WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Reveals Details About His DC Comics Super-Team Movie "Dark Universe"

Posted: March 31st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Reveals Details About His DC Comics Super-Team Movie "Dark Universe"Submit Comment
Back in November, Guillermo Del Toro revealed that he's working on a movie called "Dark Universe" (also called "Heaven Sent" and "Justice League Dark) that combines such DC Comics characters as Deadman, The Spectre, Swamp Thing, Constantine Hellblazer, Phantom Stranger, Zatanna, Zatara, Sargon and Etrigan the Demon. The goal is to make a big-budget film similar to "The Avengers."

Now, while promoting "Pacific Rim" at WonderCon, Del Toro spoke about "Dark Universe," revealing that he already wrote an outline for the film and has hired a writer to turn that outline into a script. He also provided a few details about the story.

* A blond John Constantine will be the lead character who tries to recruit the other heroes.

* The story will include elements of the Demon Knights and Merlin.

* The team's origin will be revealed over time instead of presented up front: Swamp Thing is already at peace with his life and Deadman is still searching for the man who shot him.

* Del Toro said that his favorite characters growing up were Etrigan the Demon and Swamp Thing.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yoshi187 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 7:50:30 AM

I don't remember the last time I read an article on this site and didn't think "meh".
bandolero999 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 7:52:47 AM

IT will never fly cause it'll probably be pussied down to some pg13 rating.unless the budget is no more than 50 mil.

They already f*cked up Constantine by making him American and casting Keanu
boogiel writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 8:17:34 AM

Meh... I don't buy it. Don't get me wrong, I do like Del Toro and I like the idea of this movie but he makes too many announcements and then takes forever on getting them done.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:40:26 AM

He is obviously a talented film maker, will pass judgement when a trailor is available !!
supaflywill writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:03:08 AM

Just give me Constantine 2 FFs
Stapes writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:46:05 AM

Could be pretty good if a decent writer were attached.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 1:31:15 PM

I'd take Hellboy 3 over this project any day of the week, twice on Sundays...

Speaking of which, Happy Easter.
Ip_man writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 1:33:23 PM

super hero this super hero that...zzzzzzzz...............
GreenLensman writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 1:45:19 PM

wow del toro is a bitch f*ck his retarded fat ass tired of his rip off movies
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 2:04:56 PM

Curious as to why they don't just call this Justice League: Dark. Probably because it has a higher chance of coming out before an actual Justice League movie, and dumbsh*t audiences wouldn't be able to tell the difference in titles.
minkowski writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 3:45:25 PM

Del Toro's take on comic book movies might be a breath of fresh air, just what this nearly exhausted industry could use right now, and later down the line, but with del Toro lining up so many projects, I think it's unlikely this one will ever see the light of day. Now, if he actually makes it to a functionally acceptable script, starts looking at actors, and gets funding lined up, then I think the rest of us will feel a bit more excited.
Bunny X writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 4:20:56 PM

The only way The Avengers worked was because it had inherently known characters that were even still built up in their own franchises. This has folks you could care less about and aside from Swamp Thing and Constantine, didn't have their own film.
I wish they'd stop trying to follow the Avengers blueprint and realize it's a Marvel blueprint that doesn't apply to just one film and took a long time to craft out.
I hate that all these other studios think they can take the last leg of Marvel's plan and paste their franchise to it and expect the same results.
minkowski writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 4:31:22 PM

^^You're talking about people who went to see six Twilight movies, six Harry Potter films, three Transformer flicks, two GI JOE movies, four Pirates of the Caribbean flicks, and five Fast and Furious films.
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 5:23:01 PM

From what I know about Justice League: Dark, the comic series, its adventures tend to take a deep root in the Supernatural. That being said, movies based on comics surrounding the occult usually don't perform spectacularly (Spawn, Dylan Dog, Constantine).

If this ever sees the light of day, and gets a decent budget, they're really going to have to push the "From the Director of HELLBOY" angle during marketing.
Stapes writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 8:26:00 PM

Spawn and Dylan Dog sucked (the spawn comic sucked even harder) I honestly believe Todd Macfarline is functionally retarded or maybe an idiot savant of some sort.
vincere01 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:33:54 PM

Same thing I say about antman. No one gives two sh*ts about any of these characters. I myself only somewhat care about constantine. 90 percent of the movie going public however would not be interested in a dark comic book movie about characters they don't care about/know. Good movie idea or not, irregardless it will not make money. Studios spend money on polls and studies to find out these facts. And any good studio head will pass on thisor be fired.
minkowski writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 10:57:45 PM

"Spawn and Dylan Dog sucked (the spawn comic sucked even harder) I honestly believe Todd Macfarline is functionally retarded or maybe an idiot savant of some sort."

Why? Because he's a great comic book artist but a sh*tty writer? Same could be said for Stephen King, then, in reverse. Great writer, sh*tty artist. Doesn't make him "retarded" though.
Stapes writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 12:40:53 AM

I met the guy briefly once when I was kid, he struck me as bizarre. Then every interview I've seen him in since he just seems like an idiot, or simple to say the least. Yet he's made millions by branching out from comics. Hence the savant part.
Stapes writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 12:42:38 AM

The only comic artist that seems dumber to me is Rob Liefield.
minkowski writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 12:45:27 AM

You might be on to something then. Never met the guy. Never even seen him.
vincere01 writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 1:50:31 PM

^^^saw him at a signing once. He was mumbling a lot between greeting people. Did NOT seem at all happy to be there. Had a strange demeanor about him. Didnt speak with him personally though

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved