WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Redford Agrees With Terrorist Bombings That Killed Innocent Americans

Posted: April 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Redford Agrees With Terrorist Bombings That Killed Innocent AmericansSubmit Comment
Robert Redford's "The Company You Keep" is now playing in theaters and focuses on an activist group behind the 1981 Brinks robbery that resulted in the murder of two police officers and a security guard.

Many believe that the film glorifies the murderers, which isn't surprising since Redford admitted that he felt compassion for many of the 1960s radical groups, like the Weather Underground, which was responsible for multiple deadly bombings.

"When I was younger, I was very much aware of the movement," he said. "I was more than sympathetic. I was probably empathetic because I believed it was time for a change. Whether that change was a revolution or not, I don't know. But I was very much for what was going on."

When asked if he agreed with the bombings that caused the death of many innocent people. "[I agreed with] all of it," Redford replied. "I knew that it was extreme and I guess movements have to be extreme to some degree."

In the movie, the actor plays a member of the domestic terrorist group who is forced to flee after a reporter (Shia LaBeouf) reveals his identity. Redford added that he still feels compassion for the radicals, especially after making the film.

Source: Washington Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:58:00 AM

And now hes the director of SHIELD. irony.
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:17:28 AM

I guess I have to look up in Wikipedia and read the original article from the Washington Post as I never heard about that terrorist group.

It would have been nice if the writer of this article would have explained what and why they did at that time. The motive and the reasons for Redford to make that statement isn't really clear.
Ip_man writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:26:54 AM

@Taco

lol :-)
pornfly writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:37:45 AM

A train with his Three kids and five grandkids was just de-railed by ASIAN DAWN killing all on board.

The conflict of interest should make his facial warts ooze.

Loony-ass hippy ginger
pornfly writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:49:19 AM

It figures his wife is german and rascist
She insulted Jews and Sir Ben Kingsley to his face

Another good one TACO
ENFORCER writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:59:07 AM

Bullit probably finds this whole topic sexual.
pornfly writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:10:58 AM

From that pic i thought this was about Margaret Thatcher passing away
ENFORCER writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:13:11 AM

^^ yes he looks ugly as sin in that photo. Robert Redford needs to die ASAP!!
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:19:15 AM

@pornfly lol
Stapes writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:39:47 AM

No shocker here. What I find telling about Redford is that he talks about how he believes in left wing domestic terrorism and yet while all this was going on what was he doing? Acting in movies. Just another balless armchair liberal activist.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:41:07 AM

Robert who??
velocityknown writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 9:17:51 AM

Alex, you're such an unbelievable f*cking troll. You can read from those statements that Redford never said, "I agree with terrorist bombings that kill innocent Americans."

He just said that when he was younger, he empathized with those things as many people in America did.

Look at the Washington Post headline: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/apr/3/robert-redford-i-felt-empathetic-violent-60s-radic/

"I felt ‘empathetic’ for violent ‘60s radicals" Can you see how that's an accurate representation of a statement?

By the way, I'm not defending the politics of the film, I just can't believe how frequently Alex will sacrifice proper journalism in order to troll his visitors. That's not true, I can believe it, I just still think it's f*cking idiotic.
velocityknown writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 9:24:06 AM

"Weather Underground, which was responsible for multiple deadly bombings"

Seriously, Alex? How bad can you be at this? The Weather Underground bombings only ever resulted in 3 deaths...3 people from their own idiot organization who died making a bomb. Their sh*tty ass movement never amounted to anything more than some damage to public buildings.
McQueen writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 9:57:52 AM

^ ^ No wonder I never heard of them but thank you for clearing that up.
velocityknown writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 10:06:28 AM

@McQueen

Yeah, it was a bunch of college kids who thought they were more badass than they were capable of being. It's actually totally appropriate that three of those idiots blew themselves up as the only casualties of their movement. Some members of the organization did carry a bank robbery in the 80s and killed three people, but it wasn't an act of the Weather Underground organization.

shiteater writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 10:19:15 AM

velocityknown just made this Alex guy look like a f*ckin' amateur.
McQueen writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 10:34:33 AM

Yes Velocity, this article is totally misleading and it's also a blattant proof of poor journalism indeed.

Moreover, I don't see the relevant side for Redford to even comment on such small group who had the preposterous idea among others to fight the American Imperialism.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 11:15:48 AM

Here we go I'm putting you on blast alex you sorry ass zuckerberg wannabe

You steal all of your news from other sites including Latino review - which actually attempts to find their own news

You post bullsh*t articles like this one 90% of the time or comic movie news which don't even reveal anything we already know from yeaterday

You manipulate the news you do steal into sounding like something completely different the the headline suggests

I only return to this site for the posts from people who ought to be running their own sites like pornfly mink creas and even that semi annoying enforcer all make this sh*tty ass site a little more interesting

I'm done with this sh*t hole of a website I'm deleting own account before you have a chance in taking that from me like you have tried to do to others

Your the worst piece of sh*t news website out there you can't even follow up with the stories you do steal I hope you get hit with a car. I care more about Lindsey Lohan than this piece of crap website.
capsule writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 12:15:04 PM

Everyone's right, Alex, you're either a mongoloid retard who found someone's laptop in the park who happened to have just made a website conveniently leaving you instructions on how to update it, or you're Lindsey Lohan.

I remember not to long ago you're dumbass would post spoilers to movies like you didn't know any better or thought it was cool, until everyone called you out, like get a clue. I too only come here for the banter and somewhat intelligle posts. I'm voting for a Mink website.
alexgi writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 12:21:58 PM

Exact quote from the Washington Times article: "he STILL felt compassion for the true-life radicals after making the film."

You can also read about the Brinks robbery and the murders. They were done by former Weather Underground members.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brinks_robbery_%281981%29
30YoVirgin writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:03:59 PM

f*ck YOU ALEX
zxz writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:18:47 PM

What a liberal *sshole!
Biz Malarkey writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:29:56 PM

Hence the word former d*ck head.
velocityknown writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:30:26 PM

@Alex

I read the Washington Times article. Saying you feel compassion for someone who's committed a crime is hardly newsworthy. Battlestar Galactica took the viewpoint of insurgents and terrorists in its third season and I daresay that the writers had to work to sympathize with what the plight of people who become insurgents are in order to make that show.

The problem here is that you very clearly presented the article hoping it would be taken in the way that Redford "Agrees With Terrorist Bombings That Killed Innocent Americans."

That headline itself is factually incorrect, please link me to the article about the Weather Underground's terrorist bombing he supported that killed innocent Americans. Only people that died as a result of a bombing were the people making the bomb, hardly innocent. And yes, the Brinks robbery was committed by former Underground members, but it wasn't an act of the organization. The page you linked to itself says that robbery was committed by the May 19th Communist Organization.

The Company You Keep takes what happened in the Brinks robbery, moves it into the 70s and positions it as something that was done by The Weather Underground so that someone could still logically be arrested for it and set off the stupid chain of events in which Shia Labeouf and Robert Redford team up to annoy us all.

Show a little more respect for the people who visit your website and stop posting troll crap like this. You know, myself and a lot of people here actually like to talk about movies. Not Amanda Bynes, Lindsay Lohan, or you taking something hugely out of context without doing any kind of research to support what you're implying.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 2:58:13 PM

Redford's corpse is looking pretty good these days.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:16:02 PM

Dear god.

Look Alex, I'm more than sympathetic to many of your apparent political leanings, at least in general, but you REALLY need to rewrite this POS article to properly reflect the facts, because any kid with access to Wikipedia can show you're wrong, as Velocity did. This just makes you look like FOX News lite, getting the facts blatantly wrong to push a political agenda.

Yeah, Redford is a f*cking idiot. Most people with half a brain know he's a f*cking idiot. Of course he sympathized with radicals and murderers. Probably jerked off to the Zebra Murders. Probably hates his own skin color and his own country and doesn't mind a little murder in the name of the Party Doctrine.

But you writing factually idiotic articles only hurts what it is you're trying to prove, and by now, you have to realize 90% of the people on the internet are twenty-something idiots indoctrinated at universities by left-wing members of the Democratic Politburo, so they're going to have ZERO patience for any and all pandering to non-liberal group-think.



Next time, do some f*cking research you lazy f*cking bum.


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zebra_murders

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenwich_Village_townhouse_explosion
velocityknown writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:29:05 PM

Jerking off the Zebra Murders: Let's Paint the Town White

Directed and Starring Robert Redford, coming to Sundance next winter.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:32:03 PM

lol.
vincere01 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:36:38 PM

Either this "article" was "written" fir the sole purpose of web page hits, accuracy be damned. Or alex hates redford with such a molten passion that he is willing to attempt to re-write history to conform to his goals in life.

While its hard to say which it is, which probably both ring
truth here. Either is a motive or trait which has no place in journalism. At least not in a way that has integrity to it, or that will gain you the respect of your readers and contemporaries alike.

I'll give you this though alex. If indeed you are doing these things on purpose than at least you know the buttons to push to get views. Just know that it could be/probably will be at the expense of your very audience you seek in the end. That is all
vincere01 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:38:25 PM

I wonder how many facebook recomendations this article will get? Lol any guesses?
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:45:26 PM

He can push buttons without f*cking lying.

Here's the interview and a bit more info.

http://newsbusters.org//blogs/scott-whitlock/2013/04/02/robert-redford-loves-stephanopouloss-fawning-over-his-60s-radicals-f

Had Alex simply checked his facts and not said "which was responsible for multiple deadly bombings", his article would be pretty much spot on: Redford endorses murder if done in the name of his political and social ideology.
shiteater writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:56:41 PM

f*ck these troll articles.
pornfly writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:59:48 PM

Wish i had you guys around to sit next to in high school
Thanks
pornfly writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:01:55 PM

Annette Funicello and her boobs also died today
jdl107 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:19:10 PM

Alex, you keep posting articles with false sensationalist titles, and now you've bit the big one, boyo. Maybe it's time to drop this half-assed rhetoric of yours and find either a new hobby and let someone else (someone better) write for WP, or f*cking work on it because it's obviously not working for you.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:24:25 PM

@ALEX: REPORT ONLY MOVIE NEWS, *sshole!
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:50:35 PM

Yeah!

What Mink said in an extremely large font! Lol
velocityknown writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:53:06 PM

TV news also acceptable.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 5:08:41 PM

The occasional pornographic news item is also acceptable.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:52:29 PM

lol
Donyae 420 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 10:10:57 PM

Alex,U Got A Friend In ME(Toy Story Song)
JFB writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 11:00:19 PM

I often wonder why I come to this website for movie news when frankly, I already hear much of the news already posted on here hours/days before, and every now and then we get news stories like this one.

But your guys' responses are the reasons I come here. I might not comment much myself, but I'm always reading and there is a lot of funny f*ckers on this website. Sick, yeah, but funny...
jatilq writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 12:00:20 AM

"f*ck these troll articles." sh*teater

Says it all.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 12:58:01 AM

Robert Redford will be taking over the Taliban!!!
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 2:09:26 PM

I was really hoping this was about Lions For Lambs 2.
ablizzy87 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 10:28:58 PM

The Washington Times can't even hire journalists that do research!!!???? The Weather Underground was never responsible for the deaths of anyone. Two members were later responsible for the deaths of individuals when they were members of a DIFFERENT group! The Underground did bomb places but always warned people to leave the area and were never responsible for deaths, which is why most of them walked when they went public because the FBI broke the law in their pursuit of them. I am so sick and tired of apathetic individuals who don't bother to do their homework before publishing. This is what I expect from the right-wing noise machine though. If we say it and no one checks it, it must be true. However the notion that the Weather Underground was responsible for any deaths is ABJECTLY FALSE!!!! If you don't believe me, just look them up and read damnit! And watch the doc*mentary on them on YouTube or another source.
seveltoto writes:
on October 25th, 2017 at 2:52:20 AM

aleale writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 11:54:10 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 3:01:55 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 17th, 2017 at 10:14:52 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved