WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Movie Critic Roger Ebert Dead at 70

Posted: April 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Movie Critic Roger Ebert Dead at 70Submit Comment
Just two days ago, Pulitzer Prize-winning movie critic Roger Ebert revealed that he will be reducing the amount of movies he reviews because his cancer has returned and he'll have to focus on his radiation treatments. And now comes word that Ebert has passed away. He was 70-years-old.

The writer was first diagnosed with thyroid cancer in 2002. Cancerous growths were also found on his salivary glands a year later. Surgeries to combat the disease left him without the ability to speak. Despite this great disability, Ebert continued working, while dealing with many other health issues.

Martin Scorsese has been working on a documentary, called "Life Itself," about the life of the famous critic, and has vowed to finish the film. "We are devastated. But we will continue. We will finish the film," said director Steve James.

Meanwhile, Hollywood has expressed its love for Ebert.

* Jason Reitman: "A profound loss for anyone who has ever loved going to the movies. My heart goes out to Chaz and the city of Chicago. Just heartbroken."

* Oprah Winfrey: "Roger and Gene together again. End of an era."

* Joe Carnahan: "RIP Roger Ebert. A singular voice. He was a fantastic writer with a facile wit. Only a handful of the great critics remain..."

* Darren Aronofsky: "We lost a thoughtful writer, I remember my first review from him, Pi (I got his and Siskel's thumbs) it was a career highlight."

* Steve Martin: "Goodbye Roger Ebert, we had fun. The balcony is closed."

* Steve Carell: "Thanks Mr. Ebert."

* Marc Webb: "Roger Ebert - an uncynical lover of the movies. Two thumbs pointing up to the sky."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 8:37:09 PM

Shame. I enjoyed this guy's reviews a great bit. He will be missed and won't be replaced for a long time.
cress writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 8:54:49 PM

I know you are a thumbs guy, Roger, but when you're standing before god, could you please give him the middle finger?

*You'll be missed.*
SACdaddy writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 9:15:02 PM

Have been a big fan of his ever seen he backed New Jack City as his film of the year back in the day when nearly every other critic panned it as just another ghetto flick. His reviews were readable, insightful, and lacked the arrogance that usually comes with most professional reviews. RIP S&E
Osiris3eagle writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 9:43:16 PM

Really respected his reviews. He'll be missed.
LearJet writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 9:49:05 PM

The film industry has lost a great voice. (No pun intended.)
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 10:17:28 PM

You were no Dustin Putman, Ebert, but you certainly had class and style and a discerning intellect.
Fightclub1 writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 10:24:22 PM

Oprah said it best, end of an era
Barney Stinson writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 10:26:11 PM

You will be missed Mr. Ebert.

Rest in peace!
30YoVirgin writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 10:49:38 PM

Whaaaaaaaaaaat?? Enforcer not insulting another dead guy? yet?

as for the deceased, I've never read a review written by him. but judging by the love WP user expressed, he certainly was a great man.
BadChadB33 writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 10:55:22 PM

RIP!!!
boogiel writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 11:16:54 PM

Well I guess the balcony is now closed, RIP Roger.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 11:27:46 PM

Even Obama expressed his sadness in a tweet..

Honestly.. Roger Ebert was such a good man, He's a huge name in film, and I'm lucky to have heard of him. He will be deeply missed..

Nobody put more honest thought and intellect into a review as this man did. He was fair, And thoughtful.

Really really gonna miss him... R.I.P Ebert

"Two thumbs.. Way Up!"



Ip_man writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 1:18:24 AM

RIP

I wonder how many movies in total he watched during his work...
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 1:21:59 AM

How will I now know if my opinion on a film was right or not?

I looked forward to reading his reviews every week. He was the only critic I really trusted wasn't a plant.

Now we have...who? EW? Roeper? Rex Reed? Gag me!
minkowski writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 1:51:26 AM

There's always Dustin.
thisisntme writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 2:13:22 AM

God Bless Roger Ebert.
pornfly writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 2:50:34 AM

Whether they know it or not, everyone has heard or seen a Roger Ebert review

Rest In Peace
witwicky-potter writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 3:34:02 AM

The only Critic whose opinion I respected.RIP Roger Ebert
ENFORCER writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 4:33:59 AM

I dont't like critics, I never listen to other peoples opinions of flim's. Everyone is different, always sad when someone dies, rip
jikae writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 4:56:58 AM

I was shocked as a junior high kid when I found out that Gene Siskel was the skinny guy that died. I thought for sure the fat guy would go first.

All jokes aside, I always enjoyed watching their Saturday night show in that theater. Something to always look forward to. Now that they're both gone, I say get rid of the show. No point in Richard Roeper continuing now that the originals are gone. At least change the format as a show of respect.
jikae writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 5:03:29 AM

Nevermind. A quick wikipedia search revealed that the show has actually been cancelled since 2010. Tells you how much I watch TV lately.
Patriot77 writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 7:52:25 AM

Does anyone know what his last movie was? I hope it wasn't something like Burt Wonderstone.
Stapes writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 8:25:15 AM

Walter Chaw is the last great film critic.
Džeko writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 9:09:41 AM

I mostly didn't agree with his reviews but I sure respected the man.
R.I.P

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved