WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Struggling With Underwater Performance Capture on "Avatar 2"

Posted: April 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Struggling With Underwater Performance Capture on "Avatar 2"Submit Comment
"Avatar" producer Jon Landau attended the NAB Technology Summit on Sunday, where he revealed that James Cameron is currently testing new technology to determine how to create underwater scenes for upcoming "Avatar" sequels.

"We have kept a team of digital artists on from 'Avatar' in order to test how we can create performance capture underwater," he said. "We could simulate water [in computer graphics], but we can't simulate the actor's experience, so we are going to capture performance in a [water] tank."

Landau continued: "We want to take advantage of the technology that people are putting out there to make the next two movies more engaging and visually tantalizing, and wrap up the story arc of our two main characters. [People] don't watch [movies] for technology, they watch because they make an emotional connection to a story."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:02:47 AM

If only that were true. If people watched movies for emotional connection then Michael Bay would be out of work.
Barney Stinson writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:02:47 AM

Unless I'm really reading over something, nowhere does it say or imply that Cameron is "struggling" with it. Here is the original article - http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/behind-screen/nab-avatar-2-producer-talks-434533

Unless you're just making things up Alex lol
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:11:03 AM

Yeah...very misleading headline there. Sounds to me like he is actively developing the technology, not struggling. Lots of attention grabbing headlines lately, that only thinly relate to the article's content (I'm looking at you "Robert Redford Supports Terrorists")
pornfly writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:27:44 AM

what TACO said
Ip_man writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:28:35 AM

great,let's postpone it 2026...
WV-Films writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:59:20 AM

He hasn't drowned yet?
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:45:23 AM

Damn was hoping he was stuck on the moon somewhere.
boogiel writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 9:12:00 AM

I don't get it. They can make underwater porn but having trouble with making avaturd?
Burglecut writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 9:23:30 AM

How about a little more struggling with the script for a change....
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 11:25:42 AM

great blue cgi turd floating around a bathtub cant wait
Phoenix Fire writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 11:33:46 AM

There's a difference between Struggling With and experimenting.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:08:33 PM

"[People] don't watch [movies] for technology, they watch because they make an emotional connection to a story."

Exactly. That's why Battleship grossed over $300 million worldwide because people went in for the story.. *eye roll*
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 2:28:59 PM

You know none can deny Cameron is probably one of the most self-righteous people in Hollywood, but none can deny he isn't one of the most driven people in Hollywood either. Guy pushes the envelope every film and while it is definitely agreed it doesn't take a great story to get people to a big-budget movie with lots of action it could be argued that people still will go to movies that have emotional cores at the center of them. I mean "Return of the Kings" was a big budget film but it was also a human story in the midst of all the Nazgul and Orcs. I could probably go into that whole deep metaphorical crap from that film and book series but I don't want people to start falling asleep. Point is people may want explosions and stuff, but the ones that really sell are the ones with a little bit of human connection. Otherwise what's the point? Granted it was mostly women, but you think they went to see "Titanic" for the special effects. They came for the dopey romance story. I guess in the end I'm saying it's 50/50 in that argument on why people go to the movies and I understand Cameron wants his film to mean something. In fact I think he could do a great job and the reason the first "Avatar" was so poor in story was he was trying to invent the effects necessary. Now that he mostly has it done this time around I think he can add some more emotional elements. I mean we'll see but his movies have always been good to me. Plus, guy can't be that bad. He didn't curse out McG when the ass made "Terminator: Salvation", which was okay but not even close to the first 2.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:23:07 PM

Simple. Lasers, you dolt. Tag the actors with markers a computer system employing lasers can track. Use a non-visible laser wavelength. Write your own custom tracking software to interface with the lasers.

Problem solved, idiot.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:26:44 PM

Dunno why the moron is going to do it this way anyway. He's going to replace the actors with digital creations anyway, so why not use CG water instead? Plenty of software simulates water almost perfectly. Why insist on capturing real people in real water only to replace the real people with CG characters? Because he has a f*cking hard-on for water? Is that why The Abyss features a water-based d*ck? Is this Cameron's sexual fantasy? Getting f*cked by watery d*cks?

Get help, Jimmy.
shiteater writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:59:17 PM

How is he struggling with it? f*ck this sh*t!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:08:54 PM

@mink
Well he already claimed the Na'vi were based off his idea of the perfect women. This would explain why he wanted to work with Sigourney Weaver AGAIN. LOL Super tall, athletic woman who could crush him. Sound about right?
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:21:00 PM

@Sleuth: yeah I think you're seriously onto something. Think: Linda Hamilton in Terminator 2.

Dude has a serious masculinity problem. Probably explains why he's always going to the bottom of the ocean alone, trying to prove to the world he's a tough macho motherf*cker. Was probably a pencil-neck nerd in high school.

Again I say, get help Jimmy.
Burglecut writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:29:16 PM

He should use the under water effect from the return of the king! That illusion was perfect...
JFB writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 11:08:57 PM

I used to respect this guy for his skills and talent on films like Terminator, True Lies, and his Alien Sequel.

I lost all that respect when he made Avatar. A cartoon that everyone called a "spectacle" to be seen. I saw it and it is not deserving of $2 billion in ticket sales. It was cliche, boring, and frankly, the CGI was horrible. What was so great about it?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved