WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Man of Steel" Won't Feature Kryptonite, Plus New Magazine Cover and Photos

Posted: April 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Man of Steel" WonSubmit Comment
The latest issue of Entertainment Weekly contains a cover of Henry Cavill as Superman from the upcoming "Man of Steel" movie. Inside the magazine are new photos and an article that talks about some of the things director Zack Snyder was hoping to accomplish.

MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD:

In order to keep the story as realistic as a Superman movie can be, Snyder decided not to include Superman's greatest weakness, Kryptonite. The filmmaker decided that since Kryptonite has been used in every Superman film, it's become a bit cliche and a cheap way to hurt an unstoppable being. Plus, Snyder felt that being weakened by a rock is not relatable. "Although he is not susceptible to the frailties of mankind, he is definitely susceptible to the emotional frailties," said Snyder.

Writer David S. Goyer revealed that "People [on Krypton are engineered] to be warriors or scientists or [whatever], and there's a whole element in the movie about nature versus nurture. Kal-El is unique because he's a natural conception, free from genetic manipulation to choose his own course in life - which also makes his existence highly illegal."

Antje Traue explained that her Faora character "is an engineered being, and driven by the need and pleasure of killing."

Regarding Superman's costume, producer Deborah Snyder said: "All [Kryptonian warriors'] armor goes on top of the suits. But because Superman's a refugee, his iconic outfit in our world doesn't have the battle gear, which would make him a defenseless man on his own Kryptonian turf."

The magazine also write that "Man of Steel" has plenty of "building-smashing, train-slinging, heat-vision-blasting battles" throughout an emotional story. "You want to give the audience great spectacle. You want them to go to the movie, be eating their popcorn and be like, 'Wow!,'" said producer Chuck Roven. "But it's just not good enough to give them the 'Wow.' You want them to be emotionally engaged."

Magazine Cover: (click to enlarge)


Photos: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 7:38:50 AM

Why the f*ck would kryptonite be in that movie? That green sh*t would be an excess. Just save it for luthor.
Taco writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 7:51:49 AM

Why does Zod look like someone from lord of the rings?
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:01:06 AM

They are saying all the right stuff, to make this seem more than another loud explosion flick, but I'm going to wait for another trailer until I give judgement.
Avirex writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:02:19 AM

f*cker looks a bit like Christopher Reeve in that cover.
Avirex writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:05:37 AM

The costumes look like they belong in the next Thor movie and dude's arms look kinda too small for the flying pose.

I'll check it out though, maybe.
Mudders writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:29:15 AM

the darker shades to the suit look awesome
way better than previous suits

love the tone of the film too...a bit darker...more personal emotion...just hope they dont drown it with a love story like "superman returns"

BadChadB33 writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:31:24 AM

If Diane Lane as mom I'd f*ck her too!!
Mudders writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:45:37 AM

@badchad

f*ck yeah..incest is cool when your mum is diane lane
Mudders writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:46:43 AM

http://www.straitpinkie.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/diane-lane-picture-6.jpg
cress writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 9:04:15 AM

Diane Lane's p*ssy is kryptonite because she makes men weak in her presence.
Bunny X writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 9:06:54 AM

I'm giving this film the benefit of the doubt as I've done with every other Superman film. I'm really looking forward to seeing Shannon's performance as Zod. I love him as an actor and can't wait to see what he does with this role.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 9:15:09 AM

Zod's suit looks like something out of gears of war.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 9:22:49 AM

Mudders- put yourself to the test bc incest is the best!!
Ip_man writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 9:33:42 AM

Not impressed from anything shown so far from this movie...
ENFORCER writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 10:16:30 AM

I will hold judgement till I see the film.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 10:21:11 AM

@Ip: Kind of hard to be impressed when they haven't shown you much. So far I love all the mystery behind this film. It's the one summer blockbuster that they haven't completely ruined by showing everything in the trailer. There's really nothing negative about anything they've shown or said so far.

This whole genetically engineered society stuff sounds like a nice twist on Supe's origin story. Obiviously that will be a point of contention between him and the other Kryptonians that makes Superman vulnerable in some way. Like someone said earlier, leave the kryptonite for Lex or some other human that wants to fight Superman.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 10:32:24 AM

Accidental Rapist
pornfly writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 10:33:07 AM

Susceptible to emotional frailties
So they torture Kal like in S2 by tossing busloads of people?
Or
theyre gonna make fun of his suit and he's gonna run home to Diane Lanes bosom just to get whipped up into a 'cowboy-up' frenzy by Kevin Costner, "get of my wifes titties and go save those cities!"
pornfly writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 10:57:39 AM

Laney and Janey
Plot: Two successful business women survive on eachothers bodily fluids in a Paris hotel
Starring:
Jane Seymore and Diane Lane
pornfly writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 11:03:40 AM

Beautiful pic, MUDDERS
not that many classic beauties around
Fightclub1 writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 11:10:10 AM

I think this film will be awesome
pornfly writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 11:13:20 AM

Is Woolite the same as kryptonite to that suit?
ENFORCER writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 12:44:14 PM

The question is ... Would you RIM Dianne lane?
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 3:35:21 PM

^ Word!!
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 7:13:53 PM

*sigh* My hopes this website would one day be populated by semi-intelligent posters instead of naval lint and earwigs looks that much farther off, judging by 85% of the above comments.



Regardless, I have a very, very strong feeling this film won't have nearly the acceptance as Donner's original film, and probably far less the heart and charm. Nolan is just too cold a character too give the audiences the warmth they'd need to feel connected to Superman.

As for the kryptonite, well, not surprised. Perry is black and he's made other non-canonical changes, so leaving out one of the most iconic elements of Superman isn't really surprising. After all, Nolan's likely trying to inject some "realism" into a story with flying aliens in plastic pajamas.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 7:22:31 PM

to.
minkowski writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 7:24:05 PM

The part about realism of which I spoke was made before I read the article.

Nolan is so f*cking predictable, it makes me wonder why d*ckless fanboys can't get off his crotch...
Mudders writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:34:26 PM

@ enforcer

be rude not to rim her
Mudders writes:
on April 11th, 2013 at 8:38:18 PM

http://www.entwagon.com/celeb/Diane_Lane/images/dianelane11.jpg


http://wallcrow.com/images/D/Diane%20Lane/Diane%20Lane-0548.jpg


fap fap fap
Man in Black writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 12:10:21 AM

I'm ok with the lack of kryptonite for the film , yet it is such a large plot device . I would expect it in the subsequent films . Also was it reported that they will be omitting Williams score from the Donner films in this reboot ? And the head on Zod in that picture just looks all wrong/off almost a cut and paste job .
ENFORCER writes:
on April 12th, 2013 at 3:14:42 AM

Sorry Mink, But when a ass worth worshipping is mentioned we need to discuss how one would worship that ass!

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved