WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Evil Dead" Reboot Takes First Place with $30 Million

Posted: April 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Evil Dead" Reboot Takes First Place with $30 MillionSubmit Comment
A reboot of Sam Raimi's 1981 "Evil Dead" horror film hit theaters this weekend, grossing $26 million domestically, which was good enough for first place at the box office. Overseas, the movie took in another $4.5 million for a worldwide debut of $30.5 million.

"Evil Dead," which was directed by Fede Alvarez and produced by Raimi, cost only $17 million to make, which means that it's already profitable. "Fede did an amazing job remaking this film," said Sony. "When you think you've seen it all, they bring in something new. The movie really is scary."

The other wide release of the weekend was "Jurassic Park 3D," which landed in fourth place. Universal Pictures and Steven Spielberg spent $10 million converting the film, which ended up grossing $21.2 million worldwide. It has a 91% fresh rating.

On the specialty side, "The Company You Keep," starring Shia LaBeouf and Robert Redford, opened in five theaters and earned $146,058. That's an impressive average of $29,212 per theater. It has a 53% fresh rating.

The other limited release was Danny Boyle's "Trance" thriller, starring James McAvoy. The new movie earned $136,103 from four theaters for a per-theater average of $34,206. It has a 71% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Evil Dead" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 9:28:35 PM

Can't wait to get paid and go see this movie!!
vincere01 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 9:34:14 PM

Plan on my return visit to JP 2marow night. Hearing only good things about the conversion. Supposed to be some of the best 3d yet. Stoked
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 10:26:16 PM

Still waiting for my horror movie based on Wonder's bakery, entitled Evil Bread. When I get that, then we'll talk.
boogiel writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 10:31:53 PM

I'll wait until DVD/Bluray release.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 11:35:20 PM

Haven't even heard of the other movies lol
Ip_man writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 12:38:10 AM

wow,someone(and i'm not gonna say who)has such a big hard on for 'evil dead' that he wrote a misleading title claiming 'evil dead' made 30 mil this weekend while actually it made only 26.

Twilight and DP gave it 8/10..hmmm...
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 12:50:31 AM

Well, it did make 4.5 mil overseas, according to the article here, ip_man, not that you can ever believe what you read at this place...
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:20:24 AM

@mink... wow brother ur still at it? There's a world out there you know, filled with nature, and women, and great food and all sorts of other things besides a computer screen.

This site it a movie gossip site, one that is surprisingly accurate considering that most of what u read here is based off speculation and rumor anyway. They have been right about multiple projects, I have a few buddies in Skydance Productions who can confirm that for you.

But continue downing these people by all means, it's all you have to phucking do with your life and I enjoy seeing you make an ass out of yourself.
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:24:13 AM

Most of the releases look like yawners to me until the summer blockbusters hit... World War Z is the first zombie movie that looks remotely interesting to me since Resident Evil.. (the last one SUCKED ASS) I just don't get the zombie craze
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:25:13 AM

A handy quote for all of you looking to argue with Mink:

Never argue with an idiot. They'll only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:47:58 AM

A handy quote for you Those who fail are disciplined so go jerk off to your ugly girlfriends face who coincidentally has her head buried in your moms crab cake
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 2:12:22 AM

lol.

Dude must be high on bird sh*t. No clue what he or she is saying. Something about gossip and rumor being surprisingly accurate, and some sh*t about Skydance Productions, which has little to do with Evil Dead unless they had a hand in Evil Dead. Who knows, who the f*ck cares?

Nope. Just checked. Most recent films: Star Trek 2, GI Joe 2, Jack Reacher and World War Z. No evil dead.


And yeah, the title isn't misleading. 26 + 4.5 is still 30.5 last time I checked. Guess Alex should have said 31 mil instead of 30. Rounding up, you know.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 2:17:51 AM

World War Z is going to be sh*t. No one gives a f*ck about Brad Pitt. He appeals to older people who don't give a rat's ass about zombies. But hey, good try on them trying to grab two demographics by casting some has-been lead in a film based on a young demographic fad.
minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 2:22:42 AM

"Never argue with an idiot. They'll only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience."

Actually, my young retarded padawan, the tired, cliched quote is "Never argue with a fool; onlookers may not be able to tell the difference.", which is attributed to Mark Twain, an author I'm sure you've never read.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:18:03 AM

WWZ may turn out to be sh*t, but I really am looking forward to witnessing the evolution of zombies, and i'm not talking about the people paying to see the movie.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:37:28 AM

I love evil films. Evil Dead original was crap though, terrible effects, Sam Raimi is a useless c*nt (Like Bullit) Like the original Texas Chainsaw, horrible film!!!!!! f*cking terrible. Hope this one is good.

Megan fox has aids... go away c*ntingham!!
GreenLensman writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 4:58:33 AM

ya, I have to agree Enforcer, if the gore is sooooo f*cking over the top, why not expand your horizons, open your imagination, Investigate Amanda Bynes Vagina, and just start skull f*cking jews with a barnacle-lined alien tentacle featuring a hitler mustache. My dream is to remake urotsukidoji, demon beast invasion and even that other i can't remember.....something about inserting alien parasites into the vag so they grow into d*cks that f*ck their own vaginas....but Kiera Knightly and Natalie Portman havent responded yet.
McQueen writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 5:40:14 AM

JB

Go f*ck yourself you low life c*nt!

The most inane words written by an uneducated monkey at 4:37 AM! What kind of life is that to stay awake all night? It only means you don't have a real job c*cksucker!
ENFORCER writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:06:36 AM

^ At 5:40:14 AM you are here trolling for people to talk about you. Waking up thinking about c*ckS.
M. Bullitt writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:45:59 AM

I live in Europe you bloody retard! That means I'm six hours ahead from the time displayed and the server of this site is in New York.

And you're the only f*cking parasite that keeps mentioning me you wanker!

f*cking c*nt!
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 6:59:24 AM

Enforcer Evil Dead was very well done for its time, Don't even act like that isn't true you c*cksucker.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:30:30 AM

Tanman32123 I did not like the original, seen it recently and was kinda pissed at how bad it is. Secondly d*ckhead, you call me a c*cksucker I will ram your head up pissypants ass!


Bullit f*ck off, you are not in Europe stop talking sh*t. Also what makes YOU think I am in USA?
McQueen writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:56:15 AM

You delusional f*cking liar! You'll f*ck off for the 5th time, I gurantee you that much you son of crack whore!

I'm tired wasting my time with an illiterate, ignorant c*nt like your low life specie!
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:29:34 AM

Yeah!

What he said!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 9:05:35 AM

Mission accomplished Hwood. You've finally dumded down the audience enough for them to not recognize a bad movie when they see it. I had to watch the first two Evil Deads last night after seeing the remake just to remind myself what real filmmaking looked like again. This new sh*t is just all about buckets of blood. There's no point to it at all, no real story just hints of a narrative. They don't talk about the Book of the Dead or give any explanation of where the demons come from which are major elements of the series. They don't bother to give the film a hero or a heroine (another major element of the series), in fact they make the demon the star of the movie. They really go out of their way to make the characters overly stupid just so they would stumble into the meat grinder just like EVERY OTHER lazy horror film on the market. There's not one ounce of originality or fun in the entire film. How this adds ups to all the positive reviews eludes me, but that seems to be happening more and more these days.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 10:10:49 AM

The film goes out of its way to suspend reality and common sense for the sake of more gore and to update the story: ****SPOILER ALERT****

Turkey knives won't cuts through a human arm in a matter of seconds, and that's why Ash uses a chainsaw to do the job in the famous Who's Laughing Now scene in ED 2.

Using a car battery in the rain to jumpstart someone's heart is already a stretch, but not taking the suffocating plastic bag off the head while you're trying to resuscitate them might be the dumdest thing I've ever seen filmmed.

If your arm is pinned in the mud under a car in the middle of a huge rain storm wouldn't it make more sense to dig your hand out of the soft rainsoaked ground rather than yank at it until your hand came off?

If you're gonna set rules for a demon's resurrection (like it requiring 5 souls to feast on) make sure you stick to them. By my count it only got 4 souls max. It never possessed Mia's brother and technically it was forced out of Mia herself. Maybe they were counting the girl from the opening but that's a big stretch too.

Why doesn't anyone think there's something strange about a cellar that has a huge bloodstain leading out of it, a sh*tload of dead cats in it hanging from the ceiling, and a book of witchcraft bound in human skin?

There's a reason why none of this sh*t was in the original series. IT'S DUMB AND IT MAKES NO SENSE!!!!



Why doesn't anyone but the main character smell the basement full of dead cats until they remove a thin rug covering the cellar door?





Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 11:20:12 AM

I think you're somewhat missing the point man, it's not like the screen writers and director and producers and EVERYONE got together and said

"Okay guys, Let's try to make a realistic horror film and win some awards" Because in reality, This movie can't exactly be made realistically because the story in fact isn't Realistic lol and nobody wants to see a horror film like that. It just doesn't sell.

Other then Silence of the Lambs and the Exorcist, Name 1 horror movie that was made well, Realistic, and made a good profit.

It's not easy because people pay to see gore, So that's Bassically what they made. The perfect Gore Fest.
Moose756 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 12:11:20 PM

@tanman I have a few movies that succeeded without excessive gore and they all have a story. Interview with the vampire, Scream, Let the right on in, an american werewolf in london, the ring.... It seems like people accept gorefest cause thats what is coming out but every so often a good quality horror movie sneaks in lol.
Moose756 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 12:18:16 PM

Also you should check out early peter jackson films for perfect gore films
SACdaddy writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 1:59:40 PM

@ Tanman: if you think I'm looking specifically for realism in an Evil Dead movie, you don't really get my point. I'm saying in some cases its just lazy misguided filmmaking and a lack of attention to detail on behalf of the director to make such blatant errors and bad choices. Let's face it this director used a carving knife to chop an arm off because he had no way of getting a chainsaw into that part of his convoluted take on the story. Sam Raimi didn't make these dorky decisions when he made the first two films (especially ED2). Everything had some kind of a reason or a purpose to be involved in the plot.

If this film wants to be seen in a vacuum where it can get away with this crap it should just change its title and opperate on its own. But because it banks on the nostalgia of an already well established product, it should have standards to meet.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 2:40:00 PM

@Tanman: I hate bringing it up again, but what did you think of Cabin in the Woods. Do you think its possible to like both that film and this ED remake?



minkowski writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:03:53 PM

"and the server of this site is in New York"

Actually, genius, it's located in Connecticut, where PAIR Networks, this sites host, is located. A simple WHOIS would have helped you out.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 3:33:00 PM

@Moose

True enough, I've seen some horror movies succeed without gore.. Scream and Let the right one in and great examples, So are The Shinning and Session 9.
If you haven't heard of Session 9, look it up, Great film lol

@Sac

I guess I can understand your point lol and I'd say it's very easy to like both films, although they're both set in a cabin they do have very different plots lol I personally liked Cabin and to much hate from the people of WP.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 12:16:27 AM

"It's not easy because people pay to see gore, So that's Bassically what they made. The perfect Gore Fest."

If you want the "perfect gorefest" look no further than the Hatchet films. They are a great blend of low budget (but extremely awesome) practical effects and dark humor without the burden of much plot. The ED remake doesn't even live up to those films.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 9th, 2013 at 8:22:59 AM

I watched the first, But didn't get around to the second lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved