WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Slade Reveals His Vision for Cancelled "Daredevil" Movie

Posted: April 9th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Slade Reveals His Vision for Cancelled "Daredevil" MovieSubmit Comment
While promoting his "Hannibal" TV series, David Slade has been answering questions about the "Daredevil" movie that he was set to direct for 20th Century Fox.

For those who don't know, Fox had to begin filming last year in order to keep the rights from reverting back to Marvel. Unfortunately, Slade dropped out at the last second. Joe Carnahan (The Grey) attempted to step in as his replacement, but it was too late. Marvel now owns Daredevil again and the film is considered dead.

"I remember Joe Carnahan went after [the job] hard when the rights were about to go," said Slade. "He cut together [a pitch video] that was great and exciting, but it was kind of sad, because everything in that trailer we had attempted to do. Every single thing."

The director went on to say that he planned to use an early version of Daredevil in his movie, including the character's yellow suit. "[The film was going to be set] in the 70s, Kingpin is going through New York dealing with the Irish mafia, and there's Daredevil in the yellow suit. It was all there," he explained.

Joe Carnahan's Pitch Video:


Source: FilmSchoolRejects


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ab5olut10n writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:40:57 AM

the hannibal pilot sucked balls
Taco writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:45:19 AM

Probably a good thing it didn't get made.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:18:09 AM

Christ what has hannibal got to do with this c*ntlips?

The picture at tope CLEARLY shows the character as WHITE, why does it have to be a nig nog?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:40:31 AM

what the f*ck are you blathering about now Enforcer?
McQueen writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 9:09:38 AM

"the hannibal pilot sucked balls"

Well since you mention it I must say that it's not really well done. The profiler that has so much empathy with the serial killers is constantly on the edge of losing his mind by becoming one of them eventually. Too many victims per episode IMO as it's just too much for a 50 min tv show. I expected somehow that some intensity would build up until the serial killer is caught a the end but none of this happening there.


Bates Motel on the other hand is really well made with a good scenario, good suspense and it doesn't fall in the trap by imitating the original Psycho. Vera Farminga is excellent and sexy while the young Anthony Perkins is slowly but surely developing his pshycho side.

Game of Thrones season 3 is meh so far as the first 2 episode didn't show much and I'm starting to think that it's not that easy to handle seven kingdoms at once in just 60 min.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 9:16:07 AM

At first glance I thought the article title read "David Spade.." and was like what the f*ck??
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 9:33:19 AM

Makes me like the original movie better.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 9:55:03 AM

the directors cut of daredevil was ten times better than the theatrical release, It grounded and humanised daredevil and sadly has only been seen by a few
Fightclub1 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 9:58:22 AM

I really want another movie to get made of daredevil. He's one of my favorite superheros and one of the coolest
j-man writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 10:21:53 AM

Slade lost any kind credibility the moment he directed a twilight film, f*cking c*nt!
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 10:32:37 AM

The Hannibal pilot was excellent and actually depicted the most faithful versions of Will Graham and Hannibal Lecter. Read Red Dragon again you simians.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 11:06:25 AM

I just watched the deadpool fan made movie after watching this, it's pretty funny
Jerzydevil writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 11:39:45 AM

I thought they said David Spade..
Kurskij writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 12:25:12 PM

What @lee maca said.

Director's cut was surprisingly decent - no master work, but a very solid movie.

"Daredevil" had some sh*tty soundtrack choices (Evanescence, really?) and one of the worst choreographed fight scenes ever - playground "fight", but it had some very inventive visuals (ex.: bar fight) and good cinematography courtesy of Ericson Core, but Fox did what Fox usually does and seemingly shat all over the final theatrical product.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 1:06:45 PM

If it wasn't thrown out there as an intentional B throwback movie, I'd have loved to have seen this get made. I kinda doubt that it would have gone anywhere or gotten the revenue that the studio would have wanted.

If you want to do Daredevil right, you're going to have to have a killer script and its going to have to be sold on its originality, not the name alone. That's why it bombed in the first place- the show wouldn't have gotten greenlit if it hadn't been a prime Marvel comic book title. I wonder when the idiots are going to start creating decent movies and not just adapting soso comic books.

Bastards. Get it right.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 1:10:53 PM

Fox needs some better Depends to keep all the poop from leaking out over all of their endeavors.
Stapes writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 1:53:10 PM

@deaftone. You're thinking of Red Dragon, moron.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:34:38 PM

^^He did mention Red Dragon, right?

Anyway, didn't care for the original film. Way too much focus on making Affleck some kind of brittle Harrison Ford sex-symbol actor. It was little more than a showcase of Ben's chin. Way too hammy acting, way too much focus on his relationship with the hot chick and far, far too little focus on dealing with the villain, which, IIRC, was almost a side quest.*

It's like they tried to make it into a love story between these two flawed but beautiful people, and that was the absolutely wrong take. Piss poor direction, no character development, weak villain(s) and no story all through out. But that's FOX for you.

I'm just glad Marvel has the property back; they'll have far, FAR better an idea what to do with the character.


*I haven't seen Daredevil in many a moons.
vincere01 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:12:21 PM

I enjoyed daredevil. I own the directors cut myself. Not batman begins, more so batman forever. Not great, but good enough to deserve a sequel if its improved upon.

Affleck already said no, and its been a decade so recasting should be a sinch. I say keep colin farrel, he was not half bad. Keep favreau he was good. Replace ben with Henry Cavill. Replace duncan with ving rhames (only big black dude I can think of who is at least halfway decent actor). Replace garner with olivia wilde or Autumn Reeser. Both have been decent in action roles and can act.

Wouldn't be all that bad. Make it 5 years later. And kingpin has escaped jail (bought his way out?) And is coming for revenge. As is bullseye. Bring on another major villain as well. Make it that they all want daredevil dead and they don't work well together so there is also some in-fighting.

It could be good. Or they could just blow it up and start over. f*ck it
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:48:30 PM

"It was little more than a showcase of Ben's chin."
lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:08:53 PM

@mink

Yeah it's obvious that stapes has the reading comprehension of an earwig.

@vincere

This would definitely be a reboot so none of the previous cast would be back. Also, Kingpin is white.
pornfly writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:17:08 PM

Can i borrow someones DD Directors Cut?
I dont know any 5year olds

REALLY?? a yellow suit wont work on the big screen.
I dont care what friggin year its supposed to be


Hannibal kicked ass
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:20:45 PM

"Yeah it's obvious that stapes has the reading comprehension of an earwig."

Indeed, but he wants to correct me on a quibble because he beat me to the 'Battle of Artemisium' Wikipedia this morning.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:03:43 PM

here are some pretty funny DD bloopers http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6xM4ITsgd8
actually makes the movie seem better than it was =D
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:43:20 PM

I only liked Mads Mikkelson in the Hannibal pilot. I feel like the entire series is just Red Dragon (not good enough for Manhunter) dragged out over 12 episodes with random astral deers all over the place.
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 9:17:51 PM

@BlackDynamite

Hannibal is set 4 years before the events of Red Dragon. If it lasts, season 5 would be a 13 episode adaptation of the entire Red Dragon novel.
Fightclub1 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 9:51:54 PM

@mink watch the directors cut it's WAY better than the original

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved