WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"GI Joe: Retaliation" is a Hit With $132 Million Opening, "GI Joe 3" in the Works

Posted: March 31st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"GI Joe: Retaliation" is a Hit With $132 Million Opening, "GI Joe 3" in the WorksSubmit Comment
After being delayed for over nine months, "GI Joe: Retaliation" hit theaters on Friday and ended up grossing over $51 million domestically and over $80 million internationally over the weekend. That's a global total of $132 million, which is higher than the film's $130 million budget.

The sequel had the highest opening of any film in 2013, second highest domestic Easter gross (behind "Clash of the Titans"), and earned nearly double the amount that "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra" took in during its first weekend back in 2009. The first film also cost more to make ($175 million). "Retaliation" has a 29% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Paramount Pictures has now confirmed that it's moving forward with a third "GI Joe" installment.

Tyler Perry's "Temptation" thriller took third place, grossing $22.3 million from 2,047. That's a per-screen average of $10,894, just $200 less than what "GI Joe: Retaliation" averaged. "There's no fatigue at all for Tyler Perry," said Lionsgate. "Temptation" has a 16% fresh rating.

The other new wide release of the weekend was "The Host," which is based on a novel by "Twilight" author Stephenie Meyer. The film opened to a disappointing $11 million, which was only good enough for sixth place. Since it cost $40 million to make, "The Host" won't be able to make back its budget domestically. It has a 12% fresh rating.

On the specialty side, "The Place Beyond the Pines," starring Ryan Gosling, Bradley Cooper and Eva Mendes, was released in four theaters, grossing an impressive $270,000. That's $67,500 per theater. The film has a budget of $15 million and has a 74% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, "Room 237" documentary, which explores conspiracy theories surrounding Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining," opened in two theaters in New York, grossing $36,000. That's a per-screen average of $18,000. "Room 237" has a 95% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "GI Joe: Retaliation" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:56:50 PM

havent seen it gijoe,but oz is a great movie.probably one of francos best performances.
pornfly writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:59:13 PM

The Host will make its money back here
but lets hope theres no more queer eye for the straight movie treatments
Tyrkae writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 10:24:52 PM

Well GI Joe was advertised twice once last year and this year maybe delaying a movie a year is going to be a new trend around hollywood now
minkowski writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 10:25:26 PM

Looks like Dwayne Johnson owns another franchise. Dude certainly isn't this generation's Arnold, but he's probably made the studios a hell of a lot more money.
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 10:28:51 PM

I didn't see G.I. Joe, but I did see The Host and Temptation.
The Host - sh*t as f*ck. 1/10
Temptation - Lindsay Lohan would call this piece of sh*t Undignified. -10
Stapes writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 10:40:08 PM

Speaking of sh*tty movies, just finished watching Argo. Wow what a boring and overrated POS.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 10:50:36 PM

So much better than the 1st but coulda been better overall. Wish Tatum stayed dead for real.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 10:50:36 PM

So much better than the 1st but coulda been better overall. Wish Tatum stayed dead for real.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:11:29 PM

Crap. We have to wait through *another* GI film as it shreds the industry with it's distasteful odor?

Jabba_RT writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:24:16 PM

Saw "The Host" last week at an early screening. I'm sure glad I didn't pay to see it. It has a germ of a good idea behind it but never went where it could have. Besides that, it was boring as hell. Pitiful dialogue and major plot problems. The ads make it look like this sci-fi action/romance piece. So Stefanie Meyer has taken vampires and pussified them, werewolves and pussified them, and now aliens and pussified them. Better watch out zombie lovers. She's probably coming for them next.
boogiel writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:42:06 PM

"Looks like Dwayne Johnson owns another franchise. "

@mink

The Rock should be in Green Lantern to save that franchise.
capsule writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:52:52 PM

Dwayne Johnson should f*ck Lindsey Lohan, get her profitable again, anything this dude touches is golden.
telur writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 1:01:29 AM

give me back CHANNING TATUM

i don't want him dead!!!!

just make a clone or twins or something but just i don;t want him dead!!!
Nihilus writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 1:07:34 AM

WOW Olympus has fallen!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 1:37:27 AM

I may see GI joe tomorrow lol..
cress writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 1:48:20 AM

@Stapes. Yeah, I thought it was good bordering on average. I don't understand all the love for it. It's extremely overrated. Of the two political thrillers set in the Middle East last year, I thought ZERO DARK THIRTY destroyed ARGO. And Ben Affleck sucked in his role, and his directing is just average as well. He does absolutely nothing special behind the camera. ARGO winning definitely shows me that the Oscars is all a big Hollywood charade.
Ip_man writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 2:18:32 AM

a new trivia from alex been posted.wow.
i124q writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 5:14:46 AM

G.I. Joe does exactly what it says on the tin, my nine year old nephew loved it, and that's what the film is aiming for.
As for Dwayne Johnson, he knows his limits, he knows what kind of roles he suits now and tbh he does give good value.
Ip_man writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 5:33:38 AM

@alex

we're waiting for your april fools day article.
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 7:36:22 AM

Lmao I know eh, they haven't done a new quiz in like two years on this site..
Bunny X writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 9:13:35 AM

Considering it was Easter weekend and families usually flock to kiddie movies, I'm shocked this did that well. Even more so that it knocked a family movie, The Croods, out of first after only 1 week. Even more so that there was another actioner Olympus Has Fallen, in wide release.
OHF's disappointing box office has a lot to do with the fact that although it had promotion, I don't think anyone could tell you it's release date. Whereas GI Joe made sure everyone knew it was coming out Friday.

Either way, good for them lol. I truly hope this gets Dwayne righted again to go further down that action star road.
He has all the ingredients to be a mega star but has had some assinine early choices.
Maybe some where voluntary some where involuntary who knows? I just hope he picks better.
Hell, he probably could've done Olympus Has Fallen also. I'm just not buying what Butler is selling nowadays.
struck21 writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 10:21:01 AM

This GI Joe made the first one look like an oscar worthy movie. The Host was just Twilight with aliens.
Fightclub1 writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 1:18:41 PM

The reason why people flock to see the rocks movies are because he's a a very likable dude
freepass76 writes:
on April 2nd, 2013 at 12:06:15 AM

the movie sucks!! the 1st one was bad, this one to me was even worse, and I saw in theatre where movies are supposed to be more attractive and fun, I recognize it has its funny and smart moments

I dont understand why some good movies fail at the box office and some other average movies do so well at it!
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 2nd, 2013 at 12:47:21 AM

c*ckSUCKER!

i got 9/10 on the Jack Reacher trivia.. i really wanted to be the first guy to get 10/10.

f*ckers...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved