 PM

@bunny x&vincere01

Batman Begins "only" made 450 million worldwide because audiences were excited for a new Batman film after the dreadfully embarassing debscle of Batman&Robin.

Being a reboot more faithful to the tone of the comics benefited it exponentially and that goodwill dovetailed into TDK and TDKR being the billion+ juggernauts that they became.

I think Man of Steel is largely in the same boat as Batman Begins and people would like to see the origin story again even if this film seems to be a mashup of the original Superman 1&2.

The obvious nostalgia factor is there but seeing the birth of Superman presented with modern filmmaking technology and with it being shepherded by Nolan at the same time will put untold amounts of asses in the seats.

Superman Returns was poorly received because while Brandon Routh was almost a virtual clone of Christopher Reeve in the part and did a hell of a job emulating his mannerisms and sincerity very well, he was surrounded by a very mediocre story and movie in general.

Just my 2 cents.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 6:34:58 PM

debacle^
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 6:35:13 PM

debacle^
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 6:35:34 PM

@bunny x&vincere01

Batman Begins "only" made 450 million worldwide because audiences were excited for a new Batman film after the dreadfully embarassing debscle of Batman&Robin.

Being a reboot more faithful to the tone of the comics benefited it exponentially and that goodwill dovetailed into TDK and TDKR being the billion+ juggernauts that they became.

I think Man of Steel is largely in the same boat as Batman Begins and people would like to see the origin story again even if this film seems to be a mashup of the original Superman 1&2.

The obvious nostalgia factor is there but seeing the birth of Superman presented with modern filmmaking technology and with it being shepherded by Nolan at the same time will put untold amounts of asses in the seats.

Superman Returns was poorly received because while Brandon Routh was almost a virtual clone of Christopher Reeve in the part and did a hell of a job emulating his mannerisms and sincerity very well, he was surrounded by a very mediocre story and movie in general.

Just my 2 cents.
minkowski writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 7:12:55 PM

Iron Man 3, if all was done correctly, is going to destroy. Man of Steel...not so much, and what it does make will be largely because of Nolan's name all over the marketing. At some future juncture, even that shining star in DC's rather dim universe will further fade as more and more people move on for the next big thing, forgetting Nolan and Ledger's suicide.

Having said that, I'm rooting for Iron Man. For RDJ, for Kingsley, for Shane Black, for the character of Tony Stark, and for Marvel for being smart and bold enough to succeed where DC has so lamentable failed, overall. Hell, if Ledger had lived, Nolan's Batman would probably have half its current acclaim, and lol, Batman is really all DC has at this point. Sad.

@To Vincere: Batman Begins wasn't a BO blowout. TDK made a bigger BO splash because Ledger's death was a media circus, which skyrocketed awareness of TDK. TDKR was largely ridiculed by the same crowd that worshiped TDK, even though TDK is arguably the lesser coherent film.

That's it for DC. Three films. And a string of failures. They now have Man of Steel, which if all goes right and that film does really well, DC will STILL be far behind the game. That's the measure here. Not total ticket sales, but how far Marvel is into their business strategy, how well they've developed it, and how far DC has to go to match their performance and evolution.

DC's a baby still struggling with walking, Marvel is Usain Bolt hitting his peak stride to a cheering throng.

Hell, Marvel is up to Avengers 2, DC can't even find their Justice League asses with both hands, and what they have found is either sh*t or junk written on the blank check of Nolan's over-inflated name recognition, which is just downright f*cking PATHETIC.
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 7:30:46 PM

@bunny agreed that marvel has a more fleshed out vision and roadmap right now. My only point is that marvel cannot compete on same level as DC. DC owns the 2 most popular properties.

Hell is arguable that marvel has the number 3, but can't use spiderman while sony has the rights. I'm just saying that batman, and soon to be man of steel will trump anything marvel could churn out.

The way I see this all unfolding is this. Man of Steel releases and easily goes gangbusters. Which then starts the Justice League storyline of movies. If done right the first JLA movie has the potential to beat avatars box office in the current movie climate.

However I could see marvel squandering things. More and more they seem to be rushing new films out to keep the money machine going. Quality will then go down, and push away talent.

Where as one way to look at DC right now is this. They have learned from they're mistakes. They are allowing the filmakers to make the movies, make the big decisions. They are trying to make money ofcourse. But they seem to be willing to put the time in to not just do it, but do it right.

Knock nolan if you want, but he is a very talanted filmaker, and a savy buisness eye. He believes in what he says, his ideas. And he does not comprimise his vision. That exactly who you need running the DC machine. He will oversee a quality, engaging series that won't compromise itself for the sake of making more money. He is also well respected and sought after to work for. Top tier talent will be more than willing to sign on. Just look at his stable of actors that follow him. A lot of award winners that are the best at what they do.

If I were marvel I would be extremely worried. They keep expanding and expanding. They are only diluting the water. They absolutely must work out a deal to allow spiderman to come back into the fold or they have no hope to compete in the same league.

Team consisting of batman, superman and other DC. Or team consisting of Iron man, thor, hulk, black widow, hawkeye and a crazy black dude with an eyepatch who so badly wishes he could scream motherf*cker. Its really not a fair fight.
vincere01 writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 7:40:13 PM

Maybe its pointless to argue since everyone has they're own opinion on what hero/movies are better. Personally I'm rolling with batman for my money. If you pollee the world however I honestly beleive batman and superman will easily come first and second on the best superhero lists. With a wide margin to number 3. 3, 4, 5 would most likely consist of spiderman, iron man and hulk. Its sheer numbers of paying viewers that will allow DC to win out.

@mink I only said TDK beatdown IM. not batman begins. Hell ever superman returns made IM1 money
Aaronupsidsium writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 11:05:54 PM

"Hell superman returns sucked balls and it still made IM1 money.

In short, and closing. In terms of worldwide popularity and box office potential.

Superman> batman> Iron Man/Spiderman> than all others"

Where are you getting these facts from? Superman Returns made 390 million worldwide and Iron Man made 580 million. And IM3 will have the benefit of having two films and the freeking Avengers coming before it.

Executives should be worried that Man of Steel will crack 200 million domestic with a less popular hero and a director audiences do not care about (see Watchmen and Sucker Punch).
Bunny X writes:
on April 15th, 2013 at 9:10:18 AM

DC has the 2 most popular properties....

That says it all right there. DC has the 2 most popular properties and to date, what have they done with them? All they've managed to do was churn out, at best, 2 good films. 2 of the most popular properties and yet the trilogy of Batman and the last Superman film have absolutely nothing to do with what DC is planning.
That's how laughable DC is at this point.
Yet Marvel, as you've pointed out, doesn't even have film ownership of arguably #3 in Spiderman, and yet have managed to generate such a manic craze over properties that populate the top 20.
10 years ago if anyone would even mention the thought of giving a stand alone movie for Thor, or CA, they wouldve been laughed out of the room. But now there are serious talks for stand alones for Hawkeye? AntMan? Black Panther? Hell, anyone Marvel throws up on screen will get some buzz at this point.
Anything it was lacking content wise put aside, Marvel hit it out of the park and then some with The Avengers.
And @mink's metaphor is on point. Marvel is light years ahead of DC and like I said, even if DC can get to where Marvel is now, what's the market for superhero movies going to be?
And please don't get me wrong. I love DC and their properties. I have been on numerous threads aching for a decent Superman film that would do (no pun intended) justice for THE #1 hero of all time.
DC has the #1 and #2 heros in their camp and Spiderman is not as close a #3 as some might think. #4 and on arent even in the discussion. With all that built in esteem to those two, it's insane how DC has fallen behind Marvel. That's how bad their film division. They've allowed lower tiered properties to not only pass them but steamroll them to the point that DC seems to have regressed.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved