WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Confirmed: Matthew McConaughey to Star in Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film

Posted: April 3rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Confirmed: Matthew McConaughey to Star in Christopher NolanSubmit Comment
A few days ago, it was reported that Matthew McConaughey is in talks to play Cooper, the lead male role in Christopher Nolan's next film, which is called "Interstellar" and is set to hit theaters on November 7th, 2014.

The Star Tribune had a chance to speak to McConaughey and asked him to confirm or deny his involvement. "I'm confirming," replied the actor. The plan is to make a movie that will depict a heroic interstellar voyage to the farthest borders of our scientific understanding.

"Interstellar" was the idea of Steven Spielberg, who set up the project with DreamWorks back in 2006. The director was intrigued by Caltech physicist Kip S. Thorne (who's producing) and his scientific theory that wormholes exist and can be used for time travel.

Christopher Nolan's brother Jonah Nolan (The Dark Knight Rises, The Dark Knight, Prestige, Memento) was hired to write the script. Eventually Spielberg dropped out, but having a script by Jonah Nolan made it easier to attract Christopher Nolan.

Source: Star Tribune


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 7:54:20 PM

Guess Palmer Joss had to find his own extraterrestrials too. I just hope this doesn't turn into Star Trek V with Joss traveling to the center of the galaxy to find God.
cress writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 7:56:49 PM

What a terrible choice. I think this is all Emma Roberts fault. She found out Christopher f*cked Anne Hathaway on the set of DARK KNIGHT RISES, so as to avoud a messy divorce, she's forcing Chris to cast him in INTERSTELLAR, so that she can try and f*ck him. Crafty bitch.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 8:00:46 PM

I can't stand him either, Cress. Only film he ever did that I could stand was We Are Marshall, although I heard good things about The Lincoln Lawyer. Just seems like on those talentless d*cks who slides by on good looks and a California tan.
cress writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 8:10:34 PM

He f*cking ruined CONTACT. I could imagine every time Zemeckis would yell, "Cut," Jodie Foster would storm off set, cussing the fact that she was acting opposite a brain-dead hick.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 8:20:59 PM

Yeah, I thought so too, Cress. Loved Contact for what it was, but Foster and Matt had zero chemistry. Negative chemistry. She hated him and he hated her, but we were supposed to find a love story there? All the time Matt's looking at himself in the mirror. They f*cking knew Contact was a nerdy movie and women wouldn't come near it unless they sexed the film up, and that's what they did. Sell outs.
cress writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 8:31:08 PM

This^^^
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 8:51:51 PM

mink

it could be worse

at least Georgie Cloney isnt going to be in this

I did think the Lincoln Lawyer was pretty good though
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 9:01:14 PM

^^Clooney was decent in Solaris, actually, although that film has received mixed reactions over the years. Some people love it, some people hate it. Probably better in the original Russian.
Crazyhorse writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 9:06:41 PM

mink


didnt see Solaris; maybe I will give it a go

Im debating on wether to see Tom Cruises new sci fi movie out this month with Morgan Freeman
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 9:24:37 PM

Do you like Tom Cruise and Morgan Freeman? Do you like science fiction? Did you hate Tron? Add up the yeses and nos and wee where you come out.

I'm just not sold on the plot at this point. Looks like Jack Reacher in space to be honest, and sci-fi should have something special. Not sure Oblivion has it. Trailers certainly haven't given me that impression.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 9:25:22 PM

see.
cress writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 9:32:51 PM

SOLARIS is one of my all-time favorite films. One of Soderbergh's best.
boogiel writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 10:47:56 PM

Starring McConaughey and the rest of Nolan's usual gang. Oh wow, I think I start to see the pattern in Nolan's casting.
rockkillers writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 11:11:52 PM

Uh oh. It's just like the nerds who didn't want Heath Ledger or Anne Hathaway cast all over again. This new angry rant is right on cue. Killer Joe was awesome btw, and I'm sure he will do great in whatever his role is.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 11:31:18 PM

"It's just like the nerds who didn't want Heath Ledger or Anne Hathaway cast all over again."

Yep, just like that, because the character, whoever he or she is, that leads this film is obviously as iconic as Catwoman and the Joker, right?

Or do you mean many people didn't appreciate Ledger until he became the Joker, the role for which he is now so famous? Well, buddy, I for one hated Nolan's Joker, and wasn't too enthused by Hathaway's Catwoman either, so for me at least, not sh*t has changed.

Most people jumped on the Ledger bandwagon because that's what they do. Follow, not lead.
minkowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 11:39:32 PM

I posted this^^ before Rockkillers kindly agreed with me in another thread. Now I feel like the c*nt I am.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 11:43:08 PM

original soalris is great clooneys was a steaming turd. Only film I ever like mcConaughey in was dazed and confused.

I think it is in his contract he needs to take his shirt off 3 times a movie better get jonathon nolan to start some re writes now
Fightclub1 writes:
on April 3rd, 2013 at 11:51:08 PM

Nolan hasn't really failed me with his casting choices so I trust the guy
pornfly writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 12:00:59 AM

He's gonna make God eat his fried chicken
Aw-rightawrightawright
Ip_man writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 1:53:04 AM

hopefully we'll all be alive to watch it...looks like the little guy in north korea has other plans for our planet.
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 2:05:12 AM

Time to reunite Korea!
KillerCOck writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 2:12:56 AM

Matt Mc. is the sh*t! Lets just hope Nolan brings his f*cking A Game. He needs to redeem himself after his last piece of sh*t.
Cannon writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 3:11:47 AM


Repeat: "Alright, alright alright."

velocityknown writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 9:18:05 AM

After The Dark Knight Rises, I'm more worried about Nolan than I am McConaughey. McConaughey actually had a great year in 2012 with nice performances in both Bernie and Killer Joe. Plus, he's got a lead role in Mud (directed by Jeff Nichols) coming up this month and word is he's great in that. I'd say given the right material, he's going to do very well.

And, Alex, it's Jonathan Nolan, not Jonah Nolan.
minkowski writes:
on April 4th, 2013 at 3:09:53 PM

Jonah Nolan is the third Nolan brother. He had an incident with a whale (a "big fish) but now he's back and better than ever.

Also: I find it droll Matt waits till he starts getting old to give a sh*t about his career.
jikae writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 4:44:41 AM

Really? You guys are talking about Jodie Foster having chemistry with a guy that ISN'T Mel Gibson? Really? Granted McConaughey is no Academy award-winning actor (might never), but given the right material, he can hold his own.

Besides, it's Nolan. Box office-wise, he hasn't failed yet and until he does, trust what he does.

Nolan and Bay; 2 directors that make very polarizing movies yet still bring in the money. The anti-Uwe Boll.
jikae writes:
on April 5th, 2013 at 4:46:33 AM

Just be happy it's not Tom Hardy, Ken Watanabe, Michael Caine, or Joseph Gordon-Levitt, or are they coming as supporting cast?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved