WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Hellboy" Creator Says "Hellboy 3" Will Never Happen

Posted: April 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Hellboy" Creator Says "Hellboy 3" Will Never HappenSubmit Comment
Depending on when you speak to Guillermo Del Toro, you'll likely get a different answer regarding whether he'll ever return to finish the "Hellboy" trilogy. We've heard that Universal Pictures has no interest in the franchise, while also that Del Toro is eager to direct "Hellboy 3" in the near future.

Now, the original "Hellboy" creator Mike Mignola has cleared up the situation while attempting to explain that the "Hellboy" comics will not be released weekly or monthly, but when they're ready.

"The biggest problem I see as far as PR for the next billion years is explaining endlessly not only that there's no 'Hellboy 3' movie," he said. "But it's going to be explaining 'It's a series, but it's not a monthly series.'"

There you have it, according to the creator of the comic book, there's currently no plan to make "Hellboy 3" and there never will be.

Back in October, Del Toro said that the problem is finding money to make the film. "It's the biggest chapter of the three movies," the director explained. "Hellboy becomes the beast of the apocalypse. We've inquired [about the money], but so far, [unless] you know a rich uncle with $130 million..."

Source: CBR, MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:35:59 PM

No Hellboy 3, but we get three Hangover movies?

Yeah, f*ck you Hollywood.
Ip_man writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:46:35 PM

well maybe if pacific rim makes sh*t load of money(though i read it will most likely flop)then del toro will move his fat and do something.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:47:32 PM

@mink
People like stupid and boring now. Creativity is almost frowned upon because it means having to take risks. Course they seem to realize that one day all the franchises they milked will no longer be popular and they'll need new ones but, oh wait, there is nothing new to make a franchise of.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:50:07 PM

@Ip_man
It is very possible. Christopher Nolan did the same thing with Dark Knight Rises which he said he would only make if they let him do "Inception" first. Maybe Del Toro could pull the move backwards. He makes this movie and that encourages studios to trust him with a big budget.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:50:58 PM

Cut the budget! Use practical effects! Christ.

Kubrick's '2001' cost 12 mil to make which is 74 mil in today's currency. You're telling me even with modern computers Hellboy 3 would cost nearly twice that?

Something doesn't f*cking add up.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:55:04 PM

@mink
Well now that CGI effects are the most common used they charge more to use them.
Ip_man writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:56:45 PM

they can pull a 'ridd*ck' and release 1000 photos of hellboy taking a crap before the first trailer.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 5:05:20 PM

@Sleuth: spot on. They do. Used to be, a guy with some acrylic paint and a box of styrofoam could work for George Lucas making spaceships. Now you have to hire a f*cking corporation with 600 rack-mounted processors to render all the preposterous effects, like Shockwave's drill in Dark of the Moon, which had 70,000 parts/pieces. 70,000! All that processing for all those days just render all that sh*t, like they absolutely had to model every single f*cking piece. It's just ridiculous. And costly.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 5:17:50 PM

@mink
What kills me is "Inception" was done practically with all practical effects and it was spectacular!!! Same with Peter Jackson. Most of his stuff is done with sets and green screen simply serving to fill backgrounds. God I blame Luc Beeson for this. He is known for starting all this style over substance stuff and now it's all over the place. Everything looks pretty but it sucks substance-wise. Actually to hell with that, effects suck more and more because they don't put time and care into the effects. In fact, funny you should mention Shockwave from Transformers 3. The effects are great in that but suck ass in story. Why can't you have both? Stop rushing production to match a release date and take some time to make a decent film for crying out loud! LOL
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:05:05 PM

@Sleuth: Well, Inception had a huge amount of VFX. The bending city, the explosions, the Winter Fortress, which was a CG version of UCSD's Geisel Library, plus all the shots of the decaying metropolis. Lots of VFX in there, but it was balanced with ample story and ample practical effects.

Most films today don't even try. They assume the audience isn't either perceptive or intelligent. They assume the audience only wants to be bedazzled by pretty images. They assume most audiences are immature children impressed with bright lights and loud noise, something you don't see the farther back in film you go. So the progression from standard meaty, serious filmmaking to sh*t like Transformers is imo a degradation of film that won't end until the paying audiences demand better, which judging by their declining tastes in music, doesn't appear to be on the horizon.
cress writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:07:38 PM

HELLBOY 2 didn't exactly burn up the box office. It was released the week before THE DARK KNIGHT, had a great opening, then nosedived. Plus, while it was bigger, it was not better than the original. I can see why Universal is not interested in H3.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:46:12 PM

I was wrong. The cafe shot was executed with air cannons, and the Winter Fortress was a miniature. Pretty f*cking impressive. Still, the film did have plenty of CG VFX:

http://www.wired.com/underwire/2010/07/inception-visual-effects/
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:49:04 PM

@Cress: I certainly enjoyed the second more than the first, and if they're basing their decision to not make a sequel on the fact HB2's BO performance died when TDK debuted, that's a wholly unfair evaluation.

Sadly, HB2 only made 160 mil ww, and cost 85mil.

Damned TDK.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:54:48 PM

Looking at the Art of Hellboy book right now. Mignola has an interesting style, for sure. He should maybe try porting it to animated films to see if he can raise enough money. Maybe throw in a Kickstarter too.
cress writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:33:28 PM

@Mink. I liked HELLBOY 2, but enjoyed the original more. There was a lot to admire in the sequel, but felt it was a little bloated and didn't flow as smoothly as the first film. I know it's a minor thing, but I hated Doug Jones voice as Abe Sapien. It just threw me off every time he spoke. The fairy tale-esque vein they took for the sequel was kind of cool, but also very frustrating. I just enjoyed the storyline for the first film more.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 9:54:40 PM

@Cress: the second one was bloated, and I can't recall it too much. The first was probably a better movie, but for me the second had more going on. So while I agree with you the first is probably the superior film, I enjoyed the second more, similar to the way people say Terminator is a better film than Terminator 2 but somehow enjoy the thrill ride of the second far more. Guess I just wanted more from the first, but we can agree Perlman nails it like no other actor nails a comic book lead. Well, except for maybe Blade and Iron Man.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 11:54:29 PM

Hellboy was a cool character but the Del Toro films sucked dolphin d*ck.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 12:19:39 AM

Minks first quote nailed it for me.
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 12:20:13 AM

I won't even ask how killerc*ck knows the taste of dolphin d*ck, but here's a video of what he had for lunch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OE475H2sDmA
KillerCOck writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 12:51:17 AM

What do you think they served at Clive Barker's House party dummy???

hahahaha!
minkowski writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 1:10:15 AM

Just messing with you killer. lol.
KillerCOck writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:05:01 AM

hahaha! always.
zxz writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:23:32 AM

I loved the first two Hellboys,and would love to see a third, but if the first two didn't make the money they expected, Universal to make Hellboy 3. It's called the movie BUSINESS for a reason. It's not the movie PARTY or the movie FRIENDSHIP---it's the movie BUSINESS. If it don't make dollars the first time, they don't do a sequel. Hollywood has been losing enough money with projects they thought were sure bets. Even if Pacific Rim does well, I don't think that will lead to Hellboy 3. But I do hope it leads to At the Mountains of Madness, because Del Toro can rock that one hard. Del Toro + Lovecraft=Total Badassery.
supaflywill writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:50:08 AM

oh ya set of wankers - no hellboy 3 .....ffs man then why make 2 ? unbeliveable
Bunny X writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 11:37:56 AM

I've always said Del Toro should have went the "flavor of the month" route and done part 2 and 3 back to back. You just knew the appetite for 3 was going to fade away and getting it done now is an almost impossibility. Plus, Pearlman is aging faster than a slice of cheesecake in the middle of the desert.
BlackDynamite writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 7:49:52 PM

Creator of the comic does not get final say on whether or not there will be another movie. This is not news.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved