WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"300" Sequel Unveils First Photos

Posted: April 9th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"300" Sequel Unveils First PhotosSubmit Comment
Thanks to USA Today, we now have the first two photos from the upcoming "300" sequel, called "300: Rise of an Empire," which is based on Frank Miller's graphic novel "Xerxes." Check out the photos below.

Plot: Told in the visual style of "300," this new chapter takes the action to a fresh battlefield — on the sea — as Greek general Themistokles (Sullivan Stapleton) attempts to unite all of Greece by leading the charge that will change the course of the war. "300: Rise of an Empire" pits Themistokles against the massive invading Persian forces led by mortal-turned-god Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro), and Artemesia (Eva Green), vengeful commander of the Persian navy.

The new movie is directed by Noam Murro (Smart People) from a script by Zack Snyder and Kurt Johnstad (300). It co-stars Lena Headey and is set to hit theaters on August 2nd.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 82 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:17:25 AM

"300" pt 2
Watch the battle they didnt lose in this sequel that has nothing to do with the number 300!


ENFORCER writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:52:42 AM

300 c*cks in bullits mouth!
McQueen writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:07:17 AM

^ ^ No, your crack whore of a mother does that for a living.
boogiel writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:09:38 AM

Just another day with the same old sh*t.
McQueen writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:25:13 AM

^ ^ Yep, you can say that again.
Cannon writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:26:38 AM


This. is. stupid!

SACdaddy writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:34:24 AM

Hey nice to see Sullivan Stapleton get a leading role in a big movie. Dude is a complete badass on Strike Force. I'm still a little worried that this wasn't directed by Snyder, but I'll see almost anything starring Lena Headley. I think see might be my favorite actress in Hwood.
Ip_man writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:49:27 AM

stupid.they only they should have done was a prequel focusing on gerrard butler's character.

@tanman

'dark skies' sucked balls,the stupidest alien abduction movie ever made.the family could have easily solved their little 'problem' by just moving to another house.3/10
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 9:31:18 AM

Too bad I'll only see it on blu ray
Deaft0ne writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 10:36:35 AM

Lena Give Headey better save some the paycheck she got from this because she broke.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 10:45:51 AM

Ip man, did you even watch the movie? They explained that moving to another house would be futile. They follow you anywhere once you've been chosen.
Bunny X writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 11:20:42 AM

1st week this will do ok. But once folks see it and realize how far from 300 and Butler it is,its 2nd week will bomb.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 12:57:05 PM

Without Butler, this movie will bomb. Who is this Stapleton anyways? Yes, Butler was an unknown too. But this has the makings of a direct to DVD sequel.

Passsssss.
i124q writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 1:51:58 PM

I can't see this doing particularly well tbh. If the visual style is the same as 300, it's going to be "samey", nothing different, so why bother? Especially as the TV series Spartacus has been filmed in this style too.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:25:44 PM

This has Scorpion King 2 written all over it. They should have re-evaluated just how much they wanted this movie, and done the right thing. Cast someone people want to see. There's a ton of male leads out there hungry for something like this. Then find someone fairly talented but perhaps not quite proven.

Also, retitle the f*cker to something other than 300: Rise of An Empire, because this film has nothing whatsoever to do with the 300 Spartans. Nothing. That was an isolated historical event.

They're just huffing on the previous film's fumes.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:27:26 PM

"Ip man, did you even watch the movie? They explained that moving to another house would be futile. They follow you anywhere once you've been chosen."


I would have just moved to a lead-lined bunker then. Sold my house and bought one. Aliens or not, not even Superman can see through lead, much less f*cking walk through it.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:30:44 PM

the family was having money issues, i doubt they could afford a lead lined bunker, but most of them already had implants in their bodies anyway which are used to f*ck with their brains
Bunny X writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:32:36 PM

yes, Spartacus and The Immortals have saturated the appetite for what was once considered "unique" with 300. With this sequel and no Butler attached, nobody's gonna care.
This could be the same fate for the upcoming Sin City sequel with the horrible The Spirit bomb but I think there's been enough time in between them all to cleanse the palate.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:37:08 PM

"the family was having money issues, i doubt they could afford a lead lined bunker, but most of them already had implants in their bodies anyway which are used to f*ck with their brains"

Even easier. And I doubt they were renting. Sell the house cheap. CHEAP. Then buy a f*cking wooden storage shed. Line it with intersecting, criss-crossing lead bars/pipes. Hire a f*cking doctor to check them out. Surely he'll find the implants.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:45:36 PM

"This could be the same fate for the upcoming Sin City sequel with the horrible The Spirit bomb but I think there's been enough time in between them all to cleanse the palate."

Don't think so. People have been begging for a Sin City sequel for ages. No one asked for this 300: 2 piece of sh*t, and if they had, they would have asked for a strong lead and a known director.

And there's plenty of life left in the swords and sandals sub-genre, judging buy the fact people haven't grown even close to being sick of zombies, racing cars, sparkling vampires and Will Smith.

As for The Spirit, look, people knew what the f*ck was up there. They knew it was Frank Miller directing (lol) with a sh*tty cast and lousy acting. The trailers made it look like a f*cking rip-off parody of Sin City, and that's what most people thought. It's what *I* thought. The style itself is safe imo, it's when you try to sh*ttily and cheaply and crassly imitate that poignant and unique style, which is suited solely to Sin City comics and derivative films, people are going to walk away.

Sin City 2 is a legitimate heir to the original film. it won't bomb quite as bad The Spirit imo.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:50:43 PM

if you watch the movie, you'd stop trying to pick it apart, because I don't wanna spoil it.
TMD writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:51:14 PM

Is there anybody whose actually excited for this movie?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:54:43 PM

Guess I'm not the only one concerned about this, but for those who don't know him Stapleton is a very good actor and definitely has leading man qualities. He's actually right about where Butler was in his career when he landed the lead in 300 which really had no big names in it. The story, acting, and director's unique style made that movie popular not star power. But from that film a lot of unknowns got their careers launched. Headey, Fassbender, Butler,and Dominic West are a few that come to mind. Point is the original didn't bank on star power, it made stars.

Sure the title is misleading, but if its based on the sea battle before the fall of Sparta and Athens then it was goin on at the same time King Leo was making his famous stand and is a pretty famous story in itself. They should have just stuck with the original name Xerses though to avoid this nitpicking.

Maybe we should wait for a trailer to start writing this off. Anybody read the graphic novel yet? Did Miller even finish it?
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:58:02 PM

whoa I didn't know Fassbender was in 300
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:06:01 PM

"Point is the original didn't bank on star power, it made stars."

No, the original counted on Snyder's distinct, and the time somewhat...evolutionary, visual style, which is not only being whored out here, it's being whored out in a cheap imitation with nary a name anyone can out into words. Hell, at least people could find Snyder on a map back then, and Butler too. They had the murmurings of fame. Stapleton? lol. Murro? Can you even find them on IMDb, and if you did, would you give a sh*t?

I just hope they minimized the budget, because success is going to be measured relatively, not absolutely with this one.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:07:43 PM

@Greenlantern: your sh*tty attitude in defense of a movie to which you should have no allegiance is making me NOT want to see it and criticize it more, which I can do if you'd like.
holtlt writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:10:56 PM

Sullivan Stapleton. There's no one who wouldn't want his role in Strike Back. Guy gets to shoot guns, kill bad guys, and f*ck all the hot girls.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:12:40 PM

It's just funny to me because I said the exact same things you all are saying about it until I watched it and they explained everything, but in the end you would do what any normal f*cking person would do, board up the house and buy a shotgun.
Stapes writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:14:57 PM

I thought themisticles was an Admiral.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:14:58 PM

"Sure the title is misleading, but if its based on the sea battle before the fall of Sparta and Athens then it was goin on at the same time King Leo was making his famous stand and is a pretty famous story in itself. They should have just stuck with the original name Xerses though to avoid this nitpicking."


lol. It's not nitpicking. It's pointing out the title is a deliberate rip-off to a film which is set well after this film. That's right, the sequel is actually a prequel, but it uses the sequel of the prequel's title to get any sort of recognition, because I can promise you this much: if they had retitled this pile of sh*t to something NOT connected to the original film, it would be en route to DVD and Wal-Mart right now.

300. lol. This has NOTHING to do with the 300 Spartans. Nothing. Using your logic, a Tutankhamen movie could be called 300: rise of the empire that fought another empire that fought yet another empire which all lead to the sh*t that happened that day in Greece, because all things are connected historically.

This is nothing but a shameless, cheap, crass cash grab.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:17:03 PM

"but in the end you would do what any normal f*cking person would do, board up the house and buy a shotgun."

Because "aliens", who can easily and repeatedly walk through locked doors and solid walls, would be stopped by kinetic ball bearings thrown from a gun, and wood over the windows?

Maybe average people are more stupid than I ever imagined.
Stapes writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:19:30 PM

Actually mink, the battle of artimesia took place at same time as 300.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:25:48 PM

I must need to rewatch the movie, I didn't even like it that much..the blood dispears on the ground, too much slow motion, the fugly creature that crawled out of amanda bynes c*nt...My favorite part was the shield formation they formed, and the wall of bodies they stacked. And the guy surviving at the end to tell the tale was pretty epic. Oh and the chick being raped by that guy who says "this won't be quick" or some sh*t.

Something tells me you won't give two sh*ts about the characters in this sequel and it will be reduced to the same death orgy with no substance.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:37:50 PM

"Maybe average people are more stupid than I ever imagined"

That's exactly what I said, but you have to realize, if they "can easily and repeatedly walk through locked doors and solid walls", what else can you really do?
Honestly, I liked Dark skies because it does make you think UNrealistically about what you would do differently after watching it.

I'll stop defending it if it really makes you not want to see it lol because everyone should see it, but not everyone is going to like it like me, and that's perfectly fine.
Ip_man writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:43:40 PM

@green lensman

the family in that movie was just retarded.as mink said they could have moved to some underground bunker.

and here is a full list of some of the things that were wrong in this movie posted in IMDB:

* What perfect, coincidental timing! No sooner had they just been to see the "expert" and learn that "soon things will be coming to an end, they're going to take some one" and it just so happens to be that very safe night - lucky they prepared for it that evening!

* After a few seconds Googling the strange goings-on (and googling via some random search engine, because no one uses Google in real life!), it turns out the first page you click on ALWAYS tells you exactly everything you need to know about the strangeness, with no further research required - AND!! for extra luckiness - the "expert" from said webpage just so happens to live in the same town as you, so you can go round for a visit! Phew! That's a relief!

* After literally uttering the words "we can't go to the police, they'll think we are crazy", the characters head straight on home to board up every window in the house - yeah, that's completely normal and wouldn't be noticed by anyone.

* The aliens have mastered the ability to travel across the vast distances of space, manipulate time and matter, but a few planks of wood across the windows should probably keep them out and away from your family. Flawless logic.

* "Quick! The aliens are coming to abduct our son - let's put the children alone in a room, whilst we split up and I wander down the hallway to see why the tv just came on, leaving them totally unprotected." Flawless logic part 2.

* The "expert" says you can't take the implant out, because every time you try, it goes deeper under the skin...... hmmmm.... if only SOMEONE ELSE could take it out for you..... if only there existed a building you could go to that had people with surgical training and medical equipment.... pity no such place exists.

* So both the parents are witness to missing time, strange dreams, random cuts/bleeding, they see the video taps blur and miss time, they are the only house 3 different types of birds crash into, they find their son outside without the alarm going off, they all have memory loss, the kids draw pictures of aliens, the alarm goes off without reason, the kitchen items are arranged to give perfect images of highly advanced geometric shapes, photos vanish without a trace, but when "aliens" are suggested as being behind it the guy flips out and starts laughing - "you can't be serious, there's no such thing as aliens, thats insane, its completely beyond the realm of possibility, there's no life anywhere in the universe except for earth, I'm an architect, I know that for a fact - hell, there's probably a perfectly normal explanation for everything we've both been witness to - it probably happens all the time. Aliens - you're crazy loco".

* In real life, public health department officials always call you back to only utter mysterious and ominous phrases like "its almost as it something strange was drawing them to your house" [insert dramatic sound effect here] just at the exact moment something weird and unexplainable has happened to you.

* The "expert" says the aliens always take the one they first make contact with - which turns out to be the older brother, not the younger brother as the movie makes us believe; and yet THREE MONTHS LATER the mother is shocked to discover the eldest son had been drawing pictures of aliens and she never knew it! [insert another dramatic sound effect here] - er, HELLO!! of course he was the first contact if they took him! DUH!

* Its just as well, three months later, the radio/walkie-talkie has been left switched on in a box of toys, and the batteries still work, and the aliens use the exact same frequency, otherwise the mother wouldn't be able to hear her son talking on it somewhere.

* "Oh yeah, I almost forgot to mention it - your son has geometric brandings all over his body - obviously you're both busy parents and you wouldn't possibly notice it - but no biggie, it's probably perfectly normal".... and lets not refer to it at any point in the movie again.


minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 3:56:57 PM

"Actually mink, the battle of artimesia took place at same time as 300."

Wow, Stapes. You too read the 300: Rise of an Empire Wikipedia article wherein it uses the word, within the first few lines, "concurrent", referring to the battles of Salamis and Thermopylae. Guess I pulled an Alex. Thanks for the correction.

Regardless of which happened when, the Battle of Artemisium, which was a naval battle, has no causal connection to the 300. They were, as you said, two separate and distinct engagements, correct?

Hell, if anything, this being a prequel would make more sense than if the two separate engagements happened "concurrently". You could at least say what happened at Artemisium led casually up to the battle at Thermopylae (the 300) but now you clearly cannot.




So thanks for the minor correction, Stapes, and thanks even more for strengthening my case against this stupid film's use of an event to which it has no meaningful causal connection.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:05:49 PM

nice spoilers in there, I'm still going to say that given everything that happens, you're not going to be safe in an underground bunker, when the aliens enter your mind and make you leave against your own will. and I never said that it was a perfect movie, it's just one that grabs your attention (or at least mine) and I really haven't seen a serious alien movie in a while, which is why I still think so highly of it.
It's fun reading those spoilers, because I really don't even believe in aliens, and everyone acts like they would know exactly what to do in every single situation from a MOVIE, i'm betting the experience would be a lot different in real life.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:07:45 PM

@Greenlantern: I don't really care one way or the other, but I do get annoyed when people go all religious on movies they like, like those TDK fanboys. That's not how I operate.

I told you about the movie Triangle, right? Yeah, I like that film because it's weird and unique and because it leaves some things to my imagination and because it explores the idea of a closed time loop.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Closed_timelike_curve


Now, even though I like the film a great deal, it does nothing to stop me from criticizing it heavily.

I could remark on how the car crash doesn't seem to repeat each time, piling up a hundred automobiles like the birds or the dead bodies, or could I criticize how the kid dies without an obvious scratch, or how the body of George's roadside doppleganger somehow gets released from a zippered bag, or how George's character manages to rid the ship of all bodies except one for some bizarre, inexplicable reason, or how the ship isn't far more bloodied than it should be if that many mass murders occurred repeatedly throughout the loop. I could go on and on and on.

None of this detracts in my opinion from the film or my appreciation if it. If anything, the flaws enhance my enjoyment, because for me, criticizing a film I like is far more fun than watching the damned thing.

This is how you and I and most other people differ when it comes to films. I question the film's nature, you get religious and defensive. Guess that's what makes me good atheist and a poor performer inside a church.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:15:58 PM

"you're not going to be safe in an underground bunker, when the aliens enter your mind and make you leave against your own will."

Yeah, but how do they enter the person's mind? If they use science like most aliens would per most cinematic depictions, then there's a means to defeat them, hence the lead bars, which makes sense because lead is perfect for blocking virtually all parts of the electromagnetic spectrum, which is why Superman can't see through it. He's a scientific being, based on physics, which is why Lex Luthor, a brilliant scientist, is his most formidable foe.

I would consider the same here, whereby the aliens operate on physics, either known or not, and if so, the family should have at least tried something RATIONAL to slow them down, but they did not. They just grabbed a gun and boarded the windows like we've seen in a thousand flicks from the 1930s on.


On the other hand, the "aliens" use The Supernatural™, which then means they're not really aliens, not in the scientific sense, but more like ghosts and demons and other superstitious hullabaloo, in which case, yeah, nothing could stop them nothing could defeat them, which means the entire struggle between the family and the "aliens" is rendered moot, and thus the entire film's purpose is rendered moot, unless you want a more coherent sequel to that bullsh*t flick The Forgotten.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:18:23 PM

a, if.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:19:37 PM

I watched Triangle and even told some friends about it, the MAIN thing i absolutely hated was when the chick turns around to face her kid while driving, pretty much every movie does this, and that's why I'm such a careful driver.
But yea the girl in the movie was pretttty retarded. but everything happened because she wanted to save her sons life I guess and nothing, in her mind, was going to change that.
capsule writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:20:07 PM

Triangle sucked ass. Just like every other stupid ass movie which f*cks up a good idea. I can tell you every single piece of dialogue in that movie..."are you okay?" "Hey are you okay? whats wrong?" and who the f*ck drives a car while not watching the road. That pisses me off in movies, hey look at me I'm driving but i think i'll have a conversation with someone and to do this i need to be staring at them. f*ck off, ruined the time loop concept.Why didnt the bitch just jump off the damn boat onto Triangle????? f*ck off
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:26:51 PM

^ lol
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:27:56 PM

Yeah, Triangle could have been executed far better, but I could say the same for Primer, which has people talking to this day. The movie makes no damned sense at all. There's no smaller problems like in Triangle, perhaps, but the ending was absolute bullsh*t because the writers were too busy stroking their balls on the entire paradox trip to not think of a proper ending. Then they got there only to say oh f*ck, how do we end this mess? Time-traveling dopplegangers, hatched from a U-Haul storage center. Another movie ruined by sh*tty execution. Same thing for that Safety Not Guaranteed bullsh*t, except it didn't even have the benefit of being interesting. Looked like a no-budget college film, and maybe that's what it was.

Anyway, back to Triangle, well, in defense, the fact she didn't jump off the boat isn't a problem, because in CTLs even the illusion of free will is gone, so whatever she had already done, she was destined to do again and again and again, the punishment in hell for her misdeeds, which is why the mentioned Sisyphus and why the oat was named Aeolus.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aeolus

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sisyphus

"punished for chronic deceitfulness by being compelled to roll an immense boulder up a hill, only to watch it roll back down, and to repeat this action forever."

So in that sense, the movie worked very, very well, and makes it a standout from the typical Hollywood rabble-rubble, which is why I liked it.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:28:40 PM

boat.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:31:38 PM

they. aw f*ck it.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:32:21 PM

lol@ip_man.

Yep, the pretty much destroys it.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:33:53 PM

yea which is why the only thing i really hated was when she turned completely around while driving...it all could have been avoided
capsule writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:34:54 PM

there is this one movie I thought was ok, it's in the same vein as Groundhog's day, where these three teenagers get stuck in the same day kind of loop and end up going crazy, doing dumb sh*t, cant remember the name of it, but ya, movies that deal with time travel or loops are hard to make because the writer's usually suck or get too twisted up in some other concept to finish it well.
capsule writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:35:32 PM

Oh and the movie im talking about is called Repeaters. havent seen it in a while.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:36:48 PM

"* "Quick! The aliens are coming to abduct our son - let's put the children alone in a room, whilst we split up and I wander down the hallway to see why the tv just came on, leaving them totally unprotected." Flawless logic part 2"


Yeah, reminds me of Avatar, the part where Jake Sully gets separated from Weaver and the other character.

They're all out there together, right? and here comes this giant alien cat thing, so what happens? Well, not what would happen, but what Cameron needed to have happen. He needs Sully separated so he can run into Smurfette, so he writes the scene so the other two characters, who in the real world would have run away with Sully, instead order him to run alone. Weaver basically says "Run!", and then we see Jake running alone, giving the audience the impression Weaver deliberately sent Jake on his own without fear or concern for her safety or that of her other compatriot. It's like hey, we're not afraid of the cat thing, but you should be, so go get lost by yourself.

Just stupid lazy writing.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:38:46 PM

"it all could have been avoided"

Except, if you're rolling that rock up the hill, it's absolutely destined to roll back down and you're absolutely destined to try to roll it back up...the Greek equivalent of Hell.

What you did, no matter how stupid, you WILL do, forever and ever and ever, amen.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:40:16 PM

@Capsule: thanks for the suggestion. Looks interesting at least, and there's no blatant hate for it on IMDb.
Stapes writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:42:49 PM

Actually I learned that watching the history channel back before I murdered my TV
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:46:30 PM

Not really sure when George's character entered "hell". Was it on the boat trip, or when she had her car accident?

If you notice, right after the car accident, which killed her child through her poor parenting (bingo!), the scene darkens and the grim character offers her a ride.

I take it he's the Greek equivalent of the ferryman on the River Styx, taking her to the underworld, wherein she repeats her miserable existence forever, thus the fact she didn't keep her eye on the road isn't a story flaw at all, it's the reason for her entrance to hell: killing her child through parental negligence.

Remember, they had already shown she was a sh*tty parent in the film's beginning.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:47:04 PM

but if the bitch kept her eyes on the road and passed that semi-truck, would she be safe? or would the driver of the semi be the one veering into her path? does the stone reach the top of the hill and fall down over the other side? if so was that an accomplishment?
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:48:08 PM

P.S. She too died in the car accident.



"Actually I learned that watching the history channel back before I murdered my TV"

Ah. I see. My television was never born.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:50:44 PM

but if the bitch kept her eyes on the road and passed that semi-truck, would she be safe? or would the driver of the semi be the one veering into her path? does the stone reach the top of the hill and fall down over the other side? if so was that an accomplishment?

You don't get it. She was a sh*tty parent in a selfish rush. She wasn't paying attention. She and her child died in the car crash. As a result, the ferryman carted her off to hell wherein her punishment was to repeat that morning for all eternity.

THAT'S why there was no body bag! So strike one of my earlier criticisms out. lol.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 4:59:25 PM

ahh well I was watching the ending and when she beat her kid I didn't even remember that part from the beginning, so that reveals why I didn't even know she died in the wreck, and why I love movies like dark skies, just keep ur f*cking eyes on the road. and don't smack ur kid cuz he's retarded, smack urself because u made a retarded kid
Ip_man writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 5:01:25 PM

I remember 'Triangle' was a very good movie,not sure,though,but i think the last act was a bit underwhelming...need to see it again to refresh my memory.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 5:08:31 PM

"just keep ur f*cking eyes on the road. and don't smack ur kid cuz he's retarded, smack urself because u made a retarded kid"

Well, again, that was the point. Her child was "retarded", but the only way she could respond to him was in hate and anger. She was just a terrible and selfish parent, and paid for it with her and her son's life. Notice how by the film's end she had come to appreciate her son far more than she had at the film's beginning. Imagine this happening to someone like Casey Anthony and the movie might make more sense. It does for me, now at least.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 5:14:07 PM

@GL: my apologies for ragging you on Dark Skies. Not trying to piss on your favorite movie. I'll watch it for myself when I get the chance, but you have to understand, a film is not you. It's not me. It's just a film, and I criticize all of them, even the best of the best.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 5:23:16 PM

It's all good, I hated so much about dark skies it just kinda left me saying things like well f*ck cops ARE retarded, and retarded husbands in low budget movies ARE retarded, and the only reason I wanted to see it in the first place was for Keri Russel who appeared in another great movie "Leaves of Grass"
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 5:44:30 PM

Russell hasn't been in much has she? Most of her films I've never seen. Mission Impossible 3 and We Were Soldiers, that's it. And the MWC episode. lol. Good looking woman, though.
sherv writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 5:47:25 PM

I have the 300 graphic novel & do like the style but again this story is bullsh*t. Themistocles lied to the Athenians that they would be invaded by a neighboring army not the Persians, as they had discovered a mine that would put money into each Athenians hand, they instead built a bigger navel fleet which still paled in comparison to the mighty Persian navy. The head of the Persian fleet was indeed a woman but she tricked the Greeks into thinking she also was a Greek & escaped the battle of Salamis. She was never a "vengeful commander"!? The Athenians rammed the Persian ships from the side which left them with no oars. @ Mink, both battles were roughly the same time dude.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 5:56:23 PM

check out leaves of grass and even Goats, both under the radar comedies with likeable characters
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 5:57:28 PM

"@ Mink, both battles were roughly the same time dude."

Yeah dude, I, along with Stapleton and Wikipedia, cleared that up about thirty posts above.

You'll also notice where I say the two battles occurring simultaneously, I'm sorry, "concurrently", although Wiki uses both words, puts this blatant and cheap rip-off in an even more precarious position, with respect to...respect.

imo, of course.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 6:01:39 PM

@Green Lantern: I'm going to check out Dark Skies and Repeaters first, if I can ever get around to finding a copy of either, as there isn't a Walmart for thirty miles here, and I'm sure as f*ck not shopping Best Buy.
Ip_man writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 6:06:55 PM

Anne Hathaway To Star With Matthew McConaughey in Christopher Nolan’s ‘Interstellar’

http://www.deadline.com/2013/04/anne-hathaway-to-star-with-matthew-mcconaughey-in-christopher-nolans-interstellar/
Ip_man writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 6:25:46 PM

and still no 'oblivion' reviews - 2 days before release.not a good sign.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 6:33:43 PM

Oblivion's not a comic book movie or a vampire flick, ip_man. No d*ckless nerd shills waiting to give it three thumbs up.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 6:49:24 PM

Here you go, ip_man

http://twitchfilm.com/2013/04/review-oblivion-looks-great-but-sounds-like-a-dozen-better-sci-fi-flicks.html

Taken on its own, Oblivion is a wholly watchable and oftentimes entertaining sci-fi action adventure that looks and sounds incredible on the big screen (even if Anthony Gonzalez and M83's score frequently recalls Hans Zimmer's music from Inception). However, the script is poorly written, with a few of its most integral explanations either dumped into expository speeches or skipped entirely, while all its best ideas come from the work of Andrei Tarkovsky, the Wachowskis and Duncan Jones. If that's unimportant, then Oblivion will feed your clearly starved science fiction appetite. For the rest of us, this is spectacle over substance and, at times, embarrassingly familiar.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 6:50:31 PM

Saw the making of Oblivion on shotime, looks awesome, "are we still a functional team?" ;}
mustardayonnaise writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:21:52 PM

and in other news, Elysium trailer drops:

http://youtu.be/AvqjwTQ1Kqk
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:22:30 PM

I was looking forward to interstellar, keyword "was"...I'll try to look on the bright side though, and expect interstellar performances by decent actors who almost never get lead roles, I just keep hearing the word "wormholes" in a hick accent, and then a little trickle of laughter.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:26:25 PM

thanks mustard... looks amazing!
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:36:32 PM

Does look amazing. Looks like Dictrict 9 with twenty times the budget. Lots of mecho-tech, lots of lush environments and standard bearer sci-fi shots.

Too bad then he has to write this crap wherein Elysium is an all white wealthy paradise and Earth is Mexico. And of course Jodi plays a mean, cold villain, which isn't too far a leap from her role in life.

Blomkamp should try a little harder. His political beliefs are a little too transparent. Learn a little more from H.G. Wells, from whom he's lifted this class warfare fable.
pornfly writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:01:38 PM

Got Repeaters in my queue thx MINK
Still keepin an eye out for Triangle
As far as Dark Skies goes
I havent been interested in a good alien film since The Fourth Kind
Communion
Fire in the Sky
all the same
SHARLTO COPLEY writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:21:49 PM

http://collider.com/elysium-trailer/

gerard butler was in this weird movie with pierce 007 brosnan where his daughter gets kidnap
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:25:59 PM

Well, to be fair, Pornfly, Capsule suggested Repeaters, not me.
capsule writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 10:47:28 PM

feel free to sh*t on me if the movie isnt to your liking :-), i saw it in 2010.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 10th, 2013 at 12:11:30 AM

@mink: you really can't argue that those were known actors in 300. Only thing I remembered butler in before that was Tomb Raider and Reign of Fire and he was a disposable nobody in both. I didn't even know Fassbender was in it until a few months ago.

I've been hollering about Strike Back for a couple years now but many still javent seen it. As a fan of 24 is think there's a slim chance you'd might like it. I have yet to hear anyone that's seen it complain about the show or Stapleton's performance. in fact it been ALL praise. Just because you don't know him doesn't mean no one else does.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved