WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Evil Dead" - What Did You Think?

Posted: April 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Evil Dead" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
The reboot of Sam Raimi's "Evil Dead" is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes, "Evil Dead" has a 65% fresh rating, with many critics agreeing that the film has more gore than almost any other movie. Many also believe that it remains true to the original, while bringing amazing visuals.

"Evil Dead" has a $17 million budget and will earn at least $20 million over the weekend. That would guarantee a sequel and take us one step closer to "Evil Dead 7," which will combine the new "Evil Dead" movies with Raimi's continuation of "Army of Darkness."

Click here to read our "Evil Dead" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 7:43:42 AM

Honestly, I still have to say, Dark Skies was a more appropriate, and well thought out film, according to today's standards. The theme of alien invasion has gone to waste up until now, and demons, well f*ck demons, they don't scare me half as much as super intelligent, millions of year older than us...super..alien..things..beings
Ip_man writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:02:32 AM

I agree,Aliens scare me much more then demons,ghosts,vampires or zombies.'the fourth kind' was the last solid effort i remember espically in this scene - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVH7mZLonoQ

i'll never watch 'evil dead'.
pornfly writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:20:35 AM

If there are governments hiding aliens then apparently thats the only job they are doing well
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:21:11 AM

I watched evil dead, and while it was very "put together", I would rate it a very solid 7/10...(pretty damn good). It lacked originality, "believability" that is what a demonic horror film is essentially made of...there was only one scene that made me lose my composure, and I will simply leave it up to you to figure it out.
Frank4969 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:31:25 AM

SPOILERS!!!!!!!



Lets start off with the word sh*t! I know the first had elements of humor which is why it was easier to accept the non believable parts. This film was supposed to ba all horror. Yet we have two main characters hilariously keep getting beaten where normal people would be dead and burried yet these two hop around like no big deal. Also does anyone care about the drug addict bitch at the beginning. NO ! For that matter. I couldn't wait for any of these *ssholes to die. How many times can the main character cry in his panties not to kill his demonic sister. Omg she's pschycotic. Moron. It's the whole scary movie choose the gun or the banana. This *sshole continuously keeps choosing the banana. Then you get at the end the all powered demon who can lift cars but is still easily killed by dismemberment. Oh and just a tiny point. When someone is drowning and appears to be drowned. I highly doubt they are jumping up completely dry and ready to fight. 5 retards. Dumb ass remake. No nudity. Basically the demons look good. Unless you are a teeny bopper who jumps at anything. Stay clear of this bull sh*t!
pornfly writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:32:03 AM

Ive seen the commercial where they show the audience applauding.
That must be the part where they show Ash...at the end.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:32:22 AM

I hated "the fourth kind", just like I "hated" Dredd...it simply did not bring on the first rule.. (never get high if your little brother draws pictures of aliens/drug dealers)
pornfly writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:35:50 AM

Travel ads on WP for Oklahoma??

Get that money, ALEX
Unless theyre payin you in basketball tix
ENFORCER writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:39:13 AM

Have not seen it will wait for bluray!!
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:43:37 AM

wait for shotime, unless bluray is ur thing lol
Ip_man writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:52:34 AM

@pornfly

install adblock
pornfly writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:58:37 AM

Ads dont bother me
It just caught my eye and i thought it funny
Thx anyway

Spot on with those Dustin Putman posts
I had never read a review here before till just before your posts
pornfly writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:59:14 AM

btw
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:59:57 AM

just think of the horrifying demonic opposite of "I love you man"
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 10:52:54 AM

@Green Lantern

Dark Skies was f*cking amazing! or at least I feel that it was lol, Right from the start, good movie.

And as for The Evil Dead-

Saw this film last night, Was very well done, they didnt add too much humor, Obviously because they wanted a more serious horror film. It wasn't cheesy, It was graphic and filled with great gore.

And remember you can only make an arm being ripped off seem so real, so you can't really bash that.. I liked the ending, the twists and just about everything. Even the script was good.

They have this one f*cking badass character, you'll know him when you see him, Get get EVERYTHING done to him and just completely gets f*cked up and keeps fighting back, Lmao what a tank..
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 10:53:09 AM

I thought it was a great film that lived up to its expectations.

Wonderfully shot, acting was decent, and the way they designed the plot actually made it believable as to why they are staying in the cabin with Mia.

I highly recommend the film to fans of the original.

They could have followed some 'rules' more but other than that I had a good time.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 10:54:37 AM

And for the love of god ignore franks review, He's just stupid.
Stapes writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 11:04:01 AM

Meh, it was so-so.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 11:04:59 AM

The part I didn't like was when the girl in red pulls half her arm off then in later shots I guess they didn't want to pay for special effects. She just tucked her hand in her armpit. Completely sucked me out of the movie it was so fake.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 11:29:31 AM

a critic's review is nothing more to me than an opinion...i'll watch this movie so long as i don't have to pay for it, then give my own opinion
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 12:23:12 PM

hey tan man I always like your opinons but I cant think of you ever not liking a movie. Out of interest what movies do you think are really bad
matternm58 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 12:29:43 PM

Loved it. Make sure you stay through the credits. Gore fest was still there key elements of the original were in there along with Easter eggs from the original. They went at it a little different as far as the reason why they went to the cabin but it worked and kept me interested. Love Bruce Campbell's appearance. Said one word and that's all he needed to say lol.
Ip_man writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 12:46:56 PM

yes,tanman,have you ever seen a movie you've really hated? except 'DP's and twilight wild adventures'?
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 12:52:04 PM

Thanks man! You've got some good comments/Opinions and such on here Aswell.

Here's some sh*tty movies that come to mind:
-The House at the end of the Street, Silent House, Resident Evil 4.. Among others.. Personally thought that GI Joe: Retaliation wasn't that good lol I could easily just say half the Friday the 13th sequels and Nightmare sequels lol But those are obvious.
ENFORCER writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 12:58:13 PM

Tanman32123 watch the original version of silent house, it's an Argentinian film.

http://m.imdb.com/title/tt1646973/
blinkbomber writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 1:17:04 PM

I for one loved it. A solid 8.5 for me. And I must say, it made a big friggin difference being able to enjoy the film's practical effects. I hope series newcomers appreciate what they are seeing.
Frank4969 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 1:32:03 PM

@ tan man. For the love of f*cks sake. Go castrate yourself. Nobody says you have to agree with my opinion. And if you at any point thought this movie was anything more than a blatant teeny bopper money maker then you sir are a bigger moron than the d*ck I stuck in your moms ass
ENFORCER writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 1:42:49 PM

^^ only filthy mothers we abuse is Bullits tyvm .... c*nt.
codeman_1216 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 2:56:59 PM

It may not have that humor we expect from the series, but where Evil Dead fails in that department, it makes up with a few over the top gore, a refreshing take on the Book of the Dead, and plenty of nods & winks to the original films that will give any fan a nostalgia woody. What looked like a sick "revision" turned out to be another great entry to the franchise.

9/10

P.S. I didn't mind Mia at all, Jane Levy went all out in that role.
codeman_1216 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 2:58:14 PM

DAMN NO EDIT BUTTON!!! Take out "a few" from my little mini review. There's LOTS of over the top gore.
Kurskij writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 3:52:51 PM

Evil Dead 7?
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 4:18:12 PM

I haven't seen a horror remake this good since "The Hills Have Eyes". But as gory as it was, I found myself wanting a little more. Good movie.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 4:25:13 PM

I'm going to have a heart attack...people talking about movies with almost no idiotic off-topic peri-pubescent sexual "humor"!? No way!

Anywho. Haven't seen Dark Skies but I've read it's a very stupid film, no offense to GL. I will check it out, regardless, though, because the premise sounds interesting, if only a little too much like Signs.

As for Evil Dead, I read it's essentially a pointless bloodbath retread of the original with tanned, hot Cali teenagers getting brutally, and frequently ridiculously, murdered, without any of the original film's T-'n-C humor. Clearly then, not my kind of meal.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 4:28:41 PM

I said Dark Skies is stupid because as soon as I read GLs post, I ran off to IMDb, read some of the forum remarks, and that seems to be something of a consensus.

Regardless, I will watch it to form my own opinion.
Frank4969 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 4:29:27 PM

For once I agree with mink. Not that he cares. The film was not the masterpiece tan fag thinks it is. It's probably because he's 13 years old and sh*t his pans upon seeing it
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 4:44:38 PM

Tanman is a very positive person, which is certainly more than I, and everyone else, can say about myself.

If him and I were to ever meet in real life, I think the universe would spontaneously explode. Then again, the destruction might in fact be very localized, limited to merely our own galaxy.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 4:44:53 PM

he.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 5:45:17 PM

haha when you watch Dark Skies let me know mink, i'd like to hear your opinion on it, I just really enjoyed it because It's my favorite subject matter, freaky mother f*cken aliens. and not the FAG's (freaky alien genotype) in movies like "The darkest Hour" including your beloved Olivia Thirlby from Dredd
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 5:52:16 PM

Olivia Thirlby is cute, I admit, but I much more prefer Olivia Wilde; then again, who doesn't?


The Darkest Hour was stupid assed sh*t, btw, worse than Battle: Los Angeles. Just terrible. Who directed that crap? Bekmambatov? No, he produced it. Whatever. 12% on RT.
Ip_man writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 5:59:52 PM

30 min into 'dark skies' very predictable and cheesy so far...going to sleep and post my final verdict tomorrow.

gangster squad 6/10 not bad but could have been much better with better casting and script.Josh Brolin however was great.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:01:45 PM

while Dark Skies got a 33%...pretty accurate, countless films are underrated, but there are aspects of Battle LA in Dark Skies, like poor acting, mainly due to the stereotypical retarded police officer, or husband (at first).
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:03:48 PM

Has anyone here seen Triangle? Now THAT was some pretty cool "science fiction", even though it had zero science whatsoever. Still, pretty effective film. Not perfect, as some elements of the plot made no real sense, but one of my "favorite" mindscrew flicks.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:05:05 PM

ip man, you obviously have good taste in movies...Ip man is a god damn beast, but Tanman said it best in his review

"the opening 5 minutes just gave me that eerie feeling that something scary was about to happen, but then wait?

Nothing.

until boom, something happens and you never even expected it"

Read more: http://worstpreviews.com/moviereviews.php?id=1847#ixzz2Pol6t5bU
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:08:53 PM

Is Triangle about ufo's? or the bermuta triangle? I'm thinking of 2 different movies now.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:12:09 PM

lol, no, not the made for tv flick. Made the same mistake once. No, the one with Melissa George and Thor.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:22:14 PM

you mean Thor's brother =P not loki, but the one who was sent to earth before the placenta was eaten by anthony hopkins ...
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:25:14 PM

A good way to judge movies is simply "will you watch it more than once" and if the answer is yes, than it is a good movie, no argument! Will I watch Evil Dead twice? f to teh yea
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:29:04 PM

lol, f*cking sick, and with your disgusting Amanda Bynes comment, skipping dinner is now in order.

Triangle online (youtube)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5eFYVr6zGTQ
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:30:55 PM

That was Chris Hemsworth?! Dude looks just like his f*cking brother.
minkowski writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:34:02 PM

Fire in the Sky, now that was a pretty good alien abduction film.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:52:35 PM

thanks for the link, there's many good movies on youtube, which is hard for me to understand sometimes, giving triangle a look.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:53:35 PM

"I read it's essentially a pointless bloodbath retread of the original with tanned, hot Cali teenagers getting brutally, and frequently ridiculously, murdered, without any of the original film's T-'n-C humor. Clearly then, not my kind of meal."

Then stay far away from this film because that's exactly what it is. On its own its an slightly above average splatterfest where the characters are so paperthin you understand why machetes cut through them like butter. Compared to the rest of the series it just misses the point imo. The series has always been dedicated to building its focus around a character that we cared about. Throughout the story we've seen a generally regular guy get utterly sh*t on by this demon in the woods until he breaks down and decides he's had enough. The combination of Campbell's performance and everything that gets thrown at him make you generally feel sorry for the character at times and allows you to laugh with him on the few occasions the demon jokingly gives him a break. Sure it was off the wall sh*t and so were the cheap (but extremely innovative) effects, but put altogether it became something unique for its time. For me that's where the problem with this film lies. It's just like the rest of these horror remakes and torture carnivals: more gore, less script, no originality, and (worst of all) no fun.

Don't get me wrong, its not a terrible movie. The effects were well done and it got to the point quick. The lead actress played a good crackhead/demon. That will be enough for some, but because it caries a certain title certain expectations should be achieved. Giving the audience the same old cast of horror movie idiots to fall for all the same old stupid mistakes is not what Evil Dead is all about. Plus didn't Cabin in the Woods just kind of spit in the face of all this crap. It had a low budget just like this, but it literally mopped the floor this film. It acknowledged the typical genre beats but it also decided to go a new direction and deliver something different from the herd for once.

Evil Dead 6/10 for keeping the gore but losing the fun...and that's not a compliment.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 6:55:10 PM

Frank I feel you pain man.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 7:06:47 PM

The irony that they showed the new Carrie trailer before Evil Dead can't be ignored. Just another remake destined to underwhelm and miss the point of its predecessor. But as you can see from the trailer that practically shows the entire film, there's a lot more violence in store this time since that's Hwood's new way of spit shining crap.
GreenLensman writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 7:25:33 PM

john travolta should make a cameo in the remake, i would sh*t myself with laughter, he should play a high school student again
Stapes writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 8:21:17 PM

Hahaha. "Yo, mista kottah, can I get a rub n tug?"
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 7th, 2013 at 11:31:28 PM

@Frank
Oh no a newcomer by the name of frank had insulted my mother? Whatever will I do! Besides laugh at the fact that he was born with the name 'frank' lol I feel bad for you already!

LOL @ Mink.

Thanks man! If we ever met I think the only thing we'd be doing is getting f*cking hammered lol, Dark skies was pretty sick I think you'd like it, And The Triangle.. Oh man, I've seen that movie like 3 times, I find it interesting, It's not the best movie, But it got my Attension enough to watch through the whole 3 hours lol

@Greenlensmen

Honestly Thanks man, I never think anyone reads my reviews! Nice to know they're Appreciated :)

But Dark skies was f*cking well done.. That opening with the camera going at that angle with the eerie music playing.. Just gave me the creeps lol




Frank4969 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 7:45:50 AM

New comer my ass. I just can't stand all the non movie child porn that goes on here. That's why I and many others left. Jr.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 8:31:42 AM

Shun the disbeliever!
Scavenger writes:
on April 8th, 2013 at 12:55:07 PM

Absolutely loved this movie. I plan to see it many times over. It's nice to see a real gory horror movie instead of the PG-13 jump scare crap that's usually in the theaters.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved